(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Birthday Cake: Actually i have another recommendation from other mummies in forum. Her cake designs also not bad, pricing also reasonable but then I liase with her till wanna finalised liao for my grandmother's cake and she MIA liao. Dunno what happen. Hai..

Her username in FB is reirei koh.

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=553567837#!/profile.php?id=553567837

haha~~ i don think i will order until so ex cake ba.. lol~~ let alone my chalet, plus buffet.. fainted... now i'm prepared the invitation card.. and birthday banner.. lol~~

Sean, at first.. i also have the same though as u... Add all the mummiies in.. than i can recognize easily.. But then, i went to 2 gathering, i still cannot remember worz.. i only can remember bbs faces.. lol~

Hershey,

I am now still preparing the invitation card too.. faint... -_-!!

I think i only left with buffet haven order..

dunno order from where too...

In mind have:

Neo Garden (Usually order from here but tot of changing)

Orange Grove (Recommend by 1 of the mummy here who juz celebrate bb 1st birthday.. Opps.. I forget who le... =P)

Kriston (This look nice)

jasline,

my invitation card still not yet print out.. plus i still have to cut out.. lol~~

birthday banner the same.. lol~~ not yet print, not yet cut..

buffet, more worse.. dono which to order..

orange clove is recommend by bdmummy.. i think..

cakes, only Bangawan solo have mickey disney.. hai~~ sianz...

Birthday invites: are there many kids attending your baby’s birthday parties? I actually designed my gal’s invites le but it seems so silly to distribute to my friends or relatives, dun think they will be bothered to keep, haha.. but I will still print and only keep one for memory.. lol!

Jasline: wow!!!! $360 for a cake is so ex..

Birthday invites: I dun think I will do them. Cause now everyone look at their hp and laptop/ipad more than paper invite. Mostly I will just design an email invite and send out. Hehe!!

Hershey: You also looking at the same bakery website (reirei koh)? Intending to order from her?

Orange Clove: Not bad. I ordered that for Kayden's full mth (cause have Malay fren). Guests commented quite nice.

Sweetkiss,

Invitation card:

now really less ppl giving out invitaion cards.. as the place i book may be hard to go that y i have to make invitation cards for friends & relatives.. alot of work!! haha.. I will make 1 to keep myself too.. =)

Birthday cake:

it EX!... but really nice.. so i found worth the $$.. I dun dare to tell hubby.. I only tell him i will pay for the cake & he paid the catering... LOL... =x

Julie, will keep u and bb in prayer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Peekaboo: A few of us are bringing our bbs to peekaboo tmr at 1230. Any sahm or mummy on leave can join us too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone knows where i can buy those small bottles of blowing bubbles meant as party gifts in Singapore cheaply?

Ann: yup, nowadays we just mass send SMS or FB invite. Unless got many kids, I dun mind giving.

Jasline: as long as you are happy, it is worth it. anyway pretty cakes will look nice in photos. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eliss: I joined a Joann.com spree here before to buy small bottles of bubbles for my wedding.

There is an ongoing spree here currently. I got these: http://www.joann.com/joann/catalog/productdetail.jsp?pageName=search&flag=true&PRODID=prd44478

It is only USD4.99 and 24 bottles inside. But they dun come w the ribbons so u can decorate ur own if u want. (oops, just saw that u wanna get from SG...)

Justina, the trunki toy box is $47.90 less 25% discount.

Eliss, I think Toys r Us has. I'd bought for my niece, dunno if they are still selling?

jasline

where did you order your bday cake? $360 is really very expensive! ok, but given your boy is your firstborn, you will splurge!

re: invite cards

will be making but not many. just for my family [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann

i oso ordered from Yan but will stick to cupcakes... i had so much problem trying to finish up the cake after my #1's bday party i decided not to get a nice bday cake.

next year, my resolution is to put a cake together by myself for my kids... LOL

babycoco - yes toyrus has...but was wondering if I can get cheaper alternatives at elsewhere... cuz theirs quite big bottles...

I also looking for temp tatoos and small staionery

hey julie

how did the PPO review go today? Hope you manage to get Gloria back today...

Playgyms

Anyone been to Polliwogs? Vs Peekaboo?

Been wanting to go but my bb fell sick over the weekend no thanks to me and still sick [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Peekaboo

what time are you all going on Mon? May join if bb recovers....

hi sk,

how much shipping cost u hv paid for every 24 bottles of bubbles?

my bb 1st day birthday prep:

Cake: ordered cake from 2 places. 1 is free :D, the other one got to pay. 84 cupcake + 6 inc cake are FOC. The 10inc cake, still waiting quotation...

Photographer: booked

Decoration: ordered balloons, banner, hats, etc from 4 sprees... KS :D

Function room: booked 2 places... super KS...

Helium Tank Gas: waiting for hubby to pay online [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..

Catering: likelihood neo garden. not decided yet.

Magician: initially wanted to book magician for bb bday... quoted S$298 for 1.5hours (min is 1.5 hours)...if book 3 hours will be S$596.... very exp!!!..dropped the idea to book magician since bb also wont remember

Lennie - + shipping worthwhile?

aiyo so many cute small bubble bottles! Which one to choose?! haha

mrspung (jellypurin),

I order from stritly pastry... (recommend by DQ queen) I ask her for comments.. she said the price reasonable le.. So i go ahead ordering..

U can go FB see.. the cake really very nice! it's still have light de..

Something like this...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5399251.jpg]

jasline

no wonder! ok lah, it's about $100/kg and it includes all these electricals... as long as u like it, i think it is worth it

eliss

join spree. but shipping v v long. be prepared. i use to order stuff from OTC until they lost my parcel twice!

invitation card : some of the invitation card will be giving my daughter's classmates, and some will be giving to those relatives dont owe a FB.. lol~~ Plus my invitation cards is the mickey head shape.. so cut out le, very cute mahz.. lol~~ might be doing like 40pcs.. haha~~ many works to do..

birthday banner : also do the same, cut out the shape.. just that 1 banner is minnie in hot pink ribbons and mickey head lorz... :)

eliss

4-8 weeks depending on spree org... it's relatively cheap now since usd is low. can buy.

joann.com now v few pple spree bcos they kept dropping orders

Eliss, hw about DIY. I actually DIY-ed some bubbles for my gal before. U can google for the recipe using edible ingredients.

I made one with water, sugar and bb soap (which I replaced with fruit & veggie detergent). It worked.

But need to find small containers if u wanna use as gifts lo.

SK...i got lots of fruit/vege detergent so I dun mind DIY... but where can I buy those emply smaller containers with wands leh?

Strictly Pastry: I ordered some cuppies for my hubby’s birthday in May. Not sure whether it is just me but seems like Hannah does not like to discuss over the phone, everything through email . I exchanged several emails with her, give her my no., ask her to call me, ask for her number so I can call her instead, etc - never give me until after I have confirmed my order and make the payment. Maybe she is busy baking but thought it will be faster if we can just quickly discuss over phone and no need to ding dong email so many times. Anyways, looking forward to her cuppies in May and will let u know if they taste good. Her designs are really good though. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Birthday cake: I ordered from Oven Creations – recommended by mrslong, I think. $110 for 6” fondant cake, about 1 - 1.2kg, including toppers. My hubby almost fainted when I told him the price! Guess this is the market rate for fondant cake bah…

erm.. not sure abt the containers.. the wands u can find from daiso. not really wands but like a mini mini verson of wad the gymboree instructors use. one pack got 4-5 sticks of it with a shallow plate. unless u r letting the kids play on the spot.. u can also pour on a bowl or plastic cup.

if lazy, just buy the bottled bubbles from daiso.. big bottle but maybe not edible, though i used on my gal many times and they popped on her face and mouth.

Haa think I m the laziest! So far I only ordered the cake and some balloons. Mine is 2 tier 9" + 6" fondant with all fondant characters included. Damage is $200. My first quote from another homebaker for the same size n similar design cake is $360! But managed to find another similar n cheaper alternative. Not gg to print actual card. Only gg to design a ecard n send out.

Re: bd planning

I shld be ordering from ovencreations too tho quite ex. $190 for a 2.5kg, 8" cake. Maybe I will get a smaller one instead cuz everytime I see other pple's bd, the cake always hv leftovers.

I ordered some party goody gifts, balloons & bd banner from partycity from a spree. Collected my items yest.

Caterer shld be ordering from Angeli. Not doing invites.

So now only left what clothes to let my boy wear. Hehe.

Babycoco: did u manage to chk with yr friend on whether the items I wanna get are available? Tks.

Mrslong, bento diaper bag is available. Zoo tableware will arrive in 2 weeks. I'll confirm your order tomorrow, before I email the final order to my friend.

Fever: Kayden been having fever since last night. Brought him to see doc this morning. Afternoon ok le. Evening time feverish again. Hope he get well soon. Doc ask me to look out for any red spot.

Junie: For me & Chelz, what we do is we will go in to the play area to play depending on who reach first. No need to wait for everyone to arrive. Whenever arrived, will sms or call the person who reached. I will be there earlier for Mother's Day lunch at the Kallang Seafood restaurant at KLP.

mummies, baby G finally back with me tonight. He initially refused to comply with court order and wanted to keep baby with him. i was very upset and going to leave. then he called us back. I have 2 friends (a couple) and the lawyer's man to accompany me. he said he would give me baby but ask me to drop the court case. anyway, my baby was dressed in sleeveless netted top and undies (stuff I would never dress her in - must be my MIL's dress sense) and she was smelling quite bad. she was crying all the time too, cos the dad was speaking very loudly and then the mum (me) was crying. haiz. hopefully, this episode is the last that she will ever experience. and she won't remember this type of unhappiness.

when she came home, my parents (so sweet) bought flowers for her to bathe in. now she is sleeping. traumatizing week...now i want to do is bring her out and enjoy some time with her. and of course, get her sweet-smelling too!

for first year birthday, i wonder how things will turn out then. but i think i will opt for a simple celebration. most importantly, is have her by my side. won't allow the dad to have overnight access EVER AGAIN.

Julie,

I can feel your immense happiness to have her back. Yes, keep her safe by your side. And please, plant a little kiss on her chubby cheek for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Play gym,

Another one I like is at Orchid country club. Can't remember the name though. It has a small area for the babies and toddlers. Babies free entry but accompanying adult $1 for 1 h. Free car park too. Only draw back is the location.

I find Rochester park one so so..

yes, immense happiness, truly. i think she is still in shock initially...but she seems to recognise her Ten Little Ladybugs (which is a great storybook!)and flashed her cheeky toothy smile when I read the book to her before bedtime. thank you for listening to my story and be my visible and invisible supporters...i needed that!