(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Trish: I using medala mini electric.. Go tmc need to make appt? Need to pay for consultation?

Lilac, I got massage but dunno whether it's correct massage. My massage lady coming in after one mth.

Vivivan, i latch my bb at night time, twice.

I latch on dd too and can see that bb sometimes just want to latch for comfort. He will suck for barely 5 mins n fall aslp. Should we deny if bb wants to latch for comfort?

Re: bb overfed

I realized that my bb will use his tongue to push out my nipple if he is fussing and not milk that he wants wor. So I think bb does noe when to stop when full leh.

Bblin,

I went to e LC @ Mt A a few days ago due to nipple confusion of my bb. Bb refused to latch on properly & the LC gave me a few tips wh worked like wonder. Now bb is on full breastfeeding & latches on well.

morning mummies~~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just had big breakfast deluxe! *burpss*

Good morning Mommies and daddy!

Wet Wet morning !!Nice weather to sleep but CANT!!hahaaaha!!

My babies now woke up at 7+ morning cos i forced them to sleeps early at 7pm and 8pm respectively!

Suwaiwai

U can changed Doc if you are not comfortable with the present one...AS long as they Noted it down on the health book on what has been given,it should be fine!I changed 2 PD before settiling on the 3rd one

Hi syann,

How do you book the appt? Just say you need to see a LC due to latching prob? Looks like reading from here, mt A LC is much more favorable than tmc? I gave birth @ tmc wor. Hw much will be the consultation like?

Mrn papa Ian! You really had your Mac breaky ah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] does your wife get to enjoy too?

Princess d,

Ya lo nice cooling temperature lo but a bit hazy isn't it? Hmm re to sleeping time, can newborn Meghan slp time be arrange? How many feeds during the nite you giving her? My boy usually slp ard 12am lo! Waking up time ard 8-9am. In between make noises b4 deep sleeping. I din get much slp lo.

bblin

see that you need LC's help...this is the

parentcraft number u can call to enquire...

63476641 in MAH..

MY LC was Ms Kang n Wang Yan in MAH..both are very patient in explaining..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i think by making appt to meet them cost about sgd60++,im not too sure ...can call to find out

BBlin

hazy??hmm..here at East Coast raining le,,wahahaha..

Meghan sleeps at 7pm-7am now..

her night feed will be

2230hrs and 0230hrs

the 2230hrs feed usually i gotta wake her up to drink otw she will cont sleeping.......[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Trained her since birth.don't have the intention to take away her night feed till she reaches 3mths old..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Need to ensure her to have enough milk intake!

Usually her night feeds she is always half asleep while drinking and goes back to sleep herself after milk[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You can start aroutine for your boy now..not too late...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies and Ian, happy long weekend to all! Although I didnt even notice got long weekend till couple days ago. Last night hubby went back to our home and met up with friends. Super envious lor.. Some more still text me saying it was his day off from looking after baby. I replied and told him I won't have any day off for the next 21 years looking after his princess.

Shortyncute,

Welcome to join us in our discussions and thanks for sharing the tips. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia,

How come your mil wanna bring baby out for shopping? Still so young and very easy over stimulated. Calendula cream is safe for baby acne.

Loca,

Have you tried giving pacifier? Sometimes I also no choice cannot seem pacify my dd so let her latch for comfort also.

Vivivan,

How many times you wake up to pump at night then? I really find it difficult to wake up to pump, so supply not very good. Got slight increase but can't meet her demands 'cos dd is suddenly drinking more and more each time!

Cherry,

Will your girl fuss if you put her in the cot? Mine will and wants yao lan.

Momotan,

Can get from guardian, $6++. polyclinic pharmacy selling at only $0.70 I think. Can't remember which mummy told me le.

Elle,

Good to know that your mum is helping and you still getting quality sleep! I'm going thru the same as you. But I take all the shift work. So it's 24hrs on call for me. Except during afternoon when I badly need a nap and my mum will help keep an eye on dd while she's sleeping. If she wakes up and demands to be fed, my mum will heat up ebm or make fm for her. I'm also targeting the 100 days!

Zuen,

There are 2 diff schools of thoughts abt latching for comfort. 1 says it's good for baby's development and bonding between mother and child. The other says will make baby more 'demanding' in fututre and shld give paci or something else so as not to encourage comfort sucking. I also dunno which is right.. But whenever see dd cry until like whole world bullying her or kena starved for 10 days, I still give in to her and let het latch. :p

Re: TMC blundder

Read news today and found out that TMC not allowed to do anymore fertility treatments till this whole issue is resolved and thoroughly investigated.

i really wonder if those couples who conceived via IVF @ TMC..will go and test their child's DNA anot~ skalli more of such cases!

Haha, starry .70cents is me! Hee..

Ian, oh you nv stay together with her @ her mum plc? Ya she need plentiful of rests if can! Muz eat good also la!

Thanks princess d for the LC contacts. So I can make appt with specific LC?

Re sleeping time,

My boy has to take his milk every 2 hrs if given bm & 3 hr if given fm. He slps in the noon a lot lo. Nite time hard to coax him to slp leh. The deepest nite slp he can is bt 12am-3am. So diff from Meghan.

bblin> nope, unless i dont have to work the following day~ yeah all the 人参 and stuff..more than enough to 补!

Ian,

Yah lor. But news report like that leh. Think need thorough investigation and find put where went wrong first then suspension will be lifted. Don't think gonna suspend TMC permanently.. News also said that their lab technician sometimes handle more than one sample at a time. Maybe that's where the 'human error' came in. Just one error caused the whole hospital's reputation to go down the drain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: bf/bottle feed

Not much diff bah, since same bm? But if latch you really dunno how much baby is drinking. But bonding is stronger through latching. I express out mainly is to find out how much baby is having and also to let my mum help me feed her sometimes when I really need some rest. Ian, your wife latching or expressing now?

BBlin,

Haha!! Forgot it was you! :p anyway ridwind really effective! My girl farts a lot and gets rid of wind very fast. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a qns abt unequal bm supply from breasts. Anyone facing same problem? Just finished expressing and left side came out abt 70ml and right side almost 100ml. Quite a big difference. What's the problem and how to 'correct' it? Is it because I've been latching baby more on the right instead of left that's why?

Starry: thanks for the piece of info on comfort latching. I think I will follow the first school of thought. Sounds better n more peaceful hehe.

Re: bb overfed

Babies know when they hv had enough. My boy will also push out my nipple wen he's done or wants to sleep even though it's his favorite pacifier. Same for bottle. I used to think I was overfeeding him becoz he started to drink more n more every week but I found out it's just him growing. He still does vomit or spit out milk at times but there's always a reason other than overfeeding. Usually lots of wind in tummy.

Shortyncute: thanks for the info, at least now I know it's just a phase and not something wrong.

Yes mummies, we can pass this difficult phase soon. Some1 said 100 days right? I'm counting down now. 67 more days to go!

Starry: I hv the same prob. My left can express abt 100-150 depending wat time I pump. Right only abt 90-100. Funny thing is I only latch on the right becoz bb can't latch on the left. Left purely express. Guess my expressing more effective than bb's sucking? Even if I pump aft latch still the same.

jac,

this bb of mine is VERY easy going.. she rarely fuss n cry.. except for milk n poo n a little whine. usually will just drift to sleep on her own and i give her pacifier. at night, i will jus pat n cuddle her to sleep for around 10 mins n will place her into the cot.

how about after she fall into deep sleep then lift her up from e yao lan n put her into e cot?

Ian

yup i tried b4..their food are more fusion type...i like it if the event is more for our generations but i personally won't take it if there's old folks,n children!

Just my opinion...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Overall their food and deco is good!!

Yippee, we r gg home today!

Jac,

U wld hv 21 years lah. Kids nowadays dun want parents when they go to sec school lor.

My left also more milk, can get 100ml n right only 60ml. Same when I had no 1. My left breast oso bigger than right. Must b conscious to latch more on right, otw the size diff will b more significant.

stella,

I also think better to let them suck since they are so young and it's tough for them being newborns. Give them some comfort and hope build better bonds with them through it. I was the one who shared abt the 100 days thing. It's like an old wives tale but a daddy friend told me abt it when i said I am having hard time with dd now. He said he went through the same with his child, who once hit 3-4mths became a lot easier to handle. Hope true for all our babies too! How come baby can't latch on the left? is it nipple size? Wonder if this unequal amt of bm can be corrected or not. Not big issue but irritating lah. Haha!!

Cherry,

Lucky you, have easy going baby! Mine very fierce, really a little tigress. She is getting more and more 'vocal' and will grunt very loud to show her displeasure or discomfort liao.

Ian,

Nv tried purple sage but heard friends who did say the food and presentation very good. Price also more expensive.

it is common and normal that one side of the breast get more milk then the other..so dun be over alarmed by it....it is rarely that we can yield same amount of milk from both sides

Starry,

you still give rid wind to Jadelyn? I stopped giving when he finished a bottle already (he started taking the day he is born.) & now he fart a lot! Many times & loud! Stimes stink lo! Does this mean he release a lot of wind??

My mum & good fren also say bb once hit 3mth/4mth, they will be easier to handle...and fun too cos they can respond to u by then!

Re diff amt of bm

Me too! Left breast yield lesser than right. My fren also tell me is like tat de...

Ian,

My hubby tried purple sage caterer food b4... he said nice but price quite steep.

wiselyn,

So it's normal? Thanks for the info! Thot something wrong..

BBlin,

Still giving her ridwind. Been giving for a week already. Once finish the bottle then see how. Her tummy not as gassy as last week so it's working!! And she burps so much more easily too. Sometimes just let her sit up will burp. Oh, the farts sure smelly lah. Nv smell before nice-smelling fart. Wahahah!!!

Starry: ya lor left side nipple is shorter so he has a lot of difficulty latching. Tried nipple shields but he doesn't like it. No choice but to express. Hopefully by 3-4 months really can see the difference. Now having such headaches trying to pacify him sometimes.

Thanks ladies!'ive got e calendula cream from watsons. Seems to be working, rashes on forehead looks lesser now!

Princess_d i also dunno y my gf insist pumping will not increase milk. Coz since b4 last wk dat sofea Has learned to latch on my left breast, ive been exclusively pumping ley. Sometimes i can get Less milk, sometimes more but i realised it depends on how much i eat during e day

oh u ladies having same prob wif fussy baby during e day too huh?! This one also same wants to be Cuddled all e time, put her down she scream bloody murder. But i rather she more fussy during e day than nite. Shes been sleeping well at night. Last feed is at 8pm then she sleeps all e way till 2.30am and one more feed at 6am.. But 6am im usually up already.

Ladies, i want to bring sofea to polyclinc for her 1 mth jab. No need make appointment rite? Jus go n tell counter wanna do

e jab n they will refer us to e doctor rite? Can i also ask e doctor to do growth assessment?

Re: spit out milk

even qfter i burp her.. She will still spit out milk 1-2 hrs later.. Is this normal?

Re; bf vs pacifer

id rather bf her. Ive seen kids so attqched to pacifier until toddler. Wanna go sch also carry pacifier

joined the thread some months back but not been active all this while...

been reading some posts and thought i would share... my boy used to sleep for one hr, then wake up to fuss, then repeat. Then my maid remembered for my #1 we used the bean pillow to put on baby's tummy when he sleeps and also rub a lil "ru yi you" on his tummy. So we tried for baby #2 and he really sleeps much better! Think he feels more secure with the bean pillow on his tummy.. as if someone is holding him? now day time my 5 week old can nap ard 2 hours and night time he only wakes up once or twice max for milk! Maybe you mummies can try the pillow on tummy? No harm trying? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope all the mummies can get their much needed rest!

bblin

Not sure if u can choose LC , but the LC's there are all v helpful looking at those feedbacks from many mommies.. I ve not make any appt w them b4 so not too sure.. Only met them during my hospital stays..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ian

You are welcome ! Purple sage worth trying ![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sigh

Thought I can keep my hair long !! Looks like it's not gonna happen! It's too messy n thick to keep it long !

At the salon now having a haircut !![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Marrissa

Glad that the cream works on sofea's rashes !

Hi Starry,

yup tried the pacifier. But most of the time he rejects it and cry even louder. Luckily it did work 1-2 times when we were in a restaurant else really dont know what to do.

He just fussed a lot earlier, we manage to pacify him a little by switching on the hairdryer. He did stop crying instantly.

Starry,

She started to bring him out when he's 1 week old. & I m in my confinement got to tag along. My boy is so fussy & cranky these days. Really 100 days over will be easier to take care? Looking forward, he's now 35 days old. Everytime when my fussy baby cries, I gave him milk, pacifier, changed his soaked diapers all doesn't seem to soothe him down & when I tot maybe he needed some comfort as his tummy is full of wind, I carry him, then mil will comment say next time baby alway wants to be carried. Cos I m gg to Taiwan on 17 nov, will be asking my hubby's aunty to take care. Mil alway nag says if we carry baby too much, her sis will die. She has a lot of comment. Wanted to get the calendula cream for his acne & mil asks me to use his urine just because heard from those San gu. Anyone did try urine to apply for baby's acne?

blustar,

Thanks for sharing abt ru yi oil and beansprout pillow. Both tried on my dd le. Doesnt work. She wants higher form of entertainment. Heh heh!

Princess d,

I'm also desperate for a haircut! You don't try rebounding to keep hair neater so that can let it grow long?

Claudia,

Your mil funny leh, what for bring baby out shopping? Some more so young and fragile! Then scared of you pampering baby by carrying him too much? Aiyoh, ignore her comments lah. One ear in one ear out. Nv heard before urine can cure acne. Please don't try!! Urine when exposed to air for some time will breed bacteria. This reminds me of last time jadefeet said she heard from some aunties that fried pigeon shit can cure headaches! Wahahahah~!!!!

marrissa, regarding split out milk... yes yes! My boy will!!! Many ppl said is common bb split milk leh.

Princess d, thanks again. Will call up MAH parentcraft tmr to make an appointment. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Enjoy your haircut!

I juz got back from Baby Hyperstore & Baby Kingdom. Finally gotten the stroller & carseat for Denzel!

Marissa, for polyclinic better call to make appt. I remembered my elder one I made appt also when he went for vaccination. Make appt liao still have to wait haha a ling of babies!

btw mummies, wondering how many hours your baby are awake for and when they are awake, do they "play"?? my boy is 35days now and whenever he is awake, he fuss. The max he can stay on his cot alone is (with music) for 5 min. after that he will start to fuss liao. then the cycle of comfort sucking will start.

In 1 months time i am going on a vacation, i am very worried he will be addicted to omfort sucking and no one will be able to look after him when i am not around.

Marissa,

I just brought my 1 mth old baby for hep b 2nd dose at yishun polyclinic. No need to make appt for 1st time , just walk in, very fast as newborn has priority & subsequently they will make appt for u.

I refuse to use urine on my boy's face too. It's so dirty! She only heard ppl saying... Those myth. She kept saying I spoil baby by carrying him. Sometimes when he cry like mad, jut carry him & comfort him, can't be let him cry till all the wind enter his stomach

The calendular cream that u all bought from watsons is it California baby calendula cream. Is it available from all watsons? I have no chance to go out, maybe get hubby to buy for me

finally got some breathing space. my boy has been fussy (refuse to sleep, cry when urine, cry when poo, cry when letting out gas, cry when put him down to his cot ...) almost the whole of this week. i tried walking, singing, ru yi oil, gripe water .. whatever you think of I have tested so now last try is change forumla milk!

Wish me lots of luck with the new FM. So busy coaxing him that I didn't have time to express milk needless to say nap at all. so breastmilk ss may be dropping! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

It sound stupid but i even try negotiate with him to let ma ma sleep ok? ok? ya i do that in the middle of the night.

wish me luck with the new fm.

Hi mummies, where can I get an affordable n light stroller suitable for 1 mth onwards? Something w 1 hand operation? Heard of a place selling such stuff in kaki bucket but no idea exactly where. Any1 know the exact location?

Marrissa, BBlin,

Jadelyn also regurgitate sometimes after a full feed. I noticed she will if I don't burp her properly and go change her diaper right after feed. Change diaper need to lift up her butt mah.. So milk from stomach will tend to flow back up causing her to spit up some milk. So must always, always burp baby properly to avoid this. Of course normal to see some milk coming out when baby burps. Nothing to worry about.

Loca,

My baby girl was sleeping like 22-23 hours during her first week. Now I think everyday she will spend only 16-18 hours sleeping. She's awake during feeding time, burping, playing/fussing by herself in the bed or in yao lan, changing diaper time etc. Most times when she start fussing, I let her be and don't pick her up. 70% of the time she will quiet down after 10-15 mins and drift off to sleep. I only pick her up for some TLC when she screams bloody murder or fussed for more than 15 mins. Don't want later become she training US to pick HER up when she fusses. Haha! Don't think u need to worry abt the comfort sucking or lack of it when u are away. Baby may fuss for a couple of days but will soon get used to it. They actually adapt faster than we give them credit for. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia,

Sounds so horrid, use urine on baby's face. Ugh~!!! Just ignore your mil if she makes those comments again. Tell her you don't want baby to cry till got wind inside tummy. Once that happens worse lor.

Metta,

Most of us facing same prob with our baby now. It's really a phase which will pass. Hope the new FM works! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] which brand you gonna try?

Stella,

Capella brand of strollers are quite affordable. Can buy from Kiddy Palace outlets. Not sure abt the addresses of the kaki bukit places u mentioned. Google it??

I wan to rant my frustrations here!!

Re: MIL

Really hate the sight of her now. She still comes everyday dunno for wat. Then got to entertain her n can't rest. Hb says tat can't possibly ask her nt to come. But I told him also nt everyday wat. I need my own space n time.

So angry today. Yesterday wen she came over she went to carry baby n wake him up though baby was sleeping. So today wen she came, I said very loudly baby is sleeping don't carry.

She purposely repeated many times wat I said in front of hb. I nt ard then she say lor. Can't stand her! Find that she can be so fake lor.

Told hb that I can't stand it anymore Liao. I'll bring baby far far away if this continues.

bblin

You r welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

Yah lor did a soft rebonding .. So ugly but no choice if I want to keep my hair long[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My hair was straight n then after I had jade, it seems like I have curls n wavy hair then now after Meghan , looks like i had a permed!!! Gosh!!

Headache!!

Ann, yes they mix up thé sperms n so thé baby's father is someone else.

Tigger, like this case is bo pian, thé mother carry thé baby for 10mths shld treat thé baby well? It is nô fault of thé baby.

Emmie, m'y meals- skip breakfast almost everyday. Late lunch dep if i manage to cook thé night before or cup noodles or watever there is. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] if In SG, i Can just ta pao easier.