(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Jolyn > In my own opinion, it is nt realy necessary. Unless thers anything u r worry abt or wans to knw. For mi, I did it cos its free fr Poly. I also had sm concerns which I wan2 find out fr the doc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jolyn: ya i was wondering about the same question too earlier...i didn't bring my girl for 9th month assessment as PD never schedule anything leh...we did our vaccinations with GP so i just let it be...if you are worried maybe can check the baby handbook and see whether your bb meets most of the milestones stated (6-10 months section)...think should be ok bah...unless you have some concerns and questions to ask PD...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] IMO la...

BM storage bags,

my fren is selling it. PM if you're interested.

Brand: Nanny, $8.50/box of 25bags. free local postage.

bad habit,

mummies.. just to share this bad habit of my girl. its kind of funny tho. haa! my girl likes to pull ppl's top n look into it. hmm.. -_-" she started off by doing it on me, now she's 'attacking' everyone at home. omg! Last weekend, she's so rude. she slept between us, when she's awake, she pull down my boxer and start pulling my undies numerous time!! wonder where she learn that from..

Groupon Promo - Foltene Shampoo,

for those who ask me about the shampoo i use for hairloss, this is the one that was recommended by my frends.. now groupon got promo!! hurry go buy, limited sets only..

$48 for Choice of 200ml Foltene Restructuring OR Female Hair Loss Shampoo + 150ml Revitalising Conditioner (Worth $96)

I'm back! Bb took to the airplane flight relatively well, think I can bring her travelling to further places soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs lee, my girl also likes to do that! She will pull ppl's tops as if looking for milk. But so far, she has not attacked the underwear yet.

My girl got a v bad running nose. What do you ladies give to e baby? I dun want to give medicine, and my MIL said give barley water. But I tot barley is for fever, not cold?

hey whim welcome back..

ya how did u cook her porridge, u r such a good mama...

if me, i sure v instant cereals only :p

hahaa Mrs Lee.. aiyo, ya gal so cheeky...

mine is lil Vampire in elementary class only... coz he knw how to bite still dunno hw to suck "blood" ahahhaa , but v painful ..the more u yell, the deeper he bite on ...

My MIL still encourage him to do it... something is wrong w her :p

piggydog, no leh..papa dun do that.

shan, vampire.. hahaha!! my girl haven master that yet. your MIL funny la, encourage her to do that??

whim, running nose, i usually apply vicks on their chest n feet. den apply nose drop i gotten from the clinic.

SURVEYEES NEEDED URGENTLY!

Looking for:

1) Pregnant women from age 18 to 40, stage of pregnancy is 13 to 36 weeks,Singaporean or PRs, Chinese, Malays and Indians.

2) Mothers who is feeding their infants from 0 to 12 months old using infant formula brands currently.

Incentive reward: $30 NTUC Voucher Interested, pls reply:-

Group : 1 or 2

Name :

Hp no :

Mother Age:

Brand consume :

Baby age :

Pregnancy stage in weeks :

Email to [email protected] by 25/8/11.

Lunch and BB Gym Meet Up,

any mummies free in mid sept? I'll be on leave for afew days cos MIL go holiday, i'm babysitting bb myself. 14/09 to 16/09

Mrs lee > I m free, except on Sunday. Bt I cn only do lunch or gym, if the location is central or west. Cos I can't stay out for long due to bb don't eat n slp whn he is out. Let me knw. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shoppie, shan - yah, as I was cooking in e hotel, I kept thinking to myself "I siao ah!" But the things I cooked were vegetarian - too troublesome to cook meat. I brought sieve, metal pot, travel kettle, knife, dishwashing liquid etc. And that's not including the food storage and hot-water flask. Think will not do it again for my next trip w her.

But I did feed her instant food too. I find Pigeon's 9 mth old instant food is like porridge, Baby Z loved it.

I'm ok for lunch.

Whim, nvm la, it's always an experience (good one) to travel with our dear bbs. Thou some of my frens always say 'y dun leave him in sin, will be troublesome bringing him along', but we all still chose to travel wif bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whim> i think its really heartwarming to travel with bb, though it can be troublesome and u got so many extra things to bring. imagine u will miss her when u never bring her along. but of course maybe some trips dont bring else cannot enjoy the trip. once u bring u expected to put yr bb as priority. i'm sure u will manage better next trip knowing what to bring/not to bring. maybe u wont cook porridge next trip le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Whim - we will be going to Phuket in end Sept, back to the Marriott Vacation Club for a trip with friends and babies coming along. There is a kitchen there but I intend to bring my mini slow cooker for porridge and maybe my munchkin grinder to grind stuff if needed. If not, I just chop the meat and veg and slow cook with porridge. I will also bring some ikan bilis powder to flavor the porridge.

Mummies, I wanna complain about my nanny. She is nice and all and always has good intention. Last nite when my hubby picked up baby, he brought back a drink in the milk bottle, said nanny made for me, some winter melon thing. so i put into fridge thinking its herbal drink. Then later I took out and noticed a rim of hardened oil inside the bottle and I wondered, how come herbal drink so oily. I tasted it and its watercress soup! I threw it away and also the bottle. To me, its just common sense that babies milk bottles shouldn't be used to store adult food,. If fruit juice, water ok, but oily soup???! That's so silly. Hubby thinks I am over reacting and that its nothing wrong, can just wash it. But its was too oily to be washed, end up my bottle brush became oily, and you know medela plastic bottles hard to wash the inside.

This morning I told nanny not to do that cos I am fussy about it. She said she last minute couldn't find a container so thot use bottle, anyway since my breast milk also is oily. I said its different kind! It was amicable talk lah.

But I just felt so pissed about this incident. Tell me if I am over reacting.

hpc> hmmm i can understand yr anger initially, but after u cool down when u think back, she also nice to make soup for u, just put in wrong bottle. i dont think other nanny might make soup for the mummy to drink. also "older people" dont really know what to take note, such as the milk bottle cannot contain adult food etc, to them, they'll will think can wash away. i'm also particular like u, i dont use normal washing detergent (for adult bowls) to wash bb bottles/bowls etc till now. but as bb grows bigger, less particular as in i'll sometimes share spoon with him, i taste whether the food is hot before feeding him with same spoon kind..but when he's younger, i will totally not share same spoon cos they are more "fragile" then..these are my thoughts on yr incident.

HPC, how to bring the meats over if its not freeze? buy from phuket market?? i was also wondering how to cook porridge for bb during travelling. bringing vegg is easy but not the fish nor meat.

hmm..on the soup in bottle incident, i may also flare up like you. but come to tink abt it, the nanny has good intention of making that for me. will just forget abt it. waste one milk bottle and tell her not to do it again next time.

i forgot to share my incident with u:

hk has a 开奶茶 which my MIL always feed my SIL son, all kids in HK will drink that. its like a cooling drink similar to barley water use, BUT this drink is actually make up of barley, DRIED BUG/cockroach or dont know what insect, with other stuff..(they have powder form also but usually my MIL boil the non powder form). then my MIL know that i dont want to feed my boy that drink cos of the insect yet she secretly ask my maid to feed my boy and only tell me after feeding my boy & also tell my maid dont tell me initially but MIL told me same day after my boy drink. at first in the past, i really dont want my boy to drink but after that i told my hubby if my son really too heaty occasionally drink ok (cos all hk kids drink so they cannot understand why i dont let him drink), but during that day when my MIL feed him, my boy actually not heaty at all! and the purpose of this drink is too cool the body and to improve his appetite when the bb drinks lesser milk. but actually that day i was more angry with the fact she ask my maid cannot tell me! but after that, i cool down cos the fact she's my MIL...and so "heng" that my boy after drinking that day, night time suddenly cry! my MIL next day also tell me next time she'll only boil if i ask her to boil...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5945703.jpg]

mummywong, i will also NOT let my girl drink this if i see the ingredient. OMG!! what is that.. eeeww!! i would stick to barley if my girl is heaty. must be a tough debate you had between you and your MIL on this drink. gosh!

Cooking when traveling, I will buy the meat locally and make do with whatever they have. If very short flight, perhals I will try to check in frezen meat in a cooler bag in my luggage? Haven't tried yet. That also depends if the hotel u stay in has a proper freezer and how long you plan to keep. I think when traveling to a place without a proper kitchen, slow cooker easy. The phuket place I am going to has a full kitchen. Even though I can "double-boil" porr atidge the stove with the pots provided, I find it ley chey to have to watch fire.

Soup in milk bottle - Guess I over reacted a little last night lah. She is nice and will give me cut papaya/watermelon to take home sometimes. She is a clean lady generally but just not sure why she mix it. Maybe I am very particular cos I grew up in my family where my mum is very fussy about such stuff. E.g. her pot using for boiling barley or making agar agar is not used to cook soup. Let alone this is baby's item.

Anyway I am generally not that fussy about many things. E.g. when baby started with her at 3 month old, she never sterlise the milk bottles. Just pour hot boiled water over. I was ok with that. Her bathing style also very garang...wash baby's hair and face by pouring water over, instead of using a cloth to clean face...That was when baby was 3 months old, but cos I see baby never cry so I am ok with it.

Whim, I plan to buy the meat from the supermkt when I go to Phuket. Another method I just thot of is to steam the meat then freeze it? Then bring along for trip so that when it thaws, at least its cooked already and ready to just throw into pot with porridge. But as for the freshness and whether its good or not, I don't know lah.

mummywong, the ingredient put me off le....I choose barley water over this lor....

HPC, actually, dun need to throw away the bottle de....u juz soak it with detergent for a while or hot water for a while, then u can easier wash away the oil le....I wont say u over react coz I can understand where u coming from especially when this is ur 1st child (trust me when come to 2nd child we tend to be much more relax de....which is happening to me nw). But ur nanny is really nice to boil soup for u lah...especially watercress soup is to eat liang one....anyway, u hv already tell her ur concern le....so juz leave things as it is lor...

nw, cheer up and dun get piss off by it

My son is 9th months now and thinking bring him go travel (just a short trip) ..not sure where is a good place suit for baby and adult. any suggestion?

Diana, thanks for the suggestion. Now that I am less angry, I think I will go back and pick up the bottle from the bin and waste it as per your suggestion [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Haha...

mummywong, wah! I was super shocked by the ingredients. If it was me, I would show 'black' face to my MIL and say that my son having loose stools due to ur drink even if he doesn't. Even altho' all kids in HK are drinking this, doesn't mean that ur son shd drink it if the mummy is not comfortable with it wor. Furthermore, purposely dun tell u. When u're at work, then how to keep track of all things.

hpc, I understand how you feel. Think just let ur nanny know that u purposely throw away e bottle so tat she won't do it next time. But u're quite happy w ur nanny overall right?

Baby2010, I just came back from penang. Find that it's quite good for baby and adults. We stayed at the beach resort coz e main purpose was to relax and eat.

Why it's good

1) short flight time -approx 1.5 hrs. Good to see if ur bb can take airflight.

2) Diapers/food etc very similar to Singapore, so no need to bring so much diapers.

Maybe u can consider nearby countries?

Hey, can I ask what brands of shoes are you buying for your babies? So far, I've bought see kai run shoes from mothercare, but I would love to try other brands.

whim,

I dun think HPC shld tell her nanny tat she throw the bottle away le....it will spolit r/s le....r/s are hard to build and so why spolit it over a initial good intention right?

Furthermore, it is not like the bottle cannot be wash due to containing the soup mah....it is our mentality, a protective mother mentality especially if we are 1st time mother.

to say the truth, a good nanny is rare and hard to find, so better treasure lah....

well this is my thots lah....coz I believe tat how u want to be treat, u hv to treat them the same way too. Nanny is taking of our kids, so best is to be nice to them so u dun need to worry if they take it out on ur kids ba.....

whim> lucky my boy no side effect after drinking. actually my MIL quite a nice person just that she tell me the episode only after instructing the maid, when i went home at night i purposely pretend i dont know first & happen my boy cry suddenly, then my maid said my MIL gave him the drink, but my MIL already told me herself lah. the next day i did tell my MIL jokingly when she talked about this incident again that she shouldnt ask the maid not to tell me, else next time the maid will not listen to what i said. i hope she wont feed my son the drink again lah...maybe i secretly throw away next time haa...

mummywong,

ur MIL is xiang gang ren? then it might be hard to convince her nt to gif since her own kids also grow up with this drink le...

Hpc, my recent trip was to phuket. The big c there is like our carrefour, can buy meat there. Your frens bringing baby as well?

Mummywong, ur pic speak a thousand words...

I wana travel year end, think gota start planning hw to cook porriage then

Anyone brought baby to korea before? Im nw deciding bet korea n hk. But if korea prob hv to go earlier else to cold... Or any other sugg whr to go?

whim: wah you very garang cook porridge for bb during trip...lucky bb Z...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] about shoes...my mum got pediped for my girl...she haven't wear but i can't help drooling over it already...the material and cutting looks comfortable cos' my girl has "meaty" feet...hehe..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Diana & Whim, I am generally happy with nanny cos she loves my girl and she takes good care of her. I did tell her the next day that the bottle is too oily to be washed and I threw away. I said in a very diplomatic manner so there wasn't any offence or pun. It was ok...I told her in this particular area, I am more "gao Ceh" (fussy)....then she somemore can answer me..yah lah, anyway u have so many bottles,...hahaha. My way of talkign to her when I wanna "complain" is to whine a bit...like I will say to her "huh? cannot lah...can meh??I usually don't dare to do it leh....next time u try other way ok?" Then she will laugh and say ok.

I am very careful not to "offend" her cos I need her to help me with baby. But I also need to be firm on certain ways I want cos its my baby and I am paying her to take care. Sensitive relationship lor, but she is very nice generally and I trust baby to be at her place [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shoppiee, yes, I went Phuket last year when I was in 2nd tri and we shopped at the supermarkets too cos I enjoy cooking and my villa got full service kitcehn so we cooked a bit. We will be going with 2 other couples. One of them have a baby, 3 weeks older than my girl, and the other has a 4 yr old girl. So we can combine resources and food with the other baby.

just wana check with mummies with no2.

If our kids turn after 1yrs.. how many solid feed per day and how much milk feed perday.

Dec going taiwan with my bb.. by then she will be almost 14 mths liao.. I still thinking if i should bring barang barang to cok porridge for her and she can eat the stuff there.. (Not everything lah) but things like noodles or rice with soup etc... but i'll still bring milk for her.. but just need to know by then how many feeds of milk they'll drink. Morning and nite once?

Bam,

When I brought my #1 t HK when he was 15 months old, we only brought along diaper, milk powder and cereal (juz in case). Coz he was able to eat the outside food. Furthermore HK, there are plenty of porridge around or can order rice with soup mah....so nt much of an issue. That time, I only gif him milk in the morning and nite before he zzzz.....but did bring out 1 more feed out during the day in case he ask for milk lor..

I will say it is very much depend on ur kid....tat is if he/she is used to eating outside food or nt. Coz I got frenz who still bring pot to cook porridge when they travel with their kids who are 15 months old or older lor.

I will be planning a trip to hkg this yr end. SQ rates quite gd rate now wor.. But i have yet to make my girl's passport, am going to do so this wkend and once got it will make booking le.

For me, becos my sis stays in hkg. That's why i make hkg my first holiday trip with bb. At least i can cook porridge and etc at my sis's plc [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Really am so deprived of holiday.. All babies are going to a year old soon.. Big pat to all mommies, we have come so far! ;)