(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Hpc, if it's black, it's probably mouldy. Have to change the sprout. Disassemble everything for washing individually, them let the parts air dry.

jolyn: i am cooking my girl's porridge quite similar to yours...i will put in pork for the "essence" everytime and sometimes i will also add in a small piece of fish (threadfin, salmon, snapper, etc)...the pork is to add flavor to the porridge...if there is no fish on that day we will grate a little pork for her to eat with the porridge...

so my ingredients in the porridge currently is: pork + fish(not every meal) + 1-2 types of veg

personally i prefer to keep her porridge simple but i alternate the veg i put in (currently spinach, pumpkin, broccoli, carrot) every meal..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thankfully my girl loves every porridge we make...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i haven't made my girl's porridge with dried scallops and ikan bilis powder yet...intend to start soon for even more variety...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bluesoda, i bought a taiwan brand TakaXXX can't rem the exact name.. But it starts with T de, it is in the market for quite sometime le.. Can easily find in electric shops [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Clover. I think it's mould too. I bought a new one yesterday and will tell nanny to air dry the parts when not in use.

tks jolyn, will check it out

I have been giving my girl take EYS Zhao Mi Hu twice a day, during wkdays. Only give her take Pumpkin porridge with fish once a day, during the wkend. Not much varieties..wonder whether it is ok.

Mummies, anyone has experienced baby clenching his fist so tight till he shakes a little? Matthias recently does this when he is whinning. I wonder if it is becoz he is trying to poo po. Any idea?

Vividip,

Think last time my boy does that when he is pek chey....for my boy it is ok, coz we did monitor him and see that he is ok thus we more fang xin. mayb u monitor ur boy for awhile. maybe he is just throwing tantrums like my boy. but if it become a concern or if he turn purple doing tat or what, then check with PD.

vividip > Mathias wil shakes if I wakes him up in the mids of his slp. He has bn lik tat since birth. Bt He seems alrite leh. Nt sure if u mean the same kind of shakes.

Vividip, mine will not clench his fist during the shake.. He will do this occassionally and seriously we duno wat he means or wan. He is neither poo-ing nor angry. Can be out of the sudden. And the shake will be most obvious and intense when he bite onto something.. the biting part I can understand cos most likely is itchy gum..perhaps la, but we duno how true is that.

Vividip: Did you mean a seizure? How long was the clench? Maybe it's just wee or poo? Does he do that often?

Bluesoda: as long as bb is enjoying it definitely no issue.. but you can try a variety more food to let her enjoy her food even more...

Vividip: my son also like to do that but i think becos he is too excited...

Junvis: No problem! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope your bb is well now. it's true when powder gets in touch with water, will clump, those are the talcum powder I supposed? But there are antiseptic powders that are prescribed for fungal attack. Some PDs like cream, some like powder. And between the two, if it's an situation of fungal attack and you need to keep it dry, I think the powder is more effective and heals faster. FYI.

Finally back in Singapore and settle down. Looks like I have a lot archives to read to catch up with what's going on here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shoppiee (shoppiee): haizzz..me too..still not able to post after a yr long... email them but noo one reply de... dunno how and dunno why...

wanna ask a question :

how do we know if the baby is allegy to certain food ? how does the rashes look like ?

my girl is having small red dots of rash on her forehead and nose...

wonder if it is due to the scallop in the porridge

Below is the link to a list of the food that might cause allergy and should be introduce after certain age for all reference.

http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/baby-food-chart.html

Wendy,

It could be food allergy, perhaps u can google for some food allergy picture. But shellfish is highly allergy thus it is always recommend to be introduced after they are over 12 mths old. Also dried scallops actually hv no nutrient level accordingly to PD and it purpose is only to add taste nia.

Also, I do recall that during my #1, the PD give me a chart on what type of food to introduce after what age lor. Thus I only introduce shellfish after he turn 12 mths

Does not look like a seizure... He is screaming while he does that... So i dunno if it is okay. It only last like 3 seconds but he does it repeatedly.

Jovialz: welcome back! Birthday bash, swimming floats, feeding solids, bb temperaments, name tags for water bottles.... These are some of what we talked about! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vividip: could it be he saw someone doing that and he I mimicking? You may want to just ask your pd if this is a passing phase?

shoppiee, babywonder,

u only hv a few hundred posts in a year...nit active enough. WTS section is for ACTIVE members. that's why u see some BPs, the first few posts are pple posting "Details pls". that's their attempt at raising their number of posts. i think I hit 1000 posts in the first year and I could access...

Shoppiee (shoppiee): Ya me too..email ,post,etc no sound no picture... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hopefully someone can help us on this soon....

Bluesoda: my slow cooker is toyomi brand...not bad so far [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies, anyone has experience bringing baby to cold/winter country? am planning to travel with bb to NZ when the temp is ard 10C, any advise how much clothing should I prepare for bb? Or how should I dress bb? 3 layers enough? Any place that sells winter wear for baby? Any advice is appreciated.

Jen> U think to bring moisturizer & lip balm for bb (very important) as cold weather=dry. The outermost layer need to be of much bigger size as it would be worn over the other 1 to layers of clothings. Get socks/warmers too. My friend who brought her kid to Japan in cold weather buy online jacket from Gap etc. I think Sin has those winter clothings shops, of course if you can borrow from friends would be best since baby outgrow the clothes very fast & you dont really need winter clothes in Sin.

Twinfish> how's yr gal condition? Still got the sound? Got bring her go PD check again or never?

Yippy! My boy has grown up...jus saw his 1st little tooth pop out. Suddenly hv mixed feeling of sad n happy. Sad as my boy is no longer my little baby, happy cos my little baby has grown up to b a little man soon.

Mummywong,

Occasionally still got sounds, PD cannot check coz she straggle around unless she sleep, PD said we have to monitor see when she walking tat time got any prob or not...so far she very active like nothing n learning climb up to stand, so maybe we think too much...

Chris: good for u.. my little one still nothing yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] haha and cranky whole night for the last 1 week.

Jen, the general rule for bringing babies to cold countries is to dress the baby in 1 more layer than yourself, ie if u need 3 layers to keep warm, your baby will need 4. Very impt to cover the head. Try to get snowsuits if you are buying, I find this to be very effective.

hi Mummies, dropping by to inform BB taka fair is coming up this wednesday. saw them setting up the booth earlier today. hahah!! time to stock up..

Dear Mrs. Lee, thanks for the update.

Yeah im waiting for this taka fair so that i can make purchase for the stroller [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Last night my girl refused to sleep frm 2am-5.30am. Gosh, when im about to make her sleep at 3am, there goes the thunder & lightenining.

Really a panda bear @work today..

hi mummies who have ordered the baby cubes with me, the parcel has arrived. kindly PM me your choice of collection ok ? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

* Raffles place / Tanjong Pagar MRT during lunch time weekday

* Jurong West St 93, weekend

sharon > it cld b any time sn for ur bb. Mus b really anxious hor? I was too. :p today saw him tryin to push himself up to sit! Vry sn he wil b able to sit no his own. I hv bn waitin for tis moment for sooo vry long alrdy.

Jolyn > ya, me too! Bb was lik tat since sun afternoon. Wonder y?

Hi mommies! I know this is the time your LOs are starting to take solids and it can be such a headache sometimes (my boy's 1.5 years old now). Not sure if you've heard of Petit Bowl (http://www.petitbowl.com/) or tried their food before. They sell freshly made frozen meals for kids as young as 4 months old. As I'm now hosting a giveaway for Petit Bowl vouchers on my blog, I thought it might be helpful to share it with you.

To participate, visit my blog for the details: http://ruthwongwrites.blogspot.com/2011/07/meals-for-littles-ones-easy-peasy-with.html

Btw, there are two vouchers to be won [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BabyWonder and Jo,

Thanks for welcoming me back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Birthday Bash in December ? seems pretty late. More like a Christmas celebration. Hope nobody here is pantang about celebrating birthday late. Why not consider having a birthday bash in mid october then another gathering in December for christmas ?

Jen,

Not too sure about NZ. But I prefer to go for more layering rather 1 long john, 1 sweater and 1 thick jacket. My experience with my boy when I go to japan was the long john + sweater is too warm when indoor. So in the end I let him wear 2 - 3 layers of long sleeve tee-shirt and a wind breaker jacket. As for pants, I get those pants that are slightly thicker and bring along long socks. If still cold, I'd carry him using my beco carrier and zip up inside my own jacket which has elastic waist thus can "expand".

Get beanie hat to cover the head (and ears) as they'll loose heat very easy. Gloves are important too. Thou scarves can be tricky (maybe a turtle nexk sweater instead) as they might strangle themselves.

bringing baby to winter country = lots of luggage. Do note that their nose might not be able to take the cold and dry weather and their nose lining is still very thin now. Thus might have occasional slight nose bleed. Might need to stay indoor more.

Chris, if not wrong we already registered under Shoppie.. Trial is on 13 Aug. Initially I also tot how cum no news till I go back to the archive and check n confirm.

Posted on Monday, July 11, 2011 - 4:47 pm:       

Posted on Monday, July 11, 2011 - 3:16 pm:

Free Trial Class at JWT

(either UOB or ANZ credit card)

81 Clemenceau Avenue

UE Square, #02-12

Singapore 239917

Date: Aug 13 (Sat)

Time: 1-2pm

(Min 4 pax, max 10pax)

Those we wana go can add your details:

1. Shoppiee

2. junvis

3. happy ocean

4. piggydog

5. plasterger wendy

6. Sheepysheeps

7. Whim

8. Hpc

9. Nana

10.Chris

Trial class still on leh... I hvnt email cos nt aug yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] paisei, what 'news' u all waiting for huh? This is my first time organising....

Jen, u plan to go when bb hw many mths? I bght winter romper in bp, those fleece material. sale mah, so i just buy n keep wif the hope tt we'll go somewhr cold when he's older.

Btw, those gg for aug 12 gathering all sahm? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]