(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Teeong

Yes,She can do w/o but i will still wake her up to feed her till she is 3 mths..meanwhile if we feed, she just drink but not much for the 0230hrs..

In the day she is much alert now!She stays awake from 0700hrs to 1000hrs where i bathe,massage and feed her...with some singing and playing with Jade together...she will be lying on the sofa till she sounded agitated,..is time for her nap!She will wakes up,latch,poo,sleep n this cont till about 4pm...she will be awake till 1800hrs where she knows im preparing her for bed....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

usually after feed she will go back to lala land...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]no complaint![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Suwaiwai

one thing i realized during her first few weeks,we set a routine and she is following that now..and we know roughly how long can she hold her milk...we usually the one that wake up before her feeding time and prepare the milk b4 she cry...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You can try waking up b4 Grace;s feeding time ?This is to prevent her to scream and cry and totally awake by then...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, I finally succeeded in using my avent manual pump. Bought three years ago only used twice cos too dependent on electric. Quite easy to use but I have one problem, the nipple shield seems a bit small for my nipple, makes it painful. Are there bigger shields? Or are nipple cream useful?

Ian..

it should be around 120-150ml per feed....

in the day i latch her directly but if im out..hb will give 120ml..depends on situation...

after a big dump usually she can drink more!!

her 2230hrs feed she finished 120ml n 1 side of full breast..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Afternoon mummies n daddy..

We went to see pd today.. Thank God nothing wrong with Nikolas n pd juat said there is lots of wind in the stomach n therefore phlegm is stuck or smth like ghat.. Ha3.. n she also said i overfed bby! last week he gained 400gr.. Now 5.2 kgand i still worried coz when we weight at home its actually 5.4kg naked heee...

But lung is clear n phlegm will b there till bby is older...

My bby is 6~7 week now n 2days ago when i wnet out n my mum fed him, he drank 180ml in 2 hrs.. But separate session.. No vomitting n all... But pd said too much milkm. Max is 150 for his weight.. If still unsettled give water b gripe water... Gonna try even though still not aure whther to give water or not...

Princess diamond,

how much does meghan drink? i remember she also about 5. Smth kg right?

Princess,

Do u hv prob with jade when you latch baby? My dd sometimEs refused to let mr latch no 2. During those times, my mum or helper will give ebm.

Re: bottle feeding

My boy doesn't fancy bottle leh. Now using nuk wide neck bottle. He takes forever to drink n keep pushing the teat out of his mouth. Then happily latch on after he rejects the bottle. Should I change the bottle. But so wasted wor.

Teoong,

my bby also 6weeks plus but he seems as sleepy as before leh.. But just now i ask pd she said normal...

I am also wondering why my boy cnt wake up more than 15mins.. Except for diaper change n feeding n bath time, are those included in ur bbys wake hours??

But he cannot have "play time". after everything is done then straight away go sleep....

Princess,

ok i saw ur post regading meghan's milk intake! maybe i really overfed him... Or because when i was out n mum fes him that much n therefore he is not feeeling well n have lots of gas!!

Was wonderig should i just express to monitor hia intake or keep on latching.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Princess,

Bby on bm, full latch on except when i go out then i will express...

Btw mummies,

today aftr seeing dr, hubby, bby n i were having lunch at pizza hut.. N for the first time i nursed in public hee hee...

I was using normal shawl to cover.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zuen

jade is ok w e feeding meghan....sometimes when feed meghan by btl,jade will want to hold the btl to feed her lil sis..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann,

if your bb on bm,y is de pd said u overfed him?

bm are good fats tt they will be losing it once they starts crawling n moving about...

meghan is about 5>kg too....

Princess,

thats why.. I m also wondering why she said that...

My bby has gained 2.1 kg sice birth though... He was born quite small (for my hubby n my size), 3.19 kg.

I thought breastfed bby cant be overfed n also if they want to suck for comfort then they will not drink right? no milk will come out one, that was i thought till today..

brought lucas for 6in1 jab yest...now he's down with slight fever. Very cranky and fussy. Hard to get into deep sleep. Lucky he didn't spit out the medicine. And thankfully I have my mum to help out. Otherwise will sure go crazy.

While at the paed, he asked me why I express out my BM. He told me I should reduce bottlefeed in order to reduce the colic. First time I meet a male who is that pro-tbf!

on the topic of immunization, I'm super confused with the schedule now. The paed told me to bring baby back only at 4mths to do the second shot which is actually a 5in1. hmmm....

princess, wow! meghan is on such good schedule! I must work hard towards that!

suwaiwai, by right, you shd be using the lifts, not escalators. :p I also dare not go up/down the escalators with the baby in stroller. The only time I did it was when hubby carried the baby!

Ann

Yes,Bb follows u n ur hb's built...

I was a big bb therefore my PD nvr once told me to feed my bb less and encouraged me to cont even though then Jade's weight was ahead of 97%...

I ve seen a lady Pd at tampines but she kept asking me to stop bfg or feed less cos my bb was overweight!

Fed up i went to see my present PD in GEH and he explained so much n very encouraging!

Unless bb show signs of overfeeding like spit out or vomiting then i think we should control but if not..i ll cont to latch on demand cos BM is easily digested...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]THe PUREST milk!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Routine,

i feel my bby has certain routine.. In the morning ffeding is abt 3 hourly..

At night is 4 hourly. The problem is just that at night he seems more irritable n cant sleep well... Keep on strartlig.. While during he day he can sleep soundly..

I wonder why...

Hi teoong n princess d,

I feed grace ebm most of the time n we've been waking up earlier just to warm the milk. So far she feeds mostly 3 hrs interval but sometimes shorter. When it's shorter n we not prepared that is when she screams!! Today I notices it's like 4hrs interval hence i' wondering if I shld wake her after 3 hrs?

She still wakes up abt every 3 hrs at night for feed but in between she keeps waking up or refuse to go bk to bed!! How to train her to go bk to sleep at night??? We really zombie becos of this!!

Ann my bb in some sense same like you, at night keep waking up but feed 3 hrs. Day time sleep more n feed at 4 hrs!! I think she following diff time zone!

hi apprye,

i have no problems with breastfeeding...i think. my boy has put on 2kg since since in 6 wks. so i guess he should be feeding ok.

but nowadays i notice he is salivating a lot more. do u know if this problem is common n any risk in cutting it? it sounds scary but doc says its a really simple procedure when he is still so young.

Really starting to worry n wonder if I can take care of baby once CL leaves next thurs. Hb say sld be ok n he'll help out. But I still scared.

So far has been expressing milk n feeding thru bottle. Thinking whether wan to fully latch baby when CL leaves. Then no need worry abt sterilizing etc.

Those mummies who are on TBF, how do u manage? How long to feed frm each breast? N I can't seem to latch baby well if dun use the nursing pillow leh. Then worry if go out how? No nursing pillow.

Really need all the advice I can get here.

Just now baby fuss even though CL feed n carry him. I took over n latch him. He fell asleep n sleeping soundly for 2 hours Liao. So happy.

hi xin2,

dont worry. you will learn to manage..might be a little tough in the first few days after CL leaves but slowly you will get use to it. I was close to losing my mind when my CL left but now much better.

Hi Ann,

My 6wk old is also super sleepy in the day. Dunno if i should disturb him more not because at night, he is quite awake! But if i dont let him sleep, he will be all cranky and keep crying..

The problem is really at night.

After a feed, he will fall asleep on my chest and once i put him down facing upwards his eyes will open wide. (day time i let him sleep facing downwards).

I trying to set routine for him to fall asleep in his own cot but it take close to 2 hr every night to accomplish that. And then at 4am, he will wake up for feed and the eyes open super big...and then another 2 hrs to make him sleep....

any mummies with advice on how to put him to sleep in his cot faster? :p

Princess diamond,

thank u for ur reply!! i also think that way leh..

Now i feel more reassured.. Maybe will just feed him as per normal but burp hom more..he is quite hard to be burped..

He was struggling with me just now... Huhuhu. Crying n finally 2 loud brup. He is asleep now...

Suwaiwai,

haha.. Maybe u should live in US then ur baby will be the easy bby hee hee.. Oh ya.. Maybe u increase ur bby intake in the day n lesser in the nite? so he will wake up less at nighy. That what i read in gina fords book... Hehe..

At night my bby only latch 10, max 15 mins..one breast only.

During the day ranging from 10 ~ 30 mins.

That is when he is not cranky!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My mum said maybe night time is too quiet for bby? so they easily get startled? but i on music he will b startled too at the slighest sound! at the same time glad that his senses is workig well...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Marissa,

Thanks for educating us on growth spurt pattern, I am totally clueless till now.

Syann,

Hope u can train ur bb n that will really improve quality of life. Actually I am only half way to getting my gal into the routine as the hep b jab made her so cranky these days. As the afternoon hours are longer, can do trial n error to see what hrs work better. If bb typically is more alert say fr 12 to 2pm, let that time stretch b activity time n 3 to 5 pm be sleeping time for eg. Good luck k!

Suwaiwai,

The activities I do depend on bb state. If she is not in a fussy mood, I will put her in the cot n let her kick n stretch herself while I sing songs, talk to her abt say my family members n her daddy family or any topic I come to mind. Sometimes read story for her. Can do all these while maintaining eye contact. Alto bb cannot understand, they like to listen to our

voices n the eye contact. Will make them secured n it's good bonding. If bb feeling fussy, I will carry her n sing n tell her stories. Also maintain eye contact whenever possible. Some stories i read are repetitive as bb like structure n familarity. Main aim is to stimulate their senses n to make them tired! O Hehe. Key words are eye contact, sing, talk to them n if possible, let them stretch their limbs for motor skills. One thing I learnt fr mil who used to work in infantcare is that whenever we do anything to bb, we can vocalize it to bb to let them learn, for bonding n incr sense of security. For eg, when lifting them fr cot, tell them: melody, mama is going to lift u up now, don't be scared. When dressing them up, say: mama is going to put by right hand thru the sleeve. It's again very repetitive but that is how bbs learn. I find that by doing all these, my bb is less unsecured when I lift her for instance.

princess

Ytd night my cl consistently woke bb up every 3 hrs to feed and not let him sleep and he didn't vomit anymore.. So now I'll feed him every 3 hrs and on time... Even thou he takes 1 HR to finish it's ok.. Cos i feed him vv slowly and make sure he doesn't gulp his milk.. Seems to work

He's drinking but takes so long [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I rmb Irish said this means need to chg teats but his milk will flow out from mouth... So I think I shall stick to this teats first...

Re:routine

Now my boy will bathe abt 9am... Usually in the day he will drink and sleep... By 6pm I clean up for him... Daytime is ok for me... It's more problematic when night time comes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] he will fuss..

I'm waiting to see what happens after his feed at 830pm later.. Cos I'm trying to make him drink at 830pm and then sleep and feed at 1130pm again den sleep etc... But usually between 9-12midnight he fuss and fuss and refuse to sleep until the feed before midnight... I hope to change this pattern and that he will sleep earlier leh...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

loca

I've same prob as u... Everytime I carry bb to sleep and when I see he has slept... I put him in cot and he wakes and cry!!! Haha

Shin

If drinking slowly is better for him then be it cos by drinking fast he might not be ready for that...

Most importantly he is not vomiting...glad that his vomiting stops!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann

Yea,think just feed accordingly and if he is growing well....for me,there's nothing to be worried about.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Meghan too sometimes when she gulp and drink very fast...she will spit out too but not vomit!So,now if need to latch her,i always make sure my breast are not very full..must pump out some otw those forceful let down will make things worst!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Emmie

She is still adjusting to MY schedule!LOL

gotta be firmed otw i will suffer later...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

IT will be Meghan's turn next MOn for her first Jab!-_-"!!!Worried now...................

Your boy will be ok....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Saw many posts regarding placing BB in cot. I face the same problem for both my girls. Somehow they prefer the feeling of being cradled than placed in cot. Wat my mom taught me was to let them sleep slightly sideways. Use a pillow to support the back so they dun lie fully faced up. Seems to help them sleep better. Also if they regurgitate milk they wun choke on it. Maybe can try it out.

My girl has been latching every hr or 30 mins to sleep. N I wonder if she has enough. Cos she keeps waking up after awhile wanting to latch again. Any mummies face the same problem ?

Shortyncute,

thanks for sharing on activity time...

Xin2,

If u plan to give ebm later maybe try to freeze some first? then can see how u cope with the sterilising part n if no time can latch or give the frozen ebm.

Regarding latching.. U can do it!!! I thought i too will b dependent on the nursing pillow but after buying i only use it 3 ~4 times i think... Now thinking of selling it as it bcome white elephant now!!

For me i latch as long as he wants... Ranging from 10 to 30 mins.. I think my boy us reallt good at sucking coz he eats very fast though he sucks slowly!!

But some suggest 10~20mins each breast so total is 20~40mins feedibg time...

Loca,

our bby similar pattern!!

Sleeping position,

at first my boy sleeps in his back..

Then he want to sleep on sides..

Then for the last few days on his stomach..

Is it bcause too much gas therefore uncomfy to sleep on back?

Princess,

I know swaddling helps but my boy always struggle to get out.. How? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] then when we open he cn go bck to sleep again but after that get startled... Haih.... So sad..

Xin,

How long I latch each breast is dependent on how slpy bb is. If alert, then 15mins. If slpy, then 5 to 10 mins cos he tends to fall aslp at my breast.

princess

thank u thank u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am also glad... hehehe.. anyway Aedan also going for his jab on tuesday! hope he will be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann

i also swaddle my boy.. in the day i let him free.. but at night swaddle he sleeps better... sometimes he will struggle to free his hand, i let him be... he startles very easily also but usually goes back to sleep...

Anyway usually between 9-11+ pm, Aedan will fuss a lot... until a moment ago, hubby brought back another new NUK pacifier (CL says his old one - Tommee Tippee not good to suck) .... the moment we put the pacifier into his mouth... HE SLEPT!!! and I could even put him inside the cot without him crying....

now he is sleeping with the pacifier in his mouth.... i scared i take it out he will wake up again... but i don't want him to sleep with pacifier on... It's not good right???

Ann

What about swaddling him when he is sleeping ? I swaddled Meghan after she is fast asleep too otw is NO WaY!! Lol

Shin

Yea, hope after the jab our babies are ok..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess, shin,

i swaddle him when he is sleeping too.. But the moment he is put in the cot then he will kick his legs to open. Happen the moment we went home from hosp. No wonder during bf time in hosp his swaddling was quite loose...

Tried let his hands free too. Does not work! haha weird boy.... He does not like his legs to be tighten up..

Btw now that i let him sleep on the chest, he also like his legs to either open big big or he will go to like praying position....

Shin: the tommee tippee pacifier no gd? That's wat I'm trying to give my boy but he doesn't seem to like it. Thought he prefers my nipple to e pacifier. Now think mayb will change brand. NUK is better?

re: wedding band

Anyone still cannot fit? Mine put in cannot take out. Damn sad! 2nd/3rd time mummies, how long after post natal are you able to wear back your wedding band?

Nelc, your baby just undergoes growth spurt. That's what happens to me too 2 days ago. She sucks me dry. Haha. Very rarely happening. She used to suck 1 side, and don't want anymore even though eye open. Then she pretend to sleep, mouth closed tightly

My wedding band also put in difficult to take out. I don't wear at home anymore. Need 5 kg to burnt to return to wedding weight. Hehehe. But I believe very fast once I start diet. Now cannot becoz breastfeeding. Last time I lose 8 kg in half year just by eating less rice and more veggie and cut down sweet drinks

Morning..~

really this forum has keep me sane for the past few days as im quite stressed that my mum is leaving n in laws r coming tonite..

I think bby can sense my distress as he is really super duper cranky thos morning! hopefully i can enjoy living with inlaws.. They r going to stay for 1 mth...

Wedding band:

i cant fit from week 10. that is how fat i ve grown! hehehehehe.... I cn wear in my pinky.

But will not wear coz scared will hurt bby accidently..

Cherry

I did a short term trial of Kim's Kitchen for 5 meals ($40 for 2 pax) but find it quite oily and not that tasty. Will be trying Neo Garden dinner tingkat from next week - they also have short term trial of 10 meals (about $100 for 2 pax).

afternoon mummies~

whose baby here is nocturnal ar?

my son sleeps like a log during daytime n becomes super active at night~ zzzz...big problem.

hi any other mommies facing this?

Jumpy baby

realised that baby is super duper jumpy lately.. over the slightest noise and u can see him eyes open big big and hands n legs shaking... sigh....

Swaddling

everynite hubby and myself have front row seat to a 'Houdini/David Copperfield magic show'.

1st u see baby all wrapped up. then no matter how tightly swaddled he is ... some how an arm will re appear with all the wiggling... haha...

Volume of milk

can any mommy share how much milk your baby is taking on a normal day? my boy is slightly over 1 mth old but his milk intake fluctuates with growth spurt n all.

Ian: keke tts cos ur son stil cnt differentiate between day n nite! I think many of us have and are still going thru this phase.

Ann: my baby also dun like to be swaddled but we will force swaddle him. :p now he is better. his legs will kick open the swaddle so my mum ties a knot at the end of the swaddle to hold his legs in. then he will both legs sway like a mermaid to break free... damn funny!!

Weight Loss:

I still got 4kg to go. Its been stagnant since i finish my Malay massage. Tried wearing my pre-pregnancy clothings but most are way too tight! damn sad... now not much clothes to wear. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lilac> its impossible to wake him up once he shuts his eyes! unless he's hungry/pee/poo~ but after tt happens, he'll switch off again~ urgh!!