(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

pillow: yup, agree with you - that's why i am looking only at kindys near my place. But the pri school next to my house is "not normal" lei...so i gotta PV, etc to get my kid in for his and my convenience - that means i will have to drive him after getting him in...oops! Or just get him into a normal school further away...haha!

bdmummy: Yeah, my first choice currently is marymount, then zion. Considering Newton because it is a chinese pre-school and I am a "banana", so i gotta rely on a good kindy to provide a good chinese foundation for my boy. Going to visit the kindys one of these days. Marymount got waitlist also? But registration for 2013 only starts in early 2012 lei...

actually, I'm also not the kind that will do PV.

Too lazy but most importantly, I also dun wanna stressed up my kid cuz me & my HB also not the very academically driven type...heehee.

Hi, think one mummy mentioned that she has missed the photobook promo.. just received an email that it's portrait imagewrap is at 70% discount.

hi Justina,

it's for photobook singapore as well?

the email i received is for photobook malaysia. wanted to get it as i can purchase the medium imagewrap.

who still wants the 70% off voucher for large imagewrap from photobook singapore?

i would like to sell it away.

good morning,

something to share on the childcare vs playgroup

i sent my elder one to full day childcare @ 22 months. 1 reason is because i was preg with #2 and need to relieve the load of my MIL.

why full day? cos no one to pick her up in the noon time.

i am happy with the decision cos i don't have to worry about MIL last minute fall sick. and i can have the flexibility of let her ponteng school if MIL 'decided' to take care of her.

some of my friends registered their kid to full day childcare and attend halfday only. PIL bring the kid home to let the kid have a second serving of lunch, take bath and nap at home. if the PIL has something to do, let the kid stay in the childcare centre till parents come home.

it's flexible, and the cost for full-day and halfday is not much anyway.

will send #2 to full day childcare in Jan 2013 (28 months). and my MIL can retire but on standby mode in case any of them fall sick and cannot go school.

I hv no choice but pc cos ai tong is the nearest primary sch in my estate. I stay at upp Thomson. It's not bcos I wanted to get my girl to a prestigious sch. If I dont pv, she may end up studying elsewhere.

photobook

pls pm me if any mummy want to buy the 70% large image wrapped...

I bought 4 books on the 70% promo...super KS!... dont know whether i can use up by April 2012.

let me know if anyone want to take over from me.

JP: PV or don't PV, it's your prerogative. and it's your child. you just want the best for her, right? cheers!

Ica

Dun get me wrong. Am not angry. Sorry I sounded like I am but given my situation am at a disadvantage. So I really hv no choice but must sign up for pv...

Bdmummy

Aitong needs traffic wArdens... But any1 can volunteer for that. If u hv special skills, ie. U can do photography, can plan for events, can paint or provide Reno or can maintain website, etc. Think they need these skills

JP: no lah, i know you're not angry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] every action, there's always a reason(s) behind it. no need to apologise de

i have to share a hilarious story about a fren at a PV interview.

to her horror, she had to brace herself for a presentation in front of a panel of "judges" and in the audience of other parent volunteers! haha she was indeed paiseh when they ask what can she offer? if she is needed during working hours, how can she make it since working?

she had to reply, "i will take leave!"

?!!! really ah. she was just lying at the spur of moment when asked by school.

i didnt think of that as for real!

Egg white:

This afternoon i just intro my boy hard boiled egg white. To my horror, within half an hr of eating, he developed rashes all over his body. Rash started from his mouth, ears, chin then to his whole body. I only intro him a quarter of egg white. Quickly sent him to pd cos he was crying badly. Pd cfmed is allergy to egg white. She said the allergy may stop when he is 3 yrs old.

So i asked her if he can still take MMR jab, cos if im not wrong, it contains egg? She said still can take but must put boy under observation in the clinic after the jab for 1 hr. Im quite skeptical cos what if smthg happens to him? Any mummies can advise for such case? My intention is to let him take MMR b4 18mths b4 putting him in cc.

Charliebrown: My friend's son is 4 yo now and he has not taken the MMR jab yet coz he is allergic to egg white (his son attends full day CC). I did raise allergy to pd and he said only very very little traces of egg in it. So I guess it is really your call or comfort level.

Charliebrown: hope yr boy recovers soon! I think I better tell my ILs to only let my boy try egg after he turns 1 & when I am around!

Thanks bdmummy and Junie. My boy just turned one so I thought should intro egg white since he is fine with egg yolk all this while. So guess must watch out what I feed him next time for egg content.

The MMR I think I should delay, cos got another mummy similar to my case said her pd advise to delay it till 2years old...

xiao yun

promo is for photobook singapore too - for medium and large books [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

by the way, anyone can recommend the "best" ready book designs to use?

bdmummy: I will be there at 10.30am like that too. Need to make appt? They just asked me to go down lei so I never make appt. I am going to CD @ Hilltop to take a look first before going down to LV.

LV @ Grassroot Openhouse: Anyone else going?

For the photobook, I bought the vouchers and started using the sftware....but then how do I choose if I want medium side instead and upgrade the pages?

Ann: Me! Will be going to LV @ Grassroot Openhouse around 10 plus. Wanna look see to keep my options open though full day CC is not my plan for 2012.

Mrslong: When you start a project in photobook, select the medium book. When you are done and ready to submit your order, you can upgrade the pages accordingly. There will be a button for you to do that. I upgraded to photo lustre paper - very nice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann: I had called the LV main line and the lady insisted that I must give an estimated time that I will be there, lol. Don't think it is a must to make appt since they called you to go down.

Vernie: See u at LV! You wanna bring your photobook to show us? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

carol: LV @ grassroot club is at AMK Ave 8, near YCK MRT. It is a childcare.

bdmummy: OK, i bring my photobook... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks vernie!

i saw in the internet the fees is $750 for half day!

much more exp than kinderland..oh, is it really a good childcare?

worth to pay so much??

I wish JL can join PG @ 18mths soon. might be putting him a few hours and see how due to his sensitive airway..

Considering Cherie hearts cos near my house.

Playdate @ Royce Gym

Date: 26 Jul 2011, Tue

Time: 1.30pm

1. mrslong

2. eliss

3. charliebrown

4. suika

5. sweetkiss

6. babycoco

7. chez

A refresher, in case, there're others who would like to join us too.

Went to carpe diem and LV today. Comparatively, me and hubby really like carpe diem. Curriculum seems better than LV. Kayden seems to like it there better than LV. Maybe cause have pretty lady and animals. I like it being spacious and most imply, not air con. Kayden doesn't really do very well with air con. Secondly, they don't eat and sleep in the same area. They have alfresco dining for kids. Haha!

Although I am worried about mosquitoes but I think I will just paste mosquito repellent on him everyday. Hehe! Think will put him on the waiting list with carpe diem.

tt time we were talking abt baby ear wax, yesterday i went daiso n say them selling the adhesive ear stick for baby, the size is smaller then the 1 i bought at kiddy palace n cheaper too...2 buckz for a pack of 20 sticks. whereas the other is 6.50 for 40...=.=!!

lasery2k

is it safe to use, e ear stick? ..

childcare/baby school

just put little one for waitlist for Pat's school hse @ halifax. anyone going tere?

photobook

does anyone know what is diff btwn photo lustre & normal matt photo paper quality? does it mean photo lustre will last longer or not?

Cherry.sue: I went at 10am. KS mum. Haha! When I about to leave, I just saw vernie's car driving in to park.

Hershey: wah.. That is very late lei. Reminded me of the one week torturous period when after Kayden turns 1 mth.

Ann, u were so early! No wonder did not see you there. So you confirm registering Kayden at Carpe Diem? How much is it per month for full day cc? Hmm, I am concerned abt mosquitoes coz my boy is very fair and takes super long time before any bites fade lor... But bb E likes pretty ladies and bb ger ger lol

Hershey: Ya.. Went early cause my appt at carpe diem was at 9.30am. So that side finish then immediately go down to learning vision lo. Slowly tune the sleeping time back lo. Sometime Kayden sleeping time also go haywire then he turn grouchy and cranky.

Bdmummy: Ya.. Confirm going for carpe diem. It cost $900 per mth after subsidy for full day child care. My boy also take super long to heal. His nose now 2 weeks le.. Still can see the bite. Haha! Same as my Kayden.. Like pretty female. Make an appt and go down to see see lo. Opposite carpe diem also got a new childcare centre called discovery garden. It's new and operated by a Taiwanese boss. At first I thought it was a vegetable garden.. Doesn't look like a childcare at all.

Ann: Oh, you saw my car coming in to park ah? Haha...i was supposed to be there at 10am, then Ian had diarrhoea, so have to bring him to the PD first before going. In the end reached LV only around 11 plus.

Do you know the fee for Carpe Diem half day? And that Discovery Garden is a childcare? Gosh, I also thought it is a veg/plant/flower garden too!

Vernie: Carpe diem is $700 for half day after subsidy. Discovery Garden also childcare. Joyce from Carpe Diem told me there will be another enrichment centre coming up in the area, replacing the Serangoon depot standing there now.

How is Ian now? Hope he is better.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5790583.jpg]

the ear sticks look like tt. not sure if it's clear..coz workplace can't really see the pic.

alternative can go to gmarket n search for adhesive ear sticks.

yeah, not worth going for half day...

subsidy for full day only S$150. full day is S$300...

I am putting bb into full day childcare but maybe will just let him stay half day in school twice a week