(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Adelyn, wat I felt I dunno is kick or wat not, Like wat Starrymommy say, more like a gas, or sometimes like when I am hungry, 1 sec of stitches kind....

I am a first time mum too and going to be my Week 17 soon...I still worry now and then and got hubby to assure me.....

My last class ends at 5pm today. But still got tons of work to be done... most likely got to drag till 6pm bah... then it takes me 1.5hrs journey to reach home... argh... it is not the MRT trip that is horrible... it is the BUS 3 from pasir ris that is hell!!!

yes stupid forum keep hanging...........My msg got to send dunno how many times.....

I knock off around 5:30pm. But my office quite flexible can go off earlier if we want. Though these days a bit busy so i go off later.

I tried to go off before 5:30 if possible. Else the bus will be very packed.

vivian,

yeah i understand bus services depends a lot on traffic. at least MRT has a dedicated line. that's why, knowing that fact i try to find a workplace that's near the MRT. so i never have to take a bus again. but this really depends on luck. driving your own car may not be necessarily stress-free too! you'd get stuck in jams! and expensive ERPs!

babytiger2010: yes i think that is the Gynae.

I knock off 530pm but i normally will start till 545pm cos my bus will only reach 6pm.

I'm feeling really pek chek tdy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hv been trying to swallow my prenatal vits since morning till now.

Wasted 3 if my pills already. Previously, I dun really hv

probs swallowing them.

Duno why recently it just refused to go down my throat! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Made me puke 3x liao. Super sad & emo now!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: baby movements

over the wkends, I feel slight pain in my tummy.

Then when I pressed my hand against my tummy,

there's a throbbing beat underneathe.

Was tt the bb kick or heartbeat??

How come nobody reply me abt the aches n pain? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm still feeling the strain n pain on the left side, especially after sitting down n wan to stand up. How? Sld I go see gynae? But it's the side leh.

Lie down don't feel the pain so much. It's only wen squat or sit n stand up.

Xin2 thk i am experiencing something like that on my right hip. Sometimes get sharp pain when i move. I will wait a bit see if it gets better or worse. If worse will go ask my gynae.

xin2, babydes,

both are normal, no need to alarm your gynaes. you're supposed to sit and stand up gently else you'll pull the muscles around your abdomen. had that happened to me a few times too but it's not harmful to baby so no worries.

momotan,

don't think it's the baby's heartbeat. mostly probably your own? as for pills, i still haven't taken them. i wasted one just trying to swallow it but to no avail.. hehehe..

momotan: think when I was in my late 1st trimester i oso had problem with my fish oil pills. hard to swallow n the smell makes me pukey. but after abt 2 weeks im back to normal. i used to take EPO which is bigger in size b4 pregnancy so im sure i can swallow the fish oil which is smaller but just that those 2 weeks maybe its part of the pregnancy thingy, its make me anti it. Dont get too upset k. If cant swallow today, skip it. Dont force urself. Try tomorrow.

xin2

i had that that abt 1 mth ago & it last for abt 2 weeks, i check with my gynae, he says it's normal & will be fine after a while. He advised not to sit at a position for too long.

Melissa,

the throbbing rythmn is different from my own hb leh.

Lilac,

thk u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maybe I pour out the powder to eat loh.

Erxin ri…

HELLO ALL!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just came back from school with daughter!Sooo tiring![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

about hip bones expanding!Yes ...it will happen is its only the matter whether its going to expand more or less..mine confirmed expanding but my butts still look the same tho..haiz!All went haywire!headache...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]kekekeke

pearlyn

thanks for the info,will go check it out![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby movements!

Hahhaha..im feeling it very often especially when i sit down with my hands grabbing my knees!hahahaha..can definitely feel it as if our lil friend in there is super uncomfortable being sandwich!Very funny!sometimes i purposely do it and laughed..then get scolding from hb la...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess diamond,

ooiii sometimes i leaned forward and "squashed" that little person in there and i get the kicks too "stop it mommy"! lol.. but of course it's harmless yeah...

momotan,

i'm apprehensive b'cos baby's heartbeat is sooo small compared to the body size, also very small. imagine ourselves wrap in water and then a waterproof ziplock bag, and then having some big giant hand feel our heartbeat. do you think that's possible? well i could be wrong, but that's what i've been visualizing hehehe..

oh wanted to ask u all if you took childbirth class or pre-natal classes?

wld you recommend it for first-time mummies? i'm still deciding if i shld take it.. otherwise bb come out i will be damn blur.

Pearlyn,

Anyone helping you during confinement?If yes,i think basically many things can refer from book which i did and get help from confinement!During my stay at the hospital,we are given a free prenatal lesson but i didnt attend!The nurses are nice enough to teach us in our room how to bathe the baby and many more![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But it is nice if you want to attend![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] no harm as gaining more knowledge is better than none![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This is also prevent you from using different skills on comforting your baby![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I love to read,so i learn from what i understand from books and asked from doctors!I don' really rely on old wives tales and myths....not all but some![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to reccommend a book to all of you

A CONTENTED BABY by GINA FORD!Go get it..it's worth reading and knowing how to handle a a newborn and sleeping patterns..helps alot esp for working mothers..tho im SAHM but i realized following the methods,give me more personal time!Organizing your time is part of motherhood![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Pearlyn

I signed up for the TMC antenatal class which my friend highly recommend. Going with my hubby so that he can learn and also be more hands on with baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

melissa and princess diamond,

So envious that you two can feel your BB responding to being "squashed" and "sandwiched" by your intended actions. I will be so excited to try out[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But poor little one will be so annoyed by me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for all the sharing on baby movements. I guessed I too Kan Chiong already[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will wait patiently for the very precious baby movements[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Momotan,

I also not sure if the throbbing beat is BB's heartbeat or kicks. Both myself and HB have been putting our hands to feel the tummy area every night, hoping to feel something and we do felt something like heartbeat. But it can be felt at different parts of the tummy area hence we concluded probably maybe its not cause it cannot be possible that we can feel it at different place at the same time.

mmm.. my MIL shld be helping during the confinement bah..

actually i'm only most concerned abt the bathing bb and breastfeeding part.. the rest i think one can read more books to get the knowledge..

i think i'll be afraid to bathe the bb cos he/she will be like so fragile! all soft soft one! hahaha!

hi babydes: how much did your class at TMC cost? btw, the curry rice across TMC is nice le! hahaha.. went dere for oscar last week.. =p

hi pearlyn,

are u planning to delivere at TMC. tmc offers free class ( for bathing bb n breastfeeding part if i'm not wrong ) after delivery . i think 1 hr class.

my pants are getting thight. now shopping maternity clothing at forum. will try to order fold over bottom ( recommended by princess diamond ) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm from Apr 2010 thread.

I have about 10 excess packets (4 capsules/pkt) of Neogobion iron supplements from my recent purchase from gynae less than a month ago (have receipt as proof of purchase). I have given birth so not taking them now.

Would like to let go all 10 packets for $8 (bought from gynae at $10 for 7 packets, but now I'm throwing in 3 extra packets for just $8).

Pick up at Raffles Place on weekdays lunch time or via post.

PM if keen. Thanks!

Pearlyn,

that's right, Gleneagles also offer free classes for breastfeeding and bathing baby. i never went for one, simply because they started classes just after i delivered! so i was too weak to walk around at that time. anyway i had my mom's help. in addition to that, i was so excited about my new arrival that I had this surge of confidence as a mommy to hold and bathe my baby like any mothers would. it just comes in naturally. before baby, i wouldn't even care to change my niece's diapers! hahaha.. don't worry, when the time comes, you will know what to do. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ok funny how i noticed this year, a lot of newborns comes from experienced mothers. back then in September 2006, 2/3 third of the mommies there are first-timers. i don't want the new mommies to feel left out. it's not something that we can control. maybe the potential mommies are really trying hard to avoid having a Tiger baby or recession hasn't improved yet. but just want to remind the first-timers that no questions are too dumb and we're all in a learning journey as well. just feel free to ask or share any rants or worries u might have. sometimes i'm too free in the office i can answer anything but i'm not alone, there are other caring 2nd-time and 3rd-time mommies here as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

melissa,

you can be our "Aunt Agony" (pregnant version). hee hee!

Re: antenatal classes

are they a must? i don't really feel like signing up as hubby won't be free to go with me after work one lor (i am 100% sure about this and will sure be disappointed every week) and besides, it's really hard for me to get away early from work and get to the classes on time. THEN have to make all the way back home in the west. just thinking about it makes me feel bone-tired. i know, i know.. full of excuses. :p

Melissa,

I didn't noticed it! But I am a 2nd time mummy and a friend is having her 2nd baby too. Not sure if I count as 2nd AND 3rd time mummy? Hee hee.

I personally did not attend any pre-natal classes for my 1st pregnancy but I borrowed a lot of books from the library about breastfeeding & baby care. I think the nurses at TMC also helped me a lot as they will help me get the correct latch during each feeding. So by the time I was discharged I felt more confident. As for baby care they made me attend the 1hr parent craft class after I delivered & I didn't find it very helpful.

Actually I think the intention of attending pre-natal classes is to help you be mentally prepared of what's to come, but I don't think they will make you 100% prepared to deal with a newborn when he/she arrives. It's always good to remember what you learnt in class, but have some allowance for the unexpected. Besides, isn't having a baby a wonderful surprise to begin with? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We had planned to have #2 in the later part of the year, so this pregnancy was a little earlier than expected. The animal year don't really bother us because we don't really believe in it. BUT I think many parents should eventually be worried about having Dragon year baby. Hard to apply for schools!

starrymommy: that's the reason why I didn't attend the pre-natal classes cause not very convenient for us. I did borrow a book for daddies about pregnancy and parenting in the first yr. can't remember the title but he enjoyed reading it.

Pearlyn ,

as a first time mother , you ll be excited n overwhelmed with many things! I should think that the ante natal class us not s bad idea ESP you ve already had a thought if it[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] no harm, really... Then you n HB mAy ask questions n answered by professionals rather than just base on myths n tales[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

if you are confident enough that your mil can handle from A-Z then forget about the class but if you have doubt , do sign up!

I doubt my mil czn help tho she sounded confident.I m blessed with medical trained family members n also friends around! So even during the confinement period was bad ... HB n I gets help easily! Also my CL was a great help !

Midwives n nurses taught HB n I how to bathe n feed the bb before we left the hospital! Also peadiatrician gave us a list of schedule in how to take care if newborns... With all the readings .... It should be enough ![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starrymommy they have Sat classes too. It's up to u whether u want to attend. A few of my frens recommend the classes so I don't mind trying out since this is my 1st baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess diamond,

my mum will be my CL. i am very sure she knows the A-Z when it comes to taking care of babies. so i think i will give the antenatal classes a miss. my colleague went, but it wasn't very helpful for her. think she forgot all the breathing techniques when labour really came for her! some more her baby came very fast, only like 4-5 hours of labour considering it is her first child. she had epidural too, so pain management is taken care of! breastfeeding also taken care of by LC. so nothing much came in use from the classes lor, except for those information which are readily available online/books and how to bathe newborn, baby massage etc...

pinky,

i prefer to read and research at my own pace rather than attend classes and such so i guess i will skip bah. can save the $$ also and use it to buy diapers!! haha!

babydes,

yah i heard of saturday classes. those are my only options. hubby and i are very involved in our church and this is given priority on saturdays apart from family and very close friends. will discuss with hubby then see how.

Re: squashing baby

just now i tried, no movement leh. baby must be sleeping soundly. sometimes when i toss around in the middle of the night or close to dawn and squash my tummy against the bolster, i will feel baby shifting/rolling around. it is strangely quiet today. feel a bit unsettled. but i don't have cramps or spotting or anything. think should be fine right??

Starrymommy,

yep , if your mil can do the job why sign up? Like u said csn use the fees to pay for diaper !

There are many cases where ftbS are just as anxious so these classes are meant for them more than the mtbs!

It really depends on individual whether they enforced the skills they learnt from the class or not,. One have to try before knowing..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]And some swear by it!

I set my mind to go for epidural from the beginning so breathing skills didn't come into my mind at all!

I like to read n believe in facts too !but I should say my lactation consultants is superb !

Anyway till today I'm buying motherhood n childcare books to read! There are more to learn...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinkdot!

Hahaha ........ So nice rite?

I'm watching sesame street with dd now!Big bird , her fav singing "she ll be coming round the mountains " and I sing along! Lil one too excited I csn feel the fluttering ....lol

Melissa / babydes,

yah loh. I oso dun think it's hb bcos it's all over the plc.

My hubby want to believe tt it's bb kicks instead. Haha.

when I bully him, he will tell bb to kick me! So childish loh! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I dun intend to sign up for prenatal courses.

I saw a few videos on YouTube tt teach us how to bathe bb etc.

I think shld be gd eunff coupled with some reading??

So quiet le. Everyone gone for dinner? Baby and I are having kimchi soup tonight. Crave some hot, spicy, sour, salty soup.

Starrymommy!

Kimchi soup! Nyum nyum! Sounds so comforting eh...

Had curry again just now! Mao Shan Wang calling le..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin2,

i also experiencing backpain and straining on one leg as well as hip as early as the 6 wks, doc says nerve pain coz the growing womb may hav pressured on some nerves, it may go away when baby shift upward later, true enough i haven't had it for several weeks already until i almost forget about it.

today i suddenly feel my tummy very tight and hard, also pain near belly button, on it's left and right, i'm not sure if that's ligament pain. quite uncomfortable to sit up for long, so weird why the tummy suddenly rounded!!

momotan,

I'm also having problem swallowing pills, it takes me the whole morning to swallow all the pills i'm suppose to take.. i think one big problem is i suddenly hate drinking plain water because of some bland taste in the mouth, are u guys still having that bland taste? So i try to go with milo, ribena or something, so it's not that hard to force down.

babytiger, ya the bland taste really spoilt appetite and very depressing.

anyway anyone read the latest copy of Mother & Baby? There's one article about mothballs scary story, on how the entire family experience diarrhea after the maid placed 2 mothballs in the same cabinet as the rice.. after reading that i asked my hubby to clear all mothballs in the house. LOL.. a bit paranoid, but it says young children may get brain damage from breathing the vapours, also affect livers and kidneys. so better to go without.

Empress!

Serious?OMG!!! I ve never trusted my maid dll this while! Not that they are ignorant but some really don't know how severe can it be when comes to safety n hygiene!

Shucks man!! I ve caught my maid stuffing all kind if meats in one corner of the fridge! Yes, 1 bag of beef, pork n fish! Explained but still I doubt she understand what is food contamination!

Headache!

Empress

Ithink better not put any mothballs as it's hazardous '! Children might accidentally pop into mouth too![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gosh tht's serious! I still put mothballs in my wardrobe at times wor.. Time to chuck those away!

Princess, mao Shan Wang! Drool drool.. Makes me hungry.