(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

I understand that my hb is concerned about his father's health so he's not willing to shift back with me maybe occasionally. He also wants to see baby. But i cant take his mum's nagging and weird habits. Even his sis whom came down today quarrelled with his mum. And it's really a dramatic scene. Everybody was crying except for bro in law, fil and mil.. No her own mum helped her do confinement and hence she depended on her to look after her kids. So ended up she learned nothing . Actually my parents came down today with the intention of fetching me back. But i declined which i really regret so now. E reason bcuz i decline is cuz baby haven full month now seven month don want bring him out. Scared he wont be able to adapt to another environment. How? What should i do?

Csy

It's norm. frozen milk always has this funny metalic smell de. I dunno y but its ok to consume as long within 3mth. U put in chiller to thaw must consume within a day. But its still better to give fresh ebm better quality. Frozen one nutrient depreciate Abit but still better than fm. However when bb older they tend to know the taste and May be chosy.

Swaddle bb

night we still Swaddle him. Realised he can slp better and Will not get frighten easily. Day time sometime we Will release his hand.

penguin,

y not go back ur parent's hse do ur confinement? at least ur parents can take care of u then u not so stress now....take it easy...no good for u

penguin,

think gog back to your mum's place is the best solution.. it's ok if your hb doesnt wanna move back together, he still can go see baby every day after work before gog back home.. baby is still young, sure can adapt fast in another environment de..

Penguin

U really need to know how to take care urself 1st. From Wat u have mentioned. You didn't even have a proper meal daily which is really important for this pt of time. How to take care of ur bb like tat. Wat if you faint when carry bb? Ur mil and hb part if really can't cook why don't call for confinement catering. And if ur parent willing to help u. Shld u just go back for this 1 mth. Ur hb can always come and visit u and bb. Once u are ready den move back to ur hb place. At least you won't feel so discourage with the care of ur own parent.

Wahseh.. Really one obstacle aft another.. My bb finally can sleep after a few hrs of cranky n demand for milk.. But jus only I heard some noise n went to see him.. He axtually vomitted some milk out.. Scare me like hell.. I quikly held him up now..

Dun dare put him lie down..

Penguin,

try not to cry more. I understand how stressed you are. I heard from my mum that its not good to cry during confinement. My mum always nag me for crying but i also cant tahan the way she do too.

Latching :

i feel guilty for not latching my girl. My mum always carry her away when she cries and said no milk dun give la. My milk flow is doing good now but need some time to latch. I realise i was very unhappy during confinement, hardly smile these days as i could not bond with my girl. My mum keep carrying her till i got no chance to carry her.

CSY,

i had the same situation as you for past few days. Try to burp your baby before lying down. Use 2 pillows together to allow your baby lie at position of 30 degree. It will prevent from vomiting.

Jing feng Shan:

I have asked pd before abt Jing feng Shan. He advised not to let infants take.. Coz not sure abt the Chinese herb or medicine used in making it.. But my pil just dun listen to me or pd, gave that to my #1.. but I dun think it is helpful coz used up almost 1 bottle n my #1 still get startled easily when young..

Crying

my mil ever told me if i cry too much during confinement Will become blind.. Ermmm. But i guess is not gd for eyesight bah. My last pregnancy i quite emotional also cry alot. I tink 1st time mummy impact more. Do try to tink positive.

cheekrene

Grab this chance to rest as much as possible. Since ur mum wanna take care of the bb. Btw who is taking care of ur bb after confinement?

Tearybabe, my CL is different fr urs wor.. My gal crying for food, she go n bathe her, so the whole bathing session is crying session.. Wow Lao , xin tong sia.. She like dun care my gal screaming lor.. Say bb should learn how to wait.. Then after several days, same pattern, I told her bb can't wait to drink.. Hungry means hungry.. Now better Liao.. But sometimes when my gal is cranky, she also Bo chap n continue doing things, eg my gal is screaming just now whenshe tried to change diapers.. Instead of pacifying my gal, she lets her cry n continue to change diaper.. I m in my room, closed door still can hear my gal screaming loudly..

Penguin, I am doing confinement at in laws also. I stay in my room and avoid contact if possible. Not sure if it helps.

Mdm Yip, I only latch on during the day but pump at night.

I cry everytime my mum call me, dunno why so emotional these days. Will go blind soon I guess!

My stitches from vaginal birth still giving me problems and already day 8, bleeding sore and pain, anyone having same problem?

Thanks all maybe i try to tahan 5more days.. Yes, i feel very hungry now.. And gastric going to start soon.. I also cry till my eyes puffy and also when my sis sms or when my mum calls me.. I miss them alot[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] have nv met such a person whom nag and talk non stop! Today my mum came down and she helped to dang some of e nagging by listening to her talk non stop.. I closed the room door with e tv on but i can still hear her voice. It's piercing my ears.. Cant imagine myself hating a person till having the thought to kill her or throw things at her. Feel very heartpain see hb sandwiched but y cant his sis says it's bcuz of post pregnancy hormone changes..

Re bathing

u all bathe baby before or after milk? Can bathe right after baby wakes from zzz? My mum says don bathe baby after milk scared throw up. Before milk baby too hungry and cold. Book tells me don bathe a baby right after he wakes up. A newborn normally drink zzz drink zzz den when's the right time to bathe? So confused.. Everytime baby bathe and cry mil also come and kaypo..

penguin,

u tahan 5 more days for what?? dont worry abt 7th month, just don't move in the night can liao lor... really don't need to worry so much about 7th month... i find the older i grow, the more bochap i became... but this confinement i also very emo, mayb that time when i came back home, i can't see my #1, she was sick and need to quarantine her at my mum's place... now that she's always back home, i somehow feel that was my relax time... how can u eat so little and skip dinner somemore... like what alibaba says, maybe cater confinement food, save the hassle of cooking.

cheekrene,

now that your mum helping u, rest more... after your confinement u need more energy to look after bb yourself liao...

glamgem,

did u go back for your gynae checkup, need to feedback to your gynae on this leh... both my delivery took less than a week to recover, recover means the stitches dissolve and don't feel the pain already... but not the bleeding lar...

Penguin: usually I'll bath the baby one hr after milk.. Tat time bb will be in a sleepy situation n also less fidgety for bathing.. Usu my bb after bath will wan drink a little milk . Duno y

Alibaba,

i will be taking of my girl after confinement for another 2 months.

Eeyore,

i will do my best to rest.

Jing feng shan:

i also heard its not good for infants to take.

Penguin,

my mum will wake my baby up for bath. By the time she prepared her bathing stuff, she will bathe her. After bathing, then feed her. I think depend on individual.

penguin,

y not u try to bath bb juz before bb's feeding time....wake bb up abit earlier then their feeding time...at least he's not hungry yet n still in sleeping mode....that's wad i do coz i can't wait for her timing....i'll bath her in the afternoon ard 2pm

Cheekrene

taking care of bb by urself ah? After u go back to work force leh? I always tink taking care of bb urself is not answer easy task if u are bf. Esp when u need to pump.

ALAMAK.. While pumping now. My elder boy wake up... Tink he is really not feeling well... Til can't slp well. Down with fever and cough. Haiz. No place to quarantine him. So scare bb kanna.

Whitelady, my binder got 3parts . E middle one is to hold e wound

penguin, I tink beta move back to ur mum hse or ask ur mum go ur mil hse more often to help u?

I feel nw we really v emo.. I oso keep cryin when I see my bb not latchin well, got rash, cry,etc

feel v impatient n stress up over bb

so u shldnt b too stress up wit other thing

takin care bb already v stressful le

hopefully we all won't kana post natal depression

Morning all ... Last night pump again after stopping for 2 weeks . N this morning wake up , start engroment again ... Ong ... Y is that so ? Is it my breast start to produce milk again n I must keep pumping again ? How to stop this engroment ?? Sian

did u all register ur bb name for both hanyu pin ying & dialet or only hanyu pin ying?

i got a prob now..

my hubby got both hanyu pin ying and dialet on his NRIC..

so his surname is TEO & ZHANG

but i only register ZHANG as my bb surname..

and no dialet name for my bb..

aiya..can or not??

imagine ppl call my hubby mr teo..but my daughter is ms zhang..

if i wanna change, anyone noe wat is e procedures?

white lady, ya lo..most ppl call my hubby mr teo..

but i register my bb surname zhang only..

faintz

sigh..

cos i tot nowadays ppl use hanyu pin ying and not dialet..

aiya..damm irritating..like make so many mistakes after child birth..super sotong mummy!!!

Fumiko: just go to ica to change if I din recall wrongly.. Gt a specific time frame .. Better call n ask if u wanna change..

We register for both hanyu n dialect. With the hanyu surname in brackets ..

White lady

u want give bb ur bm den u have to pump lor. Engorgement shld be gd sign tat you are producing milk Wat. Wait til ur boobs get use to it. Shld be not so pain already.

Ahnah

i Tink shld day 8 leh. Sunday is day 7 mah.

Fumiko

I also count as day 8. but there are ppl commenting on my facebook saying that it is only day 6 (from last monday to sunday).

Sigh.. Nw change have to redo e bb bonus thingy rite??

Wow piang y nurse nv suggest or comment anythin when doin registration..

Ahnah, tmr I seein gynae

I will check with gynae on e bb age in terms of days

I see wat he say n let u know tmr

Btw I know we put pillow on bb stomach is to make bb feel safe n won't get scare easily

but weather so hot.. Put e pillow make bb even hotter

any idea can dun put??

Any harm will b done to bb??

Thanks Fumiko.

When bb inside the mama stomach, the temperature is around 35 to 37 ... so shouldn't be too hot for bb. But you will see some sweat on his back and the mattress.

Alibaba,

i am taking care in day and husband at night. I also worry i cant handle myself as i need to do own housework and pumping. I ever thought of getting someone to help out but my hb very niao. $10 per hr also dun want to get someone to help me. When i go back to workforce, i will put my baby at my mum's place from tues to fri. By the time i will be working 4 days as i have to clear remaining ML.

Fumiko,

my dad's surname is tan but he registered my surname as chen. I think it depend on you and your hb.

problem with diff surname is only when you travel with your baby to certain countries. Cause the father surname like "Tan" and baby surname is "Chen"

so high chance will send back to Singapore, more applicable to Europe countries

Fumiko

Will not do any harm. We put so tat bb Will not get startled with loud noise easily. So he can slp well. . Same reason why we Swaddle bb. They feel more secure. If scare too hot den wear thinner cloth for bb.

Cheekrene

If ur hb unwilling to engage a pt cleaner then u ask him to help

. Probably he Will give in get a pt cleaner when he is very exhausted. However he take over night shift is v siong if he need to work the next day.

cheekrene, my hubby is actually ok..but i m tinkin wan to change or not..

aiya..v fan..

now feel v frustrated wit any slight prob..

sorry ppl tat i keep posting qns and like making a fuss over small thing..

ahnah, but now weather is so hot..

huh travel to europe..then send back to SG when surname is different? why is it so? dun really understand le..

alibaba, already wear thin clothing le...

Fumiko

Very simple rule. Father is "Tan" so ang mo know the father is "Tan". But when they see the baby is "Chen" ... they will read it differently. They won't Tan is dialect and Chen is Hanyu pinying.

So my boy follow me .. NAH dialect for surname, but the rest is HypY.

fumiko,

I still register both dialect and hanyu pinyin for both my kids, as in both have Soh and Su on birth cert... and hanyu pinyin in bracket.

pd0513,

yah tummy stl flabby, but i think the binder which gynae gave me is more for post-op recovery n less for asthetic reason, so i stopped using it.

fumiko,

i m exclusively latching on, not pumping for now. a think layer wl do for all nappy cream, it adds as a barrier. my CL aso wipe any excess cream on the nappy buttock area so it is not wasted.

cheekrene,

i stopped swadding my gal already, she wl struggle to be bound; and kicks away anything that we place on her like blanket and the mini pillow.

re: beansprout pillow

I put beansprout pillow on my boy's chest and quite a few times, I heard him making funny sounds and when I go check, I realized the pillow is covering his whole face! I think he use his arms to push the pillow on his face....... anyone encounter this? Just wondering if its safe to continue to use such pillows.......

penguin,

i agree with the rest, u shld move back to ur mum's place since u r not even eatng well at all, which is the minimal u shld do; for urself and for the baby. without food, where got energy to look after baby?

if the fish is placed for a week, it is def not fresh and counter-effect for u to eat isn't it?

ann,

wah sounds like ur son and my gal sama sama... she aso kicks till the beanspout pillow is not on her chest. so far it has not landed on her face but i agree with you, if your boy dun like it, shld juz stop using it coz it can be quite dangerous.

Ann

yes i encounter this before. Bb so strong to break free. It's better to put the beanie pillow below his hand.

Fumiko

then its really up to u. If u Tink bb ok without it shld ok. And u already know what's the purpose.

Name

Me too input both hypy and dialect name for bb. Like Wat Ahnah said when it come to documentation no hassle. Eg. My name is hypy whereas my dad's dialect. I forget on Wat situation. The officer asked me for my birth cert to confirm my dad name.

Fumiko_neko,

i register my #1 in dialect coz follow the father who aso juz hv dialect name on BC. intend to do the same for my gal.