(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

charmaine,

good luck! let us know when your bb arrives ya. =)

ah_beee,

i also scare my colleague can't handle her new workload. She's very careless de, and i always have to correct her mistake. might have to worry about work even during confinement!

What are the signs of fetal distress?

Unfortunately, there are very few ways to know that your fetus is in distress in utero. One thing that we do rely a lot on is the "kick count." The mother does this herself while going on with her normal daily activities. If the fetus has not accomplished at least 10 movements from after breakfast until the mid-afternoon, we ask the mother to call us. If the 10 movements have been accomplished, she does not worry about counting any further until the next day. We usually only ask mothers who have or are at risk for problems or have complained of decreased fetal movement to do this activity.

If someone calls and says that her baby has not moved ten times in the time period, then she is asked to come into the office for a Non-Stress Test (NST). The patient should have eaten recently, emptied her bladder and should drink some fluids. She is hooked up to the fetal monitor and asked to push a button each time she feels the baby move. At the same time that she does this, a small mark is made on the monitor strip. (A lot of times we find that the baby is indeed moving frequently but the mother has become so used to the movements that she did not notice it for a while.) The monitor strip is also registering the fetal heart rate and any uterine activity.

At the time of the movement we like to see a corresponding rise in the fetal heart rate of at least 15 beats above the baseline that lasts for at least 15 seconds. We need to see at least 2 of these accelerations in a ten minute time frame and the test should be no less than 20 minutes in duration. We also do not want to see any decelerations in the fetal heart rate occurring with or without movement or in response to a contraction. These are the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology standards for this test, and the test should be evaluated by a physician.

If this test if found to be non-reassuring -- which would be noted by lack of fetal movement, lack of corresponding accelerations with movement or decelerations of the heart rate -- further testing would be ordered. This may involve an ultrasound to assess the well being of the fetus, a biophysical profile. Further monitoring would also be indicated. If these tests were not reassuring, delivery may be necessary.

Fetal distress during the labor and delivery phase can be noted similarly by observing the baby on a fetal monitor. Decelerations of the fetal heart rate occurring with a contraction can be a normal response by the baby, as long as the baby returns to baseline as the contraction is ending and the deceleration was not "too deep for too long."

If the fetal heart rate should go down and not return to baseline promptly with increased fluids, oxygen and position changes, this could indicate a problem that could mean a quick delivery is necessary.

Repetitive, subtle decelerations that occur after a contraction has begun and a return to baseline after the contraction is well over ("late decelerations") are considered an ominous sign, and the delivery is usually quick if the baby does not respond to the same measures I mentioned above.

Please bear in mind that the evaluation of a fetal monitor strip is a very complicated process, and I am just giving you a few basics here. This is not something that should be undertaken by an amateur, and should only be done by a highly-trained professional who has had specific training in the area of fetal monitoring.

The color of the amniotic fluid can also be considered a sign of fetal distress. The fluid should be clear but can be discolored. If it is green or dark brown (stained with meconium, a baby's first bowel movement), this would indicate there has been stress on the baby. Of course, who would not consider labor, in and of itself, stressful? If it is bloody, this could indicate a bleeding problem with the placenta.

There is further testing that can be done, such as a scalp pH, but that would depend on the evaluation of the situation by the physician.

Again, I ask that you consider that the evaluation of all of the things I mentioned above should be done by highly-trained professionals. It pays to be an informed patient, and I advocate your right to know what is going on wholeheartedly, but let the professionals you trust with your own and your baby's care do their jobs

I hav juz seen my gyane bb weight 2.8kg as of 37 wk plus.. She ask me to slow down n dun walk so fast still can tahan till next wk for cs..

She even comment my bb head v low liao..

Gg to see her again on next wed to draw blood n see astheristic* duno hw to spell* to review can I go for full GA of 1/2 epi!

Congrats Mandy!

Take care of yrself n keep us updated, Chermaign! Jia you!

I m on waiting game now... Just felt hardening for abt 1 min twice.. Now it is gone...

eeyore_03,

you are right it is near to jubliee.

i m not so familiar with amk, so cfm aft checkg streetdirectory.

mandyn,

congrats on the safe delivery! it is quite common for babies to have jaundice, hope she discharges soon.

i do not hv the chinese name link, sorry.

MVH and charmaine,

take care and keep us posted when you pop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunflower,Jasmine,Starz,Pekkle,winnie,Charmaine,MVH and dreymin

Sunflower, my cervix dilate 2cm at wk35 and 4cm at wk36.

Charmaine, Jiayou!

Starz,

For your question :

- need to bring maternity pads? if so, estimate how many pcs?

Yes you need cause any additional you ask from TMC is chargeable. Do bring your own. The maternity pad is those loop type without wings.

- for disposable undies, recommend bring how many pcs?

Just a pack or 2

- need to bring extra diapers for bb?

Nope will be provided by hospital

- necessary to bring breast pump? if really need, can loan from hospital?

I bought mine there but did not use it cause was latching when in hospital anyway inital few days no milk yet.

- TMC provide blanket for companion?

Yes they do. Around 9pm the nurse will come and dress up the sofa bed for companion towel, pillow will be provided

Another infomation for those staying in TMC, you can actually rent their baby hospital cot from TMC. Rental and payment can be made at TMC pharmacy. I find it very useful as the cot is small enough to move around in every part of the house.

Hi and thks everyone for e wishes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eeyore, thks for updating. Baby Isaac weighing 3kg and height 51cm

Last night had beef hor fun for supper before admitting to Mt. A at midnight.

My birth story:

5am : nurse came to put edema to clear bowel and change to hospital gown

6.30am : push up to operating floor. It was a busy day coz there are 3 more c-section case around e same time. Hb also change to operating attire.

7.15am : I was push into OT while hb waiting outside. I was administered epidural, it was not as scary as I thought and Was told hb only allow to come in once Woody give e green light, in case I chickenout and wanted GA. Coz some mummies might still feel e pain due to some tissue tat couldn't be numb.

7.30am: saw Woody and he chk if e epi is in and feeling numb. After 5 mins of epi I started to feel like vomitting but only vomit air. Woody give green light, Hubby was call to come in OT.

7.40am: after some pressure feeling, and e nurse help to push my tummy, bb Isaac is out at 7.46am

hb took pictures, nurse wrap bb up and placed him on my chest for like 5mins before bringing bb to weigh and wash up. Hb follow bb, while I'm being sew up.

After op I felt myself shivering, which they say it's normal due to after epi effect. That's all for my straight forward delivery.

Wish all mummies a smooth delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tikey > thanks for sharing birth story!

my epi c section is scheduled for 8am 30 Jul...still thinking i shld check into Mt E at midnite or get to hospital at 4-5 am....thot might get better rest at home? hmmm....

Pekkle

I thk u will hv a better sleep at home. For me I didn't hv much sleep at hospital and at e moment I admitted there are no single room available till afternoon and hubby hv no place to sleep.

Congrats to Mandyn!!

Jia yu & all e best to Charmaine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yo, just rec'v an SMS from ducklingeshop, she has delivered early morning at 4 plus, update u all again when I reach off.

Charmaine,

so early today?? cannot sleep again or contraction??

duckling says she gives birth to bb boy Shaun @ 4:19 AM, 2.69 kg via e-sec.

wow congrats to mandyn, ducklingshop & tikey!!

now feel v kan chiong..dunno when i will pop..lol..

and feelin i cant tahan e pain..most likely will use epi...

i got one coll who keep boasting she nv use epi..

and say she is REAL WOMAN AND HERO cos she nv use epi..

-_-'''

Morning.. Ducklingshop u pop liao? Tot our bb will hav the same bday. She pop 6 days earlier, congrats!

Tiley: thanks u for sharing ur birth story, u make me feel nt so scary bout 1/2 Epi..

winnie,

her boi so gan jiong to meet the world...

She had contraction and bleeding so no choice need to e-csec...

So that concludes that if u schedule your c-sec later

but have symptoms for delivery can still go for emergency c-sec.

My lips have been very dry and skin peeling off for the past few weeks.

Anyone have this? What happened ah??

I keep peeling the skin off myself till sometimes it bleed.

Morning all , rainy day again !

Went for my gynae appt last night , babay weight 2 weeks ago was 2.5kg+ , yesterday was 2.4kg+ !!! at week 36++ ... thats was small ! then gynae told me is ok , think is under estimate cos bb position last night not good , cant get good scan ... anyone happen to encounter this also ? i so worry bb no grow !

Jascmy ,

mine also , alot of dry skin on lips and i peel till bleed , and my lip look scarey , with a patch n a patch of red everywhere ... althought i drink alot of water daily , guess its normal , if u want , u can apply some lip gloss ... but i didnt

White_lady, eeyore_03, I also drink lots of water everyday. Still very dry. It does not help at all after I apply lip gloss or even salt.

Something funny is that, last sunday I had my 1st coconut drink and my lips immediately looks better. But next day come back again. Our body too heaty?

The medical hall auntie say I'm lack of Vit C.

Hav to check with gynea next Mon.

congrats ducklingshop!

tikey > thanks for the advice...yeah think will rest at home and check into the hospital later....at least can have a relaxing shower at home before going to the hospital....if cant get some sleep at home, at least still can watch TV programs in the comfort our house ya...

morning all!!

jascmy,

me also have dry n crack lips too.. i also keep peeling till bleeds, the feeling very uncomfortable..

congrats to mandyn & ducklingshop and their newborn babies... :D

Wow, everyday I login just to see who popped. I'm getting very excited too.. Congrats to all the new mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

neko -> I think your colleague is just plain bo liao. Taking epi doesn't make cowards of women who opt for it. Neither does those who have to go c-sect or opt for c-sect. Becoming a mum and going through the trials of pregnancy is already not an easy process, every woman is a heroine for bravely taking up the role.

Anyway it is not how we deliver that really counts, it is how well we take care and bring up our children later on that matters more. Delivery is one day (ok, maybe two), but bringing up a child is a lifetime responsibility.

Jascmy, whitelady, how about lip balm? can consult gynae if not sure if it is safe for pregnancy. I'm using neutrogena, so far ok for me.

Madam Yip, ya u are right!!!

so i tink i will opt for epi if i really cannot endure e pain

at first after hearing wat she say..i feel like i so lousy..got to use epi..

neko, yeah I also plan to opt for epi if I cannot tahan the pain.

When we extract tooth we also let dentist inject anesthesia, so nothing wrong with having anesthesia when something so much bigger is coming out of something so much smaller from our bodies! LOL Like an article I read say, they don't give out medals for bravery at delivery wards! :D

eeyore: ya lol, her boi so gan chiong to see the world.. hehehe..

ytd i went to see gyane she ask me slow dwn my movment so that i can last till my fixed CS date... i'm praying hope my gal can be LEo..

Madam Yip, I'm also using neutrogena. B4 preggie, its good for me, will recover the very next day. But now no use leh. Lips still very dry. Can;'t stand it anymore. My hands itchy keep peeling.