(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Is there mummise have good menthod to teach yr baby how to chew? as my baby is 9months 3 weeks now but seem like he alway swallow instead of chew when i feeding him cereal or porridge [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

suppose this stage they should know how to chew right? please kindly advise. thank you so much.

enmummy (enmummy) – Congrats & great to hear tt ur bb recovered.

last min (last_min) – no worries I saw a few posting from Nov MTB, their bb got no teeth yet also. Like mine after 2 teeth, stop liao! Already a few mths pass still no new teeth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sharon Pang (piggypang) – quite because we chat on face book, it’s easier to control & find our message. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby2010,

that's what I read la. I am not very sure too.

My bb also cannot make the mama/baba/tata or any of those la.

But she can scream and shout very well.

She also cant chew, so I am trying to teach but don't know how.

I do the "chewing" action in front of her when feed her porridge also, but she just ignore me la.

I also tried to teach her by chewing in front of her. Made her the Heniz baby pasta yesterday. Initially she seemed to be ok adn chewed a little. After 5 smallmouthfuls,s he started to want to choke. Small piece put in also gag. So I stopped. Not sure when then can try again.

sheepysheeps (sheepysheeps): My son oso good for shout especially this few days. i think i will trying do the chewing action infront of him c how. but i can only do on weekend bcos weekday he is at nanny house.

Hpc: ic... how old year son now?

Add oil together lah.. update u again if my son have any improvement on the chewing and talking.

As i am worry my son easy to choke if i give him the teething biscuit but i think have to let him try now to train him chewing...

sheepysheeps, how abt bringing her breakfast at 10.30 am earlier to before e bath? I usually bath Z after her meals so that cleanup is also easier. Adjust a bit by a bit, maybe 1st give her breakfast 15 mins earlier, that after a few days, giver her before bath?

Well, according to the Baby Whisperer, babies go thr e EASY routine, which is eat, activity, sleep and time for u. perhaps she might be able to take an earlier nap if she eats earlier, then she still has time to kick ard to tire herself our before nap-time?

If u want to adjust her routine, why not do it on days where u have time and are able to spend most of e day at home. Will be easier on urself too.

Usually when I get Z to take a nap, I have to carry her, sing songs but she will still cry. Sometimes after crying for a while, she will stop in mid-cry and plonk her head on my chest and start sleeping. chao kuan baby!

But it will take some time... After doing it for 2 weeks, I managed to get Z to sleep thr e night. But her daddy came back from biz trip last Fri, and e weekend went down e drain coz she was so excited to see her daddy. So today got to 'reset' the routine again.

Baby2010, ur boy vomit right? Is he better now?

Someone was asking me abt how to make beef stew for bb, I took pics when I made it over e weekend and posted in my fb. My fb name is Ming TXXXX.

thanks vt and babywonder! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think her fever may be due to teething cos' i see her upper teeth coming out...the "tiger" incisor oso....wah can't imagine all coming out at once...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hpc: maybe you can break the pasta into smaller pieces cos' each piece quite long right...i use the pigeon feeding dish that comes with a "grater" at the side those kind while feeding...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whim: my girl also very jia lat lately...she refuse to sleep in cradle position liao...must carry upright then finally plonk her head on my chest when she is sleepy...i got to sing songs and she keep giving me "heart attack" by waving the pacifier in the air (which i have to snatch from her in case it drops on the floor again and again!) and throwing her hanky on the floor..very notti!! i dunno bend and pick how many times every night...grrr...haha...

baby2010/ sheepysheeps: ya i also read chewing promotes speech development...my girl can chew quite well now...she can take porridge grains/ grated meat and fish and she can take the puffs whole now...she is saying a lot of things lately and even "hums" tunes to herself (i just discovered)...i dunno if it is a coincidence...hehe...

enmummy (enmummy) – It’s ok lah! Just put a chain on d pacifier it won’t drop to d floor liao! D hanky u hold so bb won’t manage to take n drop it. Do u mean u carry bb till he sleep? If yes, try to stop this else it become a habit then it’ll be a night mare for mommy later.

Baby2010, my girl is 9 months 1 week old.

I used to read Baby whisperer too. But now I just use my own method. Cos she is not wanting to drink milk, always distracted. So I have no chocie but to make her sleepy by putting her on my bed and throw her a hanky, then she immediately stuff fingers into mouth and look very sleepy (kena conditioned liao). Then when she is dozing off, I breastfeed her.

So whatever milk, activity then sleep pattern cannot work for my this michievious baby

Whim: My son yesterday at nanny there is ok , as usual.but last nigth very jialat ler.. bcos he keep turning n waking up and need me to carry him...haiz... since 345am till 6:30am..on n off waking up and want me to carry..last week is still ok one can sleep through the night..not sure is it i bring him to zoo at night time like old folk dun bring baby go out at late night... baby very sensitive and pantang..sian..very tiring now..and sleepy too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I asked nanny did my baby know how to chew? nanny say yes..bcos cereal is smooth type totally no need to chew..how he chew it? when nanuy give him teething biscuit..he know how to chew..is it mean that he is ready for chew something? or chew teething biscuit doesn't mean he know how to chew? must let him try chew meat or anything else?

Baby2010,

Teething biscuit is different from chewing meat all those....btw, bb still too young to really know how to chew esp meat....the least u wan is they choke right.

nt sure abt the old folk saying on going out late...but bb will nt be able to sleep thru when they are unwell or uncomfortable like teething.

shoppiee, I think if dun have oven, slow fire on stove shd be ok also, but must keep monitoring coz I can imgaine slow fire for 1.5 hrs = pot chao ta!

Baby2010, on e rare occasion I bring Z out at night, she usually v cranky coz it's past her bedtime. Don't see a change in her sleeping habits tho'.

I need to do curtains for my place, anyone got lobang? I don't know whether I shd get spotlight to do e curtains, ikea to do curtains, or just buy fabric and ask seamstress to sew (mine is e old fashioned hook kind) or just get the curtain shop. Anyone has any advice?

i got ready made one fr spotlight. Thy sell it prepack. Or thy also sell rolls of curtain cloth w the pleats strings sewed. Jus buy the size u wan, n bring hm to pull the strings n wala! Its all ready to b used. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cn save sm $

Whim, u may wish to replace the hook type rod to simply a curtain rod where then u can buy those ready made curtains which are velcro type. The curtain rods are available at IKEA. My bro just bought it and what he did was to fix the rod just beneath the existing, I think. Cos it can somehow hide the existing curtain rod

Baby2010: my boi also just swallow his porridge..but he will want to bite when we give him biscuits or he will want to use his gums to break down the food. i guess that's like chewing? baby is going through a stage of separation anxiety now so just bear with it... he needs comfort.. i read from bb center

Mrs Loo: oh yah i see that FB more active these days...

Sharon Pang: Yes, same as yrs he will bite when i gave him biscuit but dun think he will use his gums to breakdown the food..how do u know ur son use his gum breakdown the food ah? ha.

vt: the paci cannot attach chain lor cos' my girl will keep playing with it lagi cannot sleep...hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...ya bedtimes are really very tiring now man...i feel like i climb 12 flight of stairs with a bag of rice every night...haha...i know i shouldn't carry her to sleep anymore but it developed over time cos' we carry her a lot when she was a newborn (due to her colic problem)...now i dunno how to make her guai guai sleep by herself leh...any mummies got good method to share? i dun have the heart to use CIO method...so now i just let her roll ard the bed till she is tired then final lap i carry a while to sleep...

sheepysheeps: i din't really teach her how to chew but probably show her the "chewing" action with my mouth in the beginning i guess...i think she learned through the months of eating...maybe you can try the texture that baby can accept first to prevent choking (a little coarser than puree and increase the texture bit by bit over the weeks)...when my baby don't have teeth i think she gums the food now she has teeth she chews the food...she even makes the "tsk tsk" sound like the meat very juicy like dat when i give her grated pork or chicken...haha...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whim: if you can find help its quite easy to DIY...my house's curtains all from IKEA...my hubby drill the rod...my mummy modifies the curtains (when necessary)...i think we should have paid less overall than engaging a curtain contractor....but if you want hassle free of course think its easier to ask someone to do it...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] now with a baby time is always not enough...hehe...

enmummy, my girl also need to carry to sleep! Same same, coz she had colic. At least now I don't walk her to sleep, just carry and sit in a chair and she will plonk her head down.

for curtains, i kinda know how, but I want those sun-out/blackout type curtain for bb's room, so not sure if e sewing machine/regular needle will do.

actually one way to see if bb is chewing is to look at e poop. If e poop still has whole pieces of food (and a lot of it), it's likely that e baby never chew. But if got only a few whole pieces, baby likely to have chewed e food.

Baby2010 (baby20101204) – I’m not bang dang, I bring baby out at nite too but it’s dinner or shopping area. Bring baby to zoo at nite is not a gd idea cos it’s so dark there d shade of d trees n sounds created by d animals might frighten baby.

Chewing - Baby dt hv much teeth yet gt d chewing actiont, k eat baby biscuit ok liao! Meat too early for them to chew lah!

whim (whim) – k consider Ikea or Spotlight, quality is not there but economic lah!

Sharon Pang (piggypang) – I like to chat on fb cos it k group topic by topic not like d forum so difficult to find d respond fr other mom.

enmummy (enmummy) – OIC since we are d soft hearted mom d only thing we k do is do it slowly bit by bit to train baby to sleep. Did u consider yao lan? Do it step by step from carry to yao lan, from yao lan to baby cot then to bed. This is wat I used to train my baby. Since our baby nearly 1 yr old liao maybe u k skip d baby cot that stage.

whim: ya sometimes my mum oso carry my bb on the chair...hum some song and she will fall asleep...but at night when i try to do that she will try to crawl out of my arms...:p...curtains wise if not blind type of material think sewing machine ok...my curtains quite thick no problem...

vt: i dun use yao lan at all lor...my arms are her yao lan that's why...hahaha...

mummies, can recommend pull up pants that can last overnight? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i am using mamy poko normal diapers for the night now (which i find it very good) and am looking out for comparable brand of pull up pants that is as absorbent and won't cause rashes...pls share ur experience...thanks!

enmummy:

Mamy Poko has pull-up pants, very good for nite use. Or try Goon. As for rashes, depends on whether brand of diaper suits bb's skin.

thanks jollymummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i am also thinking of trying their normal range of pull up pants....its the pink/ blue packaging one right? i have the yellow (friendly price) mamy poko pants but i am not too sure if it is absorbent enough for 12 hours of use...hehe...

You're welcome enmummy. We tried the yellow packaging bec it's so much cheaper than pink/blue packaging, but it didn't work out bec the bum area was narrow for my girl, and being an active toddler, she showed more bum than needed, haha! Sometimes pee will leak bec too much of one side of bum is exposed. The pink packaging suits her better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies, anyone encounter problems feeding BB? Aiyo, mine like wanna eat dun wanna eat, wanna drink dun wanna drink, makes me faint.. waste alot of milk le.. how ah??

Btw, may I know where u gals book ur HKG hotels? I've been wanting to go but no idea at all.... thks thks

I am using huggies pull ups at night for several mths.. so far so good. Can exchange for free toys [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Only thing is the cutting is pretty small..my gal is using XL now.

babywonder > i m in the same situation as u. Bb on milk strike nw. Cn hardly finish half his milk these few days. I also dont knw wat to do. Totally at a lost. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chris (christine77sg): Very headache right?? Sometimes so lost untill i dun even know how much milk to make for bb... arrrggghhh.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Im still trying my best to feed her..no choice.. hopefully this transition period will go off soon..

Headache n heartpain. C him nt taking enough milk.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I will jus mak the usual amt, crossing my fingers n praying in my heart tat bb will tak as much as possible. Wonder hw long will this last. It is almost a wk alrdy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My girl these few days starts her milk strike again! Faint.

Want her to drink milk is like torture and killing her like that!

She's 10mths in a few days.

BTW, my girl using "PetPet" day and night.

Economical and it lasts her thru the night. I usually change her diaper around 9pm and then nt morning, around 8am will change.

Diaper is usually heavy with pee and sme times even poo. No leak.

sheepysheeps - same here. my ger will suck bt no movement one, then remove bottle still abt more than 1/2 left. Recently she also no patience to drink wan to quickly get up to play.

baby2010 > my bb is turnin 10mth in a few days. My mum sy its due to teething. Poor bb, he is losin his chubby cheek. Wonder if givin gripe water wil hlp? Really hope he wil gt ovr it sn.

chris: i just went thru' 2 weeks of milk strike!...my bb either drink half the bottle or dun even want to drink at all but she is ok with eating from spoon so i had to resort using the rest of the milk to make some cereal when she drank less than half...maybe you can try if your bb really never eat anything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...i think your baby may be teething again cos' mine only show this pattern when she is teething....think the discomfort when she is sucking the teats make her give up drinking altogether...i can see her upper teeth coming out now after the milk strike weeks lor...

baby2010: sometimes i feed fruits twice too...not everyday though...today i fed pear after lunch and plum after dinner...think its ok as long as you dun give baby too much...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

enmummy >ya, i did try to do tat whn i m desperate. Bt the max i go is 90ml of milk w cereal, cos his poo wil turn out vry dry aftr tat. Scare he wil hv constipation. He also doesnt lik to tak fluid w spoon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so it cn hardly cover wat he is nt drinkin. Its alrdy 1 wk of milk strike. Its lik 1 mountain nt flatten, anthr 1 comin out. He started coughing last evenin. Shld i fd him med immediately or wait for 1 or 2 days to c if he cn gt well on his own?

Chris: i make very watery cereal cos i scared she constipated too...so far okie...i oso feed water with spoon...another method is when feeding fruits for e.g kiwi i will add some water towards the end when there is still some juice from the fruit...sometimes got to bluff this way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...haha...u can try sippy or straw cup if u bb dun like spoon too...abt coughing if bb still dun get well today think better give med or see doc soon...my bb had very very phelgmy cough last mth which took 2 weeks to recover.....

Chris : maybe you could try strawif ur baby doesnt like to drimk from spoon or sippy cup..i realised last week that she could drink w straw. Should hv tried earlier, cos she can drink alot more water than sippy cup. Was struggling with sippy cup for the longest time. Good thing we found out before she had diarhea and had to give her more water