(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

alibaba,

my gal smtimes not taking any lunch or dinner... initially my method was gainiq in the day and pediasure in the night, just as u mentioned... and yes to your question, her size is significantly improved, many people commented now is nicer, and previously is consider skinny...

crescent, u so smart, still check with MOM...

crescent,

it's better to let them know.

i have my ex-colleague's wife who kena before. she was terminated right after she let them know about her pregnancy. till now, she is staying at home enjoying her pregnancy.

by the way, even if you inform MOM, also still no point. company still can give them a valid reason why they terminate. i also have another friend kena before. haiz. better be safe than sorry.

hmm.. but if tell them then sure they wun want to employ lor...

some more MOM alr said it's not stated in the employment act that we must tell them unless they ask then we have to tell them honestly...

frankly speaking, no company would ask unless you tell them. sometime when bosses know about your pregnancy, they will be unhappy as they find it a trouble to get a temp staff to replace u and they will have to teach all over again. unless the employer think you got the value and they don't mind, well it do happen.

this is come from the experience and i also got feedbacks from HR telling me this issue.

maybe you can look for companies who are family oriented. i know a famous shipping line company who don't mind employing pregnant women =) there are quite a few of them doing it. you can try luck.

Hi all the mommies who provide advice on formula.. Actually my gal was taking GainIQ (same brand from similac).. Considering changing to Pedisure.. but more expensive leh.. $32+ as compared to GainIQ $27+. Sigh.. no choice.. fated to spend more..

I remember the law has changed rite? last time need to work for at least 6 months to get maternity leave.. now only 3 months rite? But it is true that the company can cook up any excuse to terminate the contract early..

MVH,

if contract then yes but if perm staff then they cannot anyhow give reason ask u leave like that....but we 3mths liao, another 3mths our tummy already like balloon how to hide....normally once they know they can ask u leave coz still under probation....that's the bad thing to us

crescent,

find jobs from gov sector, they'll consider preg staffs

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3586362.jpg]

those free over the weekend can dropby to this sale

suika,

when i have my #1, i went to this place and got several stuffs... eventhough no sale also abit cheaper...

now got sale dunno what to buy for this #2??

So tired today!

Just had a bad experience. I got a priority seat on the MRT cos someone alighted. Then a pregnant woman board the train at the next station. She stand infront of me and use her bag to hit my legs. Everyone on the train was also looking at me. I sayang my tummy and pretend to vomit but everyone still looked at me angrily. I even heard someone say "she also pregnant meh". The gal next to me never give up her seat but also looked at me like I have done something wrong. Wah, the whole train journey so unconformable with all eyes on me.

Next time I will open my mouth and tell everyone in the train that I'm also pregnant and can't stand for long.

jascmy,

I think u can just ignored all the eyes since the gal next to u also don't moved, unless people starts to ask u to get up and let the pregnant woman have the seat, u can politely say u're also pregnant and turn to the lady beside u and ask to to give up the seat instead...

jascmy,

how can that pregnant woman purposely hit your leg? i think nowadays women who are not pregnant also do that. i also had this experience. just don't care about their looks. you are not wrong as first trimester tend to make us feel uncomfortable when standing.

I think that pregnant woman hit my leg to ask me to wake up and let her have the seat cos I'm actually closing my eyes to rest. After I sayang my tummy, she stopped. I will also use her method next time when my tummy is big enough to tell ppl that I'm pregnant so that they will wake up and let me have the seat.

jascmy: such a bad experience....

i have done my DS test.. low risk for me.. ytd when scanning bb is bouncing up and down and sucking finger into his/her mouth...

look forward to see gynae on 18 feb..

winnie, your bb also very active like mine. So cute! My bb don have fingers and toes yet. He/she only keeps waving his/her round hand and legs and nodding head. Hope my 18 Feb scan can see bb's fingers and toes.

jascmy--> that's a terrible experience..bt i think the pregnant lady didnt know u were preg at first until you touched ur tummy. but the girl next to you is the one who should give up her seat even though hers wasnt a priority seat..

the other day i was in the bus and i was standing infront of the priority seats (i think 4 or 5 of them) and there's a student sitting in one of the seat while the rest were seated by elderly ppl. hmm by now i guess i do look somehow pregnant with my slightly protruding tummy and maternity clothes but the girl didnt give her seat to me.. lagi best, when the seat next to her was empty, before i could reach for the seat, her friend, another student, happily took the seat..hmm i've never request for a seat before..maybe i'm abit shy / paiseh to ask..but seriously, some bus drivers nowadays, they drive soo fast and like to jerk the bus leh..there may be elderly ppl or pregnant women in the bus right..

jascmy: u got rec serene sms? ya.. my bb is so active.. by next visit u show be able to see his/her finger liao.. so cute..

me currently is 13wk and 4 days.. edd change to 6 aug..same b'day as u..

Winnie: yup, I received. Its the same chart that my friend told me. So I already know the results. But I still have the feeling my BB is a boy leh. Not sure is it bcos I want boy badly so have that feeling. hahaa....

If your bb same bday as me then next time we can celebrate together liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, please add me in. Thanks! :)

I'm currently 12w 4d. Juz did oscar test this morning but the doc says cant tell the gender yet.

LMP: xx Nov 2009

EDD: 13 Aug 2010

Baby #1

Gynae: Dr John Yam

Hosp: TMC

jascmy:my feeling told me is a gal..Jonas say lots of ppl comment her is a boy...

i sms Jonas asking her when free? then can hav chit chat session again..

p_eeyore

my edd is bring forward to 19 Aug. thks

sembawang mummies

i remember there's some mummies staying at admiralty link? i am one too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe shall see you ladies around soon.. hehe

Winnie: I ask her on her feeling, she also feels that her bb is boy. hahaa.... but she want gal.

Ok, initially I told u and Jonas Thur but this thur I have facial. Maybe tmr??

alibaba, its me and WInnie. We are now organizing a chit chat session again. Will let u know once we set a date.

Anymore Admiralty Link Mummy?

jascmy: boy or ger nvm lah.. show u the bb scan when we meet up.. hehehe..

wah still go facial ya.. i long time never go liao~

she free ar? tmr?

1st one boy 2nd then go for gal lolz... ppl 1st one normally wan a boy de...

Haven't login for a long time... hope I did not miss much. On crescent's predicament, I can understand cos I was offered a job opportunity in Jan but had to turn down cos of my pregnancy. Generally speaking, i think companies are not keen to hire mommies who are expecting cos it means extra expenses for them when you take your ML. So I looked on the bright side and consoled myself that job opp will come now and then, but it is not everyday you get a baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i would like join the forum .... i am pregnant with 13 weeks.... now just worry abt the oscar scan result, cos i heard that mostly like will be high risk as i am over 35 years old ....

jascmy & winnie

ok let me know if gals have any meet up. i wil join if i am free. Will bring along my boy to meet ur too.. he loves gai gai now.. usually meet where ah? at the park?

jasmine,

welcome! i think dun worry too much on ur oscar results. i read that there are many mtb over 35 giving birth to healthy bb. i personally also know a few who gave birth to normal bb too. although age may play a part but its not the only factor. there are also really young mtb who unfortunately had DS bb so we just have to keep our fingers & toes crossed. good luck!

well, yesterday marked my 14th wks. last 2 nights, i kinda got back the nausea feeling AGAIN!! its quite mild, not very intense though but still i'm a little alarmed. i hope i not those mtb who resume their MS during 15-16 wks! OMG!!

also, i'm pretty disturbed by this prob i had recently. its quite embarrassing! when i was bathing, i discovered there's like a row of baby fine hairs growing on my stomach (fr below the breast down). i was more than shocked becos i considered myself as pretty hairless. e.g, i never had to shave my legs or armpits in all my life. not sure if i'm scaring myself but i also think the very fine hairs on my arms & legs are more visible now than before. my hb says the hair growth are dued to raging hormones! i'm not totally convinced. not sure if the hairs on my stomach will continue to grow?! i was freaking out if i'll have a hairy stomach by the time i come to full-term??

next, we are invited to a friend's bb 1st mth celebration this coming wkend. not sure if its taboo to attend?? this couple did attend our wedding banquet last year when the wife was alr preggie so its like not so nice if we give it a miss. what do u think??

welcome new mummies

Angel

it's normal.. dont worry.. probably u will have this brown line/fine hairs on the tummy due to pregnancy hormones.. i had that for my previous pregnancy..freaked me out too & even had brown armpits! eerks.. but it'll gradually fade over after u give birth.. not sure i will have the same thing like last time again this time round.. hope so no stretch marks like last time...

re: wedding dinners/bday celebration

will try to avoid if possible. if not, i will go but will not eat/take their cakes or red eggs & such..

jascmy, so sorry to hear that ppl gave u the looks at train. actually they dunno that u are preg that's why. Dun worry about it.

I think we should wear a maternity band or something. i feel that 1st tri is the worst if we take public transport. tummy is not big enough for ppl to give us seat, then we also feel terrible at the same time. ms, etc etc. sigh!

i still remember nobody give me seats when i preg with #1, until i was about the deliver (2 weeks before delivery). my tummy was quite big already.

can help me put in my details?

LMP: 31 Oct 2009

EDD: 09 Aug 2010

Baby #2

Gynae: Dr Lawrence Ang

Hosp: TMC

jascmy

oh.. it's just opposite my blk.. used to ta pao from there quite often last time..

p_eeyore

milkk cafe is at admiralty link. our nest area (sembawang).. hehe.. wanna join?

angel,

oh good i'm not the only one. I am more hairy now as well, i have a layer of fine brownish hair all down my front. Quite disgusting to me, coz I'm very anti-body hair, always go for regular waxing.

Angel,

I heard that pregnant women cant carry a newborn baby within 3 months. my SIL also forbid me to carry her baby.. i dunno why. i think better avoid going.

alibaba,

thx! its comforting to know that this is normal in pregnancy cos i seldom read abt this in forums thats why bothered by the prob. lol. i seriously hope the hair growth will stop lah.

suika,

wah, u giving live updates from TMC ahh? :p rem to ask sonographer let u hear heartbeats lor. perhaps u be able to know bb's gender too. good luck & keep us posted again k.

re. priority seats on mrt/lrt/bus

even though i agree that 1st trimester is very vulnerable (e.g, high risk of miscarriage, MS etc) but i think the toughest period is prob during the 3rd trimester? i read that some mtb could barely walk, as in they have to drag their feets along with the hugh load in front of them. its very taxing on them. also by 3rd trimester, u may have swollen calves, swollen v, terrible backaches & experience braxton hicks contractions now & then. so if i see those heavily preggie ladies, i'll still offer my seats to them cos i really think they need the seats more than me lah. this is just my personal opinion k, dun mean to offend anyone. peace! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i have a qn to ask..is it rude/offensive for a pregnant woman to walk through a chinese funeral; esp if she's a non-chinese? i'm a malay muslim and last week, i had to pass along this multi-purpose hall on my way home and there was a funeral going on. i was walking on the walkway beside it while the people were chanting / praying. i can feel that those ppl were looking at me but i didnt look. is it offensive of me to walk there? i didnt think of anything coz for us it's not a taboo or anything but after that i was wondering if i had offended anyone? any comments?

saffy,

oh u too? seems like its quite common then, nothing to fret abt. lol. ya, i was quite taken aback when i first noticed the hair growth on my tummy! then i started to examine every inch of my body to see anymore unusual hair growth. haha.

cheekrene,

u mean a preggie lady cannot carry a newborn within her 3mths of pregnancy or before the newborn turns 3 mth old?? sorry i'm a little confused.

alibaba,

cannot take/eat cakes & red eggs etc, what abt the buffet food? or everything also cannot eat?? this couple is actually my hb's friends. the guy is my hb's gd fren since NS days. its also taboo for preggie woman to attend a wedding but this couple still came (they are christians though so not too pantang). in fact, i have 4 preggie mums at my wedding banquet. i think hb will be upset if we dun go lor.

Ednique, U won't offend anyone. I think ppl look at u cos u are so brave to walk pass them. We chinese have taboo not to go near funeral esp for pregnant woman.