(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

dsqyvonne,

thats because it has been months since I had any fast food loh... just had my last mc donalds meal before delivery on wed. So this will be my last long johns heh.

Scent, I have been indulging a bit lately coz this is last stretch liaoz mah. After this, a lot of things cannot eat liao :/

but I'm still looking after my weight, drinking plenty of water and eating fruits everyday...

Mdm Yip: I have been pigging out too.. just made choco banana nut cake for myself on monday.. thinking of baking muffins and eating ice cream.. and yah eating all the fruits i can get else confinement no fruits very jialat

ahNah, aiyah.. u tmr then go TMC see gynae ah?? my appt supposed to be tmr... but gynae scared i cant wait till tmr.. so tonight see if any thing happen anot..

Me already 38wk+2d le.. so wait wait lor..

n_g,

becareful hor.. really.. 2 weeks ago i oso kena banged.. and that woman didnt even bother to say sorry and even "diao" me on the face..

nature lover.. I have one more indulgence to go.. my haagen daz macademia.... *slurp* then I'll be happy to pop in contentment hahaha

jascmy

yes, tomorrow onwards is every sat already. I so scare tomorrow got recall from army then I have to fly around already.

hi all, so many posts to catch up.

just went for checkup yesterday, bb now weighs 2.5kg at wks35+. become medium size bb again. maybe i should eat more durian? =X

bb's head is more down now but gynae guessed i won't deliver these two weeks. and did strep b test, hopefully there's no infection.

jasmine, your baby about same size as mine, by the way things go, i think we have a couple more weeks at most. if opting for natural birth, having smaller baby easier to deliver. So long as baby is healthy.. thats more important right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so tired from the long walking hours yesterday. shopped from 1pm+ to 8pm then went for my brother's wedding dinner food tasting. gosh, ate like a pig. haha.

mdm yip,

you're in wk35+ too? yup true but was hoping for a chubbier baby. think i will just eat more food with high protein instead of durian.

jasmine, by right I'm supposed to be 36 weeks, but the scan this morning shows 35 weeks.. anyway didn't matter to me which week already...

anyone's mil or mother ask you all go bath and wash hair if you see signs of labour?

Both my mil and mum tell me, if feel like going labour already quickly go bath and wash hair, because dunno when is the next time I can do both?! o_O!

I was thinking if really got labour signs already faster go hospital liaoz, still got time to take leisurely bath meh? LOL

I just had a huge crying session..... sob sob. Very sad and can't stop crying cos just kena scolding from my parents. They are very buay song that I never entertain them when they visit me at home during my confinement.... Then my dad threw a fit and said since he is not welcomed, he won't come liao. Am super upset cos I explained to him that baby was crying and being v difficult these 2 days and I have lack of sleep, have to breastfeed in room etc.. so where got mood to keep coming out of room to "entertain" them? Then he say I got no common sense.

Can't stop crying.... Until my confinement lady gotta tell me to stop crying cos she say women in confinement cannot cry one... cos will affect eyesight... (this old wives tale sounds a bit silly to me). My CL even ask me to ignore my parents' comments cos she say they wana come, come, dont' wanna come, dont' come!

Think my case v different cos my in laws treat me like own daughter whereas my own parents treat me like ..... I dunno what...

Nature lover: now is 3.2kg.. So will decide next week appt on induction date. By then bb shd be 3.4kg le bah.. But cos mine is posterior.. So the bigger the harder lo compared to those normal position one.. My hubby wanna induce on national day.. Hahhaa

ann, I'm very sorry to hear that. Lucky you still have understanding in-laws. I think your father is the one with no common sense actually, you just gave birth, have to rest well and look after your baby too. If he wants to see his grandchild fine, but still need you to entertain? hello? >(

I think you just focus on resting well first and try to forget this unpleasant episode. Maybe its best if you tell them now is not the best time to visit you, because you need the most rest now in your confinement.

mdm yip: Unfortunately for me, my parents said my aunties have all planned and will come and visit me tomorrow cos they wanna come my house to eat the pig trotters black vinegar dish. I was like "what the ?!?!!" I didn't know confinement means my home become OPEN HOUSE for relatives. I asked my dad if dun wan can or not? cos intrusive. Then he very angry with me... say friends I can choose, relatives I cannot choose.. so if relatives say wanna come, cannot say No.

I think its all lose-lose situation for me. Tmr if I hide in the room, I will be black-listed. If i go out and entertain and put on fake smile, I will be v tired. Also dunno how long they gonna park themselves at my house tmr..... I think I have to enlist my hubby's help a

yvonne: lets all go eat ice cream bah!

CSY: I see.. wanna be national day bb huh! =P Try lah.. heehee

Ann: dun be too sad okies.. really if u cry during confinement.. eyesight will really get bad de

Think of yrself and think how much yr bb needs to see his mummy smile at him.. bb can sense mood de.. so please try to foget the episode and focus on staying positive okies! We are all here for you!

ahNah, orh.. i tot urs at TMC.. haha.. paisei paisei..

u tell army "i bo eng now".. haha..

Ann,

cannot cry.. really old folk say de.. cry during confinement will go blind one.. and easily go into depression de.. be strong.. really like what the CL say.. want to come then come, dun want to come then dun bother to come.. every family has their own probs.. just make sure u rest well.. feed bb well.. when both better.. then let them come visit u or u visit them only after confinement.

ann, sorry to say but i tink ur dad is very insensitive....but dun let tis make u unhappy, if they come, then ask ur hubby to entertain them lor...

for me i alr tell my hubby if his parents want relative comes to visit, come during the full month... i dun even want them to come to hospital to visit me (only immediate family & selected close frens and colleagues)

Nature lover,

usually I will try to xiamp (avoid them) lah. Just like when i meet those sales ppl I will simply xiamp. =p

u still baking oh. So hardworking. My mixer only show face 2x. 1st time after keep for dun know 2 or 3 yrs then wanna try c whether it's working. 2nd time eat too much nothing to do so bake lor. Now rest for almost 3 years liao. =p

littlepiggy,

yalor, we got to b careful ourself when outside. =)

madam yip & nature lover,

both of u no gd leh. Trying to made everybody drool...

Jasmine,

2.5kg at 35 wks sound a very gd wt for me leh. Imagine mine 3.1kg at 37 wks, dun know when deliver will b how many kg oledi. So scary wor, high chance e-sect. =X

n u gd leh, still manage to shop for 8 hours!!!! Me walk for 30 minutes oledi start to find pl to sit liao. =p

Ann,

pat pat. Dun think too much lah. Dun stress urself. Wait they cool down a bit then explain to them again lah. R they jealous over your baby cos your baby got your full attention? Cheer up n concentrate on yourself n baby first. Or let your hb n pil b the bridge n try to talk to them lah. B happy.

Mdm Yip: yup, both mummies of mine say go take shower, wash hair then go hospital for labour.. which the guidebook say will also calm u down before u began the actual process.. so i will take shower and wash hair before I go.. =)

Ann: let them come, tell them u appreciate their coming but u will be staying in the room with bb because you both need rest.. enlist yr mum in law to tell them they have to go also.. as well as yr Cl..

All, thanks...... I think confinement period even more emotional than pregnancy period..... really never cried like this siao for a long time liao....... Was feeling so lousy, just had to complain here. Already called hb to cry and complain.... too bad hb had to work today.. if not, I can hide behind him.

Ann: yah.. Try to relax ok.. Dun get too tensed up over tis.. Endure a bit and v fast will b over. Once they done with the visit they wun bother u at least for the rest of the month? Try to hint to them u v tired during this period etc lo.. Then mebbe they wun stay tat long.. Also can see things another way that they come to see your cute bb and it's a joy that everyone adores and pamper ur newborn.. Ur newborn will b showered with love by these aunties.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] one day soon over one.. Dun be too affected by it ok.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

I think a lot of older folks think breastfeeding is 'anti-social'... cos mummy needs to hide in room to feed baby for some time (possibly an hour!)... They don't understand cos in the past, breastfeeding is not common...

ann: ur father damm irritating..

if for me, i ask him get out liao..sorry i m not v gd terms wit my parents..so i cant stand when i see ur father sayin such stupid things to u..

and wat the hell e relative is doin when ur bb is not even 1 month old

wan to eat e pork trotter, ask them wait until bb shower..not now..

since ur parents are so inconsiderate, i tink ur CL say e right thing, jus ignore them n if they dun wan to come, beta still..

since u have gd in laws...dun need to bother ur parents...

Ng: At home bo liao so bake cake lor.. else the next time im using it will be when my gal is a toddler (2 years later) and can do baking with me

bo bian, this is the last stage of good food b4 confinement.. tmr having dim sum buffet! yummyyyyy.... so go ahead and drool some more.. hee hee.. =P

Ann: Stay strong!

n_g,

as long as your bb doesn't exceed 4kg, natural delivery shouldn't be a big problem. no choice la, cos the dinner starts at 8pm, my gynae appt is at 12.15pm. i don't wanna go home and come out again so have to keep shopping for 8hrs. haha. now suffering from yesterday walking leh. leg cramp in the morning (1st time experienced that for this pregnancy) and bad backaches now.

ann,

relatives suppose to visit you only after confinement period, this month you should just rest well. *hugs* hope you'll feel better soon.

ann, I was flabbergasted when I read your reply loh.. your relatives are coming to feast themselves on YOUR confinement food?????!!! If I were you I won't be crying, I'll be blowing my top!! If I were your relative I'll be too paiseh to even go loh!

Seriously why not tell them you are not feeling well these few days, you need to rest and tell them to come for the full month party instead. Food and drinks on you. heh.

nature lover, gee I didn't know taking a shower is also recommended by the professionals... ok If I can tahan then I'll go take a quick shower too :D

Fumiko: All my siblings and me not good terms w my parents too... but my hb and I always try to be on neutral terms with them cos my hb say they did give birth to me mah... But i think to kena whack during confinement is a bit sad....

All: Apparently for Cantonese tradition, relatives get to eat the pig trotters vinegar dish on Day 12 of confinement. I just learnt about this from my CL..... but the tradition is to deliver the food to the relatives place and not they come to my place to eat...

Nature Lover: I also baked muffins and cookies at home with my girl. Its a fun activity and very easy!

mdm yip & natural lover,

ya i oso wonder i can tahan to take a shower if contraction really starts..

hahahah

but if water bag burst, i will confirm go n take a shower b4 admitting myself to hosp..

keke

yup, me oso will go take bath & wash hair 1st,

i oso wana put on my contact lenses & abit of makeup b4 goin to hospital... heheheh

ann: cos since young i m brought up by my grandparents..

so even though parents give birth to me is nothing great..e one who brough u up is the greatest..

sheng mu mei you yang mu wei da (sorry my win 7 is with no chinese character typing version..keke..so can only hanyu pin ying)

oh so there is a canto trad..

hmmm...then u ask ur hubby to send it to ur parent hse..ask them to go ur parent hse to eat??

Ann: Thats why lor.. cant wait for the kitchen bonding time with my gal!! She will get to lick the spoon.. heehee.. =P

Pig trotters: So what.. now modern times liao leh.. u need rest means u need rest.. dun worry.. yr hubby and mil and CL will fend them off de!

Ann, oops sorry I don't know about the 12 day thing.. nobody told me, even my MIL who is doing my confinement for me and she's cantonese. what an odd custom. Is it supposed to bring luck?

cresent -> power to you.. but contact lense don't seem very advisable?