(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Sweetkiss: Ya.. most pple will use chocolate or vanilla sponge cake for fondant cake cause of the density of the cake. Something like strong enough to hold all the deco on top of it. Actually now they have develop more cakes flavours like lemon, strawberry for fondant cakes.

supergal: For elders, if dun like cream then just scrap off. That's what my grandparents always do. Fondant of cos will give a nicer overall finish. The cake which I ordered from PG is a cream one. My advice would be take one that you would like to have. Dun need to consider what your guests would like. If they dun like cream, they scrap off, if the dun like fondant, they just peel off. Haha!

Haha, definitely fondant for me. He can have cream cakes for the other bdays tat are coming in the future lol.

Mummies, what are the object we need for their first birthday?

I remember ruler (teacher), calculator(accounts) some more what?

Wanna see what is his reaction of picking the object given.. hehe..

Talking abt cakes.. I feel like baking cakes again. It's been close to 2years since I last bake cake. This is the last cake which I did and for my grandma's birthday. It's a banana cake. Did not put any cream on it cause grandma dun like.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5442314.jpg]

Ann, your cake is so pretty. You used fresh flowers? So envious of people that can bake. My mom is an excellent baker. Dunno why I didn't inherit her talent.

Ann, am sure your grandma chi zai kou li, tian zai xin li [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

coco, baking is very easy! Its all science. Just find good recipes, follow it closely and tadaaaaa! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My baby girl has been tossing and turning in bed while asleep and drinkin milk. Its like she is uncomfortable or something and e milk bottles keep dropping as she turns.. She used to be fine until she started teethin, but her teeth have been cut and she is still doin it. Not sure what I can do to help her sleep thru? Any mummies experiencing this?

Hi mommies, need some advice here. Nowadays my boy would wake up in the middle of the nite (did not cry) and start to crawl around the room. I have placed his mattress on the floor to sleep ever since he was 5 months old (as he started to stand up in his cot and the cot was a hand me down and don’t have the lower function). Previously i used pillows to block his way, but as he grows stronger, he is able to push away the pillows and wonder free. Now i am thinking if I should get a play yard and let him sleep inside since he does not like to sleep in the playpen. But there are a few concerns that I have over the play yard:

1) If I am to get the play yard, most prob i would leave him inside the play yard to play during the day. But as it is a play area, would he associate sleeping time = play time?

2) Mattress would definitely not able to fill up the whole play yard and my boy is a super good “roller”. Afraid that he might end up sleeping on his play mat rather than his mattress.

3) I have a standing fan in the room. Not sure if the wind from the fan will reach him if he is sleeping inside cos unlike a playpen, the sides are not net type.

4) Anyone has the measurement for the play yard? Need to measure my play mat to see how many panels could it fit.

If I am not getting a play yard or play pen, not sure how i can restraint him from crawling all over...

suntan.. hmm ever consider getting another cot? those 4-in-1 convertible ones so he can sleep in it nw & at least u can cont using it as a toddler bed for him when he outgrows the cot..

suntan: I agree with SK that it seems better to get another cot which he can use till toddler stage. Cos I personally think playard should be meant for playing inside and not for bb to sleep inside at nite. A cot will be safe for him to roll all over, or crawl about at nite if you lower the bed and pull up the frames.

bb crawling:

haha, my bb is now doing a lot of pushups and rocking his body to and fro, means he is soon going to crawl isit? but he has yet to move from his rocking position.

Sun_tan, when my boy sleeps on the mattress on the floor, he will also roll everywhere from about 3am onwards. He even tries to roll over the pillows that we place around him, all this while sleeping. But funny thing is when he is in his cot, he does not do that at all, he will only turn to his sides (haha, maybe not enough space). FYI, my cot is 52" x 28" (132cm x 71cm) size, not sure how it compares to the current one that your boy is using.

lol. i think babies like to sleep with something "touching" their head. If my gal sleeps on the mattress, she will rotate all over but her head is always leaning against a pillow or bolster. similarly when she sleeps in a cot, lesser space to rotate but her head will always be near to the bars. when baby & i sleep on the same bed, she too will crawl/flip during her sleep. she will suddenly sit up, look for me, then crawl to my body and plonk herself next to my arm & go back to sleep.. haha.

Haha SK I think you're right. My girl likes to crawl fro one end to the other of the cot to wedge her head in the corner of the bumper. Sometimes her whole body is at the short end of the cot with her back up against the bumper. Hubby always say should have just gotten a smaller cot, size of a A4box

birthday banner: Hey.. will you girls be doing birthday banner for your babies? Wonder should I do 1 for Kayden.

Pine Gardens: Since last Thursday, I am waiting for their reply to confirm my order but no reply at all. Wonder what is going on. Why take so long to give me a confirmation?

Peanut: Hahaha! My boy does the same too. Always wedge himself at the corner of the cot and sometimes his whole body is at the short end with back against the bumper! Let him sleep on pillow also no use...

babycoco: yup, like what Jac and Ann said - it's all about the measurements. just make sure you follow the recipe to the dot and you'll be fine. just give it a try!

babies rolling all over: mommies, i can identify with you! in her sleep, my baby can move to the short end of the cot and ends up in awkward sleeping positions. once i woke up in the middle of the night to check on her and guess what? she was at the short end of the cot with her legs hanging out of the cot's wooden bars!

mine is also a hand-me-down. supposedly can use till 2yo but i don't think so. will go hunting for a toddler bed when bb turns 1, which is soon

my friend bought a queen size japanese bed for her son - lots of room for him to roll around. jap beds are lower than the usual toddler beds, so if he falls off the bed, won't be too bad. she says it's like a mattress placed on a low platform but with nice headboard

Lol, by the way is there a proper way to tie cot bumpers? My cousin just gave me a set.. but the bumper keep sliding down, end up they don’t serve the purpose.

And, do u all still put the cot mobile? Haha.. I think my girl fall asleep faster with the music..

SK - you didn't tie them tight enough lah..they'll only slide down if pushed/pulled with force

no cot mobile. didn't have one in the first place coz was afraid the thing might topple on baby. hahaha

ica: hee.. i really tie up tightly le .. nvm, i go redo everything again.

Ann: who did you liaise with? i am liaising with Belle and she replies pretty fast. max she takes 2 days. today she replied me even when she is on leave cos i called them to clarify things with her.

i just checked with them again. they told me for cakes with Disney cake toppers, customer will have to provide. but Hello Kitty/Sesame street, they can provide. 2kg cake will have about 8 toppers. but those big ones to put in the centre of the cake as decor, we gotta buy them ourselves.

Sweetkiss: I don't know who I am dealing with cause the email is always sign off as sales & marketing team.

I had already remove the cot mobile. Now baby

just like to me to lie down with him & then he lie in my arms & me hugging him to sleep.

SK: I just tie the bumpers to the bars and they keep sliding down. bb also likes to kick it down. The cot mobile is still there but I think once bb learns to pull up, must remove it in case bb uses it to climb out.

Ann: I intend to buy a banner for the 1st bday and not do it. heehee!

Long time never posted hows everyone's bb doing. Taking this chance to log in coz my boy having nap see that the topic of bb's birthday bash is getting hot here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am a lazy mum not intending to do any big birthday bash for my boy only doing a small family dinner will do. Anyone has any suggestion of restaurant?

Hi charliebrown,

How's Kenzo doing? My boy has just surprise me by pulling himself up the cot few days ago and getting more and more active.

Sweetkiss: They finally reply. This time round, they sign off the email with a name. My coordinator is Chantel.

charliebrown: I think I will buy a banner and not DIY. Haha!!

Babybee: bb is kenji but i think there is a bb here whose name is enzo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. I'm also having a small bday party at home, so also lazy have nt really planned anything. Did you manage to bring bb out alone?

Vernie I know right! No pillow no blanket in the cot. All no use one haha. Last time I used to put a small bolster at one end cos the cot bumper not long enough. Then one night she rolled ard and ended up on TOP of the bolster with the leg sticking out of the cot haha!

Bumper: I also try to tie it very tight but now that she can pull herself up she'll pull the bumper down, sometimes sleep on top of it. I just let it be.

Babybee: I'm also just doing a family lunch, initially i thought hotel brunch buffet with a nice bday cake will be fun but FIL is a strict vegetarian so back to square one. Even cake he cannot eat unless it's eggless. Headache. U can check out the hotel buffets. Usually Sundays quite fun with lots of kids [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sahm:

Do u all bring bb out everyday? I find it so tiring to bring bb out cos if i am alone wif him, i can only ergo him out cos i am lousy wif stroller. And wif a bb bag and a bb in the ergo, it is really bad if go shopping wif him. Bb also cannot sit still for long if i lim kopi with frds outside. If stay at home, it is b o r i n g...

Charliebrown, currently I dun dare to bring my boy out alone wor... coz he is simply too active already! Turn left, turn right, look here and there, eheheh if he wants to stand up instead of being carried etc... haha, really got a mind of his own now already and will make noise if not happy wor! haha, plus also much heavier now compared to last time! stress!!!

Charliebrown: I am not a SAHM (I wish I am) but I think I am like half half lor.

My hubby travels frequently and when he is not around, I bring my gal out alone on weekends. Sometimes no choice, coz not convenient to go out with friends with a baby along. Want to have a nice chillout with them at café, or shopping for clothes is difficult. I dun want them to feel sian that I have to wait outside a shop or leave early whenever bb needs to sleep and stuff. So I prefer to go out alone with baby, own time own target. I am surprised I am even more independent after becoming a mom.. last time I dun even dare to go orchard alone!

I stay near JP but everyday go there also super boring.. so I take public transport with my gal to town, imm, clementi mall, NEX, wherever I feel like going.. I put her in stroller and also bring ergo along in case she wants to be carried. Like I said, my stroller too heavy so I dun take cab as I no strength to carry it up (in case the uncle dun wanna help). I pack light, usually hot & cool water, milk bottle, 2 diapers, snacks and milk powder. Everything in one bag then hang on the stroller lor. If I eat lunch, she will sit on baby chair & munch on her snacks. If she cranky, ergo her and she will sleep inside.. I can even buy groceries and carry them all the way home while I ergo her. actually is manageable.

well done SK!... while weekends are usually with my hubby... When I'm on leave, I would love to bring my daughter out too... though i more fortunate i get to drive around with her...

somehow time passes very quickly when go out to gai gai hor, compared to when at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SK : can't imagine urself doing that well right ?

Initially i also abit worry so cousin and sister would take leave from work(my sister) and school(cousin) to go out with me (help me along the trip).

Thou' i drive usually but having a crying bb when driving is no different from a crying bb in the mall or MRT or Bus.

after sometime, I do manage to shop with my gal alone. I also prefer to shop alone else with my helpful sister n cousin. Own time own target ... hahaha !

So my mum now has nothing to say me when comes to caring for my bb.

As I have a day off ystd (Stupid HR says covers for the polling day, can't credit to leave) so had a full day with bb w/o HB. Had 1st shower ever together with BB C and she gave me the STARE LOOK when she saw me washing my hair infront of her. HAHAHA!

I told my HB to shower her together with him, HB SHY ! lolx !

Eliss, my friends say I’m like a single mum. -.- I think u are even more brave… cos my gal has nv sat on a car seat b4. I think if she were to make noise when I drive, I will get very distracted. Anyway, I wouldn’t dare to drive her alone!

Bdmummy, ya lor.. maybe too busy entertaining yourself + baby, go shopping in the noon, when I leave the mall the sky is dark le. I want to bring my gal to the beach, I hope hubby will have time for it but recently the weather is soooo hot.

Xbeanniex: u bathe with ur gal?? how? i thought of it but hor I scared she catch a cold being naked in the tub while I shower myself.. hahaha! And my fastest shower speed is 10 min… I also told my hubby next time they can bathe together, he say I am mad….

SK: I totally understand the grocery part. super tiring to lug an ergo bb and grocery. And Jurong pt is boring cos I also go there v often, esp the NTUC. My stroller is light but I dare not use it alone. I also like the own time own target part.

Bdmummy: How do you entertain ur bb at home? yea bbs are getting heavier and sometimes I scared the ergo will give way cos I use it too often, though it can support till 20kg.

SK: my sister says that to me each time goes out with her! As she doesnt like my HB to tag along shopping trips at times becos u know lar... guys at times can be more troublesome then gals when going out shopping thou they can be very good carriers for shopping bags and bb bags. hahaha !

SK: hmmm I hate the shower room of my ILs place. so showering there is short n sharp n quick! showering together with my gal tooks about 15min i think.

I half fill her bath tub, then i put her in and i quick shower my hair leaving the shower head in her tub to entertain her. then i took back to wash my hair and put some foam on her arms n bath toy to let her play. then i shower her, leave her in her half tub water (i scoop some water out - as turn chilly) leave the shower head in to fill more warm water and I shower off myself.

well sounds like i used up lots of water then usual but I not doing it daily, so i dont care.

As I like the moment sharing with my BB C and well no one is helping me with BB C so I have to do it that way.

Charlie: standby another carrier at home lo.. in case the usual one gave way... I have 3 carriers to use ... 1 at my mummy place( the X carrier), 1 in the car(the Patapum), 1 regular use (sarong sling) !

Charliebrown: yeah! My usual hangout with bb at JP is NTUC or kiddy palace. I think I know where to get what I want even when I’m blindfolded. Lol..

Beannie: totally agree… in fact I feel stressed shopping with him. He will keep asking me to hurry up. Cos I like to slowly look around.. haha

SK: ya lor... guys at times shopping very boring to have them around ... w/o them will think of them around to carry things then we just enjoy carry our bb can ready. hahaha!

I do like to bring bb out alone too. Esp to take mrt or bus but my father-in-law very frighten of me. Sometime he will insist he drive me to my shopping venue.

Sometime I will just tell a white lie to him that I have a cab waiting downstair or my bro is here to drive me so that he will not insist on driving me to the venue.

I also bring pram and carrier out at the same time. My son's godma ask me how come I bring both. I told her if Kayden dun wanna sit in, if no carrier, very hard for me to push and pram with one hand and carry him with the other. So must have 2 lo. Haha!!

But I think practise make perfect. I like to do grocery shopping with Kayden too but now he like to stick out his hand and take things from the shelves when I am not looking. So must be very careful. Haha!!

Charliebrown, I like to let him roll about the bed and do things that make him laugh, but hv to always supervise very closely. Sometimes will put him in hi-chair in kitchen and see me cook and puree his food!

Beannie, do u find the sarong sling heavy on 1 shoulder ha?

Ann, I know what u mean... my boy's favourite is to bend down (when I am carrying him) to pick up oranges and even bite them!

Bringing Baby Out Alone:

I'm a part-time working mom so on weekdays that I am not working, I would bring bb out on most days. Staying at home all day is simply too boring for me. I always go out with bb using my Beco Gemini and not the stroller as my dear son is very active and cannot stay still in the stroller. Furthermore, I like the freedom of using a carrier. It's easier to move around and hands-free! If he's tired, he'll just fall asleep in the carrier =)

I stay near Jurong Point too so I do bring him to Jurong Point sometimes for lunch and some simple shopping. If I bring him out for lunch, I will definitely bring along some snacks so that he'll be good and eat his snacks while I have my lunch. But I am quite bored of Jurong Point now so I don't go there much nowadays. Nowadays, I will venture further. Recently I took him to Ion for lunch with friends, ICA to collect passport, woodlands to meet hb for lunch, musikgarten class at Pioneer, Peekaboo at Kallang Leisure Park etc. This Friday will be going to go-go bambini with some mommies =) Quite a number of mommies that I know would meet up for lunch weekly and bring along their babies. It's fun and other mommies can help to handle baby while you enjoy ur meal.

I have recently signed up for the musikgarten class on Monday so now I have 1 less day to think of what to do with bb. For SAHM, I think when bb turn 18 months, can consider enrolling them in playgroup so that they can learn and play for 2-3 hrs a day while mommy can take a break. Those staying near Jurong Point can consider this new preschool call TaRA at Jurong Point level 6. I heard from another mommy that it looks pretty good. The school have alot of glass panels so parents can observe the children from outside while they are in class.

Want to Exchange Gerber Graduates Puffs with Baby Items

Hi mommies, I got 1 bottle of strawberry apple puff (expiry 5 Aug 11) and 1 bottle of peach puff (expiry 25 Aug 11) as free gifts. As I already got alot of Happy Baby Puffs, I would like to exchange the Gerber puffs for other baby items instead. The list of baby items that I am keen in are as follow:

-Pampers diaper M size or L size

-Huggies Ultra L size

-Pigeon wet wipe, detergent or liquid cleanser refill

If interested please PM me. Thanks!

CHarliebrown,

I only tried bringing him out a few times all short distance route [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Still feel kind of stressful to handle him outside coz my boy quite fussy he can only sleep and nap in his own bed when outside even at my mum's place he has difficulties in napping even if he fell asleep the most is 15-30min outside very tiring for him and me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]