(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ednique,

not sure if its a taboo but i dont think so cos u r just walking along the path beside the funeral. but for me, especially now preggie, i'll avoid walking near funeral wake lah. i'm chinese & more pantang though. i tend to avoid walking near funeral wakes even before i'm preggie. its just a habit i have since young.

Ednique,

i think no worry at all. there is no such thing pregnant ppl are not allowed to pass by the funeral area. Ppl looked at you because you are the only one walking past them right?

you are brave because usually it is the other way round. pregnant ppl are afraid to walk past funeral area. chinese more pantang.

ednique,

It's not offensive for u to walk pass there... but for us chinese, usu we'll try to avoid those wake area as it can be considered as inauspicious...

last year, when we held my dad's funeral, some ppl also pass through... out thoughts is how come they feel so comfortable to pass thru??

angel,

my personal thinking is, u can't carry but can still go... unless u or your family is pantang abt this... but since u are already in 2nd trimester, don't need to avoid la...

Angel,

should be newborn babies till their 3rd months.

i also heard we can walk past the funeral. i remember that time i saw the funeral, my in-laws ask me to redirect the route to somewhere else.

Angel

buffet food can take. only those traditional stuffs i nv take. eg red eggs/cakes/ang ku kuay.. i guess it's ok to go la. try dun carry the newborn baby.. either the bb will pantang or the one inside u pantang. Actually i jus went to my best fren wedding last dec.. tat time i was tested positive & i cant turn down my fren's wedding. So i went & even be her "sister"..

jascmy

i tink next thursday shld be fine. can we confirm again when nearer date. cos sometimes i maybe activate to go jurong fetch my hb from work -_-

hi all, thank you so much for the explanation.. now i feel abit relieved.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i was worrying about it coz i dont want to hurt any party.. ok lah so they were looking at me maybe they were thinking wah this pregnant woman so brave ah can still pass by the wake..

peeyore, cheekrene & alibaba,

thx for all ur advices! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think we'll prob go but i'll tell my hb the donts. does the carrying bb thingy also apply to the hb?? or only the preggie mum? maybe i'll get hb tell them in advance that i cant carry her bb if not later she wanna me to carry, will be very weird if i tell her no lah.

i tried to surf around the net looking for more info on this taboo but din find much useful info. mostly they are talking abt wedding & confinement taboos instead.

bb hb is 164 n low risk

heeehee 1st time hear hb so cute..bb headstand again but managed to get all readings unlike last time took me 1hr

angel,

here can use internet connection mah so come in chat lor

MVH,

my boy drinks juz about any brands except the karihome, i think he hates the smell. So far, the ones which is recommended by PD is Mamil which has probiotics.

Regarding Massage

After my first pregnancy; a malay lady used to come to my place; she charges $50 per session which lasts 1.5-2hrs. For those after CS, advisbale to start only after 6 months as the wound is very vulnerable.

Priority Seats

I guess i am more thick-skinned; haha! I had gotten quite fed-up during my first pregnancy so i have since learnt to ask for seats if i m really tired especially since I am in first trimester and pple cant tell if i m preggie. The pple who shld feel ashamed is not us; preggie mummies but those who knowingly refused to give up their seats to those in need. I was quite impressed when I was in Korea. They have 2 priority seats reserved in each cabin and no one sits on them even though the train is crowded! we are a long way away from such countries, what a pity.

Finding jobs during Pregnancy

Crescent, I think honesty should be the best policy when we look for a job. Otherwise it sets a bad footing between you and your potential boss and he/she may have trust issues in the future. I have heard of frens who found jobs after they got pregnant and some even have better than the std 4 months maternity leave; one of which works for a foreign bank was blessed with a very understanding boss and she was away on 6 months paid leave. Hope this will lift up your spirits!

peeyore,

oh good, think in that case, i'll get hb to carry the newborn instead, i think he needs to start practising now. lol. do u know if its ok for me to touch the bb's cheek or hold her hands etc??

i also assume the hb can eat cakes & red eggs too?? only i need to avoid right?

suika,

congrats, whats ur ultrasound risk? u din manage to see bb's gender?

cheekrene,

I aso had a fine line running along my tummy for my first pregnancy; i am waiting for this to appear again, haha! it will fade away after we gv birth so dun worry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TMC Parentcraft classes

This is highly recommended; i always encourage my frens who r preggie to go esp when they r gg to deliver in TMC and has the FBI card, very worthwhile. I went with my hubby 2 yrs ago and we both found it very benefical. if possible try to book early coz the classes esp those by BB Wong is very popular and seats are snapped up fast. we actually went supposed to attend one by her protege but always 'gatecrash' BB Wong's class instead, haha!

btw, i just popped into the febmtb thread, seemed like quite a few moms have popped too. month after month, we'll have mtb before us popping & very soon, it'll be our turn as well...

seems that most mtb popped much earlier than their edd too. think i'll very likely have my c-section in july as well. another 5mths to go, whoa counting down...

currently, i'm only taking the prenavit (every morning) given by my gynae (not sure if its the multivitamins?). i alr stopped taking folic acid since 1wk ago. my next gynae visit is on 9feb.

i read that 2nd trimester, u are supposed to start on fish oil & calcium pills etc? feel a bit uneasy cos not taking them yet. i read that some mtb alr started on fish oil & calcium pills even before they reach 2nd trimester.

shd i call my gynae to ask if he can prescribe me the pills first??

angel

doesnt have to take the fish oil now. u can ask or buy from gynae during ur next visit. if u worry, u can also buy over the couner.. depend on which brand u wanna get.. as for calcium pills, depends on individual, some mummies like me dont drink milk.. so have to supplement with calcium pills.

Hi angel

i am now 12wks so is my ist trimester end?I went to my gynae ytd..she didn't give me any calcium too oni continue my folic acid and the DHA she prescribe me during i was 9wks.My next visit will be in march,by then i will be 16wks then i will ask her about it.

angel,

the prenatavit wehich you are taking could be the same as mine (pink box with pregnant woman pic). it contains DHA & EPA aso known as omega-3/fish oil. my gynae advised me not to take the commercial brands as they hv too high dosage which is harmful to the baby. i aso take calcium pills which is given the ok by my gynae. you shld check with your gynae what is best for you.

Just a quick update [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I went for my oscar test this morning. As soon as sonographer scan my tummy she say baby very co-operative in a very good position for her to take measurement without any hesitation she started taking saying baby sleeping therefore measurement was done fast free within 10 mintues. Like suika, first time hear babys heartbeat very interesting check with sonographer baby HB is at 160 and Neck measurement is 1.4mm. Luckily the Sonographer that i had was very patient even show us baby's feature and bb nose bridge which is important for oscar scan as she says 60% of baby with DS will not be about to see nose bridge [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So glad everything is over now got to wait for them to call me back on thursday for the result [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It was a bad day for me yesterday. last night I felt some water/discharge coming out, then i went to toilet & found that i was bleeding!! Not the spotting & it was fresh blood! really a big shock to me & I told my hubby and we rush to KK 24 hr women clinic for check-up. The doctor said baby is safe with heartbeat, what a release for me... No reason was given from the doctor, he said may b the hormone is not stable had caused the bleed.... scarly moment for me... heng everything turn up to be fine...

I was given the hormon pill & mc to rest at home now. No more bleeding today... Arr.... tot already 13 wks, everything should be stable now by this moment.... my next appt with my gynae is after CNY, do u all think that i should go check-up again before CNY so that i can have a peace of mind durig new year period? sigh....

duckling,

i had a fren also bleeding at wk13.. but for her is overworked becos she works as a nurse.

maybe u dont overwork, try to rest more.

check with u gals, can we pin or hang stuff in our office table?

they say cannot pin or hang or drill any holes at home, but office shld not be a problem rite?

Saffy, your hair growth is stronger during preggy... means you will have shiny hair and less hair loss.. also means that other parts of the body hair might grow longer, thicker etc..

alibaba, i also live at sembawang, think near admiralty link ba.. can i join too? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel, I bo chap with those traditions. I just went for a baby 1st month celebration last sat. I also went for 2 weddings last month. But if your MIL minds, then dont go lor..

Mm.. I don't take calcium pills leh.. nor drink milk.. can or not? Will be heaty if take calcium pills and might have constipation.

Sunfl@wer,

i only heard we cant see people arranging tables and chairs in office. there is one time, my colleague really chase me away as they "pan tang".

i thought hang stuff at house is ok. only drilling cannot.

for me i play safe lor... that time just preggy only.. then my hubby got a cousin passed away & got 1 fren wedding... both we oso nv go...

really depends on whether u pantang anot.. .

MVH

think u can join us bah. wait for jascmy to confirm date/venue/time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i got my calcium pills from my GP. i realise i am contispated while taking calcium too... maybe i shall take alternate days.. or try to take more high calcium food.

alibaba,

thx! think i try to 'ren' until next tues to see my gynae then ask abt the fish oil & calcium pills lah. just worried during this period, the bb not getting enough nutrients leh...

jerlyn,

some say 1st trimester is until 12wks while others say its 13wks. anyway, i more kiasu, i took the folic acid until 12wks6days then i stopped taking on wk13 exactly lor.

dreymin,

i'm not sure if urs is the same as mine cos they din come in a box so i dont know whats the content. but the pills themselves are pink color, capsule type.

babybee,

good luck with ur oscar results. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] keep us posted again.

ducklingeshop,

sorry to hear abt ur scary encounter. i think mtb will be shocked to see fresh blood no matter what stage of pregnancy they are at lor. its like alarm bells ringing. think its becos they always show those miscarriage scenes on tv with blood dripping down ur thighs. do rest well & take care k. if it makes u more at ease, by all mean go for another checkup before CNY ya.

mvh,

stronger hair growth = shiny hair? hmmm... i din notice shiny or thicker hair on my head but definitely more oily scalp than before.

i read that calcium pills are also essential for bb's well-being. but i do have difficulty with passing motion. this is despite me drinking fruit juices daily and eating veg etc. i have to use alot of strength, sometimes also scare dun know will suddenly see blood come out instead due to the force?

babybee: my bb neck measurement is 2.4mm thick

crown rump length is 73.4mm..

they never let me hear bb hb leh... hmm...

Angel: i already start taking calcium pills & the multivitamin when i reach 12 weeks.. confirm by my gynae..

alibaba: did u eat the mutlivitamin and calcium together is yes most likely will cost contipation..

angel, becoz of the oily scalp (pregnancy period), hair tends to look shinier.. hehe.. i have lotsa little hair growing around my belly button during my #1.

as for folic acid.. i hear from my chinese physician friend that we shouldnt take too much of folic acid.. coz folic acid will increase brain activity of bb (good in this sense) but bad thing is.. it might expand the innate nature layer of their brain too(means more wild like animal, thus hard to control) ... which I felt it is true that nowadays children are more hard to teach/control/discipline. He suggests eat more natual veg that have folic acid if we want.. Sigh.. anyway, I still finish my whole pack of folic acid (by gynae) (even I am already after 12weeks) coz it helps to develop bb spine as well..

angel,

u go but dun eat the red eggs n kuei...can touch bb juz dun carry...myths la but i feel if can avoid then better to believe

woody used to give folic acid all the way but nw oni till 12wks... Not really true that bb sure v hard to control la coz last time those under him their kids all very guai ley, except for mine v notti...i think its up to individual ba but i guess folic acid is oni useful during the 1st few mths for developments

he seldom give calcium or iron pills, says not neccessary to take but fish oil u can ask n its not in package

for those still hving ms issues, best dun start fish oil...u'll feel even worst ... Got reports starting fish oil might not b so good for preg but i think shd b ok to eat ba since gyneas so say cannot

Is it true preg time our hair more shiny? I oni know will start to hv white hairs growing lor

the sonargrapher no tell mi the readings oni say i'm under low risk no nid worry

still cant see gender coz my bladder not full cant get clear view plus bb cross legs oso

Seems like I miss out a lot today! Was out of office and busy the whole day! Sometimes really hard to work while pregnant...

RE Folic Acid, Prenavit, Fish Oil

This is what my gynae told me to take:

- Folic acid to take until week 20

- prenavit to take throughout pregnancy

- fish oil to start when i'm into my 14th week

But i guess different gynae will say different things ba.

duckling,

do take care. If you feel unsafe, just make an appt with your gynae these few days for check-up.

am going for my gvyan appt tmr evening , so excited ! and my oscar test on thursday =) after a mth of long wait , fianlly can see baby again tmr =)

Hi all!!

I'm new to this thread, pls add me to the list. Tks!

EDD: 23 Aug 2010

Baby #2

Gynae: Dr A L Lim

Hosp: TMC

Tomorrow will be my last day of work. Having on/off spotting and bleeding since wk 8 so decided to give up my job and concentrate on "yang tai".

Duckling, pls do take care. Must rest in bed, very important!! I was on mc for 3 weeks, have to take hormone pills and injections because of the bleeding/spotting. Now I'm in my 11th wk and going on 12th. Doc say not to worry as baby is doing fine but once the bleeding becomes like menses, must immediately go hospital. Didn't have this problem with my first one so dun understand why also...

my oscar test on thursday too!!!

Hi crescent, i'm not sure why MOM officer told that way.

If u only realise u are Preg after confirmation then no ppl will blame you. But now the fact is, you know before your confirmation. Is up to your choice to inform your boss or not.

I personnally find that, if u hide from Company, if they dun mind is ok. But if they feel that u are cheating on them then they might made your life diff in the company.

I have a friend, Preg after confirmation, she told her boss and her boss thought that she trying to cheating on the company and left very bad impresion... She suffer alot of rubbish treatment from her.. in the end she tender. But lucky her excompany knows about it and took her back.

I dun think everyone is so lucky like her. ( she from forwarding company also)

For me, I got preg after I joined my company for 1 month. I told them after I know about my Preg. I'm also having alot of worries and concern should i said or not. In the end i choose to tell becoz i dun wan them to give me any bad impression and also to save me and my BB I need to tell so that they can reduce stress and workload on me.

is all depend on u crescent..

jerlyn, you know your bb gender already???? so fast??? you did a blood test?

My gyn says that i hopefully i can see the gender next month...

hi soffie welcome here....

Bleeding hv to go hospital sia coz i think hv to injection to protect bb liao...i heard during this time dun bend dwn or squat or carry heavy stuffs think can prevent ba

morning everyone , heehee ... excited , hope today pass fast and reach evening soon ! haha , then can see baby , hope everything will be fine =) i m 12 weeks++ already but still puking every morning and evening ! urge ....

and for the TMC SBI programme , tmr before i going to do my oscar test , i can sign up and pay on the spot right ?

and wow , jerlyn , so fast can see baby gender ah ! congrat !

soffie , today ur last day of work ah , shiok hor , can at home " yang tai " . for me , my last day will be friday ! hippi !

I have been very forgetful this 2 days. I can even forget about breakfast for my hubby today. Not sure whether its bcos I don't have enough sleep or due to hormone changes?

morning ladies!

hi soffie! welcome! we have the same edd and hospital! we might get a chance to meet at the waiting area.. lol~ u also must rest rest more and take care...

a lazy and tired morning for me again...

Morning all!!

Jascmy: I find that I can be forgetful about some things, but can remember some other things v v well..hmm..I heard from my friends that it will be hard to regain back the good memory after birth. Don't know is true or not..

Dear Mommies,

I have a pre-loved Medala Mini Electric Plus (dual electric pump) for sale, suitable for home and on-the-go usage.

Bought 24 Jan 2010, in good condition & comes with warranty.

The breastpump comes with a full range adjustable vacuum, 2 funnels, 1 set of tubing & 1 adapter (Electric or battery use).

On top, I have 6 Medala bottles (5oz), a Medala cooler bag & Medala CityStyle breastpump bag for sale too.

CityStyle breastpump bag

• A stylish and attractive bag to transport the Medela breastpump and expressed breastmilk.

Medala cooler bag

• To cool, store and transport breastmilk

I am selling the Medala mini eclectic plus breastpump, 6 medala bottles, Medala cooler bag & CityStyle breastpump bag, all at SG$280.

Prices are negotiable. PM me if interested.

morning all!!

regarding being forgetful, i read somewhere that some pregnant women do become forgetful and its because of the changes in hormones etc.. i'm one of them.. actually sometimes, i feel like my mind in a daze or even blank..i felt that i'm not as quick and sharp as i was .. but after reading abt this thing, i felt somehow relieved. it said that our memory should be back to normal after birth..

been at FIL's wake since monday. came home to rest and wash up. now waiting for DH to fetch me back to FIL's place...

do you ladies know if there's any pantang for attending wakes/funerals? DH's aunt told me to put salt, rice and tea into an angpow and put into my pocket. gotta throw it after the cremation this afternoon. usually i dun follow such things... but with baby inside me, i wanna do anything i can so that baby is protected.

feeling really down now. getting slight cramps and more discharge now. poor hubby oredi very sad abt his dad's demise. dun want to worry him oso... thk will just bring forward the gynae appointment when things are over.

on the brighter side, the clinic called regarding my OSCAR and NT scan results. everything normal tho the nurse did not tell me the stats. said can get the report at the next gynae appt. baby sleeping during the scan so dinch move but sonographer let me hear baby's heartbeat. it was wonderful!!! wonder if can see baby move the next gynae visit. 14th week can see if boy or gal yet? pray baby is healthy and everything is OK.

i am coming to 12 weeks soon. now i started to have leg cramps in day and night. does anyone has it? what can we do to cramps rather than massage?

pleiades,

Sending my deepest condolences to your family...

Don't worry about pantanf when it's your closest family member...

Last year when my dad passed away, my sis was also pregnant... she didn't even avoid anything, except fo some of the 儀式 u have to avoid... but tell the priest, they'll know when u should avoid or turn your back... but if it's christian then u must check with them already...