(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

@ Pleiades,

Sorry about your loss. Can't imagine having to juggle so many things at the same time. If you belive, I'm sure your FIL's soul will protect your baby.

@ MVH & Starz,

Thanks for your assurance. Just that there isn't much to assure me that the baby is doing ok other than the monthly trip to the gynae.

@ White_lady

I can feel your excitment too. I can't wait for my trip to the gynae also. but my next trip is on 20th Feb after CNY. Seems like a very long time. Enjoy your session!

Cheers everyone!

pleiades

sorry to hear about your loss; i think u r very strong and considerate towards your hubby. it is a gd idea to pull fwd the gynae appt if u hv any discomfort. i attended some wakes when i was preggie with my 1st kid coz close relatives or fren's parents. i m a christian so it might be diff for your case; it is good to check with the priest & older family members if they mind. my uncle's funeral was very traditional and none of my relatives stopped me from attending even my ultra-conservative mum. it wl be hard for me to stay away as my family is very close to my uncle's [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cheekrene,

you can prop your feet up while working or resting so the blood circulation will be better and hopefully minimise the leg cramps.

hello mtbs,

i think sth not too right, been having nausea/heartburnt for past 3 nights, especially after dinner. not very intense yet but feel it can lead to puking if it gets worse. this started when i hit 14wks even though my MS stopped when i'm ard 12wks+. >_<

whitelady,

yes u can sign up for the SBI at the info counter & pay on the spot just before ur oscar. its best to arrive approx. 15mins beforehand lah cos there's quite a few forms to fill out. i hope ur hb will be with u cos they give out a whole lot of goodies bag (which is bulky + heavy).

pleiades,

really sorry to hear abt ur loss. on the other hand, glad to hear ur oscar results are normal. if u r expecting a boy & if bb in a co-operative mode, then u can know gender as early as 11-12wks. if u r expecting a girl, then i think u wont know the gender so soon, most likely only during the detailed scanning at 20wks.

angel,

the fine hair on tummy is normal due to hormones changes. I've it too. I still see it after i give birth to my 1st one, not very obvious.

I attend all happy occasions, jus dun go for wake. i even went to be jie mei for my frens wedding. I tink it depend on u and the couple. If either side is patang, then dun go bah.

It's a myth that ur own bb will be jealous if mummy carry other bb. Ur own bb "will leave you" if u do so. But i dun tink so la, cos i carry my own boy and my SIL bb during my 1st tri. I tink in a more scientific explanation is 1st tri cannot carry heavy stuffs, cos bb usually weight more than 8kg. It's bad for preg woman.

ducklingeshop,

must take care. If u feel like visiting the gynae before CNy, jus go la. I dun tink ur gynae will reject "$$".

suika,

my last preg, my hair growth is less. I only shave my legs every 2 wks. But for this one, i got to shave my legs every 2 days. Diff bb, so body react diff. My face got pimples every week, compare to my last one, my face is so good. So i think this is a girl. Cos pp say mummy look ugly when preg with girl.

angel/purelyz,

i agree with you... it is more common sense than taboo not to carry babies which can be hefty. for that reason; i stopped carrying my 2yo since i confirmed i m preggie. prior to tat; it is v common for us to be attached at the joint [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so now i wl only cuddle him when i m sitting.

gender,

hey purelyz, i agree with you... my body aso differ this time round. i hv more pimples and aso MS is terrible as compared when i have my boy... so could be a girl tis time round.

Is it safe to take ginseng in pregnancy?

(I lifted this from BabyCentre as I think this is a good article to share)

Traditional Chinese medicine categorises all herbs and foods according to their basic qualities and tastes. They are further divided according to their “nature” or “energy”, which are placid, warm, heaty, cold and cooling.

According to these same principles, people, too, have different physical constitutions that respond best to foods of different natures. Those who are considered of a “cold” constitution would feel extremely uncomfortable in low temperatures. People with a more “heaty” constitution should be careful about taking foods that are warm and heaty in nature.

A mum-to-be is considered by traditional Chinese medicine experts to be more prone to internal heat or “embryo heat” because she is not menstruating. This is why you may be advised to reduce your intake of heaty foods. Read more about what not to eat.

For this same reason, traditional health supplements are generally not prescribed during pregnancy. As such, ginseng and Codonopsis root (Radix Codonopsis Pilosulae or dang-shen), which is sometimes known as poor man’s ginseng, are not recommended during pregnancy as they are warm and heaty in nature.

However, should you feel weak, fatigued, listless and short of breath or have heart tremors, loose stools or a weak pulse, you can take Pseudostellaria root (Radix Pesudostellariae or tai-zi-shen), which is also known as Western ginseng, to boost stamina and energy. These herbs are thought to relieve heatiness and improve general health.

One final note: In conventional mainstream medicine, many Chinese herbs are not recommended for pregnant women or breastfeeding mums. In some cases, the reason for this could be that they have not been tested on these groups, so their safety can't be confirmed. But for a few herbs, there may be real safety concerns over their use. Always check with your doctor before taking Chinese herbs if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.

What not to eat in pregnancy according to traditional Chinese medicine

One of the main principles of traditional Chinese medicine is that medicine and food share the same source. In other words, a lot of foods are also medicines. There is no clear boundary between them. All herbs and foods are categorised according to their basic qualities and tastes. They are further divided according to their “nature” or “energy”, which are:

• placid;

• warm;

• heaty;

• cold;

• and, cooling.

According to the ancient book of medicine The Internal Medicines of the Yellow Emperor (Huang-Di Nei-Jing), a wise man preserves his good health by “adapting to the cold and heat of the four seasons”. This is interpreted to mean that people should adapt their diet according to their environment, eating foods of different natures in keeping with the seasonal changes.

In general, placid foods are mild without any bias towards cold or heat, and hence can be consumed all year round.

Foods which are warm and heaty should be consumed in autumn and winter. You should eat less of these foods in spring or summer. Foods which are cold or cooling in nature are best for spring and summer, but not so good in autumn and winter.

However, traditional Chinese medicine practitioners or physicians advise that even within the same season or the same kind of weather, people with different physical constitutions may require foods of different natures.

People with a “cold” constitution may …

• feel extremely uncomfortable in low temperatures;

• have limbs that may feel cold;

• have a swollen tummy;

• have loose faeces.

They should be careful about consuming foods of cold or cooling nature.

People with a more “heaty” constitution may …

• taste bitterness in their mouth;

• have bad breath, inflamed throat and red eyes;

• feel dehydrated;

• have yellowish urine and dry faeces.

They should be careful in taking foods that are warm and heaty in nature.

Experts in traditional Chinese medicine stress that these same principles apply during pregnancy, but with the further consideration of the specific physiological condition and health of the mum-to-be. They believe that pregnant mums are slightly anaemic as blood and nutrients are diverted and stored to keep the growing baby healthy, and to prepare the body for making milk. Therefore, you will probably be advised to increase your intake of nutrient-rich foods, especially those containing protein and iron, such as lean meat, beef, chicken and egg.

Traditional Chinese medicine practitioners also advise that mums-to-be keep their meals light, especially in early pregnancy when nausea and vomiting peak – this means less oil, salt and sugar. You may also be told that traditional favourites such as stewed pork or pork rib soup can still be enjoyed, but in moderation as they are high in animal fat.

It is also believed that a mum-to-be is more prone to internal heat or “embryo heat” because she is not menstruating. Thus, a traditional physician or practitioner may advise you to reduce your intake of heaty foods. These include:

• mutton and venison;

• spicy and hot foods;

• various kinds of nuts;

• cinnamon;

• some tropical fruits such as longan and durians.

You should also be prudent in taking foods that are considered by traditional Chinese medicine to be mildly laxative, including:

• barley;

• purslane;

• certain types of edible fungus;

• amaranth.

dreymin and purelyz,

opp for me.. when i was preggie with my #1 (gal), i have only 1 pimple and my face doesn't get bloated (ugly). I thou ppl say preggie wif boy then will look ugly? Diff ppl say diff things.. lol.. but i think these are all myths ba.. it really depends on your body.

pleiades

condolences to your family. You got to take good care of yourself.

last time when i was ard 3months+ when preggie with #1, gynae already told me 80% gal.. but have to confirm only during detailed scan when the sonographer will scan the bb sexual organ. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hoping for a boy this time!

next visit to gynae is 22ndfeb.. so long..

afternoon ladies!!

White lady

my last preg is boy n my hair grew v slow till i even forgotten when's the last time i shave liao lor

for me , my hai grow super fast , 1st time also like that n its a boy , so this time high chance boy also lor , haha ... another 6 hr to gynae ! hippi !

leg cramp , i also have abit lor ! and every mornign i will wake up with toothache ! think is clacium not enough , will ask my gynae later !

sigh... i have been waking up at 2am every nite for the past few weeks.. cant sleep. only watch TV till 4am then can sleep...

anyone knows whether preggy can go for dental X-ray? my hidden wisdom tooth is hurting me for weeks..

hello mummies, can u all feel baby kicking already? i can feel it!!!

im 12weeeks now.

xpink_xuanx --> u can feel ur baby kicking..? wow thats great! i'm 14 weeks today but i dont know hws the feeling of my baby kicking.. isit frequent?

dreymin and purelyz,

I'm the same as MVH, when i have my gal, my complexion also very good... but some of my colleagues got boy, their face somehow changed to abit ugly, red or pimples...

However, both my sis both got 2 boys, during pregnancy their features also never changed much... so I believe all these are myths... and faces changes is all due to our own hormone change...

MVH,

i think you should see the dentist and ask him/her to advise you if the x-ray is harmful. U nd to declare you are preg so they can take the necessary precautions. i believe the exposure for dental x-rays is quite low but do consult the dentist and see what your options are w/o taking the x-ray.

purelyz, MVH and p_eeyore,

yah probably every pregnancy and mummy reacts differently. my family and frens are all guessing tis is a gal since the symptoms are so different from my boy. we shall see at week 16, haha!

dreymin,

my boy now very "attitude", he will cry to get wat he wan. Headache. I'll also try to avoid to carry him, cos when i carry him too much, i strain my bottom.

i tink ur preg symptom quite similar with me. We get to look more "ugly". Truth will be out soon when we noe the gender

MVH,

It's my SIL that told me if i change a lot (physically) during preg, the chance of girl is higher. How i wish i can have less pimples now...

i tink u can't go for dental x ray. I'm not too sure. Ask ur gynae or dentist bah. Better to remove than later got more prob.

xpinkxuanx,

u r more exp mummy, so maybe can feel it earlier. It is said that 2nd or 3rd time mummy feel kicks earlier. For my last preg, i only feel the movements at 19 wks. Hopefully this time i can feel it earlier!

I don't feel any bb movement cos my bb only 33mm as per 1 feb) and there is still a lot of space in the water bag for it to grow. During the scan on 1 feb, bb waving and kicking a lot then my hubby ask me, u don't feel ah?

Hi all... I'm into my wk 11 nw juz wondering if any of u experience itchness after the breast area? I dun c any rashes or so but the skin ard the breasts r itchy ....

mirai--> me too.. sometimes so itchy i scratch until sometimes abit pain oready.. another place are my legs.. i usually have this itchiness at night even after my bath. like kena bitten by mosquitos

I oni gets it on my breasts n ard the nipples oso .... even have lil bit of skin flaking off ... Dunno is it due to my mild dehydration or the expansion of the breasts ah ... Irritating loh esp when wanna slp dat time ... Can we apply some cream or so? I'm thinking of breastfeed my bb the nxt time n I scare the cream will affect the breastmilk ah ...

me too me too... I also feel itchy on the breast area & my stomach (1 side only). I am starting applying the Palmer Massage Cream for Stretch Marks & Itchy Skin Soothing Oil, but it doesnt help much to release the itchness le...

My preggie colleague told me not to scratch the tummy if its itchy cos it will have more stretch marks after scratching.

Just want to update on the dinner gathering that i'm planning for on 01 April 2010 (Thursday), 7pm.

I've found some dinner places:

If most of you prefer buffet (like me), maybe we can go:

1. The Rice table (Orchard)~$29 per pax nett

2. Cafebiz (Traders Hotel)~$35 per pax (after card discount)

Or small eaters, we can go to restaurants that have Set meal/ ala carte (Price depend on your order):

3. Siam Kitchen (Bugis)

4. House of Sundanese (Suntec)

5. Bali Thai (Velocity)

6. Swensen Cafe (Marina Sq)

These restaurants are located in more central area. MTBs that are interested to join, please vote.

As the group is big, i'll need to make arrangement with the restaurant earlier, maybe to place a deposit if i need to reserve for more than 40 pax.

purelyz.... 1 april still long leh...

but for me tentatively can.... i prefer somewhere central like bugis, orchard.... food wise i anyting... =)

My preggie colleague told me not to scratch the tummy if its itchy cos it will have more stretch marks after scratching.

I heard that if it's a bb boy, mummy will become uglier and more pimples on the body leh... so i guess it's not really true now... hehe~

Itchiness might be due to skin dehydration... try to drink more water and apply moisturiser after bath... this is what i'm doing now, after scratching my legs into bloody marks... it does help for me...

purelyz,

thanks for coming up with the makan list. think by then most of our appetite might have grown 1.5times? haha~ i'm fine with your suggestions except Cafebiz as it is a bit far to walk?

hi purelyz, thank you for your kind efforts in organizing the dinner gathering at halal restaurants. i would love to attend as well. i'm ok with the set meal restaurants you mentioned. other than those, i hope u dont mind if i can add some more to your list?

i also leh.. has been scratching my tummy and around breast area ... very dry .. put moisturiser even more itchy after a few hours.. haiz haiz

cresent,

i a bit kiasu. Cos to get 50 odd pp to agree and cfm a place for gathering shd take a while. So i start early. Maybe u can vote for the place 1st?

jascmy,

ok, noted. I'll do up a list later

starz,

I like gathering. When i type in the list, i get hungry le. Haha! maybe u can vote 1st?

Ednique,

i try to find all halal food. Pls add in more if u've better ideas. We love good food!

Ducklingeshop, i oso bleeding..

i was having brown discharge, then i went to see dr ang...he gave me an injection to stop bleeding.

the next day evening, i was bleeding fresh blood..got a scare..he ask me to see him next day..and if bleedin at midnite, ask me go KKH immediately..

so i visit him today..he jus ask me to eat ultrogestan again..

he say a few reason to bleeding

1) low placenta

2) womb infection

3) weak pelvis

4) unknown

he say if is womb infection, then will miscarriage by 5th month..

i dunno le...whenever i see him, he talk n i dunno wat qns to ask him...

he say he check everything seem ok..

but he cant detect womb infection or wat..

i feelin v worry everytime he comment something..

i dunno shld i go see another gynae..

thx p_eeyore for updating, i tink u can continue..

recently, i dun really have e mood to check the forum ...

fumiko, i oso got bleeding when in my 6 wks.... but the next day stop... but i still go see doc...

then give the ultrogestan pills to eat & injection 2 twice a wk and 1 mth bedrest... the spotting of brownish stopped ard 2-3 wks later...

for my case, most likely is old blood...

Just a "show of hands" who will be interested to join for a dinner gathering on 01 April (Thurs), 7pm.

Name / Going (Y/N)

Ednique / Y

Purelyz / Y

Starz / Y

crescent / Y

jascmy / Y

Fumiko,

aiyo, why ur gynae keep saying bad things..dont think so much ok, everything will be ok, maybe u too stress out liao..take care k.

fumiko,

i tink u shd go to another gynae for 2nd option. my colleague also got bleeding the last time, she got bed rest for 2 wks. Now her boy is 1yr old le. Dun worry too much, rest well

purelyz--> ok i wont add in too much later too many choices! haha.. ok here they are:

7. Seoul Garden (buffet) - Marina Sq

8. Sakura Buffet - Orchard

9. Breeks - Orchard / Marina Sq

10. Secret Recipe - Orchard (Plaza Sg)

Fumiko_neko, ur gynea really scary leh. OMG, what is womb infection?? I have viginal infection recently, will it become womb infection? I also have 2 times of bleeding but my Senior nurse friend say should be old blood and ask me not to worry.

Fumiko,

Don't worry so much, rest well...

I believed he'll try to make sure everything's ok...

meanwhile try to rest more...

u can try 2nd opinion if u're really worried...

ya lor.. my gynae wun say anything to us unless he is very sure... even if he suspect he oso wun say cos he dun wan to worry us...

i tink if u r not comfortable wif ur current gynae u might consider to change?

btw, I don't think Dr Ang is trying to scare u, just telling u the possiblities...

Since he can't detect any womb infection then don't worry so much...

but which is the worst case?? womb infection or the unknown...

I'm very paranoid with unknown, meanig doctor also can't help...

check with him more as in what else u can't do... really don't worry so much

Fumiko, I think maybe u take MC and have bed rest for a few days and see how? if not, see another gynae..

purelyz, thanks for organizing.. 1st april is indeed so many weeks later.. I can go tentatively la.. but what time u all meeting? 7pm? Coz normally I need to go back early to pick my gal from MIL. I am okay with places near to MRT.

purelyz, suika and dreymin,

Thanks for advice.. Today I cant bite my food coz both sides of my mouth are so painful.. left side pain for 1month+, now used to the pain, but today right side starts to ache terribly.. sob sob.. Dunno can tong till I see gynae on 22 feb n ask him.. Cross fingers..

Fumiko, there is another gynae at Yishun.. quite popular also.. Blk 103, Yishun Ring Rd,

#01-81, S(760103) (SPECIALIST WOMEN'S MEDICAL CENTRE). But I think the gynae a bit KS.. so he will do a lot of tests. (From what I heard from my colleague la)

can I suggest to sort the mummy list in EDD order? Easier to find who has the same EDD... If it is too troublesome, then nvm la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]