(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

I am interested in getting the Medela, I saw that they are having a sale at the Mum & Babes at UNited Square (think its mums & babes) at level 1...

The one I wanted to get is around 300 plus comes in a set.. am still thinking if its too early to get...

If you guys are getting a good deal pls include me...

Hi, Sorry for interrupting.

Is anyone interested in doing prenatal pilates? Am currently letting go 8 classes at discounted rate at Sky Pilates at Liat Towers in Orchard. Pls PM me for more details if you are interested. Thanks.

hho - thanks for keeping me in the loop. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lucky - walk less and dun carry heavy stuff. I have a fren who has started T3, and her placenta is still a little low. Her doc told her to walk less too, and hope that it'll go up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lucky: No worries, Can always pm me when you need any other clarification on your doubts of no CL. I'll try my best to answer you questions. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hho: I heard from my friend that someone did the same and she could still send her for servicing in Singapore but pay for it. Maybe you want to check with the service centre.

pibymymmy: Hi! I think it's doing well at home vs doing well at work. Thankfully, I was able to adapt naturally, didn't really miss much- maybe I worked too hard the last time. My hubby said I'm quite a "cheong" Queen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I quit because my hubby had to travel quite a great deal and it's really hard to start family planning with his travelling schedules. To help me transit, I took up child development classes and was teaching PT in schools. When I'm preg, i stopped and I thought those hands on and learnings were useful so never suffer any withdrawal symptoms from leaving the corporate world. But I do miss the wearing pretty clothes with accessories part sometimes! Being a SAHM, I think you can forget about accessories at least for the 1st 3 years! Plus the coping with changes and breastfeeding, I think being neat and presentable is good enough- pretty in the SAHM way; really not practical to imagine to be like Angelina Jollie! Ha ha ha... As long as I don't look aunty and I still hear strangers addressing me as "miss" or "young ma-ma" even with my kid, I think I'm fine! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] However, no regrets! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whitecookies (whitecookies) - Yes, I do get headache quite often esp during this 2nd trimester. I went to see my gynae and was told it was normal to have such symptoms. I was given 2 days mc to rest at home.

Holly: When I was preg with my #1, I also put on a lot of weight- scarily a lot and it was always my wish not to bump into any of my "glam" friends; ha ha ha... including the guys who were interested in me last time! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thank God, I lost all my weight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now, looks like I can't escape also, just that this one, my tummy is neater and the weight gain is slower compared to the previous preg! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think my body is very prone to water retention and trapping air. Don't worry, breastfeed, you'll lose them all; if not all, at least 3/4 will be gone! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gd morn ladies,

If you gals have friends with whatever electric pump can just borrow from them. Just buy & replace parts & bottles for hygiene purpose. Consider this option can save $.

Tris Mum, wow, u needed 4 prams to find one suitable? I think of buying 1 pram, so expensive, a bit heartpain already. My hubby is there to work, while I'm a SAHMTB, aka leg shaker. Shall be delivering in the states if everything goes according to plan.

I don't have any lines yet, maybe because tummy is very very small?

Lucky, i also have low placenta, no spotting though, the placenta may move up during pregnancy, hope this will happen for u and me. Don't worry so much.

shan, yes!

tubao, i'm the one organising pre-nat yoga n the instructor is our last one!

mummies, better to email me coz my hb is down with chickenpox n i hv even less time to check the forum.

morning.. wow u gals so early.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CLover, thanks again.. see ya on 3rd Jul then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Today i put on my maternity pants.. OMG! i put on so much wt, imagine during my last pregnancy, i wore this pants until full term, now hor when i slip on it, don feel lose at all esp on the thighs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so fat nw

Yup, i do occassionally hv margaine, outta blue one.. gettg older.sighz...

on the breastpump, even for Medela, there's so much type to choose from, i blur lioa... but heard the PIS's motor is gd eh..

Hey everyone..

The only thing I have bought so far is the medala free style breast pump. My colleagues told me that this is the BEST and do not need to check out others.. So I believed them and got my colleague hubby to help me buy from US. Only $400 plus!

My tummy is also flatter in the morning.. By the time I finish breakfast, it will expand by a little.. By lunch time, it will be super big.. Not sure why too..I'm 16th week now..

I have a quest to ask all of u.. My boss is asking me to go Shanghai. I donno if I shld go.. for abt 8 days.. and we will be visiting the world expo.. My worry is food, crowded places and not used to hubby not around when preggy.. Usually, I'm very independent one.. But now pregnant, donno why I need him by my side a lot.. But another half of me tells me to go Shanghai.. Any advice??

Speaking about breastpump, I've been eyeing Medela FS. But now abit tempted to save money and get mini electric plus, which is like only half the price of FS. Any tips/advice on which to choose?

I intend to use it when I return to work, so noise level, portability and ease of using is a concern for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I bought Medela swing. Also in a package (consist of the single pump,1 bag w/4 extra bottles,1 hand-like pillow and 1 small bottle of disposable plastic bag)which cost $438.Purchase it last mth during the taka card member sale with add'l 10% off.i paid $394.

Saw it frm Mums & babes that there are various package for diff pumps.Went to amk hub outlet,the sales pax is able to do a demo for me.So mummy who is keen is knowing the functions might wan to make a trip down to check it out[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Was told by the sale person that Swing comes with feature to massage the breast.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now come to tink of it,i m a bit silly to buy so early as by the time i wana use,i would left with like 5 mths of warrenty..

Xherlee - Go! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now's the best trimester to travel, and after the bb comes, it'll be a long time before you're able to go on a trip. Food shouldn't be a problem, since there's lots of different food over there. And since u'll be going with ur boss/colleagues, they should be able to take care of you in crowded places or carry heavy stuff. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hehe, take it as a chance to bring back ur independent self and bring ur bb on his/her first overseas trip. heheheh

Can i join in this thread?

I am a silent reader of this thread although my edd is in late Oct 2010 (my 2nd bb). My 1st bb is almost 2 years old.

As for breastpump, i find that Medela PISA & Swing (for single pump) are good. I've not tried FS but seems like the review is quite good too.

Hi Angel,

Read that you have went thru anmio test. Is your result out already? In fact, I did that too as my oscar result is boarderline.

BTW, where did u do the test at?

Tigger - Hehe, welcome to the thread! Arggg~ There's so many different types of breastpumps that it's mind boggling and hard to choose for a first time mommy. :D

I went for my amnio test on 4Jun, at TMC. Called my gynae yesterday about the result, but it's not out yet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] They did say that it'll take about 10-14 days, so it should be out sometime this week. How's ur test result? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Angel,

I did my anmio at TMC too. I opt for the PCR so i got my result on the 3rd day. But full test result took about 2 weeks. Thank god that my test result is normal. You need not worry too much about the result, I believe everything will be fine.

Tigger - Ooo! That cost quite alot right? My gynae advised us not to, cuz there's still time to think after getting the result. Congrates on getting a good test result. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Did you find out the gender thru this test or before that?

Thanks for the encouragement. We're positive about the result, but also braced ourselves for any negative one. Crossing fingers! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi tigger.. welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xherlee.. if me, i will go also, quite an opportunity mah.. + now ~wk18, i feel still manageable, but of coz u gotta be careful and bring all the necessary stuff, incase u don feel well. Or if possible, can ask ya hubby to tag along with you? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Or a good colic who can watchout for u? COnsult ya gynea first, if your health is ok, shd be fine i think.. But of coz, u gotta be mentally prepared, if u don feel good at all, then don go [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya ..headaches... the more i read abt the reviews the more headaches i hv.. haaa

I oso will bring the pump to office.. portability + noise is impt, of coz gotta be durable oso.. heard tat some motors aint as good as the others...

Haa.. maybe we can hv a statistic table to see which Breastpump get more vvotes etc.. haa

Angel,

We paid additional $200 on top of the test fee but we can use our medisave account to pay part of it. Was told that it could be a girl during my oscar scan but the anmio test confirmed that its a boy.

How about you? Do u know the gender of your baby yet thru the scan?

thanks for all ur comments!

ok.. I just told my boss that I will go.. Wish me luck!!

All the breast pump info is confusing.. Haha.. but for those we has bought it, even if we don use, maybe can sell.. So don regret after buying [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning mommies!

Yeah, i think that it's normal to get emotional durng this period i guess. Because i myself get extremely emotional so suddenly & unexpectedly till i think i am weird. I get irritated & annoyed easily too. Sigh, it's not easy. I've been trying to control my emotions. As crying often & being irritated easily is not good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Irene, Happy 5 months 1 day to you too! When are you going for your detailed scan? Hehe, our EDD 1st of nov. No idea whether it'll be bring forward or not hor? Hmmm

ermmm, congrats to you on having a babygirl! I'm going for my detailed scan next mon @ TMC! haha, hopefully that time i can know the gender of my baby too! :D

Stephanie : while she was scanning, I tot couldn't tell already cos she said baby was facing down, then keep kicking.

stephanie: tks! same to u. happy 20wk2d as of today! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] clinic just called to inform my detail scan on 30th jun.

haha..im hoping to be earlier than edd 1st nov, so can see my bb earlier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tigger - Gynae suspected that the bb is a boy during Oscar scan, and it was confirmed during the amnio test's scan. Radiographer said that it's 99%, and will leave that 1% for the test result to confirm. hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Sometimes wonder if we should have opt for the express test anot, since the waiting time is a torture. haha

Thanks for the breastfeeding support group link! That'll come in handy. I saw that they don't have Medela Freestyle for test/demo. Any idea if PIS is similar to Freestyle, so that I can test it out?

Xherlee - Congrates! When will u go for ur trip?

ermmm - hehe, congrates on knowing the gender of ur child! Haha, ur radiographer is amazing, bb face down still can detect gender. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

irene - my detailed scan is also on 30Jun! Haha, now got 3 mummies' detailed scan on 30Jun - Irene, shan and myself. What time is ur scan? At TMC?

hi tigger.. no la.. me no FTM, but hehehe... was 4yrs ago, so like blur all over again.. last time i only got a Avent Manual due to budget prob.. this time round i wana get electric de lo .. thanks for the link [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ermmm..so happy for u.. congrats on ya lil gal!!

Angel, yours mostly boy eh.. hee i hoping for galgal.. hee wow ..3 of us eh..

So Angel is 10am, mine is 11am, Irene leh?

Juz had Nasi Lemak .. :p so fattening.

shan - Haha, we were hoping for a lil girl as well. But I guess God has other plans. Hehe, scarly Irene is at 12pm. haha, so we're one after another. :p

Hehe, u can afford the calories now, since part of it will be given to your child. Next meal hav something less fattening to make up for it loh. hahahha

Hi Angel,

May i know who is your gynae?

I have not tried Freestyle so cannot comment. But heard that the review is good or equivalent to PISA wor...just that it is much smaller & lighter and can be handsfree.

Hi Shan,

How long did you bf your first bb and is the bm supply good? I bf my 1st bb for abt 1 year but my supply no good so I gave him formula milk at night.

Xherlee: Go! Agree with Angel. Not sure when you will go after you popped! Also, it may be more than just a trip. Shanghai is easy, food is not too bad too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm planning to go somewhere before I pop! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Tigger and welcome!

Angel: Investing in good pumps is worth it! Save thousand over dollars on milk powder! It has resale value also. The Medela one(packaged in a harvest sack one) is the most preferred amongst all my working friends- easy to carry and fast, clean and not messy too. I use The Avent Duo- double pumps and comes in manual too.

Shan: Your nasi lemak makes me drool! Now I feel like eating also! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jo,

water retention actually is du to not enuff water intake. do u know? y the body will retent water is coz it feels tt u dun have enuff intake n just in case, they store the water in u. if u wanna get rid of water retention, den drink more water. massage ur calfs after a long day. it all helps..

for me, i also very easily trip wind in my body de.. go for massage n tk ginger tea every now n den. it helps alot!!

i had a pre natal massage in bali last week. after the massage they served ginger tea. =P i poot alot of air but came back feeling great. hehe.

u also a SAHM ah? wow! i got accompany le! whahaha!

heee Jo... ooops!! hehehee Last week, my fren oso told me abt her lunch Mee rebus.. also make me salivate... :p hehehee

sinful sinful..hee my hubby oso commented, i keep eatg junkie, tld him baby like it leh.. i was munching potato chips all the way, while watching WC ytr nite.. :D

Angel, issit, u oso aim gal..nevermind next one la.hee healthy & fine, good engf eh.. i oso duno mind yet.. but trying to keep an open mind.. but of coz i still prefer gal.. hahaha contradict.

if lidat good, while waiting we can go lim kopi & chat.. hahaha :p

But i think i don nid to wait until 30th, 22th i visiting my gynea, maybe he can tell me bit bit the gender lioa... v excited..hehehe

Xherlee, enjoy ya trip eh.. cooler waether i think u shd find it refreshg, oops errm.. but Shanghai quite polluted like Sgp hor :p .. keep a mask in your bag! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tigger.. sighz.. oso low supply, i so heartpain the first mth, i threw away my milk, STUPID!

anyway, my supply not good oso.. around 3rd mth when i resume work, drop even more, when home, wanna latch my boy, he bit me! so i juz pump, nt much stimulation i think. So he oso started partial FM at 3rd mth. then day by day my supply get lower, even though i took the supplement, fengrueek or wat, oso not helping..

So by 9th mth i stopped totally, coz my 1 whole day of pump aint even engf for his one milk feed. haa don wanna waste my time liao..

wah holly, sound so shiok wor!! glad tat u rejunivated yourself...

Xherlee, so far, i think jollymummy oso organising a prenatal pilates, at Tanjong Pagar area, u might wanna check w her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pibymummy and angel - thanks for your advice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but due to my occupation - working as a teacher i need to climb up and down often to the classrooms therefore quite difficult not to walk, plus still need to shout at students [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jo-thanks for your help! will pm you for more advice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so this time round you will be doing confinement on your own too?

btw anyone know if it is safe to visit the hair saloon for rebonding during pregancy?

Tigger - my gynae is Dr Jeanette Chen fr TMC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] If FS is smaller and lighter that will be great, cuz I hate carrying heavy stuff. But handsfree.. haha, so far think it's weird having things "hanging" around while I do other stuff.

Xherlee - hehe, yeah yeah. I'm sure ur boss will be more accomodating and let u rest since u preggy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jo - hehe, think the one u're talking abt is PIS, since that comes in a haversack. I prefer shoulder bags, so looking at Freestyle (FS) loh. But the cost is almost $900 in sg. So very x! If can save cost and get from spree, then I would like to get that. If not, gota think if wana get a cheaper one like mini electric plus. First baby, gota buy almost everything = huge hole in pocket! :D

shan,

haha.. u make me crave for mee rebus now.. duh.. i eat alot of junkies also eh. whahaha..

pre natal massage is super good lo.. lol!! coz i hurt my back when i was preggy with #1. n den it always linger ard for the past 2 yrs. so when i preggy with this bb, my tummy haven even show, my backache started showing up already. needed the massages badly.. but seems like is all coming back after i came back from bali.. =(