(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

starz

read from somewhere that bb is cushioned from impact.. but to feel reassured, please continue to monitor and call gynae for reassurance.. =) take good care okies..

Avent bottles have anti-colic properties but if the bb is seriously colicy, maybe need to get bfree or dr. brown bottles.

Dreamz,

The ABC brand is the stroller rite? I only heard of it during the motherhood fair. But seems very troublesome to detach and keep. And looks bulky too.

June,

I will check out Aussino. Thanks!

bakaholic>yup abc design is the stroller. my parents like it cos it is quite high. also i thinking my family all have car so chances of having to bring the baby out to take public transport pretty low. so we considering now to get something higher so easier for the grandparents or to get some smaller in size for easy packing. also was thinking of gg to those warehouse see got other options first.

Dreamz,

The abc stroller closes onto the floor (like maclaren) so may be hard for old folks to bend down. It;s easier to get those that folds standing up.

When you say high, you meant tall handles?

> NB Diapers

Thanks xuanx for the reassurance. Make me feel better. Thsnks Haitang for the suggestions too.... never thot of selling to other mtbs.. will do that if I didn't manage to finish up the stock.

> BPA free bottles

I bought the Tommee Tippee sterilizer bundle pack at the MH fair and it comes with BPA-free anti-colic bottles. The bottles are clear in colour, not yellowish. Not sure if bottle colour differs from brand to brand. 2 x 160mL bottles cost $13 (aft disc) at the fair.

any mummies here bought something like this for their baby girl.

it looks so cute ! so tempted to buy 1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4077272.jpg]

ahnah, the aussino bedsheet is cheaper than the babysafe bedsheet.

babysafe bedsheet seems quite expensive. i think $20+ per pc?

Aussino bedsheet comes in a set of 2 pieces and is cheaper. Material is 100% jersey cotton

Sunfl@wer> thx for the update. now i don't feel so bad to have bought the Pigeon at 20% at the fair. hehe...

Ednique> nope. i didn't engage anyone for pre/post-natal massage. don't dare anyhow trust them leh. anyway, last night i pecek and removed all the supporting pillow on my bed and slept as usual, gave myself freedom to turn and stretch, this morning woke up didn't have much aching liao. stretching seems helpful enough for my case. :p

glad that you are better now too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bakaholic> my aunt gave us the mozzie net but we never used loh. coz we find it's leceh to set up with the stands ard the cot, some more have to ensure when we cover up the net, no mosquitoes are trapped inside, else worse, mosquitoes sleeping with baby for whole night. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jascmy> you take care ya... agree to others that just go ahead to pay for your transport and no point argue with your hubby. probably you can try getting help fr. any of his relatives who can influence him (your mother-in-law probably best person), find a chance to tell them you are tired etc., and your hubby's attitude towards your pregnancy change, let them go to "influence" your hubby. furthermore you were admitted to hospital recently due to spotting, they should be ganjiong also right?

MVH> i thought is "the boy who cries wolf"? :p

by the way, i have been using BumWear training pants for my #1 for afternoon nap when i potty train him. got 5 or 6 pcs of the one-sized diapers for #2, not sure if enough leh. so far my #1 likes it coz very soft. absorption is better than traditional cloth diapers, and of course ventilation also good. but everytime if the diaper is full of urine, it still smells lah, which i think is normal loh.

Angel> ya, public transport is "safe" if there is someone to escort you along loh... but again, for expecting mommies, avoiding crowded places not only to prevent pushing and squeezing, but also any possible illness infection around lah. we can't afford even a simple flu. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nature_lover> hehe, that's peer pressure. :p

but next gathering Mr. AhNah is not coming with the wife leh, so Jascmy's hubby will have no chance to watch how nice Mr. AhNah pamper his wife...

Leo_baby> don't get upset. Me now also every day got upset by my helper. though i know she is nice and honest, i just renewed her permit, i really dunno if she is forgetful or ignorant, always makes the same mistakes which I have corrected her for plenty of time. every few days need to counsel her, review with her after some mistakes are done. i keep telling myself not to get angry, else later bb pops early i suffer. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

the best actress i met was my 2nd helper. cried badly told me her father got heart-attacked and admitted into hospital, she needed to go back to see her father etc. i let her call her hubby, and talked to agent (that time she just here <1 or 2 mths). i was so upset for her too, and planned to lend her money to buy ticket back. later the agent found out she was lying. immediately i sent her back to the agent. but after she promised not to lie anymore, I used her for like another 7 or 8 mths till she finished paying the loan then she went back (she told another story again which i didn't bother to find out if truth or lie).

Starz : Me just now went United Square cotton on kids. Then in order to let others walk past, i moved myself forward and my tummy hit the metal pole stand which is meant to display the clothes. it directly hit on to my tummy. Was quite painful at first, but after a while oso not that pain liao.

Also keep blaming myself for being so careless! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Xuan82 : if im not wrong tommee tippee started their bottles with BPA free. So it remains as white.

I was told that why pigeon and avent are in yellowish is becos they have non-bpa free bottles in WHITE so they make it yellowish so ppl won't accidentally misplace with non-bpa free bottles.

i agree with bakaholic, if really want to prevent colic, use bfree or dr brown.

avent/pigeon all this doesnt help much.

my elder daughter used to use bfree cos that was the only BPA free bottles i found last time cos avent & pigeon havent started their BPA free bottles.

sorry for the late post..

i bought the tub from taka and from kidzloft. Price is 49.90 if i am not wrong but i got it at 8 bucks from kidzloft warehouse sale..

it is good from newborn till 2 years old!

btw, any MTBs bought beansprout pillow for their coming baby aldy?

i've been searching ard, its either over my budget or the pillow too light.

i saw huaxia one , their pillow is damn light! like got no use one.

so wanna look for heavy one, at least 300g.

haitang,

my sis just told me her maid say lies also...

my sis keep asking her if she wants to call back home but seems like she not interested.

in actual fact she asked her friend to buy phone card for her and she call in the morning while my mum goes to market.

xpink, becareful.. dont blame urself... i am sure baby is fine .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

by the way, i bought the baby safe latex pellets pillow instead of beansprout pillow

Tigger, whats the brand of the tub? kidzloft?

by the way, anyone saw my previous post on the cute cute lace headband? like noone respond to my post leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

June : is the babysafe pillow works the same? to put on baby's chest one? How much u bought?

Oh yes, i saw the cute cute lace headband, there's a BP doing at $8.90. like abit expensive leh... But oso tempting to buy for #3. hehe

yea i saw the BP too.. like so cute leh.. its expensive ah? normally these kind of headbands cost how much?

I am tempted to buy this cap . like so stylo and cute too.. haha...

do u see anyone else or know anyone else selling this item for a cheaper price?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4077867.jpg]

yea the babysafe latex beads works the same too put on the chest. Usual price is $32.90. I saw it at marina sq kiddy palace. but in the end i bought from robinsons because there was a promotion where it came with a free extra case.

so i bought from robinsons 1 latex pellets pillow + 2 cases for $32.90

June,

the hairband is very cute... but bb's head seems abit delicate to put that on...

mayb need to wait more months before putting on for her...

btw, i saw those inflatable beth tub before, I think is in Kiddy palace... but didn't know so exp...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4077903.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4077904.jpg]

xpink,

I got several bean sprout pillows already, was used by my #1, still in good condition...

I heard from my sis that my mum made another one for me again... still with her thou...

June : I dunno how much outside selling. but i think BP cheaper bah. But for me la, i not willing to spend $8 on headband itself. lol

this is the one i bought - babysafe bambeanie.

http://www.babysafe.sg/product_info.php?products_id=31&osCsid=8nuasnbuabo5garv15qs4hb290

copied from the website:

"Mothers are concerned about how to keep beansprout pillow clean and sterile as beansprout kernels cannot be washed, may not withstand months of humidity, wetting and soiling, and the warmth of the baby’s heat. Bambeanie is filled with 100% natural latex molded pellets that are lightweight, malleable and noiseless. Like all natural latex, it is hypoallergenic, resistant to mold, mildew and dust-mite infestation. As it is washable, it can be kept clean and hygienic. "

Age group

Newborns and beyond

Available size

6" X 14" 15cm X 36cm

Wow.. the thread is moving so fast..

Re: Husk pillow

I got mine at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3785396.html

Re: Inflatable bath tub

I got the duck one Munckins.. cost 34.90 b4 20% discount. with hot water indicator, quack quack sound from head and anti-slip.. so cute that we brought and in case we need to go on short trip can bring along..")

We still can use the red wedding bath tub also..

Re: BPA free

We did not purchase BPA free at the end as if the bottle is scratched then BPA is let out from non-BPA bottles. Anyway, we will have to change if bottle scratched..

Xuanx: Dun blame yourself.. I always bumped onto sometime either due to lose of balance or underestimate of my own size.. haha... just painful!! hee

Starz, last friday I had a similar incident too. The MRT gentry open and close immediately when I walk thru. The door hit my hips, then I have to squeeze thru. Lucky I'm tall so only hit my hips. If I'm short, it will gena my tummy liao.

Haitang, ya, my mil very ganjong. She don allow me to carry anything for them but my hubby still let me carry some loh. I really need to tell them nicely on how their son treated me loh.

Nature_lover,

Thanks. Great to hear that bb is well cushioned.

Xpink n charmaine,

Aiyo, u also b more careful.

Xpink,

I order my husk pillow from the same link as charmaine.it' not light, not able to tell u the actual weight. Maybe u can ask the seller.

Morning everyone,

Was on leave yesterday, so never log on. How's everyone?

End up, didn't go to expo, didn't buy anything for BB, didn't do anything at all.... sigh...

Anyway, Robinson is having 20% discount on Avent and Pigeon products. Think its the GSS sale, so will buy stuff from there before GSS ends.

Anyone knows where to get maternity pads? How many do we have to buy? and must use for how long?I haven't use a sanity pad for ages... the thought of using one just kinda makes me sick... eeerrrrkkkk

weiling,

same sentiments! hate wearing pads! there are a few brands - Kotex, Pureen, TENA. You can get Kotex from NTUC, TENA from Unity. Some will recommend using nite pads as maternity pads. all depends on individual. I could either be getting 1 or 2 packs of 10 of maternity. The rest will be using nite pads. Just remember to bring some when u go for delivery. Hosp will charge for extra pads.

ahNah, that's why you are still here mah... cos you don't MJ. heehee...

I'm thinking to setting a play area for my nieces n newphews, so was thinking to buying the ordinary playmat until I saw this. But both equally expensive...

leo baby & haitang,

my current maid aso lies... all the time! tis morning got caught by me again. last week, she dyed my whole load of towels in blue, broke my hubby's stuff and we suspected 2 fans. when we asked her, het std answer is "i dun know sir or madam" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

today she came to me when i was preparing breakfast and rushing to work and said "mdm i dun know how to fix the pail." then i realised she broke the part near to the handle. she even suggested i was the one to break it coz i asked her to fix it 2 days ago when i saw the handle was dangling!

i didnt notice it was broken then, i juz thot the handle was loose. i said i nvr step into the 2nd bathroom and use the pail, so how do i break it? she kept quiet, as usual.

anyways for the past incidents, my hubby has given her warning; and told her she is down to her last chance. today i told i wl let it pass but pls be gentle with my things. this is not kampung so dun use too much force. she is v strong, can force the tray into the ikea baby chair in the wrong slot, tsk tsk! my fan's blade also broken which we suspect is her doing.

my hubby got concerned and said i cannot scold her, coz dunno wat she wl do to our son. see we are being held hostage in a way coz we do need a helper for now and aso in the future for our #2.

changing a maid is easy but we wl nd to re-train, not to mention having the disruption/transition again, esp for my boy who is attached to this maid, plus additional costs!

yah... quite quiet today... ahNah must be waiting for us to start chatting... hehe~

Re: play area

I'm thinking of setting a play area... but not sure whether to set in the living room or bedroom... intend to get LG or Parklon mat...

ahNah,

yah, my girl been kicking me like nobody's business these 2 days... haha~

*sigh* need to get a new breast pump cuz my fren one spoil... spend money again... what brand and model did you all buy?

dreymin, seens like most of the maid got problem, almost can say is 9 out 10.

starz, you know me so well.

at wk28 ... suppose to have around 10 to 12 times in a hour.