(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

today at tmc waited for 1hr+ and scan was abt 20mins as got to check on blood flow to womb requested by gynae....

also am happy to say my 3rd bb is girl!!! hehe so happy....

hubby now can relax as he dreamt 3x that bb is boy...kakaka

i waited for abt 1/2 hr for d scan. tink my scan took abit longer cos my bb faced downwards n took abit of x to face up

am also soooo happy to cfm my bb is ger ger... dr ang's predication is accurate! hb n me kinda wen to celebrate on this cfmation wif a nice dinner.

jus wanna chk wf u gals anyone decided to bank ur cord blood? cos it seems to be cure for more n more disease leh. me tinking of gg 4 it leh. any advise?

btw did most of u sign up for the TMC disc card? is it worth it actually? cos gotta pay $148 upfront

Nana, Jewel, I'm not going for tomorrow's pilates class at Tg Pagar, I see you ladies the Sat after that (3 Jul) ok?

Shan:

Yes, we took the chance to go overseas before #2 arrives. I can imagine it'll be so difficult to travel with 2 young kids.

Probably not gonna travel for at least next 2 yrs. But many parents do it anyway, however I just find it rather challenging to travel with 2 young ones.

Ya, think I'll just kick my hubby's leg under the table so he'll respond instead of me.

Also, I probably "blame" my hubby for the XX chromosome combination, haha!

Thanks Shan for tips for handling ILs.

Koori:

Sometimes I feel like telling these "concerned" pple: Why? Are girls worth less than boys?!?!?

Ya, what if #3 turns out to be girl, then hahaha! What then? #4???

All in God's hands, not ours. Yup, we have no plans to go for #3, unless God decides to bless us with another one. =)

Jo:

Oh these pple are really too much... Do they think it's so easy to raise 3 kids nowadays?

Heck them! I think I'll just give a simple answer: No. And then stare. Muahahaha!

Jewel & Cherrios:

Yeah, that's right. I have a friend who's already 40, tried for abt 9-10 yrs for baby, but not successful at all.

Really feel for them. We should feel very blessed indeed. =)

Cherrios, what would be the age gap between your 1st and 2nd? Mine would be 27months gap.

Mrs Lee & Jewel:

See ya tmr!

Whim:

See ya on 3rd lesson then!

Bing:

Thanks! Maybe you'll have a boy and a girl? =)

Jollymummy, I'll see you on the 3rd lesson. It was v nice of u to organise the pre-natal yoga class (especially when there's no 1 thread on pre-natal yoga).

Boy vs girl.... I had an auntie congratulate me on the gender of the baby, she said "Well done!" I just immediately said, you should congratulate my husband coz he is the one who decides the gender of the baby. It was my honest response, didn't mean to be rude. But I think the relatives know that I'm v straightforward, so better not to irritate me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I cannot stand this insomnia part of the pregnancy... if I'm not waking up super early to go toilet or to find food for breakfast, then it's can't get to sleep and have to find food. Like now. Am eating instant noodles and surfing the internet. Xian. Anyone got any advice for this?

Tris mom & Naf, congrats on having a baby girl!!

Cord banking,

my hubby n I signed up with cord bank in April during a baby fair, I was then 1 mth preg.. But we find it quite useful so we signed.. Anyway my friend told me if I refer people in, the person who sign will get $50 off and I will get a $50 voucher as well, so if anyone wanna sign can pm me then at least both of us will benefit..

Baby gender,

was quite pissed by MIL when hubby jokingly ask her whether she want boy or girl, and she simply replied "got choice meh?".. No choice but don't need to be like that lo.. We were just asking for her preference!! she nv cook any tonic or anything for me at all..still complaint that why we put so many cartons of milk in the fridge when there were only 2( buy 2 got promotion mah!!) sometime really don't know how to communicate with her..

My little munchkin was very active, legs are still crossed, refused to reveal, but it's probably a gal. Otherwise, everything abt the bb was fine. We are happy that the little one is healthy.

My ILs may be disappointed (don't know yet), but heck, it's my baby, not theirs. Hee hee.

I was discharged from being a high risk case to a normal case, another piece of good news today.

Ange, u make me laugh with the "simi ma ai chap" MIL description.

Fashion spree, congrats, u can relax now.

Tris Mum, I'm definately banking the cord blood.

Fashion spree, novembb: Congrats on good results and baby gender. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How nice.... *sob sob* [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jollymum: Ya, I did roll my eyes when I answered them! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I can't be bothered with them, it's my life, not like they are going to contribute in bringing up my kids! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I take it as they are just "striking a conversation"! My ILs, on the other hand wouldn't dare to interfere or ask. Ha ha ha... I also like Ange's "si mi ma ai chap" description! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Trismom: I banked my #1's with stem cord, and will do for #2 too.

Caterer: Neo Garden is not bad. I tried a few times at different parties this year, good food and professional presentation. Prompt service too.

Hammiebao: Give a little spank on your hubby's butt for asking that question! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Leave her alone, when she sees the real baby, they'll regret what she did to you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Looks like your mil forgot that preggies need lots of milk!

Whim: I experienced the same with #2 but only in T1. I'll wake up feeling the need to go toilet then can't get back to sleep. At first, I tried to get back to sleep but I feel more tired doing that. So I read books, listened to music and ate! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ya, I'm also a fan of instant noodles, before or during preg also the same. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I stopped eating junks when i wake up to go toilet, I drank milk and ate yoghurt- calcium helps you to sleep better. I also listened to soft music and did deep breathing. It helps, I don't wake up anymore, now I sleep through the night. BTW, if you have started pre-natal massage, you can schedule it at night, it's really shiok to sleep after massage! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ailian/Mandy spree: Want to ask those who patronized- How are the sizes like? typical asian or comparable to American/Euro? In the past, before I got preg, I found it hard to buy clothes from Asian countries- pants too short, tops sizes correct but also too short, if I buy a bigger size, it'll end up too loose. Do you all experience this?

hammiebao

ask u wats the price u were quoted? they were saying per yr is $250 rite? does it means its consistent pricing guaranteed no increase for the next 20 yrs? im concerned now the price is afforable wait suddenly they increased the price to very high den we r like stuck LL also hv to continue the deal even cannot afford cos halfway done liao

whim - I try to eat sth just b4 I go to sleep, whether it's a slice of bread or a museli bar or some biscuits. So far, I only got up once in the middle of the night needing food. But I seem to always wake up around 4plus, duno why. Don't need to eat or go toilet though, just wake up. Maybe u can try eating sth b4 going to sleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hammibao - wah lao. Ur MIL really sth~ Ask ask also cannot ah? Faint~

Tris mom & Naf - congrats on having a baby girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: leg cramp:

i am having leg cramp for the 3rd time, n this time rd my left leg still hurt for 2dys no matter how i stretch it... =< I already put my leg on pillow, do my own mini massage

anmum milk powder: first time drinking ystd, n I felt heaty this morning.... I din have this issue w the packet anlene milk. any mum having this issue?

green vein on breast: I have this! does mummies buy normal bra or nursing bra? wat if breast size increase further?

sharon pang: me too have dry lips this few days despite drinking lots water. there was a stage in 1st trimester whereby i have small pimples popping out too, immediately i went for facial, did my own masque and change my whole set of facial pdts (skin became sensitive to previous pdts). maybe you can try that too. I am ok now, but I am not sure whether it is the hormones or my new facial pdts. =)

facial: generally we have to lie down on the back for 2 to 2 n 1/2 hr for the facial. As we grow bigger, wasn't lying down on the back discouraged? does that mean no more facial until baby is borned?

sinus & nite sleeping:

I have sinus starting late 1st trimester, and my nose is 24/7 blocked....sinus generally causes darker eye ring, n to make it worse, my nose is always red on the left side of the nose rim.

apart fr that, i generally wake up every 2 or 3 hour at nite to a must-go-toilet-if-not-cannot-sleep. If I don have full dinner, I will also wake up in the middle of the nite for food...

any mummies have any tips to tackle the sleeping problem? I took calcium pills pescribed by doc, n onn off i have my milk, or soya too...

arghh... I need to find food now, I don know why I keep feelign hungry.....

Tris mom,

we signed for the 21 yrs plan.. It was 5k+ but half can be paid using the baby bonus given by gov.. I did ask the sales girl about pricing different.. And she mentioned that they price did not change at least for the past 5 yrs.. But I dontknow how true that is cos I don't know the price before..

Angel n Jo,

my Mil very Bo chap one.. She even said she nv heard of cannot move the bed in our room when preg despite she has 3 kids.. Sometime really don't know what she's thinking..

Anyway for mummies info,

I did compare the price of bottles from departmental stores and kiddy palace... Found that can get best discount from Tangs using Tangs citibank card (10% rebate) and normal citibank card (6% rebate) with the 20% discountthat they are having now.. As for Isetan, Isetan card member can get 3% discount additional.. Not sure about metro and robinsons as I didn't get their card..

Dry Skin,

yes.. im facin that problem too! dry lips, crack so badly (for the first time) that it bleed.. my feet too, skin peelin off, nt sure if its a sign of leakin of any vitamins.. so worried! But on the other side, my facial skin is oily.. sigh~

Insomia,

am facin that too.. sigh! either wake up to pee or for food.. smetimes wake up at 5am for nothing. den again wake up at 8am to go work. super sleepy.

Cord Blood,

do we have to sign up this before we labour? cos i tink we have to bring their 'package' to the hospital durin labour.

seem like more bb gal popping out :p

i tot i am the only one that wake up at either 1 or 4...seem like this is quite commom among us...wonder why

orangebb if anlene is heaty for you, you can take HL milk, you dont have to stick to anlene else ask your gynae to give you calcium pill

jollymummy, the age gap with be 16mths...

Re:insomia

Me too! Very terrible, always leaving me so tired the next day when my girl is so active! Constantly wants me to play with her!

Re:milk for pregnant women

I m skipping those this round..drank during the last tri when i had my #1, my weight shot up like rocket! Before 3rd tri, total weight gain was like 6 or 7kg only..then i started drinking the milk and at 1stage i was putting 1kg every wk! By the time i delivered total weight gain was 17.5kg! Luckily i managed to lose it all 3mths after birth if not i will cry! Till now my gain is 0.3kg, cos i lost 1.5kg or so in 1st tri...been more conscious over the weight gain this time round too. Baby was 15cm and 255g during the detail scan, that explains where my weight gain went. I believe eating healthily is more impt than the milk powder cos its really fattening! I drink fresh milk instead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re:gender issue

Seems like still alot of older generation favour boy over girl...though now girls and boys are treated equally but alot of elders still have the mentality that boys are better? I wonder why? I don't mind having a boy and a girl but if God gave me 2girls, i m sure He has his reasons, isnt it so? I feel blessed that i conceived even though i was breastfeeding and my menses did not return, but the pressure from elders over the gender issue is still unavoidable...haikz..can't they wake up? As long as my children are healthy, clever and filal to me, who cares abt the gender! Duh! Ok..i just needed to rant! :p

naf/tris mom: congrats for having lil gers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

im so excited cos gg for my detail scan next wed and gonna find out my bb gender too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

OranGeBB: i think to lie on back for facial for 2-21/2 hrs shld be ok bah..so long u feel comfortable. ya per gynae its more advisable to sleep on our left side esp during T3. but i had a fren who told me that she still sleeping on her back/left side as she feel breathless sleeping on right side all the way till she gave birth...anyway facial thing is only like once a mth so think shld not cause much impact.

cherrios, i dun think milk alone can cause so much weight increase, i'm in 2nd tri and i too put on 7kg cos i was constantly hungry in my 1st and seem to me the cause is carbo and not milk the moment i control my carbo as in now, i dun see much increase, cos my milk in take still maintain due to shortage of calcium but i only take annum/ HL milk once in the morning and anlene/ HL in the evening

the reason why boy is preferred cos it will pass the family surname unlike go once married will follow husband name

for me boy or gal is the same

Mrs Lee,

u have to sign up before deliver.. Then they will pass u the package to bring to hosipital when u deliver, u have to let doc know about it and the dr will use the things in the package.. Then the cord bank pple will come n collect the blood..

Dry skin,

sometime my lips will crack and skin on legs and arms can see getting very dy.. But my face is normal..

Jo/angel

T1 was even worse for me when it comes to how hungry I can get. And i was even more concerned coz at T1, u're not feeding e baby, u're feeding the mommy only. At least now in T2, I can tell myself that the baby wants to eat, not me.

Re: maternity clothes sizing

I bought from e ailian yahoo Taiwan shop. Am out for my b day dinner, will go measure and feedback later when I get home.

So far, all my maternity clothes are from:

1) ailian yahoo taiwan

2) spring maternity

3) target USA

Personally, I find target' s maternity clothes e best in terms of sizing i.e v confident I still can wear no matter how big my belly gets. And material is of a better quality than all e others.

Am ordering

Mothercare Jungle Musical Mobile for Sale!

Lightly used and in good condition.

Selling at $45 (Bought at $70).

Interested pls contact [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4162260.jpg]

Hammiebao: you so cute! Can imagine your expression when you described your MIL as Bo chap! Next time when she talks, just imagine a goldfish breathing in the water! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] BTW, thanks for info on the various departmental stores cards. Sounds like Tangs is more worth it.

OrangeBB: how come your facial session so long? Usually 1 hour right?

Whim: I agree with you, eat if you feel like. I do that too; #1 ate even more, so much that my weight piled up very fast! Just eat in small portions many times and as long as it's not out of greediness, just eat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think timing ur meals is quite important. Now I'm awake because I skipped my dinner and went to bed at 8! Hungry now so drinking milk, eating cheese sandwich! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So can try eating something fuller before you sleep? Usually, milk and cheese sandwich or milk alone works for me before I sleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for info on the Ailian spree. I thought of buying but skeptical of the sizes so dropped the idea.

hammiebao, thanks for the info..think must realli gather the info on cordblood soon.. lol.. we must work hard on mositurisin those skins..so depress in seein my skin turnin liddat.

insomia,

omg!! last nite was terrible..nt sure if its the movie i watch before i sleep. But i jus couldnt sleep well, wake up every 2-3hours. so sleepy now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Irene/Jo: my facial is ard 2 to 2 1/2 hr... n I have to rush fr work, n have to make sure I am fed b4 that if not I will be figitating non stop.

Sharon: maybe u can ask doc abt u skin. If eczema, then try to use products recommended by doc. If its just sensitive skin, then buy pdt meant for the. I changed to "Avene" bcoz my skin became sensitive and this brand seems pretty safe and easily available.

Hi All mummies, sorry to interrupt, I’m selling the following for $150.00

1. Philips Avent Single Electronic Breast Pump – 0% BPA (Used for only 1.5 months, I’ve bought all BN rubber parts)

2. Avent VIA Pre-sterilised Cups with Lids – 240m x 8oz – 5x

5 x Lid (BN)

5 x Pre-sterilised Cups (BN)

1 x Adaptor (Lightly Used)

1 x Dome Cap (BN)

1 x Slow Flow Teat (BN)

1 x Screw Ring (BN)

3. Avent ISIS Breast Shells (BN)

4. Avent Breast Pads (BN)

5. Avent Daily Moisturising Cream With SPF 15 (BN)

Please PM me or email me at [email protected] if you’re interested.

I went to Tangs today and overheard the sales girl telling the other lady that tomorrow will be the last day for the Tangs sales.. But I not sure is it for everything..

Morning Ladies,

Wah, super sleepy sia. And it's Monday again. One of my friends just gave birth last night. Somehow can't really imagine it'll be my turn in afew months time. Still a little surreal. :p

morning all.. has any of you started looking into hospitalisation policy for your baby?

Angel - ya.. I have been thinking abt my turn lately.. the more I think, the more scared I am ;p

Bluesoda - I bought their 1 size fit all instead of prefolds cos our babies will outgrow so fast that the prefolds will become redundant in abt 2-3mths time.

Tangs sales ended yesterday. Bought pigeon steriliser that comes w food & bottle warmer, together with misc stuff like, bottle cleaner, holder, etc etc. All at 20% discount.

Btw, I realise that phillips avent is cheaper than mothercare.

Just a check, have u all bought baby mattress? Any idea which one is recommended?

MTBs

This is my first post here. My EDD is on 10 November 2010. so happy to see so many Nov MTBs here. So much things to learn from here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ching

ange - Yah loh. Abit scary. But to me, maybe cuz I still have not experience the labour pains or watched scary videos before, therefore labour to me is still not very scary. I'm feeling abit scare about having to care for a kid when the bb comes. All the stress and responsibilities that come with parenthood.

Jewel - congrates on knowing your bb's gender! Hehe, can start buying girly stuff liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello Ching, nice to have you here

Jewel, any good insurance I can consider? I mean there are so many out there, I wonder must I meet all agents to do comparison.

Ange - thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning all, did anyone sign up for prenatal classes? still thinking if I should go and attend..

Thks Angel, ya I can start shopping n think of names for ger ger. N Can close shop liao ;)

ange, first u got to see wat u wan to cover, up to govt or private hospital n the annual claim limit. All medi shield can be paid by cpf n rider by cash. Generally each co. Has a few plans, generally prudential n AIA is more expensive. U can look into aviva or ntuc. Just rem the all main policy cover less than 90% of medical fee, the rider will cover excess + co-

payment. U can check the various table of benefits + premium

from respective agency's website. Agents will try to sell u their pdt... So of cos they will say theirs is best. ;)

bluesoda - i read abt bumwear. Thinking about it, but really duno if it's good anot, or if should just use normal cloth diapers.

Any experienced mummies can share their experience and advise which is better/cheaper/etc?

Jewel - Hehe, hopefully I'll be able to be like u and close shop after 2nd one, and 2nd one is a gerl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jewel: Congrats on having a girl girl!!!

seems like lots of nov MTB are having bb girl.

Anyone got contact for Great Eastern insurance agent? i'm thinking of getting myself a H&S plan. thanks!

Bam> thanks for updating!

Half-way mark> i look at the chart, more than half the MTB already pass the half-way mark of wk20! Jia you all of us! few more months to go...

Jewel - Thanks.. Heard NTUC has lesser coverage area.. most probably I will look at Prudential and AIA.

Bam, have you taken up the Parentcraft classes frm Thomson? Do you know how much they charge?