(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Has anyone starts using the clarins oil or any stretchmarks cream yet? Can i ask we can just apply on the stomach there? Will it be harmful to baby?

Jolyn - hahahaha, I super kiasu de. I started applying since I got to know I'm pregs in early March. I didn't use the clarins oil though; just the Palmer Cocoa Butter cream. I find it rather thick, so most of the time I'll only use it at night. I'll use my normal moisturizer in the morning. It won't harm the bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gd morn ladies,

Irene: Ya.. its gd to know if we got some genetic disease tat may have chance of passing to bb. We can take precaution, be prepared or be ready to make decision. As it is, Down Syndrome is only one of the many genetic defects.

Regular checks are necessary for you to understand your own health. Many ppl dun know they have hidden prob til late stage. Keep ourselves healthy then we can provide our bb with a better future.

Shan: yellowish discharge is normal.. & wat angel said is rite. But greenish & itch is not normal... shld consult ur gynae.

Mummywong: I wished I can vomit softly.. haha.. most of the time I vomit like the Merlion. Sometimes, when I dropped the "bomb" in the toilet bowl, its so heavy that the water splashed out on the floor. :p

Angel: I like the checklist idea! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Angel,

I was reading some ppl says cannt apply ru yi oil as it might be harmful to bb.. So was still tinkg the oil or the creams works the same way.. hehe.. So much worries for a first time mum ya.. hehe

jolyn: i hv also started to apply clarins stretch mark cream too..prefer the cream as find the oil type a bit oily..but then seems like quite a lot of mummies applying the oil type so maybe that is better.

had checked with gynae if stretch mark cream safe to use n he said shld not have prob.

Jolyn: I got frighten by one of my fren that showed me her "rail way track" tummy. the surface is like a basketball. She has 2 kids.

I start to use stretch mark cream more than 1 mth ago (shld be same time as angel [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]), I rub the cream/oil ard tummy, arms, thighs & breasts. I use non-oily for day time & clarins oil for nite time. They r gd for expansion (putting on wt) or contraction (loose wt).

There are some checklists online, but need to adapt to your own needs.

Here are a few:

http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_essentials&cid=7&mid=37

http://www.todaysparent.com/pregnancybirth/youandnewborn/article.jsp?content=20030605_132958_3736&page=1

http://www.huggies.com.sg/shopping-for-baby.aspx

More for safety/babyproofing:

http://www.babycenter.com/childproofing-checklist-before-baby-arrives

Enjoy planning your own checklists! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jolyn - yah man! So many things to learn, so much dos & don'ts. *shake head* :D

Jollymummy - wah seh! Thanks for the lists! They'll be a geat help. hehehe :D

Angel:

You are welcome.

I enjoyed planning and poring over my personal checklist over and over again b4 my #1 arrive in 2008.

Hehe, it's quite fun!

Jaymickey:

Explorer Kids sounds like fun! Have you been there before?

I'm usually free on Tuesdays & Wednesdays - can make it on 19/25/26 May.

Can email me to coordinate further: [email protected]

Thanks! I think Naf is in East too.

Re: Baby Checklist

Oh I think a few baby retail places like Taka (4th floor) or Mothercare have such lists too.

Can bring home for reference. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes, for FTMs it's lidat, blur blur, duno wat to tk.. ask ard, frens etc. and we can share among oso.. soon u will hv a good full list.. i hv one, gotta dig out..heee

Jewel, the black railway line running vertically across ya belly button is normal, i forgotten when it will appear, but aft u gv birth it'll disappear.. it looked ugly n scary.. haa ya..but don wori it will go away..

thanks jewel/irene, ya i abit scare abt the discharge too ..esp now we cant feel a thing, i cant lo.. so dunno how the lil one doing..

maybe i call gynea to ask him abt OSCAR then kei kei go scan again :p

Jolyn, same, mine oso like yellowish-green i oso duno hw to describe the colour, bright de..

i tld gynea b4, he said ok as long as no odour, but i cant help feeling scare.. Coz i hear Dr Adrian have the typically "normal" reaction to almost eveytin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so ask ard see u all hv or nt..

Hi jolyn am already on clarins cream. I scare the oil is too oily but onli applied on tummy. Robinson having 20 % dis gd time to buy.

Wah.. I see the lists my eyes big big... There's soo much to buy and decide. :p I like the one at momcenter and todayparents. :D

I'll go check out Mothercare for extra lists too! Great to have such lists to help. :D

Angel - ya the checklist quite overwhelming like so many things to prepare, but some items not required, can u imagine i have some items not used since my no.1 so don be too stress, just get those essential items, rest that are easily available from neighbourhood no need to stock up too much.

koori - thanks for the advice! :D Yah, I guess need to go through the lists and then ask experience mommies about their opinions about stuff. I think first time parents will tend to buy more stuff and then find that it's actually unnecessary. hehehe

Next time, I'll ask experience mommies here about the different brands of stuff. :p

Shan,

Unfortunately, my fren's railway track didnt go away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. her youngest child is already 10 yrs old. *faintz*. She told me she didnt use stretch mark cream & lost wt too fast, tats y got the ugly marks.

I cant wait for my next appt to see how bb is doing & know my OSCAR result.

Yah~ I heard about losing wt fast and getting stretch marks de. Weird, but true. I have a colleague who didn't have any marks during her pregnancy. Then after that, she said she got some on the back of her thighs while losing weight. Signz....

i just noticed my stretchmarks yday!!!!!! duno isist from my no.1 time or new ones, its around belly button area. sianzzzz.

Hi Shan

>I think for the discharge is normal bah, different pregnancy varies.. Mine is more to yellowish sometimes it looks abit yellow-greenish to me.. Now i am wearing panty-liner everyday.. I did mention to my gynae before, she says should not be a issue.. For me no odour no itchness.. So i presume it's normal, as the discharge might also due to what you eat and drink.. I believe if it's infection there should be 'signs'.. Correct me if i am wrong.. ;p

Hi Sharon,

>Will getting in airport DFS be cheaper? As i will be going holiday on Mid-June, am thinkg to stock up another few bottles when time to come.. I'm using the clarins oil only at night, morning always tired and rushing for work.. No time to apply.. Oops!

Ueno

>Yes i like the smell too, plants extract kinda [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My gynae office just called me to tell me I need to go back for another blood test.. I think they missed out the blood test meant to go with the NT scan... They said the blood test I took after NT scan is Annetal?? test?? !^!^%#@$@$@!

All the while I tot no news is gd news... now im almost 13w6d... duno the test will be accurate or not... haiz. I got to rush down to hospital to give them blood now. &^%%^$%^#%!!

Hi koori,

yeah. Where r u delivering? Me n hubby opt for TMC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] dunoe will see u there or nt. Me n hubby oso attending antenetal programme by kkh in mid june...so excited

Jewel - aiyo! How can they make such a mistake? *faint* I'm sure everything will be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope you give them a piece of you mind, gota trouble u to rush all the way down. :p

Ueno:

I remembered you got 8 bottles of the Clarins oil at airport.

Is it easier to get b4 departure or during arrival?

Which terminal did you get yours from?

Like Jolyn, I'm travelling in mid June, together with hubby and toddler who will be 22mth by then.

Jewel:

Will they charge you extra to do another blood test???

It's not your fault leh!!!

Yes, must give them a piece of your mind! But remember to go there safely, don't walk/run too fast!

Hi Jewel,

>Gosh what a mistake they have made? Where is your gynae office? I thought normally oscar test is done, regardless whether gd or bad they will give a call to inform, no?

jewel really?? hers never go away.. oh dear.. i still taking tat for granted :p but all my frens all went away leh..else so ugly!! omg!

koori, be diligent with the stretch mark cream then. massage it away.. good luck.

i am using palmer cocoa butter, v rich..isst.. i kiasu :p

u all gg in mid jun, wow..so nice.. i oni planning to go Aug, maybe juz drive to mly..simple & short de..hee

jolyn, hope so.. seem they said the same, not itchy nor semlly..shd be fine..

oh ya on the food, i been eatg junkie!! :p

today put on maternity pants, suddenly my tummy bloated so big! heng i got shawl to cover.. haa i think poor belly all the while, i been thinking it suffocate & tigh under my normal pants :p really super obvious today lo.. no bluff!

jewel.. hmm abit confused..guess yours is blood test + NT scan ==> OSCAR Issit?

i think the NT scan is more critical, to scan n check bby when they are nt more than wk14. for blood test, shd be ok de.. don fret so much... tk care eh ...

shan - not really leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] During my oscar scan, the person said that my bb's neck looks fine. It was the blood test that came out not that good. After calculating the overall risk, my hb & I prefer to do the amnio test to be certain abt our bb's health.

Haha, I also think that my tummy suddenly expand until quite big! Signz~ Now really must find comfy bottoms to wear liao. :D

i just came back frm checkup, got the blood test results was 1:6000+, gynae say its good. i know the gender liao, its a girl! save $ for me, no need to buy new clothes just take those from jiejie.

Hi mommies, I'm from Jan 2010 MTB.

I have the following I wish to let go:

Via post or Self collection @ Tg Pgr MRT on weekday evenings.

Pigeon Disposable Breast Pads

Used 50%. Left 17 pieces only.

$2 - prefer via self collection

Nursing Bra size 40C (Nude(brown) and light beige) - $8.50 each including postage

Washed not worn. Bought wrong size. Ribbon in the centre has been removed.

For pictures, please visit http://www.flickr.com/photos/23825906@N03/sets/72157623457485138

Medela Purelan Brand New Unopened (without box)

$11 including postage

37g Expiry June 2012

- Will throw in another tube which is left 50%.

Brand New Unopened Avent Nipple Cream

$10 including postage

30g Expiry June 2011

From Little dreamers

Healing bottom spray $10 including postage

Brand new unopened 120ml bottle Expiry Sep 2011

I had to go for c-sect thus no use for it.

Dry confinement Powder (for hair) $7 including postage

3.4oz bottle Expiry Oct 2011

Used a few times. Tried using during confinement but end up washing my hair. :p

Lucky Baby

Stroller Cover for rain or shine - Brand New

Letting go @ $12

Do PM me if keen.

went for NT Scan and OSCAR yesterday.. results only available in a week or 2..

Gynae keep mum on the gender.. said only next month then reveal to us..

Anyone here starts on Fish oil? According to gynae is optional.. so wondering if it is necessary.. and hor, can we already start to eat raw like sashimi or really must refrain throughout the period?

Hi mummies, I have been mia for quite a while here... good to see that our group has grown!

Congrats to all new mummies who just joined us and to those who are in 2nd trimester now!

Angel: I know what you are going through now as I went through the same anxiety, stress and worrying period over the past 2 weeks since receiving my OSCAR test results.

I did my OSCAR 2 weeks ago and the results were also not good. Baby's nuchal fold measurement is fine (1.6mm) but my maternal blood test results put me on high risk (1:35) for a baby with trisomy 13, 18 & 21 disorders.

I was planning to go for amnio already but hated going through the long 4-week waiting period fearing the unknown. I did some reading on the internet and decided to consult Dr Anandakumar (Camden Medical Centre) for a detailed scan. After his detailed scan, he ruled out Trisomy 13 & 18 and my risk for a Trisomy 21 baby was reduced to 1:625. We have decided not to go for the amnio as our odds are lower than the risk of an amnio m/c.

You may want to see him for a second opinion before deciding on the amnio. He is a specialist in antenatal ultrasound and his charges are between S$380 (Singleton) to S$480. This scan can be done from 14 weeks onwards and is similar to those usually done at 20 weeks with checks done on fetal heart, kidney, liver functions, etc but more thorough. If you do a search for his name in this forum, there are other threads posted by mummies who have visited him too. You can also find more information on his clinic website here http://www.ssr.com.sg/frameall.htm.

Dr Anandakumar is very patient and chatty. He answers all questions we asked with no haste unlike some gynaes we have seen.

Stay strong, have faith and pm me if you need more information about him.

Koori> Congrats on the good results and finding the gender!

Seagal> U are very sweet and encouraging to type the information! It's good for us MTB to know for knowledge too.

mummywong10, no lah, I just hope to share what I have been through with you & other mummies here.

I would not have heard about Dr Anandakumar too if not for postings by other mummies in this forum. On hindsight, I realised most of us don't get much information from our gynaes as they just recommend that we go for invasive tests like amnio or cvs if our OSCAR results are not good.

According to Dr Anandakumar, for every 1 DS baby detected, 1 healthy baby is lost through mc or related complications during pregnancy. Scary right?!! Not to mention the trauma we mummies have to go through especially when actual results are negative. Time to create more awareness!!

jollymummy,

buy it before u leave cos departure no need to pay GST. If u purchase when u come back all items need to pay 7% extra GST. U can get it at all terminals, i think. I bought it from T2 N T3 previously. hopefully its not out of stock. U can call them n ask them to reserve it for u 1st, closer to your departure date. The no for T3 Central shop is 62415206. If u are leaving from T2 u can ask T3 for their no.

Stretchmarks Oil:

I recommend Bio Oil too as I find it less oily than the Clarins oil and it's absorbed into our skin almost instantly.

This oil is not selling in Singapore but can buy from overseas website e.g. drugstore.com (refer http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=165709&catid=10403).

If any of you are going Australia or have friends going there, it's cheaper to get it there. My friend got it for me at about S$25 for a 125ml (4 fl oz) bottle.

I have scarring/keloid problems and this oil really works wonders in reducing scars!