(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Hi mummies, i was reading the avent storage cup box this morning then I realize the cup should only be reused for four times! I have been sterilizing and reusing for so many times! Is it ok? Cos use four times only like very wasted.. Haven't gotten the milk bags cos dunno whether my supply will go up further.

Bblin, I oso like to know how much he drinks tts y express milk out. My bb three weeks old liao, my supply only half of wat bb requires..so sad ;(

Destitonia: which avent cup u using? I'm using avent via cups to store. The box says can use several times and discard if showing signs of wear n tear.

bblin,

Still no sign of poo!! Farting quite a bit though. If by tmr still nothing I'm gonna bring her to see doc. I'm having the same problem as you with latching. So now expressing out most of the time too.

Claudia,

I bought from her many times le. She usually post out within 1-2 working days. Her store at Chinatown, call Dragon Dor Cosmetics. Can google and search.

Desitonia,

Don't be sad. I'm also same boat as you, not enough bm for baby. Even though got increase production, her appetite also increased. Haha! Supplement with fm. But at least baby still taking bm, not fully on fm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Desitonia, starry,and other mummies in the same boat

I also don't have enough bm for baby...latch him on every 3 hours and suckle for 20 to 30 min and after that pump still only can produce 20 ml or 50 ml on a good express...haiz. Very tired, no time to do any other things! Don't think so much already, I console myself that so long as got some bm baby gets the best of both worlds. Waiting for my online order of fenugreek to arrive and see if it helps to increase production.

Stella, same like u, I using the via cups. I always remembered it's tt if got wear and tear then dun use. But tis morning I happen to read the box it says "can be reused up to 4times" nearly fainted when I saw tt cos I have been reusing so many times even for my first bb..

Starry, yah.. I taking fenugreek and e sacred tea compared to e past got 3 times more , now 60ml. In the past more pathetic. But 60 still not enough. I just going to continue pump, fenu, tea and hopefully three more weeks can see more supply! If not then have to accept tt always have to supplement, which I really dun wan.

Jac,

Worried that express will over stimulate ss lah. Frozen ebm can only Kip 3 mths, then I still on ml. Think they will be wasted lor.

Bblin,

I oso gif up n express and ask helper or mum to feed ebm via bottle when bb wants to latch constantly or fussy at breasts.

Re: spitting milk

My bb just developed a bad habit. He will latch and then not swallow then spit out milk all over himself and me. -.o" very messy, I always feel so sticky now. It is bcos he is already full n only latching for comfort? Then he fusses and wants to latch again when I unlatch him. Very frustrating.

wiselyn,

really? hope so leh.. but baby is always so hungry. After latching on and whatever I express out is not enough for him, still must top up with about 50ml of fm. I don't know if he is really swallowing during the latching on as he falls asleep quite often and I have to keep on waking him up but I do hear some swallowing sounds occasionally. Really not easy being a mum...

Hi oct mummies!

I jus delivered my 2nd girl on 27 oct. Hope to join in this active thread n get n share great tips from fellow mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jus to share a bit Regarding bm supply. For my first girl I've been supplementing wif fm cos my ss jus not enuff for her. Tho I hope to succeed this time round with tbf, I'm also keeping an open mind. Give half betta than none. In anyway my first girl is now really happy n healthy so there's really nothing 'wrong' wif supp fm. Betta than stressing ourselves out n decrease the ss. So all mummies Jia you k! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emma,

Check that bb is latching on properly and check other cues, bb might not be crying due to lack of milk...on top of that,please note that bb can get out more milk then a breastpump...

Emma, I'm in the exact same situation as u. BB latch until sleep most of the time. Then wake up to change sides or burp after that still demand ~50 ml of fm. We jus have to be determined n keep a positive mind. Hope the ss kicks in soon. Dun be discouraged k? Motherhood is tough but the Journey is full of more ups than downs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Emma, ss increase when I took 12 capsules and sacred tea. Frankly I dunno it's e tea or e fenugreek tts working. Initially I only took 2 capsules per day cos tts wat e bottle says but i read somewhere to increase need to take more, after ss stabilize then reduce to 2 to sustain.

Nelc, my first boy I oso supplemented with quite a bit of fm. Tt time I fell sick and was taking medication second week after delivering so not very in e right mind to express nor feed him. So supplemented with quite a bit of fm. And like wat u said, he is perfectly healthy and happy now ;) but second one keen to do total ebm. But if really cannot I will leave it as it is lor. First week I so upset over e little supply everytime bb cry I feel so fustrated and upset oso. Not very healthy I tot.

destitonia,

I've very low ss also in the beginning. Except for fenugreek supplement & mum milk tea, I took soups! Other than the papaya fish soup, another soup i've tried is 3 kinds of beans pork tail soup! My mum cooked pork tail, rib & chicken feet soup with black beans, peanut & a white bean (duno the name) cos my fren told me this help boost milk ss too. Anyway this soup is also suitable for everyone to take so no harm drinking. Hmm after that, my ss a bit more le. Not sure is cos of the soup, but i did massage the breasts b4 pumping. It really helps. Try the massage first.

Wat pump r u using? Maybe the pump suction not good also?

Re Storage bm

I using pigeon bottles to store. Stimes after pumping, straight put into fridge. Cos i'm not those ss alot kind, bottles r good for me!

Starry, If by tonite no poop poop, bring her see the doc lo. Normally they will insert pill to release the poo? Poor Jadelyn... I understand your worries cos ive faced the same thing b4. But later if she poop, u be surpise how much she will poop! As long as its normal poo, dun worry ya!

I see some mommies like me expressing milk cos bb after latching still not enuff....so im not alone.

Desitonia,

Regarding fenugreek, I took it previously but not much increase in ss. It only help with the let down. So it could be the sacred tea that's working. Where did u buy it from? I'm keen to try it too. N how often u pump?

Tks!

wiselyn, tks, yes, know that baby can get out more milk than pump that's why every feeding i will always latch on first. Think the latch should be correct bah but the problem is his impatience with the slow let-down / flow. That's why he starts fussing and refuse to latch on anymore after about 15 min but still hunting for food frantically.

nelc, desitonia, yes, we need to support and encourage each other along the way. Like you said, important to keep an open mind, if not enough bm than supplement with fm is also okay.

Snoopy, thk u for updating ;)

Bblin I got massage and drink soup oso. Just dunno whether e massage is right. I using medela mini electric dual. How to know whether the suction is ok?

Nelc, I get fr a local distributor. Can just google to find the page. Or u can email Rebecca Chan at

[email protected]. She has ready stock at hand. I pump every three hours.. At nite too shag every four hours. Everyday pump abt 7 times.

Emma we jia you!

am frm aug mtb 2010 ,got an extra lucky baby 3 in 1 rocker. it's a gift frm friends for my baby full mth. Without box as it comes in a hamper ,used oni Once. Still in bn condition.

Retail price - $59.90

Selling price - $39.90

self collect at Amk

for pics pls refer to tis thread below as I can't upload frm my phone

http://www.mummysg.com/forums/attachment.php?

attachmentid=24966&d=1268028039

pls pm me if interested. 

Hi mummies who low in bm,

Can try eating the Ouaker Oatmeal they have cook or instant type. My frens told me it will increase supply. I am eating it in alternate days, my supply is enough for my bb so i am not sure does this really help but i think not harm trying since its a healthy food anyway ...

Hi, mommies

I have desitin creamy 4oz for sale $9. Exp 2012.

Self collection at Sengkang or local postage at $1

Wow the sacred tea really has lotsa great testimonials. Already contacted Rebecca to buy n try. Hopefully it works! Will keep u mummies posted. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello mummies.. so many days never log in.. super tired! On friday night i brought baby over to our room to try out a night.. to see if hb can get used to baby sleeping in our room.. hb needs his sleep cos he needs to work mah... so we tried and our little terror kept us awake until 6AM!!!!!! wah BUAY TAHAN!!!

so end up we had to buy a mattress for me to sleep with baby in the nursery room when CL leaves... my boy is sucha light sleeper that he makes so much noise even when sleeping. As his mummy, i couldnt really get into sleep with him squirming and wriggling around and making noise beside me.... really very jialat! hahahaha

Any mummies have any advices for me?

I will be bringing baby for a stay at a chalet and I read that some babies might be over-stimulated?? im more worried whether he will be able to sleep in a new environment and will turn out to be very fussy or not... Will he get so used to sleeping on his own bed that he wont wanna sleep on the bed while at the chalet?

Any advices? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway, i just needa endure one more week for confinement to end!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But i have a feeling i will be more tired than ever since I have to take care of baby alone... hahaha.. cant wait to go do my pedicure! lol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

and hb and I have planned ahead for a vacation next March w/o baby... think we really need a break by then! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and I can't wait to go catch a movie - HARRY POTTER!!!! already booked the tickets in advance... hahahaa..

Nelc, yup, lots of testimonies but I think it depends on individual reactions also.. Cos I guess those who dun work will not have left testimonies ;)

The taste of the tea quite nice also  

Shin

Bb will usually fuss in a new environment. This is something dat I noticed when I brought my bb back fr e hospital & also during e 1st few nite stay @ my mil's place. So b prepared for it.

Shin,

I also thinking of traveling in mar but with dd n baby! Hope we will survive the trip. :p

Re: fernugreek

I tried for dd and it didn't seem to increase milk ss but I didn't dare to stop after starting just in case it will really affect mill ss. Hehe.

By the way, anybody still hurt down there? I gave birth on 21 oct n got minor tear there but still painful until now. Not uber painful kind but will hurt and needs to sit down kind esp after walking/ standing for too long.

Zuen:

Don't really feel any pain Liao. Did ur gynae give any cream to apply? Mine did.

U still have g lochia? Me still got. Noticed that after latching or pumping will seem to hv more flowing out.

How's ur baby? Fever ok? How much is he drinking now?

starry

Haa.. Didn't know it was jadelyn's full month party yest n tot u guys were at a relatives party tts y asked u to leave ?? Blur blur me! She was the star of the night ... How to leave rite ? Let's not let your sil's remarks upset you .. Since she's bait weird....,[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me just got back from RWS!! Fwahh!! Tiring but fun day out!

Claudia

Actually she can wake up just once at 3pm for milk n till 7am however we felt tt she needs more milk at her age now n therefore we stick back to our 3.5-4hourly feeds till she is at least 3mths old![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HB n I are prepared to be at home every night, eat in for dinner n wake up early to accommodate the girls timing !so, some night outings tt we use to have will have to br forego[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]!

We want them to sleeps early n wake up early!I hate the time where I have to stay up late bcos my girl refused yo sleep! It was horrible !

yawn...the night wakings is really tiring...

for once my dear baby woke up on schedule... went to bed at 7pm, woke up at 10.30pm, next wake at 3am then all the wat to 6.30am. Unfortunately after he woke up at 10.30pm, he stayed awake til 1am! No amt of coaxing or whatever not will make him go to sleep. end up i have less than 5 hrs of sleep in total

zuen/shin, my hubby also thinking of travelling in mar. he says just bring the elder boy. the baby wouldnt know any difference :p

princess, i wish we can eat in every night too. so far every time we go over to inlaws place for dinner, lucas will be wailing his head off. Only when we reach home n put him on his cot, then he will quiet down n avtually smile at me. give up

syann

Yah I know... Hais.. But I'm crossing my fingers he won't fuss so much!!! Hahahaha... I think they are so alert and "smart" that even when I put him on my bed, he knows the diff.. Lol

Zuen

Wow.. U gonna bring baby along? I don't think I can handle sia! Hehe.. Anyway I'm going for vv short 4d3n trip since I also she bu de leave him in sg for too long [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Emmie

Same, me leaving bb in sg with my parents.. Sometimes we need to recharge ourselves! Hehehe

I really salute those SAHM!! It's tough full time job... Lol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin,

Nope, no cream wor. Haiz, duno when it will heal. I dun have heavy bleeding after I delivered wor, unlike no 1. In fact, it looks like it might end soon. Hehe.

My boy is back home liao n everything looks good so far. I tbf so duno how much he is drinking now. But if I express 3hrly, I can get about 100 to 120ml.

Shin, emmie,

I bu she de leave him in sgp lor. I brought dd to cruise when she was 6 mths old, so I guessed we can handle no 2 too? Anyway, will go those kids friendly and guided tour kind and will either bring my mum or helper along to help lah. I oso dun think hb n me can handle 2 kids. Hehe.

emmie

Hey Meghan's schedule is the same as yours!! But I'm the one tt woke her up for feeds now! She ll goes back to sleep after a loyd burp!!!!! N a clean dry diaper changed[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]!!

I'm following the book advises on how to make her sleeps through the night ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so far so good ![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

destitonia

Hmmm I think shldnt be a prob since they only applying on ur feet?? But anyway I'm giving fm so I can't really advise u regarding this.. Hehe

Zuen

Ohh we wanted to bring him on cruise too but it was too ex so better not... Then hb and I going bkk so better not bring him... At least u have someone to help den definitely can handle both kids! As long as u all have fun as a family [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess D

Looks like u having control over both ur girls !! Which is a good thing!!! Hehehe and u plan everything so nicely for them! I'm waiting for the day where I can handle my boy so confidently like some of u mummies here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies and ian, finally finished Jadelyn's full month party. tiring!! especially yesterday's where it was for hubby's side of the relatives. today's was fun! 'cos all friends from our side. enjoyed it, some more at the comfort of our own home. feeling is really different.

princess d,

it's okay, sometimes i also misread posts. :p aiyah, i am over my sil's comment le lah. just take her as 'fang pi' (fart) lor!! one day she will go thru this and will understand how sensitive it is to call someone who just gave birth not long FAT. pui!!!

emma,

i think i caused my own issue with low supply. 'cos really super tired at night so don't wake up and pump. bad right? cannot complain lah.. will try my best to build up supply before i go back to work. but i need enough rest to make sure i can take care of baby well in the day. doesn't make sense if got more than enough supply for baby but unable to take care of her well. initially also very angry with myself for not having enough bm. but now think of it, i'm taking care of baby around the clock, mum only helping a bit here and there so shouldn't be so hard on myself also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zuen,

it won't go wasted!! don't forget, baby will not be just drinking that 80-90ml yah? will start drinking 100-110ml and before you know it, 150-180ml! that's when you will be so happy to see your entire freezer stashed with frozen ebm! pls keep pumping and storing. you will surely come to need it.

nelc,

welcome to join us in our discussions! congrats on your baby's arrival also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for the encouragement too! actually got some bm better than none lah.

desitionia,

initially i was very upset over supply like you also. can't eat well, can't sleep well, made things worse.. gave in to supplementing fm and my dd is sleeping better at night, no need to wake up so many times to latch. her latching can be almost every hour kind, very stressful for me! now i get better sleep too, so supply in the day also increase bit by bit. still catch up with my girl's growing appetite, but at least able to give her some bm. jia you ok??

snoopy,

thanks for updating the table once more! how is baby doing these few days? nicole bonding well with him?

bblin,

my mum made the same soup for me. drank once only, didn't see much diff in supply leh. haha!! maybe should drink more.

re: poo

just now brought baby to see doc. doc says NORMAL for babies to don't poo for many days. as long as they don't look like they are in distress and is not dehydrated. but i told her i am supplementing with fm, shld have poo! her explanation still the same... it's NORMAL. so i worried for nothing lah! haha! hope jadelyn will show me her 'gold' tmr though. then i can put my mind to rest. :p

shin,

any possibility for that one night you carry him and pat pat him till he is in deep sleep then slowly put him on the bed? 'cos new environment, may not be used to it and may fidget/wriggle/make more noise.

Starry

Glad tat the party was a good one!!

Haha.lets hope that tmrw or Jadelyn will give you the "poo Explosion" like how Xavier did to Ian and his wife!wahahhahaha!!!Gambateh Jadelyn,your mommy need to strike 4D!!!

Haiz...can't sleep now!Slept too much last night that now im stuck!! Hope can sleep and comatose soon...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am a mummy from the Sept thread.

I have 2 breast pumps for sale as I am no longer breastfeeding due to mastitis.

Barely used them for 3 weeks, so they are as good as new. All the accessories are intact and I could also give away the extra bottles and playtext milkbags I purchased.

1. Ameda Lactaline (dual pump) Bought at $412 WTS: $340

2. Medela Swing (single pump) Bought at $368 WTS: $280

I also got a maxi cosi infant car seat that I would like to sell at $90 and a pink combi stroller at $150. Recently bought a newborn -4yr old seat so does not need the maxi cosi any longer.

Let me know if you would like to purchase them off me. Thanks!

Shin: okie ;) cos I dying to do mani and pedi and colour my hair but dunno whether have effect on bm.

Mummies, wat u all think? Can still feed bm to bb after mani, pedi and colour hair?

Starry, yalor.. We must stop giving ourselves pressure hehe if not may worsen the supply. Wat is meant to be will be ;)

I am so upset. My bb suddenly had runny nose and cough at such young age.

Cos of the runny nose causes her to have noisy breathing cos of the phlegm.

She is so young and cant cough out the phlegm ane see her so xin ku i heartache.

I rem one bb here was also having this problem. Cant rem which bb. I rem the mummy brought the bb to another pd and the bb recovered.

Bought my bb to kk on fri and another pd pn sat but the cough and noisy breathing seemed to got worse.

Can the mummy tell me which pd she went to? Or anyone here had similar problem and can advise me wat to do?

princess d,

If Ian's baby's poo explosion is reenacted by Jadelyn I'll REALLY laugh my head off! Hahaha! Before I strike any 4D I must spend money wash curtain first!

Desitonia,

Once I stopped giving myself pressure I started feeling happier also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Think shld be okay to do your nails. Not sure abt color hair..

Routine,

so nice that some mummies have gotten into some routine!!

I just started getting bby on routine using gina ford method. But seem like my boy is more alert in the wee houra than in morning time. I.e. When drinking jn the morning he will close his eyes but at night will open eyes big big!! how to corect this??

Today forced him to wake up a bit in the morning n afternoon but he was still sleepy.

Feel so bad depriving him from his sleep!!

How do u get the baby to follow routine?

Force him o wake up or to sleep??

Starry:

Glad that u are nt so stressed abt supply Liao. For me, supply so far still ok ba. I also nt sure consider a lot or nt. But 3-4hrly can express abt 180ml from both breast combined. So far Ive just been drinking all the soups that CL cooks n also eating a lot of fish.

My bm is kind if oily kind cos the pump n cups I use all oily oily. Think it's cos of all the confinement food I'm eating.

Really hope to be able to continue having good supply. But CL say that if dun eat well n dun drink soup supply will drop Liao. So shall see hw it goes.

Re: taking care of baby

Well, so far it has been the CL doing most of the job. Really hope that I can take care of baby after she leaves. Got to start learning from her man. If nt sure blur blur.

Zuen:

Glad that baby issac is better Liao.

Dunno y but suddenly seems to hv more blood flowing out. Just nw got some clots also. Mb it's the result of drinking some of the herbal soup CL makes. Also dunno.

Going to hv my 1st massage session today! Hopefully can help lessen my backache. Really having bad backaches.