(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

adding to Bam's concern abt wat to expect aftr 1yr old. Hw many hrs do thy hv to nap during the day time after turning 12 mths? I sooooo want to go on a long trip w bb n hubby. (haha, my long trip meaning in hrs.) Bt bb doesn't slp outside, nt to mention not drinking milk either whn out. Nw tat he is taking more solid, will try to c if he cn tak porridge whn out. Bt the nex problem is napping. So wondering if he still has to nap after every 2-3hrs. Any mummies cn advise? Thks![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chris, dun mind me asking... If dun drink n nap outside, hw u go out in the past?

Older u dun kn, but i notice my boy dun nap much recently, more interested in playing. Only nap 2x a day, around 1,1+ hrs each time.

shoppi > whn i brin him out, his schedule wil b disrupted. Although i try to minimise it. N every outin is lik a shuttle run, run ther, touch n run bk. Or i fd him more b4 i brin him out, so cn tong for abit more. My boy seems to slp more nowadays leh. Today he nap for abt 4hrs n 15mins. He also tak 2 naps. Wonderin whn wil he nd less slp? My mum sy ther wil nt b any change for awhile. Haiz, wan2 brin him to sentosa also difficult. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] envy mummies who doesnt face tis problem.

Mommies, Im having a bad headache oso... Argghh..im so confused abt feeding bb... ok her schedule is milk in d morning then cereal then milk, nap (short while only) then will wake up ard 1plus, then i waited till abt 3plus sometimes 4pm then i will give her porridge,then follow by milk ard 6plus, and milk again ard 8plus 9pm, last feed ard 11plus..phew!! Somehow i still feel she is having too little cos she doesn't finish her milk almost everytime.. headache!! what else can i feed her? during wat time of the day? Im so confused... *_*|||

Bam: you will be staying in hotel right? With breakfast provided? The buffet spread will have asian fare, they have porridge also. You can take some fruits and bring your thermos so you can get some porridge for lunch. They allow you to do this for baby. Then you will have 1 meal settled. Breakfast they can eat pancake from the buffet. For dinner, you can buy wakodo or pigeon baby porridge if you don't want to bring rice and stuff to cook. As for the meat and veg, you can always use the bb foods. Or anywhere you eat ask for no sauce meat or chicken(or separate the sauce) then eat with the porridge you took from hotel. Otherwise, just bring the dry stores and go to the supermarket there to but the wet ones an cook.

My bb is eating 3 solids and still on 4-5 milk feeds. Tea time is sometimes bread or biscuit, Yoghurt also.

Hi, Bam. When I was in penang, my girl ate lightly toasted bread from the hotel breakfast spread. Also gave her some fruits e.g. banana etc to accompany. I would have buttered her toast, but they didn't have unsalted butter.

Like Jo said, I also gave the pigeon baby porridge, which was quite good.

Actually I don't mind giving my girl outside food when she's a bit older e.g. like Baby A when she 14 months. But I know that some Chinese rest will cook plain porridge with stock (which may have dried scallops or stuff that I have not given her before), so I'm personally not comfortable unless I know exactly what's in the outside food. But that's me....

Actually pro and cons on starting bb early with outside food. Like my #1, my parent start him with abit of chwee kway for bf last time despite my objection when he was 9 mths plus but later I realise, he is flexible in eating outside food esp when we brought him to HK when he is 15th month old.

So now for my gal, I let her eat abit of chwee kway the week before and some bread too. Mayb she is #2 so I kind of more relax in letting her try outside food. heehee

Chris,

I think it is fine lah....I just gif her the kway but nt the chai po lor...anyway, it is like only on wkend nia....and gif little bit only...heehee

I just let my gal try durians last nite, and she love it, coz she tried to use her hand to snatch my durian while I was eating and carrying her! Hahaha

Diana , Sharon > My mum kp emphasizing for mi to kp bb out of the oil we adult tak. Hmm..bt I nvr chk w her y leh. She jus sy abt smthing tat happen to one of my nephew n tats wat the doc advise wor. Hmm...

Chris,

That I am not sure. But I think as long as we feed them very very small piece and only feed those food that can 'melt' in the mouth which required not much chewing should be ok ba. Btw, I am interested to know what happen to ur nephew le...can find out from your mum? Thks!

May i know how much porridge you feeding your baby at 9th months? just wanted to know the guideline ..ahha.. how many scoop of milk powder spoon of rice u cook?

I tried to feeding my son porridge last weekend and tuesday. i cook four scoop of milk powder spoon. and he can eat a bowl of porridge ( bowl side is like rice bowl but not full abt 4/5 bowl.

WAH Sey baby 2010! 4 scoops of rice! POWER!

My girl is taking 2 scoops of rice (milk powder scoop) for dinner.

I dont know how much it fills a bowl, coz after its cooked, we put inside thermos to keep warm, when feed, i take out a few spoons by a few spoons to feed.

And bb can finish. My mom tried to cook 2.5 scoops of rice but bb eat till gag at the end so I think she too full le.

So currently is 2 scoops. BB is coming to 9mths 2 weeks.

Jo: Ya.. I'm staying hotel.

For my hongkong trip. I bought the pigeon porridge for 6mths old from Taka bb fair. I saw they have it for 12mths old too. But i find 1 pkt portion not enough. i have to give her 2 pkt per feed. And I'll sock in Hot water to heat it before opening to feed.

I was thinking if she can eat more variety.. then i can be less headache.

At 1 yr plus, they still need to take 4-5 feed of milk plus 3 solid feed? That means inbetween each sold there is still milk intake?

Jo: Ya.. I'm staying hotel.

For my hongkong trip. I bought the pigeon porridge for 6mths old from Taka bb fair. I saw they have it for 12mths old too. But i find 1 pkt portion not enough. i have to give her 2 pkt per feed. And I'll sock in Hot water to heat it before opening to feed.

I was thinking if she can eat more variety.. then i can be less headache.

At 1 yr plus, they still need to take 4-5 feed of milk plus 3 solid feed? That means inbetween each sold there is still milk intake?

Diana: you power la..durians too!! I only let my son bite apples, cherries, pears, papayas, honeydews after his tooth teeth came out...we brought him to Tcm and the physician advised against citrus fruits only...he has ezcema on-off so even sweet potatoes and pumpkins are no-nos for him now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](

btw.. where can i get the pigeon porridge? I dun seem to see it outside. Only happen to see it at Taka bb fair the last time.

Jo: The wakodo brand snacks.. i also manage to find it at Ion the supermarket upstairs. Normal supermarket like cold storage / NTUC dun carry de!

Bam, your girl drinks 4-5 times of milk?? My girl drinks like 2-3 times of milk, her schedule is

7am - water

9am - cereal + water

11am - milk 180ml to 220ml

2pm - porridge 1 bowl

5pm - porridge 1 1/2 bowl

7pm - milk 180ml

10pm - milk 240ml

these are the official meal times, unofficial will include fruits, biscuits and snacks. Is this normal? Or my bb is drinking too lill milk?

Mrs Lee: At this time - Yes. She drinks 4 - 5 times of milk still. 4 times if she doesn't wake up in the middle of the nite. 5 times if she does. Currently, she's taking 2 solid only.

sheepysheeps (sheepysheeps) : No lah..my baby didn't eat all ( 4 scoop of rice) i think he can only finish half ..and the rest i finish it bcos if i only cook 2 scoop of rice..abit hard to cook ler..bcos i am using thermal cooker.

My son 9 months now and only drink abt 600ml of milk per day... too little ....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] this coming saturday need to go polyclinic for 9th months accessement.

Bam, ok.. think my girl should be at the right stage. hehehe!! ;p

Air Ticket,

mummies who travel before. just to check, i tot bb below 2years old can travel for free? Why Whim need to purchase ticket for her girl??

Mrs Lee: I am also paying for my bb.

Apprarently it's not free. Budget air is charging $50 to and fro.

Non budget is about 40 -60% of adult ticket depending on airline. and they do not have a SIT!. only 1 additional sit belt to be attached with adult lor!!.. Sickening right?

Mummies : I'm preparing for a long road trip with baby in December. She will be 14 mths then. How much milk and how many solids should she have then? For meals, can she have what we eat? Bread? So far, my girl has cereals (which she thinks it's yucky), porridge (chicken, fish) and cheese.

We just came back for a weekend trip to Taipei. She was ok on the plane. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] on our way back, I think she was oversimulated and didn't wanna sleep. We have prob which we need to work on before our next trip (1) getting her to take formula more, (2) eating food other than porridge.

We cooked porridge every morning with travel stove. Takes about an hour so we will soak rice, silverfish and dried scallops the night before and then cook it at abt 7. Then will give her milk and let her continue to sleep. I'll pump then and watch the porridge. Once it's cooked, we will rest first while she sleeps. When she wakes up, she will bathe then hv porridge. After that, we will head out. Gotta follow this, as my girl likes her porridge hot and sticky. If keep in foodjar, it will be watery and she doesn't like it. Will hv to get her used to it too.

We bought a shuttle cooker in Taipei. Hopefully, this will reduce the cooking time for our next trip.

diana: my girl also love durians cos' sweet sweet...hehe...i gave it when she was abt 8 mths old...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby2010: my baby's intake - 2 formula scoops of uncooked rice...so far i feel her tummy quite hard after eating so i think its enough for her right now...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she is still on average 4 milk feeds too...

Bam, the pigeon porridge can also be found at Isetan and Mediya. The Isetan at Nex has the same porridge. For mediya (Liang Court), they also have e other jap brand that Jo recommended, waka-something something.

Air ticket - yah, must pay, so bad right! Furthermore for budget airline they dun get any luggage allowance. For normal airline like SQ etc, is there a seat/basket for baby? Got luggage allowance?

errrmm - how do u handle e pumped BM? I'm concerned that e hotel fridge is not cold enuff to store BM.

diana - yah, my girl loves durian. But I hate it. Think she takes after father.

Bb air ticket> yes bb <2yo still need to purchase even is just a seatbelt. I think is either charge 10% of the adult fare at normal price of only charging the fuel charge or is never charge the fuel charge fir SQ, thk shd be same for most airlines except budget airlines. For budget, u pay a fixed rate which seems more worth if it's a short trip...as u won't get to enjoy the sale price for bb even if u buy a sale price for adult on SQ flight.

Whim> u got to book the bassinet when u purchase the air ticket as bassinet's limited to the front rows seats only, but usually occasions like CNY u might end up cannot get then u got to strap the bb to u for the whole trip. For SQ, as it's not budget airline, u hv 10 kg allowance for bb. For budget airline like u say no luggage allowance.

yes.. gonna pay for bb. $166 for sq to hk. requested for front row and got bassinet.

baby2010> my boy gave a yucky face when i tried giving him porridge.. his mouth was tightly closed after feeding him a quarter to half a bowl. What do you put in the porridge? For me, I put meat + pumpkin + brocoli to cook with rice in slow cooker for abt 3 - 4 hrs then add the fish. Do you use soy sauce to marinate the fish?

Whim - the hotel bar fridge is ok. Actually, that's what my office provides for nursing mums too. She is ok with the milk. Sadly, I left my last pump and my freezer bag at the hotel when we left in a rush.

Switching to sippy cup - mummies, when do we switch our babies to use sippy cup? My girl just want to bite the spout instead of sucking. I'm thinking of either switching her to wide neck bottle (so easier to give formula) or sippy cup. Any advise? How to transit her smoothly? She just doesn't like milk, ESP formula. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Airtix for BB- it was $180 before tax for my BB travel on SQ from Sg-Hk-sg in April.. And Cathay is charging $300+ for baby for the same sectors during the same period. Am going Hk with BB this weekend on SQ and bb's tix is $202 inclusive of tax.. No seat for kids under 2 years old if I'm not wrong, normally they will assign bulkhead sit with bassinet for infants.. 1st come 1st served.. Normally there is about 8 bassinet in each air craft but i did experience that all bassinets were occupied and a mum with 1 toddler n 1 baby has no bassinet.

Diana, i let my boi tried on Durian too... he loves it and kept asking for more....

Baby2010: i didnt use the milk powder scoop but those baby bowl from pigeon or Avent is abt one full bowl.

Bam: super bo hua lor... i wonder if he can get a seat of his own the price will then be like an adult?

Hapiee: try not to marinate using seasoning.. u can try using ikan bilis powder else dried scallops???

I noticed A LOT of frens, here and out of forum all going HK this year [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi all, I plan to order some happy baby food from iherbs, currently have 10% for order >$100. Let me know if you need to order anything. Need additional order to hit $100 to get 10% discount.

Collection will be at

- JE MRT (6.20pm) weekday

- TB Plaza (6.45pm) weekday

- my house behind tiong bahru plz (anytime). Please let me know asap ya.

exchnage rate will be 1 US = 1.25 (will adjust when i recv my credit card bill)

shipping will be devided based on the items weight.

Estimated cost:

- Happy Baby Cereal - USD4.4*.9 + USD.9 (shipping) = USD4.86 = SGD 6.10

- Happy Baby Melts - USD3.73*.9 + USD.3 = USD 3.66 = SGD 4.60

- Happy Baby Puff - USD3.5*.9 + USD.7 = USD 3.85 = SGD 4.80

- Happy Baby organic Food stage 2 - USD1.29*.9 + USD.3 = USD 1.46 = SGD 1.90

- Happy Baby organic Food stage 3 - USD1.58*.9 + USD.3 = USD 1.72 = SGD 2.15

Usually items will reach me around 5 days after ordering.

Shoppie : I also tried sippy cup for water.. but she dosen't know how to suck yet.. only keep biting. Can we train or naturally they will learn to suck one day?

Just to share, other thing that i usually buy from iherb for my older boy is Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics and Childlife, Liquid Vitamin C. Both of them available at GNC, but buy from iherbs much much more cheaper [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Have not started giving my girl since she's still taking breast milk.

the link:

- http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0

- http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Liquid-Vitamin-C-Orange-Flavor-4-fl-oz-118-5-ml/6356?at=0

Bam, give them some time, think they will learn. Mine will bite n chew, but after a while he will suck, not v good thou... of cos, on some days, he juz wana chew. Sometimes I show him hw I drink fr the straw

Hapiee: i do not put any source into the porridge. I am using thermal cooker. I did blend the rice before cook. I put a piece of meat n rice cook n about 1 hour before serve I will put in 2 kind of vege like broccoli puree n sweet potatoes puree or carrot puree n spinach puree . Ya I use vege n ikan bilis stock to cook porridge. First time, I do not blend the rice n put whole piece of vege , my son dun like to eat n sometime will choke so I try to blend the rice n put the puree instead then

he is ok. Maybe u can try. I am try to put the vege is sweet kind type like sweet potatoes n carrot puree mixed some

apple.

Thanks Sharon n baby 2010. Can check when u say cook with ikan billis stock, u mean u add the cube? Or use the real ikan billis? Thanks!

Hapiee: i blend ikan bilis to make it into powder form... and put one scoop into his porridge. Else blend dried scallops to put into porridge...

hapiee, I will cook stock and freeze in small portions (using the Avent Via cups). Veg stock, i will put in whatever I can find e.g. ikan bilis, soya bean, carrot, corn, leek, big onion, tomato....or sometimes i also put in chicken breast meat or fish or pork loin meat...basically its up to you. Then I cook my porridge in slow cooker with the rice and the stock, when almost done, I throw in the fish or meal and veg. I usually puree the broccoli, or mash the carrot and pumpkin. Sometimes i will just put in teh veg to let it cook longer then take otu to puree or mash.

The porridge will be very tasty. I personally don't like putting in dried scallop cos I don't knwo if it has any nutritional value or not, even though I personally love it in my soup and I like chewing them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]