(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

went to see Dr Ang yest. Finally saw my flickering bean! into my 8 weeks now. EDD est to be 26th Aug instead.

feeling bloated and no appetite lately. its the start of MS ..haiz...

Morning! I also feel very tired at night. Or i should say after the sunset. i've craving for sweet stuffs, i guess i'm having a girl. That's wat my in-law told me.

sunflower, i guess urs is a girl, cos u love to drink sweet drinks. Just a guess. hee...

purelyz ,

i eat sweet stuff i feel like puking , so i might be having another boy ! haha , if #2 also boy , think can svae alot of money , cos if i have a girl , sure everything also want to buy ! haha

purelyz,

is it? actually i already have the feeling is a girl but im hoping for boy leh...but its ok lar.. now i only pray smooth pregnancy and baby is healthy..

ya i super like sweet stuff..the sweeter the better.

Starz,

im taking vit B6 now leh..and also vomit pills , doesnt help also leh.. i think MS is stronger than all medications haha..

Morning Lovely Mothers...

Im back to chat...

: )

Hmmm...I dont have cravings for sweet things..but yes to spicy & hot stuffs...

The more spicy the better...Woohoo...

sunflower,

becos when i've my boy last time, i love to eat rojak, fried chicken wings, mee siam, chicken rice. But now i love to eat things with black sweet sauce, honey drink, ice cream and fruits.

star,

i find our 6th sense very accurate. If deep inside ur heart, u feel it's a girl. it should be more than 50% accurate. I tested with my sis-in law. Haha!

i dun have craving for anything now. which is bad cos cant seem to have anything to motivate me to eat. yesterday lunch feel so terrible, walk ard the hawker cannot find anything i want to eat, i just bought french fries to eat in the end.

haha~ yah... when I told my hubby about my predicted gender, he look a bit disappointed. Think he wanna have a son then we dun have to try for 2nd one... haha~

Angela,

I'm also into spicy food lor... the suan la tang, mee siam, mee rebus, assam... yum yum... lol~ maybe we will have a "hot" bb girl/boy...

morning ladies!

yea i heard that if u crave for sweet stuffs -shd be a gal and salty stuffs-boy...

i wish tat i'm yearning for sweet stuffs man...but i think as long as its smthing that can excite my sense of taste,anythin also can...

sianz hubby going to play golf this sat at JB..n i hv to bring baby to collect passport then to playschool..so much for priviledges for a preggie!insensitive brute!!;(

good morning!

i am seriously hoping for a girl as well, though when i had my first one (boy) i was also into sweet things so i guess cravings are not accurate for me!

Saffy,

u just give me some hope! haha..

Angela,

how bout engaging a master to calculate strokes?

now very hard to find confinement ladies.. alot good ones fully booked up till oct.. so fast!!!

Gd morning all!

i have a feeling that my baby will be a girl.. hehe i just had this feeling before i even become pregnant.. some of my friends when they look at me they too say that my baby may be a girl.. does anyone of you get such comments? like when ppl look at you they can tell the gender of your baby..

Starz--> I'm currently taking Enfamma chocolate flavour and its nice too

Actually the craving myth depend on pp bah. Hopefully mine is true.

ednique,

when i've my boy, pp look at my pointed belly, say cfm boy. Then it's correct. Now my belly not big yet, so can't tell. But last meeting with my frens, straight aft dinner, we go starbuck, i order caramel hot choc with a oreo cheese cake. All of them look at me and goes... wow! u really can eat! Make me so peiseh. One of them say it's a girl, cos i eat so many sweet stuffs!

actually i think this kind of saying G or B is not accurate one . Cos gender is either B or G , so is a 50 - 50 , so if u say to 10 preggy lady , if u like sweet thing is girl , think a few will be girl so they thing is accurate . My cousin when preggy , her look change till very ugly and end up is boy , n when i got my boy , my look no change at all . And some pple say if mummy look change is girl , cos girl steal mummy beauty ... G or B depend on the hubby one . For my hunny , he no eat vege one , think my #2 will be boy too ... haha

i think my baby's chinese name my fil will also go hire master. he was already telling us the names he tot of already.

i copied the below from the july2010mtb thread. (hope nobody minds cos it looks interesting)

ur edd in lunar mth: u look at the english calender, then see what the corresponding lunar MONTH is. for e.g, if 6 (june) is even or 7 (july) is odd.

ur age in lunar: e.g 31, if birthday before edd, take the last digit which is 1 as odd. if birthday is after edd, then add 1 more year for your lunar age which is 32, a even.

its said that if ur result is even + even or odd + odd, u r expecting a GIRL. only if ur result is even + odd or odd + even, then its a BOY.

hope this does not sound too confusing.

for me, my lunar mth is 6 = even

my lunar age is 34 (birthday in feb which is before edd in aug) = even

so result = GIRL

which also corresponds with 2 other tests i took on babycenter.

i was hoping for a girl too cos think a boy will be too much for me to handle. lol.

so try it mtb & let me know if its accurate for u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i think its safer to take as even bah cos next digit is 1 which is odd. usually nos go in even, odd, even, odd etc.

hehe... i got odd+even as the result, meants that I will have a bb boy?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ducklingeshop,

thanks for the website. It will be useful later

angel,

my edd is 10 aug, which is lunar 7th mth day 1. So it's odd. Then my edd is after bd, lunar age 28 + 1= 29, so it's odd. It should be odd + odd = girl. M i correct?

ducklingeshop,

yes indeed & does this also works for ur 1st child? (i see fr chart u r expecting #2) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

purelyz,

yes, that will be right. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but wouldn't there be a vary of results if u calculate before your birthday and after your birthday?

dreamz,

think this will depend if ur birthday comes before or after ur edd.

so far mtb in the july thread have mentioned its accurate so far.

nevertheless, this is just for fun (take with a pinch of salt lah) so we can have some anticipation before the actual confirmation by gynae ya.

Quite a good web-page to go when you are looking for the ping yi and meaning of the word.

http://www.mandarintools.com/chardict.html

i try with my 1st boy:

If i calculate with doc given edd, it is lunar 1st mth, so it's odd, bd before edd is 27, it's odd. Result not correct.

But the exact delivery is earlier, it is on lunar 12th mth, so it's even. Then it will give correct result. even + odd = boy.

purelyz,

that's interesting. think i got read if ur lunar mth is beginning or end, its a bit tricky cos ur actual edd may be earlier or later.

daintyaqua> haha no la just asking cos dunno which age I should use. cos is a few days earlier i use to calculate, my result will be different cos I just turn 29 for english age. So should i use 28 or 29?

anyway my lunar age i also dunno whether to take age+1 or age+2, cos i was born in Jan which is before CNY, anyone can confirm lunar age should +1 or +2?

Angel,

I tried for my first girl too, result opp with purelyz le...

my actual edd acc to gynae was lunar 10th mth = even, & bd b4 edd is even, so even+even is girl. But actual fact I had the c-sec which bb schedule out 1 week earlier, then the lunar calander was fall on 9th mth liao :p; result not correct too... haha... anyway, it is just for fun la [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thot to share this article from babycentre.uk

Do I have to give up caffeine now that I'm pregnant?

You don't have to give up caffeine, but you may want to cut down.

If you have too much caffeine your baby could have a lower birth weight than he should (CARE 2008). A low birth weight increases the risk of your baby having some health problems when he's born and in the future. There is also a possibility that high levels of caffeine could cause miscarriage (FSA n.d. b). One study suggested that even low levels of caffeine could be linked to miscarriage (Weng et al 2008).

Guidelines issued by the Food Standards Agency recommend that pregnant women have no more than 200mg of caffeine a day (FSA n.d. a). This is equivalent to two mugs of instant coffee or four cups of tea or five cans of cola per day (FSA n.d.a).

What exactly does caffeine do to my body?

Caffeine is a stimulant; it increases your heart rate and metabolism, which in turn affects your developing baby (OTIS 2006). But while unremitting stress isn't healthy, brief bouts of fetal stress, such as that your baby would feel after you drink a cup of coffee, shouldn't cause him any harm. It's akin to your dashing to the bus, another situation that briefly boosts your heart rate and metabolism.

Anyone who drinks coffee regularly knows that it can be addictive and that large amounts can also cause insomnia, nervousness, and headaches (Chawla et al 2006). It's also a diuretic, which causes your body to lose water and other fluids, all of which you need to maintain a healthy pregnancy.

Tea and coffee can also hamper your body's ability to absorb iron if you drink it with a meal or within half an hour of a meal (FSA n.d. b).

Which foods and beverages contain caffeine?

Caffeine can be found in coffee, tea, colas, and chocolate. Some over-the-counter drugs, including headache and cold tablets, stay-awake medications, and allergy remedies also contain caffeine. Always seek your pharmacist's advice before you buy over-the counter remedies, and don't forget to mention that you are pregnant.

Even the amount of caffeine in coffee and tea can vary widely depending on whether the coffee grounds or tea leaves are brewed or instant, weak or strong. Colas and other drinks vary in caffeine content, too. See the list below for average caffeine amounts in some common foods and beverages (FSA n.d. b). You might be surprised how easily you can get a large dose of caffeine.

• 1 mug of instant coffee = 100mg

• 1 cup of instant coffee = 75mg

• 1 cup of brewed coffee = 100mg

• 1 cup of tea = 50mg

• 1 can of cola = 40mg

• 1 can of "energy" drink = 80mg

• 1 x 50g bar of plain chocolate = up to 50mg

• 1 x 50g bar of milk chocolate = up to 25mg

I'd like to kick the caffeine habit - just to be safe. Any tips?

You may find your taste buds do the cutting back for you. Many women find their fondness for a cup of coffee evaporates during the first trimester when their sense of taste changes and nausea can strike.

Otherwise, to reduce the caffeine in homemade hot beverages, brew them for a shorter time. If you love a soothing cup of Earl Grey, steeping your tea bag for just one minute instead of five reduces the caffeine by as much as half. Many tea companies now offer decaffeinated black or green teas.

Although herb teas often have no caffeine, make sure you read the ingredients list. You'll want to avoid large amounts of caffeine as well as certain herbs and additives that may not be safe during pregnancy. (Read more on the safety of herbs in pregnancy.)

If you're a devoted coffee or cola fan, caffeine withdrawal isn't easy. To minimise symptoms, which include headaches, fatigue, weakness and drowsiness, ease off gradually (Chawla et al 2006). Cut back by half a cup of the beverage each day. You can also try switching from freshly brewed to instant coffee.

If coffee fills an emotional need, such as your private coffee break, or it's an early morning ritual or the perfect end to a meal, you could switch to a cup of decaffeinated coffee or tea. If you're hankering for an ice-cold cola, reach for the caffeine-free version at least some of the time or, better yet, try a glass of mineral water with a dash of lime cordial.

angel,

if tis bb come out earlier than edd, it will give diff result, cos lunar mth change. But jus for hope and joy, i will take the result now. It's a girl. Haha!

ducklingeshop,

it's also interesting result. Haha! Ya, jus for fun lo.

here's my calculation...

my edd in lunar mth: lunar 7th month = odd.

my age in lunar: 31 (since birthday before edd), last digit = 1 = odd

so odd + odd = GIRL...

like my gut feel... lol~ will know whether this is accurate 2-3months later... hehe~

dreamz,

if ur english birthday is 29, i think just take as odd cos birthday before edd, no need add 1yr to ur age.

ducklingeshop,

perhaps not so accurate for mtb opting for c-sect ya cos usually will be 1-2 weeks earlier than edd. lol.

haha, for me, no impact cos even if c-sect is 1-2 weeks earlier, still fall within the same lunar mth.

anyway, no need to take the result so seriously, this kind of test dun have 100% accuracy, perhaps just a high or low probability only lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

purelyz,

Just realize that we have the same EDD date... according to the Lunar calendar, it fall on 1st day of 7th mth le... yes, gender will change if bb out earlier (as i think is quite common for 2nd time mum)... emm... i shd also just take the result now... it's a boy! ha!

dreymin,

thanks for sharing. i used to drink those ice-blended coffees fr coffee bean but have stopped completely since preggie. think still can drink my fave malibu drink though. :p

i quite kiasu. even chocolates with coffee, i also avoid. but in the initial stage, w/o much thinking, i also got happily munched pineapple tarts and drink green tea (consider tea also ya?) once. still felt very guilty. heehee

my gynae says NO smoking, alcohol, coffee, tea & pineapple.

ducklingeshop,

my 1st one consider induce, so not so accurate. i tink to "stay happy' for another 2 to 3 mths, we jus take the result for NOW. Hee...

Before i got preg, i told my hubby, i won't wan to noe the gender till give birth. But only 2 mths plus, i can't wait to find out! Haha! My hubby say he will tell doc dun tell me.

Angel,

I read that it is better to avoid green tea and any of those ang mo herbal tea cuz we also not sure how it will affect the bb... always check with gynae...

my gynae say i can drink coffee, tea and eat pineapple as long as in moderation... but i never lar..

any idea whether we can drink yakult?

btw, just to share here since i'll be going for my oscar test at TMC next mon.

mine is under a package (P6) which is oscar test + FA (detailed) scan @ 20wks, i called up to chk on the price, the package (both oscar + FA scan) costs $438.

my hb & i decide to sign up for the FBI (first born incentive program, there is also SBI - subsequent born incentive program for mtb expecting #2 or more). it costs $148 for 2yrs and offers 10% discounts for these tests/scans. there are also discounts off ur hospital bills & 5% off delivery costs if ur gynae is participating in this program, among others.

we think its quite worthwhile cos with the 10% discounts, we only pay ard $395 for the whole package which is very reasonable. i read some mtb can pay as much as $500 just for the oscar test alone!

fumiko,

can help me update my hospital to TMC. thx! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haha, some of u has been thinking abt c-sec and induce, etc... but once we know the gender next month, it shouldn't change even though we opt for c-sec or induce... i think all the calculations are presumed everything is normal...

I see that some of u changes your edd, but I thought edd shouldn't change based on our LMP then +/- 2 weeks... unless your menses is irregular.

peeyore,

i believe some mtb changed their edd date after their visit to the gynae cos the edd is indicated in the scan itself so they just update accordingly.