(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

pillow: mine is a 500buckz into his acct...hahaha

toys i don't dare to buy coz my hse is filled with toys...wanna throw but thinking gt #2 then no toys liao...=.=!!..

his new additions are a bathing rattle ball, a toy phone, a scootor jus in a week...

i saw leapfrog gt quite a few educational toys which they can learn things but might also end up as 4D or toto wheels for grandparents..very tempted to get but scared ltr they paste number let him roll..i will faint loh.

Irene: thanks for your review of the shop! very informative [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tell me about our little book destroyers! same lah. mine even chews on the corners. quite heartpain to see a new book that looks like it has seen better days...but what to do? a little bit of comfort in that they get some fibre. lol

for simple musical instruments, can also check out Mothercare, under it's own brand. i bought 2 bells for H, those that can velcro-strap to the wrists or baby can just hold the straps and shake the bells. each strap (made of rubber) has 3 bells attached and their chimes are quite loud. with the GSS, they're at 15% off, so not very ex. after discount, each costs about $6+

I didn't really think of a gift for kayden cause i keep buying him things all the time. Haha!! Will you all be getting presents for your little ones?

If i ask papa, he sure say we spend so much for the party liao so no need to give.

ica: hahahaahaa i like ur reply on the "fibre" part. when Nathan makes a mess of the WHOLE house, I also try to console myself that he's exercising, learning to explore and etc. BTW, I'll be receiving my photobook later this evening! so excited! Photobook emailed me yesterday to inform me that the item has been shipped but I thought it would take a few days. just now quite free so went to track the shipment only to find out that it's already out with the delivery courier this morning! Then I quickly call DHL to ask them to delay the delivery till tonight as no one's home.

as Julie mentioned previously, toyrus also sell pretty nice simple musical instrument. I bought a triangle for about $6. personally find that N prefers things like these simple instrument and books compared to those more expensive toys. recently my MIL took an empty tissue box and turned it into a "lucky draw box" by putting some small toys inside and N enjoys playing with it too.

birthday present: i bought leapfrog dvds, books, pediped, skiphop backpack, SL studioplay package and maybe more ......

Ann: not for me. not getting any. have been buying stuff for H on-off. so, my love for her is more than enough - priceless. hahaha

yup, we give them things all the time, like every wk? hahahaaa

but thought woudl be good to have 1 bday present for each year of bday.... so when they think back, they can see from pics, they got this for 1 year old, 2 year old, etc..

my inlaws are also doing the lunar bday, where my girl will pick out the abacus, or pen or book ,etc tradition.

Irene: I'm sooo excited for you! must tell me what you think of the quality ok? i upgraded mine to 190gsm paper - hope it's worth it

yup yup, babies like simple toys/activities e.g. tearing paper, rummaging thru bags. my friend made a simple kitchen/oven out of cardboard boxes for her son, with pull down oven door (if i remember correctly) - she's really creative. the kid loves it to bits!

ica, yes thats true. they like simple stuff instead! like for my #1, we bot him this gigantic car for him to sit in. he prefers the cardbox that comes with it instead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] coz my FIL cuts 2 windows in the box andhe had so much fun peering out of the windows.

ica u shld see my son tear tissue paper n rampage thru the tissue paper box n after tt put the tissue into his mouth n chew.

i think i go hm upload into fb he tear tissue..hahaha

Bday present: My boy’s birthday is next Sat and I have not even bought his present! I think I will see what he receives first, then buy something for him. Late but better than getting repeats. And I buy him things all the time anyway.

Justina: My boy loves the Touch & Feel / Lift the Flap books from DK and Ladybird. He also likes the Hungry Caterpillar book, esp the middle pages where the fruits has little holes in them. He even ate a corner off a page from the Hungry Caterpillar book – when my hubby saw that, he asked whether my boy was really that hungry reading the Hungry Caterpillar book!

ica: Haha! H has different variations of “aah”? So cute! I think my boy’s “vocab” is quite colourful : te-te-te-te-te, neh-neh-neh-neh, aaah bu, aaah goong, pa-pa, mum mum, ma ma, brrrr…this stage is really cute!

Lasery: LOL! You are so funny! The leapfrog toy that may end up being a Toto wheel. Haha!

Remote: My boy loves remotes too. Whenever he presses the TV remote and the screen goes blank, he will get scared and then come hug me all of the sudden. It is as if he knows he did something wrong. Aiyoh – cannot tahan him lar…too adorable. So buay pai-sei me, say own boy cute & adorable!

vernie..really loh..it's a spinning wheel...so when bb flip the wheel it will roll like the wheel lucky draw tt kind with a arrow pointing n when it stop it will read out the word / animal/ alphabet. so if they paste a number sticker there n let bb spin..it will totally become a 4d / toto wheel loh.

my bb's b'day is next sunday. we had planned to celebrate in indonesia where most of my relatives are. but right now, it seems like the b'day party may be cancelled. my dad's been having very bad back pain (for almost 3 weeks now). drs can't seem to find out the cause. the pain is so severe that he can't get out of bed anymore. they're flying him to singapore in a stretcher tomorrow. i feel so bad that my bb won't be celebrating her 1st b'day.

mummies, please pray for my dad, that the drs here can tell us what is causing the pain & give him the proper medication & treatment so that he will get better.

am i too late to join in the Musikgarten class?

Can i have the contact details so maybe i can register and join when they have class?

need to get my boy to learn more things nw.

Ann,

I've actually contacted Veron for the birthday banner as well...you got it already??

Do you think the banner can be held up using blue tac huh?

babycoco,

sorry to hear about your Dad. no wonder you didn't have time to reply my email on the pencil case sets...no worries, take your time!

we shall all pray for your Daddy! hopefully, the docs here will be able to diagnose what is the real cause to his pain and praying that it isn't serious...

stay cheerful!!!

babycoco, dun feel too bad ... A still have the bash and its gona be a great one.. and u can have another one in singapore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

and ya the docs here will take good care of your dad.. he will be ok soon..

Talking abt books, my boy only likes to flip the pages & chewing/biting the pages more the reading them or allowing us to read to him.

supergal: I have not collected the banner yet. The banner will be send together with the balloon bouquet on that day itself. Now that you mention, I think I should check with Veron too.

babycoco: Don't feel bad.. if cannot have a big party, then a small celebration and cutting of cake will also do. As long as everyone of the family are together, that is the most important. Hope your dad gets well soon.

babycoco: Yes, don't feel bad. Like what the other mummies said, there's still the group bday and u can do simple cake cutting at home. Hope ur dad gets well soon. Am sure the Drs here will be able to help him. Take care!

Ann,

I thought you received the banner already..that's why asking you for advise! Hehehe

Actually, I did check with her and she said can use blue tac to hold but need a whole pack. Hmmm...cos was just wondering if the material is PVC canvas as stated on the website, just thinking how adhesive the blue tac will be. But if your venue allows, I think you can use strings to tie to the 4 holes on the banner...

babycoco: hope your dad will get well soon. i believe the doctors in Singapore will be able to help your dad recover. as for the party, please be rest assured that A and your family will have great fun at the Jul'10 babies bash =)

photobook: i placed the order on Monday and received it today. Very fast! The quality is not bad considering that I am only doing the softcover this time round. it looks exactly as what I see on my computer screen. With good confidence in the company, I would likely be doing XL imagewrap and probably upgrade the paper next time round.

Kydz: for those keen to go to the shop, do take note that the shop closes at 6.30pm on weekdays. if you already have something in mind to buy, it would be easier to browse through the catalog online and note down what you want and show the shop owner as some of their items are in the store.

June/July 2010 Babies - 1st Birthday Bash....counting down to the day!

Please check your inbox! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, do u all get any balloon package? i maybe need only 30-50 balloons with helium. dun need those fanciful foil ones. is it more economical to take package or buy from nearby shop and bring back myself?

SK, i bought from wholesale...^^

u can rent the helium tank for 40buckz and buy the balloons at the shop too..the small tank can fill up to 45 latex balloon. they sell those 100pcs metalic colours for 10 buckz in a packet.

i didn't get the package coz i rent the tank n pump as n when needed, if ask them to pump up the balloon will have extra charges..nt worth it at all leh. plus the 45 is count on fully blown up balloon. i think we blow the balloon up also 3/4 or half the size coz so many small babies..

i opt for the foil balloon each for a kid..won't burst so easily and gt deco. i pay 1 buckz each for tt.

Mommies and Dad!! Please check your email for updates on the 1st Birthday Bash!!!

The organizing committee have put in a lot of effort and we have been brain storming together since many months ago!! I know we will all have fun on 2nd of July! So exciting!!

We even have an official photographer to take photos of our bash and all photos we can access after the bash!

To top it off, we managed to get sponsors as well as procure prizes for games and lucky draws that are worth more than 1000+++!! *Wheeeeeeeee*

Lasery: I’ve nv used helium tanks before! Is it diff to use? Can u share where u get it from? Do they provide free delivery/collection for the tank?

Sweet kiss: I ask people to pump the balloon for me. Hehe! Each balloon will cost $0.70.

Birthday bash: Good job, organizing committee and thanks for putting in so much effort for the whole event. Can't wait for it to happen. Will come early to help out.

i also nv use be4. but i always see those ppl like press a pump to release the air to blow up the balloon. can't be tt diffcult rite.

tt time i added 3 links here on where i get my party supplies.

here r the links again:

www.adamvestyle.com <--i got mine here

www.mtradenoveltystore.com

www.harvestwell.com.sg

i m doing self collection coz the transport fee is 40buckz per trip...to n fro will mean 80buckz gone for nth.<--take taxi also nt so ex leh.

Hi, Mummies

just check anyone using pigeon standard milk bottle. I bot the teats w/o checking, (should be wide neck) so now stuck with 2 packs 'L' size and I can't exchange. Anyone want, i bot at $4.20 after discount.

Playdates: please let me know if there are any playmates k? Been missing out many of them.

Irene: u mean every tues lunch? What time do u all usually meet?

I wonder if its normal to feel a tinge of sadness realising how time flies & that my boy will be turning 1 soon.

I was looking through the photos taken of my boy since he was born, & a wave of sadness overcame me & I teared. I really miss the times when he was just a small baby. Somehow I don't want him to grow up so fast cuz that wld mean my baby dun need mummy that much soon.

Thinking of this also makes me feels that I may not be ready for No.2, though my HB & I do want 2 kids, cuz I am not sure if i can love no.2 as much as I love my no.1 now. What's more if the next one is also a boy (my HB & I hope to hv a gal next). But gender is not as impt to me as much as a healthy bb lah.

I wonder if I am the only one feeling this way.

Heys Junie,

nope you're not the only one feeling like this. I also keep looking back at all the photos of G whene he was just a baby and how he has changed! Same like you, we do want to have a #2 but donno if I can love him like I love #1 hahaha! And yes, same we want a girl, then what if boy again?! I think alot of us are in the same boat as you!!

Jac: the daddies wld think otherwise. My HB always say he can't wait for my boy to grow up faster, Hehe. But I think we mummies wld rather not.

wow you ladies no need to zzzz ?

i guess its perfectly normal to feel this way. i do too when my #1 was turning 1 year old. after a few years, when you are ready for #2 , you will feel differently... the 2 little ones will be your ALL and precious ones

Junie, Jac: Me too feel emo when I look at my boy's photos then and now. It is amazing how fast they grow. I also hope for a gal for #2, but like all mummies, we just wish for a healthy baby, boy or gal is still our baby. :D

Over the weekend, I saw a mummy with 3 kids- 2 gals and 1 boy of close age gap. She was busy changing diaper for the boy, after she has finished, she said "next!". I was thinking how I would feel if I were her but she really looked happily busy. The dad was just entertaining the kids.

maybe its the mindset? if you feel "burdened" by your many kids, you will truly feel dreary cleaning poop.

but if you see it as a family, your family forever, a blessing, you just feel so happy and fulfilled.

I too feel emo when looking at my girl's photos. she was sososo tiny! and when i look at newborns i always think of my girl at that age. But i'm also so proud of her! and i love the happy little child she is. whenever i see her playing in her playpen by herself i'm so proud of her independence. there will always come a day where they will grow up, go to school, be with friends and eventually marry and leave home. so i think treasuring the now, every minute we can spend with them now, is very important. when #2,3,4 come, i believe the love we have to give our hubby and children will multiply, and not split!

Charlie: my HB's sister got 3 kids ... #2 & #3 age gap is nearer.

But again is a negative scene to me. As Both adults doesnt cooperates at alot of times. And both of them doesnt know what is SHY!

Over weekend midnight (dun knw what time lar) female is shouting at male "you dont talk so loud to me!" ya with all 3 of their kids in the room slping (dont know which kid woke up i think) then next the infant (2mths) is crying...

Woke me up of cos...(my room is already sound proof hor) Power right the volume!

But I see my GF is a happy mum of 3 kids too... her HB thou' tired (can always see on his face) but whenever any of his kids call him, he smile and responded to his kids' needs. Helping his wife to entertain the kids while wife take care of the youngest! again #2 & #3 gap is very near (15 mths gap i think)

Same here... When I look at kayden newborn photo, I also feel sad cause he is growing up so fast. But I also looking forward to the 2nd one if any cause I like going through the process again. Sometime miss the time kayden is in me. Hehe!

Yesterday went for father days celebration with my in law family. I was talking to my MIL when she suddenly laugh and ask me to look at kayden. Kayden was sitting on daddy's lap, eating peach with one hand and guess where is other hand is? It was slapping the butt of the young waitress who is cleaning the plates from our table. Not once but twice and he even squeeze the butt of the waitress. I immediately stop him saying kayden don't do that. Everyone at the table laughed and the waitress just smiled. OMG!!

hehee, guess it's normal for mummies to feel this way & I'm not the only one. Phew :p

I must say I may not be the most patient mum & sometimes after losing my patience/temper with my boy, I feel so guilty lor and feels like I'm such a bad mum.

But my boy still always want me to carry him, hehee...now my boy very "sticky" to me & I like it cuz I know this moment is not going to last.