(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Jasmine,

When are cramps a worry in the third trimester?

By the third trimester, you're approaching the home stretch. Tummy cramps could mean your body is limbering up too soon for birth, so the main worry is premature labour.

Going into premature labour doesn't always mean your baby is going to be born there and then. Sometimes, as long as your waters haven't broken, it's just a false alarm. Here's more about premature labour:

What will I feel?

Pain in your pelvic or lower tummy area, backache, mild tummy cramps, diarrhoea. You may feel your waters breaking, and regular contractions or your uterus tightening, often painlessly.

When will it happen?

Any time between 23 and 37 weeks of pregnancy.

What should I do?

Call your doctor, midwife or the delivery suite of your nearest hospital immediately. If you think your waters have broken, call the hospital first.

Having cramps once you're past 37 weeks may mean you're in the early stages of labour. At this stage, the cramps are not a worry, and are a normal part of your body gearing up to give birth. You may also feel constant lower backache, caused by the increased pressure on your pelvis and back passage.

Early labour cramping is much less severe than the contractions you'll have during active labour. You may find resting on the sofa helps, or going for a walk. Finding your own way to cope with any discomfort now will serve you well when you reach active labour.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/tummycramps/

wasn't in a good mood this morning so no come in here.....so wad's the latest updates in here???

sunflower,

i dunno if my baby is engaged yet, i juz know i wan to carry my bump like a ball when i walk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

it is very heavy and tiring now.

hi dreymin,

thanks for your info. from what i understand, braxton hicks are sudden tightening/hardening of stomach. i experienced that since 1mths+ ago. it's quite frequent at times but my gynae said as long as i don't experience it near to 20 times per day, i should be fine.

what i experienced yesterday is menstrual pain which i first experienced in this pregnancy so was kinda worry.

dreymin,

oh...the binder....advise is to pack that into the hospital bag oso....for those natural delivery, start binding dun wait....for those c-sec think hv to consult doc ba....was told by my malaysian colleague that over there the doc advice them to bind so wound will recover faster but i not sure how true lah....so better ask ur gynea for those c-sec

dreymin & jascmy,

juz hide in the toilet to drop some tears oni.....heehee

suika: hope u feel better later..

i place order liao, hope just in time for my CS..

any mummy know for those cs after how long then we can massage ar? one month???

Hi all, just went for acupuncture.. My left wrist is swollen n causing so much pain at nite.. Can't sleep n was weeping, moaning in pain for e past 2 nites.. E acupuncturist said my body is too Heaty Liao. With pregnancy-caused loose joints, heatiness can accummulate at joints which cause e swelling. Ask me to drink lots of water, veg, fruits, soup.. Avoid tonic soup, seafood etc.. Sigh.. Need to go for acupuncture end of e week again to relief pain... How I wish I m not working n resting at home..

eeyore & ahNah,

coz of my boi in PG now lor....been crying v hard n hving nitemares oso....screaming away in his dreams in the middle of the nite

suika,

oic, it bcos of your boi... i thought something not gg well in office...

me is too tired... got difficulty waking up in the morning... tired eyes, throughout the day...

but at night, 生龙活虎...

then on sat the clinic called n says i'll nid to go back re-take blood test again coz the lab called n says the blood sent in is clotted.....*FAINT* i'll hv to go thru another round of needle poking

today felt so sleepy . slept till 11.30am just now , now want to sleep again ... and i was so giddy just now , anyone experience giddyness too ?

yah i saw your post in FB...

in clot, can't they determine when taken out at that time??

and is it possible cos the needle is so tiny and slim...

I also ordered the binder. Hope it helps in sliming down. All my friends commended that I very big size now. So sad!

eeyore,

did u sent ur elder 1 to PG?

i duno if i did the rite thing in sending him now lor.....v fan now n the more i think the more heartpain

ahNah,

duno lor....haizzz like everything not going smoothly

Charmaine,

that's wad the nurse says ley

jascmy,

he liked it there at first then things changed when my godmum wasn't allowed in then he started crying lor

babybee> congrats! what a nice date, same day with your wedding anniversary. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suika: how old is your boy now? Not sure if age is a matter but for my gal, I put her in PG when she was too young.. at least that's what I feel lar. I put my gal in PG (half day) when she's 19 mths old and she cried till vomit every day plus can tell that she's traumatised. After 2 weeks of this, I pulled her out of the PG. I only put her back into PG again when she turned 22 mths old and I changed her to another childcare centre. By then, she's older and better able to adapt to new surroundings. She didn't cry at all and she has been in childcare and nursery till K1 now.

Just came back from my 36 weeks gynae checkup. My doc didn't scan baby this time so I dunno what's the baby's weight etc. I also didn't ask her why no need to scan baby at 36 weeks. Had to do the Strep B test and gynae also did a cervix dilation check on me and after that, find that V area so painful leh..

QQ> initially my gynae told me to take 3x1 per day, the 2wks ago increased to 3x2 per day. he said this wk will STOP, not reduced leh. tomorrow seeing him liao. like u, scared scared.

This Fri a friend still has her graduation concert, wonder if i can attend. Weekend is Pigeon sale...

winnie & Sunflower> do you still have the contraction after you stopped your pills? now i'm taking 6's a day and still experiencing contraction throughout the day leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Suika> hope u r feeling better. can u ask to stay at a corner of the class (or outside) to observe the class? maybe some unhappiness happened in the classroom till your #1 cannot adapt and cause the nightmare?

MVH> sorry to hear that. hope u get well soon. take care.

haitang: I think gynae ask u to stop cos u r 37 weeks already. Since full-term, the doctor will say its okay to let all systems go and let the labour kick in naturally. That's what my gynae told me... so she told me to stop all my Ventolin by this Sunday.

Ann> yaloh, going to 37 coming Wed or Thurs. fr. the kind of contraction i'm experiencing now, i have a feel that anytime after i stop the pill, i will pop. haha... told my hubby and son to be standby already. :p

White_Lady> sometimes i wake up very late in the morning i did feel giddy. but will be better after taking some carbo food. guess the tummy is empty after the long night sleep, sugar level is low and cause the giddiness. another possible cause is like what Charmaine mentioned, lack of iron, but if that is the case, giddiness won't go away that fast after u take any food.

haitang: after i stop the pills i still can feel the tightening of tummy leh... on and off pain lah.. still can tahan...

last wk gyane check on me cervix not dilate yet.. so i assume am safe..

Haitang: The positive thing is that you made it till 37 wks!! So no need to worry too much bah.... You got everything ready right? Still wanna go Pigeon warehouse sale? I thought u have stocked up Pigeon's stuffs at the expo sale...:p

winnie> oic. so even if i stop the pill it doesn't mean i will pop immediately loh. hehe... but anyway, 37wk for me also nice liao. else later bb too big i cannot give birth naturally. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ann> hehe, actually i have stocked up whatever necessary. the rest will be extra purchse for pleasure. really too bored leh, and will be even more bored during confinement. :p

also wish to at least attend my friend's concert this Fri if possible. too long never attended any concert liao.

haitang,jia you! same here la. i am stopping this week, but i feel like stop takin ventolin now. haha!! cause i cannot wait actually cause it is just too heavy.

FORGET about the sales please. it is not that important.

suika, let me share with u my girl's experience. she was about 34 months (almost 3 yo liao) when i first put her in a nursery class (2 hours, pcf).

she was so happie during 1st week, then 2nd week started crying. she cried for a reason, the environment din turn out to be what she imagined. so got ppl bullied her, she find it hard to adapt. she cried, and she had nightmares, screamed at night and cried. we talked to teacher and try to understand, had a feeling that teachers are not that nice to her plus we taught her to tell teacher if got ppl bully her.

apparently, she did complain to teacher but teacher did not bother and bochap her. anyway, teacher said they tried to separate the boy who loved to kacau her but unable to. so this boy traumatised my girl.

we pulled her out from the centre. and my girl was back to happie self. we sent her to another school 1 month later, and she cried in the first 1-2 weeks, sob sob type. my hb was waiting at the school DAILY for 2 weeks, and followed her adaption closely. we communicate more with teachers on her habits and style so that they pay more attention.

and after 2 weeks, my girl ok liao. now if we ask her if wanna change school? she said no need, this school is good. she loves it.

so, we are glad that we pulled her out from her 1st school cause she is such a sensitive girl. she can speak le that's y easier to handle.

since your boy is 18 months old, he might not be able to speak that well and tell u what happen? maybe u can communicate with teachers? like does he cry throughout the session? anything that he likes to do? then u can reinforce that activity when u talk to him at home.

somehow, i feel that there is always a GOOD reason for young kids to reject the school, it is v stressful for their age to adapt (though some of them very steady, immediately can settle down). but my girl is not lor. she is ngiao and yim jim. ppl cannot hold her hands one, ppl cannot choo choo train with her cause she had phobia about boys. now she is better le, and we try to encourage friendship with her friends now.

i wish u good luck, and if really that bad, u may want to talk to teachers? perhaps can pull out for a while , then u deliver .... and next time go again? i understand, very sim tia to see him crying everyday.

sorry, such a long post.

i am so lor sor.

haitang,

i reduced dosage myself in the beginning.. from 4 times a day to 2 times a day..hardening and tightening very frequent.. 2 weeks later, i stop the medicine ..up till now its another 2 weeks without med..the hardening and tightening still there..but *touch wood* , no contraction so far. since you already full term, can stop the med liao, too much med not gd for baby too..

suika,

hope your boy can adapt soon..maybe take some time to accompany him a few days till he is more comfortable?

white lady > talking abt giddiness...this morning i had a v minor fainting spell...had breakfast which was glutionous rice then went to ntuc...when i was walking along the overhead bridge...suddenly chest felt a little stuffy and then feel a bit faint...quickly held on to the railing...after a few seconds subsided...i tink the glutinous rice cld have been a tat too oily....not sure if that was the cause of the fainting spell...

fortunately after the rest today, my right side pelvic area not pain liaos...tomo back at work....and ya, getting so tired lately.....i have been dozing off on sofa when i watch tv ptograms...jialat...

long time never sign in liao...

suika

where and where is the pigeon warehouse sale huh?

today went for brisk walking and climb up 8 storey high of steps..i tot my back is going to give way liao..hiaz dunno its age or wat..goodness

tonite i;m trying out to have my bb to sleep in antoher room..hope he doesnt wake up in the middle of the nite....fingers crossed...

Thanks all for the advice... I think no one bullied him coz the v first day that his ahma can't go in w him oni he started crying liao lor... He loved sch even the teachers there oso commented that juz that I think when we not ard oni he got worried ba...but he actually did let the teacher carry him which means he do like the teachers there coz he no anyhow let ppp carry wor... So from all the points to mi he does wan sch.... It's oni 2hrs v fast finish.... He loved it when we were able to go in, everyday not time yet he even takes his bag n shoes telling u he wan go sch n when he's there he can't wait to go in even when the door is not open wor.... That's y I so fan if I shd juz pull him out to makes things easy for all or to carry on let him get used to it like wad the teachers say....

Had taken leave for tml n wed.....tml morning go for the blood test again the after his sch go surprise him to pick him up for being a good boi in sch n at the same time tok to the teachers see wad they hv to advice.... Haizzz