(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Marrissa,

My sons gum too has hardened. I guess teething but maybe hasnt sprout yet.

Good thing on the nap. Last time niko cn sleep 3 hrs n wake up the rest of the day, maybe will sleep 2x 1 hr in between. Now he is taking 5x1hr nap. I am dying........

Rest for a while, he soon will wake up. Maybe after i type this post he will wake up!! Huhu.

Fb group

Someone have to invite u. I tried but cant find the link as im using mobile phone. The gathering is lunch this sat!! Venue not decided. Join lah with sofea... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Marrissa,

My sons gum too has hardened. I guess teething but maybe hasnt sprout yet.

Good thing on the nap. Last time niko cn sleep 3 hrs n wake up the rest of the day, maybe will sleep 2x 1 hr in between. Now he is taking 5x1hr nap. I am dying........

Rest for a while, he soon will wake up. Maybe after i type this post he will wake up!! Huhu.

Fb group

Someone have to invite u. I tried but cant find the link as im using mobile phone. The gathering is lunch this sat!! Venue not decided. Join lah with sofea... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffy,

Woww.. bruises..

my son only kick my thigh (which is chubby so no bruises so far haha) and rib carriage. The last one is quite hard n twice i feel my heart stopped for a while..

N he likes to pull my glasses away when angry, can trhow far far away. My degree is quite high so hv to search for it first then attend to him.

Wah, dont let our sons play fight. I think will be quite barbaric. Haha.

Ann,

Yah cannot let them fight. Hahaha

Yes 3 bruise which I don't even notice until my girl point to my bruise n ask me what happen.

Wow, Nic throw ur spec. So ur spec cannot made of glass if not sure break

CIO

Can I know why need to use CIO method? Is it because dun want to spoilt baby by having to keep carrying them?

Or is it you want to train them to sleep by themself? Sleeping by themself meaning just putting them on the cot/bed and they will sleep?

For naps and bedtime, need to train bb to sleep by themself?

Nycmum:

Ya. Think CIO method is to train the bb that it is sleeping time n they sleep on their own lor.

So far how u get ur bb to nap or sleep?

I duno maybe for me I think as baby matures they will eventually be able to do things on their own. Last time when aedan was in the crying stage I was also at a loss, thinking he will never be able to stop crying or slp on his own or slp for long periods..

But now that's he's almost 3.5months ... I start to realise he's capable of sleeping on his own etc... Yes I still need to carry him to slp at times but not as bad as last time.. I agree that whichever method u use, u need to be consistent. I refused to try the CIO method, I just attend to him when he needs me to.. Even if it takes me to carry him for 2 hours.. Then slowly slowly I reduce the carrying time.. Slowly when he fusses, I wait for a longer time to carry.. Or I will put him down once he's ok.. And now sometimes he dont like me to carry too much.. He rather lie down and play. Only when he wanna sleep, I carry a short while he will sleep or I will give paci and pat him he will sleep. Just be very consistent with ur routine or what u do with him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you!

Josie will also hit me, scratch my face when she reject breast...

Huhuhu.. Can pull my hair too, that's why I have a short haircut now. Otherwise will go botak with all the pulling hair.

When I carry her she sometimes grabs my glasses too, but I quickly release my glasses from her hands. hehehe.

Xin,

It will depend on how deeply aslp he is. There r times that he woke up immediately (sometimes crying, sometimes not). Then we just try again lor.

Mommies....how do u deal with cradle cap on the soft spot of baby's head? i applied olive oil over night on the affect spots and wash off the next day during bath time as advised by polyclinic nurse.. the rest has dropped off except that particular area on the soft spot.. i dare not touch/rub too hard..

Sleeping baby - mummy me time.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies with boys,

do u apply lotion underneath the penis n the testicles?

Must apply? What lotion do u use?

So far i dont use anything as he doesnt hv diaper rash etc. But was told to apply to these areas so that will not rub each other, esp now when they like to move on their stomach. Will rub at those places. True or not?

Thanks in advance..

Xin,

I sympathize with u cuz my baby was like that at 2 mths. Now hes coming 3 mths and crying less and beginning to smile. So hang in there.

I think u need some help in the house otherwise can really go crazy leh. Not easy being the only caregiver.Take care.

I'm out with bb n hb at imm to change money. So happy that bb managed to fall asleep after I nurse him. He's now sleekly in the stroller. Well, feels so good to come out n walk. Hehe.

Regain a bit of sanity.

Well, kayden gave mega poo during the car ride. His whole romper kena n the car seat also. Aiyo. Then he still can smile at me while on the way lor. Only wen think he realized uncomfortable then he started crying. Haiz. So notti lor.

Princess_d, thanks for adding me!! I'm free on 29th!.. eh btw, one bimbo qns.. How do i view the secret grp page from my fb ah?

Xin2: I read in a book abt putting bb to slp w e shhh-pat method. Wen bb cries, carry him, pat his back firmly n make shhh noices close to his ear but not in his ear. Supposedly with the sound n patting they can't concentrate on crying n will quieten down. Put him down in his bed then slowly ease up on the patting n sound til they slp. If bb cry pick him up pat n shhh again. Repeat process if necessary. I found that this method works until my hubby n mil spoil market by carrying him to slp all e time. This method is if u dun like e CIO method which I dun really like, but it requires alot of patience, n cooperation frm all parties who put bb to slp n may take some time to really see results depending on bb. See which method wil suit u n bb e best n stick to it. N must b determined in which ever method u choose if not it wun work oso.

I went under e grps icon and it says im not a member of any groups..

Hiya cyn!! Sounds so happy today?!

Xin2, good to know ure out ans abt with hubby n baby. Nuce hor to get out once in a while

marrissa,Ann

Just added you girls as an admin members so that you can have access to control like what we(the rest) do in the group...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin2

Good to be out!!

im looking forward to marketing tmr with bby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just bought an ergo n we (me n baby) love it!!!

ergo saves my back!!!!

just get it today. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] used it for the past one hr. He slept well in it. I cn have my two hands free n also go downstairs for a while...

Btw can i ask mummies who own ergo,

4 mnth old need the infant insert?? Btw i am a bit insecure too bout stretching his legs out like that....

Princess, thx!!! Tho i cant find the group too unless there is notifications! Haha. Really dum2 using my hp... lol

Stella:

Thks for sharing the method. Think it's not as cruel as CIO then. Will try out Tmr.

Actually I'm nt having problems with baby not been able to sleep at night. Baby kayden will sleep on his own after wipedown. Will cry a bit but calm him down n give him his pacifier, he'll sleep on his own. Don't even need to pat him.

My only problem is in the afternoon lor. So difficult to get him to nap n den if he does, it's barely 30mins lor. Dunno how leh.

Xin2: u tried putting bb on his tummy in e afternoon for his nap? Usually bb slp longer on tummy jus hv to keep checking in on him to make sure he doesn't turn face down. Or a massage before nap? Sounds like he likes being touched before slp - bath n wipedown...

Stella:

Nope. Dare nt put him in tummy. Em. Not sure isit he likes to be touched leh. At night cos dark dark Liao so he'll sleep lor. Dunno y but morn after bath he'll wan to sleep Liao. Only afternoon then difficult. For his sleep after bath, I put him on his side lor. He can sleep for about 2-3 hours.

Xin,

Did the outing tire out baby Kayden?

Mummies, I have a qn abt starting baby on solids.. Jadelyn seems to be drooling a lot more lately and even started making chewing motions the past few days. Are these signs of teething? Shld I start her on cereals in a couple of weeks when she is 4 mths old?

Drooling a lot is a sign of teething, not sure abt chewing sounds. But i heard some babies do change sleep and intake patterns when they start teething.

So early ah jac wanna start on solids? I thot babies shouldnt start on solids so early? My gf started her bby solids at 4.5 mth coz he drank milk so little n hes losing weight. I tink if sofeas appetite n weight gain is good, want to fully bf her till 6 mths b4 starting solids.

marrissa,

Not too keen on starting her so early unless she really needs it. Just trying to spot the signs that she is and be better prepared. She's like having quite a number of signs that she's almost ready.. But I'm scared too early also. And I was up feeding her at 3.30am! Her last feed was 11.30pm and it cld usually last her till 6am at least.

Jac,

I guessed milk is good enuff for them now. Wait awhile more lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I m back at work. My 1st day. Expressing in office now before I start work.

Jac, like wat other signs? Like staring at yr food or watching u eat? Sofea did that at 2.5 mths n my sis wanted to feed her ice cream.. I almost died!

Maybe try increasing jadelyns milk 1st. Coz if gif solids too early scared her tummy n digestive system r not ready. Plus their tongue reflex r still going outwards than inwards to prevent em frm choking. i would play on e safe side n introduce solid to jadelyn at 4.5-5 mths

Ann: I've been using Ergo without the infant insert since my baby is 2.5 months old. So far no problems with the legs leh ...

About introducing solids:

Think recently there was one newspaper report saying that contrary to WHO's recommendation, introducing solids after 6 months may be too late. They say it is generally safe to introduce solids after 4 months... have to watch for signs that baby is ready....

Morning,

Zuen,

so early u at workplace alrdy!

Caris,

The legs not spread out too much? Do u have to see marks on ur baby's tigh too?

Ann: I think I did saw marks on the thighs. But don't think it's due to the spreading of legs. Should be caused by the carrier pressing against the thighs bah. So far, baby never fuss when in the carrier, so I supposed it is comfy for him lor. The way I think is, baby will let me know if it's uncomfy. :p

sat's gathering:

Aiyah, I wanna join you all leh. But hubby haven't give the green light for me to join. Have to go poke poke him again. :p HEHEHEHE

Caris,

Ok ic... he will be ok if i move but make noise if i stay still... dunno he is uncomfy or not.. will try again today...

Ask ur hubby to join too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] or he prefer to rest at home during weekeends issit??

Intro solid...

http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/babys-first-foods.html

Found this webbie online when looking for bby recipe. Looks very very detailed n good.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann: When my boy wans to sleep, he will also make noise if I stay still. So have to be swaying/walking. This happens also when he's not in the ergo, so I dun think it's becos he is uncomfy bah.

Hmm Ask my hubby to join? Anyone else bringing hubby? I dun think he'll want to be the only guy around .. hehe

My hubby is joining if got other guy too. So if ur hubby coming definitely he will come. (Sounds like small children huh?? Haha)

Else he will wait for my at the gym. Actually good for him lah. Exercise n dont eat. :p

hope everyone is well...

On solids, fundamental rule for eating is if the bb can sit upright on a chair n her neck muscle must be strong enough go support the head without it wobbling around. If bb can't do so then better wait a while.

Gathering,

I can't make it for this sat as I hv a full month party to go..

Cny gathering

as promised, I dun mind you gals come to my place with the bb. Weekdays or weekends r fine...

Ann: My hubby decided not to join. But he has given me the green light. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess: Can count me in?

zuen,

U went to work so early! To avoid ppl when pumping?

marrissa,

Lol!! Icecream.. Haha!! And yeah, Jadelyn's staring at us when we eat, kept making chewing motions, drools a lot etc. Not sure abt her tongue reflex yet but I will wait. She'll be 16 weeks old this Saturday and it's still very early for her. Maybe when she's at least 18 weeks and she's still showing these signs more and more then I will reconsider weaning her later.

Caris,

So confusing right!? I believe each baby is different and there are no textbook babies. Some are ready for rice cereals at 4months and some are happy with just milk till they are 7/8 months. Sometimes I wish Jadelyn could talk already and tell me "Mommy, I'm ready for cereals!" That will be so much easier lor! :p

Good morning mummies,

may I ask if any BB encounter separation anxiety with mommy especially at night??? It happens to me that my BB keep crying for no reasons, when I am not at home ard 9pm++.

Morning ladies and Ian!

Took baby for his jab yest. Thot the pd was terrible. Seems to be in such a hurry to chase us out n the clinic wasn't even busy! First time I hv gone to the pd n out within 15 mins and this included changing diaper of poo! Hopefully next jab, his regular pd will be on duty.

Princess, thanks for adding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow, zuen, gone to office so early? Can't wait to start? :p

Starry, maybe u can check with your paed whether u shd start solids for Jadelyn. But really there is no hurry. Even if u do intro solids to her now, milk is still her main source of food.

Starry: Yah lor ... so confusing ... Ivan is only 3 months + 1 week old, already he STARES at me during dinner time (I'm like 3-4 meters away from where he is) ... Think I'll wait for the next PD appt and ask for her opinion. Cos all the reports/articles.. etc.. usually is not the full picture.. Maybe PD can recommend better, since it's based on the physical development of the child.

Zuen, you reach work so early? How's yr boi boi, taking bottle well now?

Starry, you can check with PD on solid. Last week, PD say not in a hurry for Caelan and she would rather we wait till 6 mths cos he just recovered from bad cough and his airway maybe sensitive. But if he is really not sleeping thru the night, we can give (if we want) but at 5 months the earliest.

Caelan was naughty last night, woke up at 4am for milk and couldn't sleep. Thought he is still hungry, warm up some milk. Didn't want to drink, he wants to poo poo. After change diaper, still not sleeping. talking and whining, erh erh erh non stop. Woke up the jie jie and he finally slept at 5+ when I place him on my chest. Jie jie can't wake up this morning, was grouchy cos not enough sleep and didn't even drink her milk have to go down for her school bus. Poor girl.

Starry:

The outing did not really tire kayden out leh. Still the same lor. Dunno wat happened but he's waking up every 3 hours now instead of 4 hours at night. So tiring lor. N he drink a bit then fall asleep Liao. Haiz.

U're also alone with jadelyn ar hm rite? Can share wats ur usual routine liked? Sometimes I just dunno wat else to do with kayden lor. So boring. Then he'll fuss n fuss lor.

Seriously dunno y but nowadays I so scared when it's morning Liao. Kept thinking abt Wat to do with kayden when he cries n hoping that time will pass quickly lor.

Stella

I tried the shhhh. Pat method this morn but bb still continue crying leh. Then I shhh. Until so tired lor. Haha. When he cries n struggle, I tend to hold him even tighter leh. Dunno will hurt him or not leh. Then the patting also harder lor. Feel so bad lor. Bad mummy.

Good morning Mommies and daddy

Emmie,

you are welcome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Caris,

Are you in our fb group?

Do you mind Pm me your Mobile no. so that to keep you posted on the venue in case i don't have time to log into the forum?

Starry

Let your PD tell you when to start Solids then...

Remember last week where Meghan had a small pc of Cornflakes???Surprisingly she was chewing it and then swallowed!LOL

I started JAde when she was 5mths!Because of her weight and very dependant on BM..we got a green light from PD to start and she latch on lesser and i can have more time to rest rather..

THere was a write up about feeding babies solids at 4 months..it was studied n tested in UK if not wrong...but always be sure that the baby is ready ..

But in any case you really need to starts Jadelyn with solid,start something with texture but not sweet!YOu introduce taste of sweet,sour,bitter to them when they are older...good luck on trying!

I love the the phase where they starts solids!!!I love to play with food...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]is fun preparing your own baby food![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Diveera

HOw are you?Dont worry about the gathering,im sure there will be another gathering soon after CNY..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Love to see Caelen and Shaneesa !!