(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Xin: I also considered stopping expressing for bb coz I really need the rest time but I decided as long as my breasts can produce even a little milk I will keep bf. Even though now I'm expressing only every 5-6 hrs. Supply seems to be dropping but still pushing on. Wanted to latch but bb too comfy w bottle so he gets very frustrated wen latch. Sad. Dunno how to change that liao especially wen my supply isn't enough for every feed... Jus dun give up but dun get too stressed. Can always do half bm half fm or something.

Thanks mummies for your feedback and advice on feeding.

Mummies using Yao Lan

On average, how much time does your bb spent in the yao lan a day? When do you put them in yao lan?

I just bought 1 at kiddy palace yesterday. Hubby wanted to let her sleep in Yao Lan at night but I refused. CL trained my baby well in first month n she can go to sleep on the cot after milk. Even if she wakes up in the middle of the night she is able to go back to sleep on her own. Now she is sleeping with us on our bed n I dun want to spoil it by putting her in yao lan at night. Worried that in future have to retrain her to sleep on bed.

Jac

Were you the one who shared that your baby was given Bao Yin Dan from Eu Yan Seng? My MIL bought a pack n told me to feed baby.But I read the package it says for children 1 years above lei. And hv to avoid certain food like fish, cooling stuff. So I'm not sure to feed it to baby or not. HOw much n when do you give your baby?

Ann,

Yes I am. In fact I am happy to get back my kitchen without sticky feeling aft my CL left. My hb clean it thoroughly.hehe

Hmm, I go marketing in supermarket during weekend with my hb, my girl n my bb boy with stroller n carrier to stand by. My hb will carry my girl(spoilt by her daddy) n aft paying at cashier I will use carrier to carry my boy while my marketing is on his stroller. If he didn't cry I will every plastic bag in the big marketing bag n hang on the stroller then push back hm cos it's only a walking distance fr NTUC to my flat.

Ian,

I have baby bjorn carrier, ergo n stroller. Baby bjorn use 1st few week now not using cos shoulder ache. Now using ergo cos I have the infant insert so can use now lor n no aching pain at all.

Morning mommies & daddies!

Re shaving

I brought my boy to shave Botak @ salon when he's 1mth plus. Some ppl do it either @ 1mth or 4th mth. My boy hair grew fast. Now got hair a bit grown le!

Empress, my mum told me when I'm baby, she couldn't bear to shave me Botak cos I got think nice hair. But regretted cos I started dropping hair! Ended up got shaved too!

Ann, wah your hubby dare to shave your bb hair!

Shirley, the doc gave riddwind for my boy too. He said got wind in his stomach. Even I burped him easily now but he still split milk. I suppose this is ok...

Re sling

I've this sarong sling but it is so big and I dunoo hw to use it. So I decided to get pupsik sling! It's smaller and carry bb seems more relaxing. The SA told me can carry up to 20kg wor. Hmm I dun think 20kg Liao I still wanna use it? Haha!

Ya I guess no guys wanna sling bb & walk ard...I've got a passed down carrier also. Brand new somemore. Let my hubby use it.

Tiffy, yea causeway pt Mothercare is on sale too. U may wan check out! Which part of wlds u staying?

Stella:

I'm also trying to press on n give whatever I can. Expressing as n wen I can.

Are u taking care of bb alone? For mummies taking care of bb alone, hw do u manage? Eg: if need to prepare water for bathe or anything then bb crying. Leave bb to cry n prepare? Currently hb helps out since sch hols. But come Jan wen I'm alone, dunno hw leh.

Stella,

Just my view on baby bjorn. Not worth getting baby bjorn. Once our bb getting heavier, our shoulder will ache when use bjorn to carry them. Best to get beco or ergo. Aft 3th week I stop using bjorn n start ergo.

Bblin,

I stay opp civic centre. Hehehe v v near causeway pt lor. Yea I know they having sale, ever pop in n see but never buy anything lor. Actually next time if free we can meet up hor

Tiffy, think we stay very near. Your block there has got a NKF center ya? I'm staying 5xx there. Blue&white blocks! Need juz cross that t junction to civic plaza/cwp! Yea... 1 day we can meet. Hee...

Ian and Emmie> Then you haven't seen my husband carrying Josie in pink sling every weekend to church. Hehehe.. The sling is from our friend some more they bought pink colour..

Xin2

I let my girl cry for a while, stuff pacifier in her mouth and tell her to WAIT. If possible, I carry her in one arm n do other things with the other hand. I suceeded in carrying her n pumping milk with manual pump. You may want to try slinging her like what some of the mummies are doing. Leaves your hands free to do your tasks.

Hang in there! =)

Tiffy,BBlin

mini-outing for Oct MTB? Can organise according to areas North,South,East,West,Central.Me in Sembawang...huhu =)

Yesterday Josie drink both breast 18-19 minutes each and after that she got hiccup then I try to latch her again, suck few times, then she vomitted whole milk even comes out from her nose. Some more it looks like yoghurty. Hux3.. Very scary.

Now everytime hiccup can't somehow try to give her milk, need to see whether she has too much or not. I only thought yesterday she has growth spurt so I latch her when she looks like she wants milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Now I'm stick to 1 breast, maybe my 1 breast when feel a bit full is already too much for her.

groovy, i have seen guys using slings... not all guys are willing to use them ;) your hubby very cool to actually use a pink one!

Carrier

Just bought a carrier(unknown brand which is on offer)cos I dunno how to use the MIM sling.Plus baby doesn't seem to like craddle position n likes to be upright.But MIL said dun let baby use first cos might affect her spine if in upright position for too long. Any1 can advice?

Tiffy,

woooooww. Super mom!

I shall buy carrier first n try ur method. I only have one bby so far hee hee.. Shld be easier?? :p

Being obsessive compulsive, now i feel headache n heartpain everytime i pass kitchen. Mil is helping to cook. Not that i am not grateful but..... My kitchen!! Huhuhu

lucky ur hubby can help u to clean throughly.. My hubby cmi! but he is willing to help though.. Just not up to my standard n i will nag nag nag.. Hehe.. Poor hubby..

Groovy,

pink!! cool!!

I bought pupsik one but too big for me. Then i ask my hubby to try n he gave me the " hee.. I need to wear that, so girly, i thought it is supposed to be for u " look...

It is brown color with big white dots!! Well not as girly as pink... He3...

Mummies with 7~8 week old bby,

how often u feed them now?

I realise my boi is only drinking 5~6 times only. Yesterday only 5 times n i scared underfeed him. But pee as usual. Poo 3 times. Shld b ok rite?

I tbf him on demand.

gd morning mummies & daddy to a brand new day and week. Hope everyone coping well and babies are more guai guai. So fast Nov coming to an end.

Sling

I have the pouch which my #1 loves it. But Caelan doesn't like it leh. Tried putting him in many times, he always end up wailing non stop even with paci. Donno is it too cramp or tied for him. I have ergo but no infant insert so can't use now. Read from the net that some use towel to wrap bb instead of the insert. Have never tried though.

Shaving

Probably will shave later cos if not he will be botak for Christmas and New Year. But notice that his hair starts to drop liao. His hair quite long so I give it a trim just now. Doesn't look even but it is at the back so not obvious.

Pumping

It is tiring but if manageable, good to continue on cos that is bb's best source of food. But cannot, don't force lor cos better to be happy and enjoying motherhood than to be miserable.

Tiff, I salute you that you can manage a baby and a toddler, cook and cleaning on your own. I already exhausted with a helper at home. Cos I full time take care of bb. Helper does the cooking, cleaning and take care of my 4 year old gal.

I feel guilty not spending enough time with my #1. But when Caelan is sleeping, I like to rest too cos he still wakes up 2 to 3 times in the nite for feed.

Sleep duration

How long does your bb sleep in the day. For Caelan, he sleeps the most 1 hr after bath, the rest of the day is power nap of 15 to 30 minutes. Especially in the late afternoon, he can't sleep for long. There is only once that he sleeps 1+ hr that is when I place him to sleep on his tum tum but in the night after feed he refuses to sleep leh.

Routine

Still have yet to achieve that.....as day time I feed on demand (latch), it all depends on his feeding time for bath and evening wiping. But will always play the same music after wiping during feeding to let him know it is night time and time to sleep. But doesn't work all the time.

Nycmum,

U v near me n bblin. Next time can meet up liao.

Bblin,

Yah nkf there but I'm not staying that blk. Mine is behind. Wow we 2 v near leh.

Ian,

Yeah use pram better

Ian,

My hb helps me sling dd occasionally in the past too. Hohoho. Looks a little funny but I was glad he offered help or risk breaking my back lor.

Diveera

My girl is very sleepy, she always sleep after her feed. Sometimes I try not to let her sleep so much if not at night she will eyes open big big. But she's so young, if dun let her sleep also dunno what to do with her. It's eat, sleep, s**t. When she;s awake I talk n sing to her.

What does Caelan do when he's not sleeping?

The first time we brought Josie to church, I'm the one carrying her using sling. It's just 3 weeks after she's born. And the raining just stopped when we want to go out. Guess what? NO TAXI!

I stand like 30-45 minutes carrying Josie, somehow it's very cold outside. Then we gave up and wait in the bus stop to take bus instead.

Hubby feels sorry for me so the next time he offered to carry her, and I'm gladly accepted. HEhehe..

If I'm the one buying the sling, of course won't buy the pink one. Hahaha.. Thinking for the next child if it's a boy also a bit funny to be carried using pink sling :p.

Shin,

I had a shock when I woke up at 1am lor. Quickly go n see if bb still breathing. Lol.

Fifi,

Able to share how much is the beco? Me already have ergo but tinking of getting a beco too. I think the px went up liao, right?

Diveera,

my boi always sleeping hehe.. But wake up occassionally if want to poo. After eat usually he stay awake for 5~10 mins n get bored n want to sleep. Can sleep up to 2 hrs in the day.. N 4 hours in the night.

Only today he stay wide awake for 30 mins leh!! First time in history.

He is 8 weeks 2 days.

How is ur bby's night sleep?

ann, you are so lucky...mine can hardly sleep during the day. Am lucky if he actually sleeps for 30 mins at a stretch. sian...

Ann,

My gal feeds 8-9 times a day but she was bottle fed.

Re: sleep in the nite

She is cranky in the day but sleeps thru out in the nite and wakes up 2 times for milk feeds thenn back to her beauty sleep.

Tot bb is supposed to sleep 16 hrs a day? If they wakes up, we suffer...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Xin: most of the time it's jus me n bb. Mil helps wen she's hm ( which isn't often) hb helps bathe bb in e morning before he goes to work. Other than that if really Bo pian i let him cry while I rush to do things. But i dun let him cry too long. Forget abt housework til he's asleep. Heating milk Roughly estimate wen bb gonna wake up then heat up then let it cool to Rm temp (but I wasted some milk before w this method coz bb overslept). By the time bb wake up jus nice to drink.

Shirley: my boy demands 100% attention wen he's awake n he wun let me sit down more than 5 min. Yes he's spoilt rotten so pumping every 3 hourly is very difficult unless I hv help at hm. Hence the 5-6 hr pumping schedule n decreasing milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Any1 can gimme advice on hw to let my boy like latching on again?

nycmum,

The bao yin dan is also ok for infants according to the eu yan sang staff. She said to give 1/3 of the dosage only, an hour after milk in the morning. We found that she was less cranky (we suspect colic during her 2nd-4th week) on days she is given the bao yin dan. Of if in doubt, better check back with eu yan sang or ask TCM doctor. So far my girl okay. Not giving her anymore since she was full mth. She's a lot easier to look after now compared to few weeks ago. Thinking back, it was kinda hellish. Heh heh!! If ur baby is on bm, it's normal to not poop for even 7 days. Bm can be fully absorbed by baby. So don't worry. My dd on bm and fm, she sometimes poo once every 3 days. But that once is a lot a lot!

Yesterday left dd with my mum while hubby and I went JB for hubby's grandma's bday dinner. My mum told me baby pooped A LOT. The poo leaked out onto my mum's shirt and shorts and even dripped on the floor! Of course baby herself was also covered in poo. Shot out from butt crack ionto her back. -_-!!!

Re: sling vs carrier vs pram

I think slings are gd for babies below 4 mths. After 4 mths they tend to want to have more freedom and carriers will be better. Seldom see bigger babies in slings. Usually those infants or couple of mths old only. I still like prams most of all! Not so tiring and baby can sleep inside too. But very troublesome if going for short 1-2 hr outing or need to take public transport like bus. The other day I put Jadelyn into the sling and took a bus to church by myself! She slept all the way. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: shaving

Didn't shave baby's head and don't intend to at any point. But then will see how at 4 mths as I heard the hair will drop in patches. If it gets really awful then maybe might as well shave better.

Tiffy,

U really are a super mom! I would nv in a thousand years be able to manage what u are doing!

Last night hubby saw me so tired out (I only had like 4-5hrs of slp the day before) after the extremely long bday dinner with his grandma at JB. So he offered to do the 2 night feeds. He surrendered after just 1, said he very tired! But I still appreciate it. At least I could sleep for longer during the wee hours.

Re: yaolan

Nycmum, my dd spends most of her day time naps in the yaolan. At night we let her sleep in her cot. She's ok with this arrangement.. Daytime she wants ppl to carry her, rock her then she will sleep and my mum has to cook + tidy house and I gotta catch up on slp etc so put her in yaolan. She tends to startle more in the day (maybe due to stimulation from daytime sounds) so yaolan is a lot more 'calming' for her.

Zuen,

at bp thread it is selling 200 nett. But only few Design..

Fifi,

ur hubs store is it online only or hv showroom as well?

Me thinking to buy by the end of the week coz by that point i will be home alone with baby.. No in laws, no mum!!

Wish me luck!!!baby will be 9 weeks then! i heard they started to get mobile soon...

Maybe i wont appear in this forum as often as now!

Afternn Mummies & daddy!

Car seat.

Need advise from mummies and daddies here on car seat. Was thinking which brand of car seat is suitable for bb till toddler's age?

Jacq, same here. Athena has been taking BaoYingDan frm EYS since 3wks old. We still give her now and then if we see her fussing too much, or like over simulated.

Diveera, same here. My bb doesn't really sleep so much in the day. More like power nap of 15-30mins, so when i count the hours, she is not sleeping 16hrs a day. But the lucky thing is that she sleep thru most of the night time. Only some wriggling and stretching if her stomach is gassy. I usually wipe/sponge her between 6-7pm which includes feeding time, then put her to bed. Make sure the room lights are off and only the small yellow light switch on. It's takes her time to doze off into sleep.

hello everybody!!!!

car seats:

jus to share, mine is britax royale, suitable for NB to toddler.. i would prefer car seat with base as toddler maybe too short to look out of e windows if without a base, secondly, must be heavy enough so car seat will be more stable n firm when in a constantly moving vehicle.

shaving:

i ask to tai mao bi to come to my place to have bb hair shave during bb 1st mth.

sleeping:

my bb sleep thru e night n last feed will be between 9:30 to 11:00.

pupsilk:

sounds good to invest especially when mothercare having promo. good buy!!

passport:

i have intention to get bb passport ready soon.. but have yet to bring bb to take picture from e professional photoshop. any mummies have their bb passport ready to share about the waiting timing from the ICA???

sun block lotion:

mummies, what brands of sunblock lotion are u using for ur toddlers???

Nycmum, he fuss each time he wakes cos he is tired and want to sleep. So have to carry, rock, etc. So he can get back to sleep. If he can't sleep, he will cry & cry. There are times he's wide awake, I'll place him in the rocker and talk/sing to him and put some hanging toys for him. Only for max of 15 to 30 mins.

Mummies whose babies doesn't sleep much in the day what do you do to entertain bb? How long do they stay awake?

car seats

mine is britax compaq from robinson during their sales. It's for NB to toddler but i dun understand why car seat no need lie flat for NB but stroller need. ??

shaving

how much is their service for coming to ur place?

baby's fart

my baby fart alot, that's not the problem, the problem is that it's most of the time very smelly and i keep checking if he poo-ed, but he may not poo all the way till evening or next day.. anyone encounter the same?

baby's poo

Sundrop, my bb poo once a day or every 2 day. Greenish muddy with some seeds.. my MIL says he tio chuak.. but i can't think of when he tio frightened.. it's been a week still the same color.. are yours the same? just wan to know is it norm.. btw, mine is on 80% FM.

Ann,

I saw that Bp too. I got my ergo at only $120, 2nd hand but brand new.

Cherry,

Ur bb slps thru' the nite already?? How old is ur bb now?

Ica will take 3 days. Standard de.

Irene:

Yah rotavirus is oral vaccine.

Ann:

I also had problems with sling when I sling my gal at 5 weeks. 5 weeks weight I already buay tarhan liao coz my back is sensitive. I find its so bad for back lor. Dun want to kill my back so buy baby carrier after that. No regrets.

Zuen:

Regular price for Beco is $250. I find its worth the $ coz can use very long. When I was still preggy, I can even use it to backcarry my girl. Preggy bulge in front, gal at the back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann:

Online only generally. Except for Beco where there are house demos (transport chargable I think). But now Beco we have no stocks so can't help you also.

Cherry:

California Baby Sunblocks.

zuen,

bb is 11 weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yup, sleep thru n wake up ard 6 plus, sometimes will be fussy in the mid nite, so i give 1 feeding of FM. thanks for sharing, so u upload photo via online or hardcopy???

empress,

i think 45degree is more comfy when in a moving vehicle as compare to lie flat?? haircut is free becos i did e mao pi for bb n they came to my place to shave for bb.

fifi,

what level of SPF is advisable for toddler??? can be use on face???

Diveera, my bb also poor sleeper in the day alto I am trying hard to train her. For day time activities, I massage, talk to her, sing to her, play both Chinese n Eng nursery rhymes, let her play by herself in the cot. During her self play time, she stretches herself, explore her surroundings n as and when i will join her n gently pull her hands for stretching exercises. Will also use rattle to play with her n let her turn her head. So far, all these are helping her to become more cheerful n secured.

Cherry,

11 weeks n can slp thru liao. My dd only slp thru' when she was 4 to 5 mths lor.

I go by post then cos we brought her to photo shop to take pix.

Ian, my fren's hubb wears a red/white striped sling =)

Starry, yr hubb so nice... I think the help out mentality n in-charge mentality is different , I Been on night shift since delivery, now more or less dun dread it so much. Breast will b full anyway.. Nd to get up n pump even if giving fm.. My hubb would help if asked, but I can't bear to let him Lose sleep leh..

car seat

I bought also britax compaq from Baby Kingdom. No regrets. Very comfy and my boy always fell asleep soundly during the journey. Duno is car seat nice or he likes traveling. Haha...

A pix of it. http://www.britax.com.au/car-seats/compaq

Tiffy really super mommy! nycmum you stayed in Semb. Yeah we all really near. Can meet 1 day ^^

Groovy, my hubby told me his coll's bb also milk came out from nose. Ya, quite scary. Josie ok ma? After that time from nose, did it happen again? BTW, i took my son to see Dr Seow @ masiling rise. He's quite good! ^^

Empress, my boy fart a lot also and stink too! No poo poo also till later the day or evening. Same like yours wor. & also regarding baby poo colour, different fm result in diff colour. I heard from someone. My boy's is yellowish.

Stella, ann, thks for e advice n tips! Yest evening i wipe baby but not under bright lights n she slept after dat! No more stuck to e chest for 3 hrs! Wiped at 6pm then bottlefeed 100ml then she dozed off for 20mins. Woke up demanded breast then 10mins later she fell asleep at 7.20pm! But hor issit quite common for em to wake up every 3-4 hrs at nite? Coz b4 this, altho she slept late bt she can sleep 5-6 hrs straight at night.

Nycmum, yr baby 5wks weigh 5kg n only feed 80ml 3hrly? Mine feed abt 90-100ml 2 hrly but only weigh 4.5kg at 7 wks ley. Sometimes i test by giving at bit more like 120ml but she vomit out means overfed. So i still stick to 100ml max per feed. She jus outgrew her newborn clothes, can finally wear 3mths clothes.

Re: nApping during e day

Used to b 6 hrs now i tink shd b less coz like she has difficulty napping. At e most 1 hr only. Is this normal?