(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

jascmy - dun peel! will make them worse.. at least if wanna peel wet your lips with water first then gently rub off the dead skin..

The only other alternative I can think of is vaseline or olive oil already.

Congrats ducklingeshop !

everyday got good news!

winnie,

oh, so the v-area pain is becos bb head is very low liao har ? i better be prepared too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fumiko_neko (cathccl)

Your colleague is half right. Not using Epi does make mothers experience more of the actual birth and bonds with the baby but more importantly medically speaking epidural or worst (other forms of stronger pain killers) will affect the newborn and most studies suggest that babies will have trouble "latching on" which can lead to breastfeeding difficulties. Other studies suggest that the baby may experience respiratory depression, fetal malpositioning; and an increase in fetal heart rate variability, which may increase the need for forceps, vacuum, cesarean deliveries and episiotomies

Benefits of Natural Childbirth

1. Mothers who labor naturally can move freely, go to the bathroom, walk and change positions throughout labor. According to the Cochrane Review, recent studies have shown that getting medication makes changing positions even after birth more difficult.

2. Since you can feel your body's reflexes in natural childbirth, mothers can push better and generally faster. In fact studies show that getting an epidural prolongs your pushing time.

3. The pain during labor serves a purpose by guiding the mother to seek certain positions. For example, if her back hurts, she will naturally seek positions off her back which can help to turn her baby. Having back pain is one sign that the baby might be posterior and needs to rotate.

4. Mothers often describe that their recovery after a natural childbirth was faster and easier since they could get right up and walk and shower. Usually they eat right away and their appetite is normal.

5. Endorphins secreted during a natural childbirth have been found in the placenta and umbilical cord. This may serve a purpose to help the baby adjust to life outside as well as make the journey more comfortable for baby.

6. Research has shown that in mothers who have natural childbirth, babies are more alert and show more interest in pre-breastfeeding behaviours such as sucking and massaging the mother's breasts, as well as the actual length of time they spend nursing within the first 90 minutes

Sunflower, my V area also pain leh. meaning Bb turn liao and going lower? Already have 2 person say I will deliver by 31 Jul. Choy choy loh.... I only 35+wk next week leh.

Madam Yip, ok I will try to stop peeling. Will check with gynea on Mon.

morningz...

cheekrene:

wah, your gynae so nice got give absorbent mats.

i only use my own old towels. *heehee... yeah man... thk we gan chiong coz dunno wat to expect.

it's like tick tock tick tock, any day could be the day... hope everything will be smooth going for us all... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mandyn & ducklingeshop: congrats!!!

jascmy,

i also duno leh..will ask gynae tomorrow because mine already head engage at pelvic, but seems like coming even lower.. yours head down already?

Sunflower, don know leh. I will only see gynea on MOnday. Hope Bb head down liao. If not I will end up like Ah Bee, hav to go thru c-sect.

ktm really reminds me of our dear friend Kate.

yes yes we all know how wonderful natural painkiller free childbirth is for us and our babies. That one google can already, along with all pregnancy info we wanted to know without needing "helpful" people sending us on guilt trips even before the baby is born.

Mothers are also humans, our wombs aren't made of iron. Sometimes in trying to be hero we may do more harm to ourselves and our babies when medically speaking, we should have just listen to our doctors and take the painkiller when needed to.

Morning.... Juz seen woody

bb nw weighs 2.7kg liao....now I thinking if I shd delivery next tue.... He says can deliver anytime after tue

mi nw waiting at bus stop for my boi.... Bringing him for jab nw before meimei comes out

Sorry about the guilt trip, that's something I am not able to help. I am just sharing critical information.

Cesarean section increase many of the risks to mothers and babies. When this risk is weighed against other circumstances, it can be the better choice, however, sometimes it is a choice of convenience, or a matter of lack of information.

If you have not already had a epidural or spinal anesthesia for labor, or this is a scheduled cesarean, and not an emergency cesarean, you will most likely be given a regional anesthetic (epidural or spinal). If there is a reason that you can't get regional anesthesia or it is an emergency you will be given a general anesthetic. You may be offered or want to watch for someone giving you a pre-operative sedative. If you are not particularly nervous about the cesarean, you may want to forego this medication. It can reach the baby and make it harder to start the baby breathing after a narcotic (usually), and it can make you groggy an unaware during the birth. After the birth your regional anesthesia will help you be pain free for a few hours, after which you will be prescribed some other type of pain medication (narcotic or otherwise).

good morning mummies!

congrats to all who have given birth, looks like it has been a very exciting week so far.

last night was the first night we spent the night at home. baby alice woke up every 1.5h to feed, so we could only snatch a few power naps each time.

for those intending to go natural with epi, remember to bring lip balm hor... especially if you already have dry lips. coz only allowed to sip little bit water (in case you puke), and the delivery suite can be quite dry/cold.

i guess all mummies will know how to google pregnancy information that they want to know n learn about it.. we will keep it to our heart n avoid doing it if we know certain stuff will be harmful to our body or our baby but i think we dont need it to be 'broadcast' out n start making all mummies to be kan cheong..

I think to opt for epi or c-sec, is not really something we can control...

it all depends on our body whether we can take it or the baby's position...

best person to advise of cos is gynae, i believe since we entrust him/her with this responsibility,

they should be able to give us the best he/she could...

last night, my aunt give me another contact of malay massage which is very good too (according to my aunt).

Her schedule is also very full one... and she even bring her massage bed along to your house, charges $50 too but without free bb massage...

I was wondering if i should change to her instead if the one i book is unavailable??

saffy, thanks for the reminder [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pd0513 - my sentiments exactly. Since we are all posting here means we all have internet access and know how to use search engines. Not to mention our gynaes are a phonecall away.. as well as all our friends and female relatives who had given birth before us to provide us with information. If we wanna know anything we will ask in the forum.

tikey,

thanks for sharing your story! share with us your bb's photos soon. =)

ducklingeshop,

congratulation!

jascmy,

my hands skin is peeling for months, so need to apply more moisturizer.

Morning all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

what happened to this kate?

Ohh yes thanks suika, have gotten the wine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] smells strong.

i thought the abott bag was sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyways, i have the first niece in my family last night[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sis tried VBAC this round. Before i could visit her, she told me she's able to discharge today..

another concern is that my hb niece has a birthday celebration which will be held tomorrow and we are asked to stay over the chalet over 2nights.. I am backing out last minute with some concerns and would likened ask if any of u would still stay over at chalet this time. I am sort of feeling bad though will still attend the real celebration tomorrow..

Morning everyone,

ktm, appreciate your very detailed info. But it's not helping... esp not for me as a first time mom. You have just managed to set off my panic alarm. The main purpose of me in this forum is looking for SUPPORT which I have found in many of the friends here. Not referring to you though....

Charmaine, so shiok hor, can sleep in this rainy weather...how are you feeling? still having contractions?

MVH, how are you also? Is it time yet?

mdm yip,

agrees with what u have said too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] different websites will have different information but they are all just for references... dont need to be so specifically copy n paste it on the forum to 'announce' it, it might create panicky among mummies who probably did not come across this information n start to be kan cheong, wondering n worrying..

if we wanna know anything or unsure about anything, we can always ask our gynae cuz they are the best person to answer your worries.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

penguin_88 - about kate, I hope she has given birth safely and her baby keeping her occupied enough to deter her from coming to this forum to feed us information we rather get from a certified, experienced healthcare professional when necessary.

WL,

Sleep sleep.. think my hb enjoyed it more than me.. he can always sleep till 8:30 then rush to work one and I always got to wake up 2 times for urine and sometimes DB..

Penguin,

TO me, it will depend on how many people are staying. Do you have to share room with others?

Wah.. Okie.. chill all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Time to have lunch don fret over unnecessary stuffs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] still waiting for my next checkup which is next Monday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Penguin_88,

my personal pts of view is not advisable to stay overnite at chalet cos u can hav better n more comfortable rest at home. All of us due soon so better b more careful. =)

oh no, just went to ladies and found some red discharge...

will monitor, hopefully can tahan till tomorrow's gynae's visit.

Charmaine: it's my hb, his parents, sis and hb and daughter and me.. I just don feel good about it.. Can say don feel like going somewhere strange nowadays. I remembered I'd always love chalets last time but now totally different feeling[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyone have this same feeling? Really hate to step out of the house as well.. Because of this last min backing out, my hb decides not to stay as well.. It's making his sis's hb mad[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but in fact, we are not sure of the reason we are asked to stay over though..

Penguin_88,

your n your baby is much more important than anything else. Your hb's sis n her husband should understand cos they oso gone thru tis stage. I will suggest u go to attend but go home rest after tat.