(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Eliss: must give K full fat yogurt. everything should be full fat, full cream now. of course, no salt and sugar if it can be helped [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eliss: Ya my hb old Mrist boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vernie: I so hope that bb can go Catholic Hi too (so near!), but I think will be very difficult to get in. I heard from friends that usually Cath Hi is popular coz apparently they have very strong old boy / Alumni network, and many catholics 1st choice is Cath Hi then Maris Stella 2nd choice.

Ann: Teochew City Restaurant at Centrepoint is quite good too.

most of the tunglok resturants serve great food and easily accessible. like tunglok signatures at vivo city, imperial treasures at Great world or the good old crystal jade at taka ;)

Ann: Yes, Lei Garden at Chijmes is the "atas" type of restaurant.

bdmummy: I also hope so too coz I live just next door to Cath High. Sometimes can even hear national anthem from their assembly. Must be the strong network of old boy/alumni creating the traffic congestion at my carpark coz for kids staying nearby, can just walk to school. =)

Haha about the same atas factor as hai tien lo but without the view. Was there last week for dim sum lunch, Quite ok la. 20-30 per person

Ann: I've been to Lei Garden for dinner before...atas & food is not bad.

Several Chinese restaurants that I have been to that serves not too bad a food are:

1. Bosses (黑社会) Restaurant @ Vivo

2. Tunglok Signature @ Vivo

3. Paradise Inn Restaurant @ T3 Changi Airport

ann, kinderland at yck is not bad... :) was thinking to enrol galen in there.. but than think of the school fee, enrichment fee, school bus fee.. i think i can die le...

Plus faith next yr pri school, still have the daily pocket money, school bus fee, misc fee.. i think i also will die le... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya.. subsidies is juz a nice wording to comfort us only.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

in the end, school will add this & tat into the 1st day of reg de mmahz... hai~~

but look at the rate right now, i guess i will enrol galen to the sparkletots le which is just below my blk... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hai~~

Hershey: Ya lo... Subsidy also not enough and government still wondering why they give so much subsidies and yet birth rate still so low.

Sparkletots also not bad lei. I read in the forum somewhere that kids who went to K1 & K2 at Sparkletots, their phonic foundation is better. I also thinking of enrolling Kayden in there but not sure which one.

heehee, and some preschools charge registration cum admin fee. thats non-refundable, around $200-300 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] pretty standard for eton house, chiltern, pat's school,etc .

welcome to pay and pay

Shann: yup, as some mommies said - petit miam or any yogurt for toddlers. Greek yogurt also can, as long as it's full fat, full cream.

you know, i tried once and i wanted to vomit - sooo rich! hahaha

Ann : the big shot nv use head to think mahz.. they think by giving subsidy can really relief our burden.. but truly speaking horz.. is really not enuf lorz.. they still expect us to have 2nd,3rd child worz... >_<|||

I also read from other forum, sparkletots also not a very bad childcare lahz.. :) but afterall, who don wan to give our bb the best of the best mahz.. right... :)

Pillow : ya lorz.. reg fee + deposit + insurance + enrichments classes... >_<|||

ICA : how come u go taste taste... lol~~

Hershey: I agree but sometime branded might not be good too. Quite a number of my friends also take their kids out of "branded" childcare and later put in cheaper childcare, their kids actually perform better.

iherbs: Anyone organising Iherbs spree?

re: photobook

vernie,

you received your book already? nice? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica,

i will be doing ImageWrap this time round cos the softcover is quite fragile when my elder gal wants to flip it very often. :p

Hopefully can fully utilize the voucher without printing more than 1 copies each design. no intention to give the same design to the grandparents.

Ann, mrspung,

currently iherb has 10% storewide discount till tomorrow. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can I check if everyone's baby is eating proper food (like adults eat) but smaller portions? mines still on porridge mashy puree type stuff - dont know if should eat rice & meat now alrdy ..

Hael: My boy is taking porridge 2x a day, still relatively mushy. He has taken soft rice, mixed with some steamed egg when we are out only once. Other solids he takes regularly are mainly bread, pancakes, eggs and fruit. Have not started full meals of rice + veg/meat yet. Hope to be able to do so gradually.

Milk: My boy keeps pushing away his milk bottle nowadays - sometimes will only take 50ml-100 ml x 3 feeds a day. But can take 1 full adult size bowl of porridge each meal. My only worry is he is not having enought water intake. Any mummies with similar experience?

hael,

i put slices of meat and beetroot in the porridge for my gal. use blending machine to pulse it for 2 seconds. can still see pieces of meat the beetroot in the porridge.

and she can take it quite well.

ever since she rejected cereal last week, we have 'upgraded' her to porridge. and she likes it more.

in fact, she has been munching on our table food since last month. eat rice, veg, minced meat..

bdmummy,

if you worry about water intake, how about let her drink water from straw?

they should be able to do it very well by now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bdmummy,

i gt a very bad case of refusing water here...as long it's plain he suck 1 mouth he will push awy liao...what i do is add taste loh...(wat to do if he don't want plain)...i add ribena, apple juice, prune juice, pear juice, berry juice, or add half a scoop of milk into 90ml of water..just to make it gt taste n let him drink..if nt he can dont drink water at all for the whole day except milk intake.

eh..mine upgraded from porriage to chewing food le..

when eva we r eating he will craw at turbo speed to the table and stand there ask for food...

ya..like xiao_yun, we give him cheesecakes, fish, mince meat, fries, onion rings, hash brown, rice, cube carrots, potato, and bite size veggies.

lasery2k,

my girl oso like that, if plain water she'll bite n play w the straw but if i add apple juice etc esp orange into her water she'll finish up super fast

xiaoyun

thanks for the update [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hael

need to start slowly. if you want to give table food, make sure it is less oil and sugar and salt. u can try giving bread and rice for a start. let ur child play w the food... most of the time some will get into the mouth but most will be on the floor... lol... hvg said that it is not advisable to put them on a solid solid diet yet as they still do not know how to control their muscles to chew and swallow these so call hard foods...

my son has tried rice, coco pops, gerber/happy baby snacks, bread and soft cooked veggies...

Xiao yun: Yep, he is drinking from straw already for water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] milk is still from the bottle tho. Trying to see if he will drink milk from cup instead since he likes to imitate us drinking from cup

Lasery: I hv not given him juices or ribena coz am scared that he will not want to drink plain water after that. My boy does eat little bits of food from our plates, but not full solid meal of rice + stuff yet. He is lazy to chew! haiz

suika...same loh...need to find ways to make them have water intake...

i also gave mine bite size fruits to help with intake of water.

mrspung,

ya he always play with the food then feed my dog...=.=!!

lasery2k,

add fruit juice in lor....late morning i'll add her gipewater into her plainwater then afternoon fruit juice but abit oni

my colleague's selling off extra BN cctv, bought at $120 selling off $100...those interested please pm me

mine simply in-take lesser & lesser milk le.. but his in-take water horz, super... ask him drink milk.. he drink finish his 100ml water instead lorz... >_<|||

mine also take 2x porridge per day too... :)

hershey,

so gd...our's r refusing water loh...which is bad..suika, ya loh add ribena, add fruit juice loh..super diluated tt kinda...just to make him drink water..

milk ar...u don't give him he cry until like slice a piece of meat off him like tt..he will cry until very cham...

Just wondering: Do any mummies give any multivits/colostrum/probiotics/cod liver oil to your bb? Pd says no need if they are eating well, but I am thinking of starting cod liver oil (for dha and build up immunity) coz bb's milk intake is reducing.

bdmummy,

i was thinking giving him cod liver oil too. but stupid hubby say don't want...he says for what when he is healthy...for mi i don't really feel he is healthy loh...some vits can be consume from 6mths onwards..if really wanna give need to go those health stores meant for bb de..i know paragon upstairs got 1 shop. Nt sure abt the price but paragon could be steep.

u tried dreamfeeding to increase the milk intake?

bdmummy,

everyday i gave my boy probitics and mulitvits.

colostrum &cod liver oil -Weekends.

My boy drink very little milk and weight stagnant for 2months. doc gave me probitics and mulitvits, now appetite better..

but now, drop again,I hope it due to teething... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dreamfeeding: hmm i tot should stop dfing bb by this age already..

Anyone has asked their pd to clean bb's ears b4? Today i went to the pd for k's vaccination n asked her to help clean k's ears cos got quite alot of earwax builtup. She just checked and said "wah is quite alot, but i dun help clean" :S so she gave me a bottle of solution so i can clean myself. Haiz.

Regarding MMR, she said the autism theory is not proven but i asked to delay till 18 mths, cos initially was to give at 15mths. I also asked for a separate jab for chicken pox. Is it safer to separate the chicken pox jab from MMR or no diff?

Cheese: my boy sleeps quite late, around 10+pm so his last feed will be at 10pm or so before bed. Not dreamfeeding him anymore.

Charliebrown: pd ever told to clean only the outside parts of the ears, not the inside. say no need to clean inside lei.

Jabs: Pd was very surprised that I want to push back MMR instead of giving at 15M. So at 15M, will take prevenar (pneunomococal) and chicken pox jab. He suggest 18M take MMR and then 19M take 6 in 1. Think both chicken pox and MMR can take in same month.

MMR, i also push the date...lolx. i would be giving him MMR be4 he goes school. so anytime be4 18mths. i opt out for chicken pox..i don't wan to vaccine him..rather let him have the chicken poxs n recover then build his own immune system for it.

eh..the earwax ar..i got those kind of sticky earwax stick from kiddy palace then slowly stick the wax out. yest just clear a load from his ear..more then mine loh..scary..still gt a huge piece inside his ear but very deep so i left it out.

am only going to start vit c to my son when he turns 1... very small qty ... childlife brand... also probiotics as well... he has sensitive airways.

hmm.. i will bring my gal at 15 mths as PD scheduled. i scared the older she is, the more pain and phobia for her. anyway there is no risks or benefits to delaying it. so will go ahead ba.

charliebrown: i buy the baby ear buds, Watsons brand with very big buds one. how u clean also too big to poke inside the ear. just twist the bud ard can le.

Bdmummy: yea actually no need to clean the ears as they r self-cleaning. But i see k's ears quite jialat. Haha!

Lasery: din know got such sticks! Will go take a look.

SK: will the big buds push the wax further in? Thats what im afraid of. Are u letting k take chicken pox jab tog wif MMR?

Im v surprised that my K din cry at all but only whinced when he was jabbed. Maybe he has fats to cushion the pain.

I have never clean Kayden's inner ears before. Don't dare to. Plus I don't think he will keep still for me to clean.

xiaoyun: Yes, I received my photobook yesterday. Their service is indeed fast – I submitted last Tue night and DHL attempted to deliver on Sunday evening but I was not at home. They redelivered my package last night. Very happy with the book! Medium book is just the right size for me. I upgraded the paper type and added two pages, did not maximize the $161 value, but it is Ok lar. We paid only $48 for it. Going to print another 2 copies of the same book for the grandparents. I bought 3 vouchers from the promo. =)