(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

lovebyte,

u can model it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie,

u r so good at crocheting. dun think i'll ever be able to complete a single project. no patience.

crown,

it's cheaper to get a bed but have to consider that some kids will roll around when they know how to flip. must buy bed guards when they know how to flip.

it's also more worthwhile to get a maid since u r having twins as it is not easy looking after babies.

Tantan, it is really very easy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I just do craft stuff to pass time cos hubby travels alot these few months. So this hobby really keeps me busy.

stefie, i might need your help... the instructions says:

Foot: 1st row: (RS). Ch 1. Work 23 (25-27) sc evenly along long edge of Cuff. Turn.

If my long edge is longer than 23, 25 or 27 lines, then how do I work in single crochet evenly into it?

i see dew dew's "1st row: (RS). Ch 1. Work 23 (25-27) sc evenly along long edge of Cuff. Turn" i already blur. Its like interpreting a language i dun understand! hahahahaa Hopefully i too have the patience to complete one pair of booties and once i get the sense of achievement then will continue to learn to knit more.

3 days to our Mummies & Beliies Gathering!

One of my all time favourite CHEESE snack is to put a slice of cheese on a slice of bread, pop it into those ovenlet/toaster and open grill for about 5 mins.... SUPER YUMMY!

Other variations of this is u can put ham and tomatoes on top of the cheese and toast it all together. When out of the ovenlet/toaster put a little bit of cracked black pepper and SHIOKNESS is at your finger tips.

lovebyte, tell me about it! i'm just experimenting as i go along, i dun even know if what i'm doing is right/wrong! lol... anyway, as long as it doesn't look too salah, i think still can lah. :p i can't wait to have stefie's guidance!

Hi Ladies!

Am helping my Confinement lady (a Malaysian lady) spread the news.

She is now free from end Nov to mid Feb as she cancelled her job in Australia as she dont want to travel so much (she is going Hong Kong, Dubai from now till Nov and is tired of travelling for jobs...she is highly sought after).

I love my confinement lady, and thats why am helping her. Here's what I like about her:

1) Speaks good English (and malay & mandarin)

2) Excellent cook (really...her food is super yummy and I am a picky eater. On the downside, it means you will not lose weight in the 1st month from all the yummy food)

3) Very good with baby

4) Very Clean

5) Not calculative sort (unlike some CL)

6) Pleasure and cheerful person

7) Very energetic

So far, my friends who used her service all love her (and her food). For myself, I hired her for 2 months (but regretted coz its too short!).

If you want to know more, pls PM me. She is usually booked out but because she decided not to go Australia, hence dont mind taking a job in SG.

Her rates are S$2300 a month ($3200 during CNY period).

Again, I want to reiterate that I am in no way related to her nor have any benefits from 'promoting' her. But because she is really very nice and excellent at her job, hence I am sharing. She just completed a month at my friend's and again received rave reviews.

So if you have not found a CL yet and is looking, and if your timing is right, I say you are in luck. ;)

Hi Lovebyte: Sure, NP... Wa... you drank bubble tea just now? I've been refraining from bubble tea cos thought it's liang and dun dare to drink... I miss the Honey Milk Tea from Cup Walker soooo much... Can we reali drink bubble tea? Your BB so cute, yup... i agree with you that when daddy can feel the BB move, they will feel more involved with our pregnancy and excited.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] There was once i ate durian before i slept and BB move so much till Daddy can feel... haha.. if not normally when i ask her to move or when daddy put his hand on my tummy, she purposely dun move.. lol

Mi n hubby most likely going to drop by Hypermart and Baby Kingdom too, Wanna go compare the price before goin the Taka BB fair next weekend... hehe[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Stefie: It look so cute... Your BB sure is very lucky as she got so many clothes that is made of love to wear... Hope i can be like you too, must teach me when you can find the time k... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] You sure make me so tempted to learn after seeing the pictures! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But izzit hard to pick up? Am i still in time? The materials you order need to take how long? Is the ones from stores good and soft for BB too?

Hi PSH & Mangogal: So which do you guys tin it's better? I got limited space cos staying at In-Laws' place so gotta tin carefully... We still got 3 years more than can get our own flat...

Hi Crown: U do your scan and visit to gynae separately? Must take good care k... Try to avoid walkin too much until your feet gets better.... N eat less salt... Could it be due to water retention so swollen?

Hi Eoneon: Thanks! Hope you copin well with work, dun stress too much k... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Where are you guys meeting, what time? I've totally forgotten about this meetup cos was busy adapting to new work environment + In'laws place so got little time to log in... Lately able to log in cos i'm staying at own mum's place till friday as hubby go reservist and also sneak in during lunch time.. hehe[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm planning to go Baby Kingdom and Hypermart this sat so tin very hard to meet up with you guys liao... Will there be any meetup again?

Hi BBRibena: I love egg tarts too, the Tong Heng one, izzit in diamond shape with crispy crust? I love that one but dunnoe where to buy, compass Point used to sell that long time back but closed down liao... I find KFC's egg tart nice too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Drooling now becos of all this temptations... haha

For mummies that haven thought of a name, i found this website which is quite nice, cos mi n hubby lookin for name for girl girl too... So headache...

http://babynamesworld.parentsconnect.com/

Thank you all for the infos on baby weight. m feeling alittle uptight as so far i hv not gained any weight...

Crown, saw 2 sonographer for my detailed scan. Paiseh, dun remember their names, but definitely not the one you have mentioned.. Oh yea, the one i saw after the 1st, she is the principal sonographer, not bad much gentle compared to the 1st one.. prob u can try aasking for her. If not wrong, ihv seen her in room 1.

Stefie, Lena and Eon, Thanks. Yeah, now can start looking at Boy's clothes le but dun think I will buy a lot cos SIL can pass me some hand me downs, also got 2 frens who had boys in recent years...

Good morning mommies and daddies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies remember your pills hoh and drink more water[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hubby is back liao. He even bought me Chanel Chance EDP, he forgot he had bought me 1 bottle before. And I still have 2/3 of the bottle left. Ha!!! ha!!! He felt the heartpain 2nd time cos the perfume is $171 even in duty free. He really sayang me leh. So happy even I already had 1 bottle.

Dewdew, which size you are working on, 23, 25, 27 sc are for different size.

If you are working for size 0-3 infant, then before this foot you should have worked 15 cm from begining ending with a RS row. Do not turn.

Btw how many lines do you have? If just few more stitches, you can just skip 1 stitches for every 4 sc made. It will not be very obvious.

Hope my explaination is clear enough, if not do feel free to ask again[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lovebytes, the instructions are actually very easy, even with my powderful English, I also can understand. I am more used to Japanese patterns (with diagrams), just learned to crochet using English (Some more got american and UK version) instructions last year. If don't understand, can just goggle around for tutorial, that's how I learn also[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lena, if you are looking at the berry coloured top I made for Alexis, the yarn will be sent quite fast provided that the lady from Leaping yarns has stock. Last time I order, I rec' with 2 days after I bank transfer the $$ to her. It depends on what you are doing, just be careful when you shop at some yarn shops, they will chop carrot especially when they know what you want. That's why I don't like yarn shop which teaches knitting or crochet, they will asked you to buy more yarns than you need and extra unneccesaaries stuff. See which pattern you like, I can give you a guide what you need.

I can teach you no problem, very easy to pick up, especially we have so much choice of free patterns around as compared to when I was 10 years old, only tissue box cover, doll dress, bottle cover and table dollies.

Sharon, hand-downs are good, baby will grow up healthy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw mommies who bought Patons 4 plys big baby can consider this project too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just started doing this, this will not be as fast as my previous sweater cos I am using thinner yarn and small crochet hooks. I am doing 3-6 months, so am using 4.0mm crochet hook.

http://www.sandiangels.com/pattern-page.html

Very sweet[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, thanks for your explanation - but i dunno how to continue from the 1st row stitching without turning! lol! so i turned. i guess without turning, the number of rows will be lesser but now i have over 30 rows. haiz... it's not easy read patterns gosh. and i have limited skills where crochet stitches are concerned - youtube is my best friend these few days. lol!

stefie, i did crochet when i was around 10 too! like u said, it was only tissue box cover, doll dress and table doilies. LOL! how times have changed!

stefie, u bought stuff from stylishmum2be before?

My fren recommended me that blogshop, but I was thinking whether their quality is the same as the Ailian (Yahoo TW auction) spree that I joined.... coz some of the clothes look like the same design and pricing is almost similar (but spree is a bit cheaper).

Can share feedback of the quality/sizing of maternity wear from that shop? Thanks!

dewdew, do you want to rip your project until that row without turing? You may feel heart pain to do the ripping (or frog cos of rip-it rip-it), at least you learn, cos you would need to do another one the same as the current one you are doing[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When you are done till 15cm, do not turn and continue with Ch 1. Work 23 (25-27) sc evenly along long edge of Cuff. Turn. Meaning you just chain 1 and do the 23 (25-27) sc to the left corner, then turn, followed by the next round instructions. Hope this is clearer.

If you are still facing problems, let me know. I will see how can I help.

Sometimes I also just use my understanding and do the pattern, as long as it come out in 1 piece and looks good, I am happy person liao[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really make me more creative, no hard and fast rule for craft. I will sometime just modified here and there to my own liking[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ha!!! Ha!!! Really time changes, heng we have internet if not we will still be doing dollies and tissue box only.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I really learn alot from the internet.

Whim, I bought only their Ah ma panties, quite comfortable. You can arrange to try out at their showroom and try, I think would be better and you can see the quality. I saw a few of their dress quite nice.

morning[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

crown, this sat lunch gathering start weat time ah? old liao...forget :p

Lena: Dunno if Bubble tea is liang anot but i only take the green tea. Once in a while ok la. =) Totally agree that when daddy is around somehow baby will "Sa Jiao" and not move. Yesterday while on my way home I spoke to baby. Told him to be guai and later when daddy feel must kick kick ok? IT WORKED! There were quite a few kicks over a span of 5 mins and SUPER hard ones too. HUbby was like is that your breathing or the kicking.. I'm like kicking la.. breathing where got sudden jerk one. =)

Stefie: Sweaters are so sweet!!! But mine's a prince =P

Mango: 1pm but the caterer will be there at 12:30 to set up i think. =)

Good morning mommies! We bought the baby cot for princess yday. S$322 for 'transformer' bed (can be used till she's 7yrs) with free mattress and 9pc bedding set. Also bought a high chair for her, which can be converted into a table and chair for her to do her drawings.

Hubby was like a little kid in a candy store... he wanted to buy everything in the store. From stickers to deco princess' room, interactive baby activity playmats, baby carriers etc etc, he wanted all! Even wanted to buy a 'herman miller' style ergonomic high chair for her (costs S$600! I nearly fainted and stopped him...).

Lena: I would suggest that you take the bubble tea without the pearls. The pearls cause indigestion, which we pregnant women are prone to now.

Muddypaws: Its really good to see how Hubby gets all excited over baby right? Suddenly its like there is this really soft spot in them that they rarely show. =)

stefie, jia lat... i already fastened off the cuff part! LOL! i guess i can still take it apart... maybe i'll do it tonight. i want to make it right the first time round otherwise i'll just keep making the wrong mistakes. :p

correct me if i'm wrong, so if i dun turn, it means i have to do a reverse sc right? sounds so complicated. lol!

muddypaws, a herman miller ergonomic high chair?!?! wah, your hubby very rich! lol! want to pamper his princess eh? so sweet, hahaha... lucky u stopped him, that money can be used for a lot of other stuff!

lovebyte, so cute lah, your prince. i tried to ask my princess to kick but she never. just keep turning only. so her papa cannot feel. haha..

lovebyte: Yeah, never expected hubby to show his soft spot. Now he's on a mission to baby-proof the house! I was hyper-ventilating in the store cos he was going for all things cute and ergonomic, and these things don't come cheap! So scary..................

Lovebyte: thks..I see if I can dropby to say hi cos I putting my gal at infant care half day on sat morning till 2pm..need to fetch her

good morning mummies ^_^

so busy these few days. last night went to seafood paradise for dinner with delegates. yum.. but was so tired out! this morning woke up with a pulling pain at around my belly button... the exterior feels kind of sore also.. now monitoring myself. but still gona work..

stefie: thanks... haha, i thought my princess is small in size. okok.. no worries now.

lena: trying to cope with work. superbly busy recently. plus my tummy keeps having strange pains and cramps. hope everything is alright.

the meet up will be at crown's place from 1-5pm.

stefie: the sweater is sweat leh. hmm.. aiyoyo.. so many choices..

muddypaws: where you bought baby cot? sounds like a good buy leh.

dewdew, if you fastern already, does it looks alright to you? If it is okay, then continue. Just that 2nd piece must do the same as 1st.

No reverse sc, just that, after the last sc, just continue to chain 1, then continue on left side of work, sc all the way to the corner then the next instructions.

I will do a diagram and email you[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lovebyte, there are also some nice baby boy stuff, I will post here if I come across[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The pearls are bubble is big sago, sago is no-no during pregnancy. Maybe just avoid if possible.

Eon Eon, don't worry too much. As long as gynae didn't say anything, things are okay. Be positive[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes leh, the more I see the more I want to do. I will do some for 0-3 months, 3-6 months and 6-12 months, if not Alexis cannot wear liao[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E Square, just mood swing lah. Today is a good day, cheer up okay[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Sayang your belly and talk to your baby.

Gals, do you all wan to proceed with the gathering without me?? I am not able to join cos my babies heartbeats stop le

Andrea, still no.

Warnings:

Aloe Vera juice also contains laxative properties that can result in electrolyte discrepancy and some uterine reduction. Hence it can lead to miscarriage of the fetus in some pregnant women. It is recommended not to use aloe Vera in any form during pregnancy.

http://www.dungz.com/is-it-safe-to-use-aloe-vera-juice-during-pregnancy.html

http://www.womenshealthcaretopics.com/preg_natural_herbs.htm

Dewdew, I have done up the diagram and email you liao. See whether it is clear enough.

On leave today and tmr to clean up the house, so it won't get moldy over the 2 months period. Just packed my clothes and ask my hub to bring it over this morning. Tons of things to bring over coz of the preggy tummy. Body pillow, cushions and massager for my back; cream, lotion and oil for my tummy; normal bras and maternity bras for my expanding boobs.... etc!! Luckily I had my Old Navy order delivered to my mum's place....

I bought 4D ytd liao!! Crown, EonEon, dewdew, Stefie, Lovebyte, crystal, CC, Melissa and Rainbow, HUAT AHHH!!

stephie

thanks for the info. i actually drank a can of aloe vera drink last weekend when i realised that we CANT eat aloe vera for now! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mums, hope everyone is feeling fine.'Muddypaws great to know you have bought the stuff needed for nursery.")

We ll be starting soon next mth once our exisiting vacant room is cleared.

Anyway, we are targetting mothercare big wheel stroller,my husb has been eyeing it for a long time. Already asked the store owner to do 2times demo.

Andrea, it is okay. I had Aloe Vera during my 1st trimester also without knowing. Just don't eat now. Anything that detox, cannot take. That is general rule.

crown, alamak!! alamak!! y like tat!!! maybe like wat stefie says, things might not be tat bad... ask gynae to do watever she can... pls pls

crown, i just saw your post. what happened?!?! go see gynae quick quick, i hope everything's alright for u. please... will pray for u.

Greetings!

My name is Kim and I almost had to deliver my boy at 33weeks when nothing was prepared.

Now I help clothe the babies that arrive unexpected early and take away the storage problem when the baby out-grew these clothes.

I.e., I rent these small size clothes at a very low rate as compared to retails.

Find me at http://picasaweb.google.com/101477561525358586890/BabiesBreath20100701#

I also provide lists of useful tips (what goes in your hospital bag, items a newborn will need etc), for parents-to-be in my facebook profile. Look for "Babies Breaths".

I wish all moms-to-be here a healthy and safe full term pregnancy and supernatural painless and speedy delivery.

Sincerely,

Kim

Stefie: Why Sago cannot have during pregnancy? Oh shucks I've been taking like 1 a week. WHA aloe vera also cannot. I thought good for baby then I also always drink. Jiat Lat I'm a baddie mummy. Dunno what to drink liao when I go out. Think just need to carry water bottle.

Crown: OH dear! Are you sure? Please ask the Doc to double check or get a second opinion.