(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Anyone has ordered birthday cake?

Can share where to find nice too eat & nice to see birthday cake & the price below $200?

Chelz >> can try www.ovencreations.blogspot.com.

So funny, last nite I dreamt that I forgot to order my boy's birthday cake (from ovencreations) and it was only abt less than a week away.

Then I told my mum & sis (in my dream), nevermind lor...just anyhow order those ice-cream cake from Swenson's.

ann- mine is the photo shown, bot at expo , i try searching the company name in yahoo but cant find! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] haven try dun noe good a not.

chelz

what sort of cake do you want? most bakers make fancy design cakes out of fondant... if you want fresh cream, v few bakers make them.

also, the design... some bakers cannot and will not provide the toppers for you if you wish to make a cake of a certain theme so you can take this time to plan

for my ds this year, ordered cuppies from Yan (she's on BP) since last year. theme will be sesame street and i am going to diy a cupcake stand for the cuppies. i hope the stand will be sturdy enough!

for my dd's first bday, her cake was from pine gardens. the only good thing is that they can bake the cake for you in 3 days so in case no bakers can do it for you, u can go to them. cake is so so and alot of cream...

Springleaf, do you speak to your baby in Mandarin on a daily basis? or anyone in your family does? IMO, it's not very useful to send babies to classes to learn a language when they are not exposed to it on a daily basis

Take my girl for example. She's exposed to English since birth, so when my mom started talking to her in Cantonese, she gave a blank look or continued doing her stuff as if she didn't hear anything. But now she's starting to associate some Cantonese terms with her daily activities

Update on cheese - to those who are interested:-

Saw Colby cheese being sold in Giant. I remembered it's one of those cheeses that we can let baby try. So I checked the ingredients list and "enzymes" is listed. Came back to office and googled, and this is what I found:-

"Cheese can be made with or without rennet which is derived from the stomach tissue of a slaughtered calf. Today more and more cheeses are made with “microbial enzymes” which are widely used in the industry because they are a consistent and inexpensive coagulant. The term “microbial enzyme” means it is a synthetically developed coagulant. The term “vegetable rennet” means it is derived from a vegetable source. Soft cheeses such as cream cheese and cottage cheese are manufactured without rennet. Some cottage cheeses, however, may contain gelatin which is derived from animal sources. All labels should be read carefully"

Rennet is a coagulant required in the production of cheese but it's expensive. So mommies, when you're buying cheese for your babies, please read the ingredients list

springleaf

for our bb's age, there is bibinogs. better than JG.

ica

the cupcake stand is v easy to make. store bought was $11 and cannot customise... my own cupcake stand can!

cakepops not difficult. i think you are gonna hv a unique and great party for your kid!

Hi Fazzy,

My gal is exactly like urs..so i plan to send her to enrichment class when she is here in May later.

no worry, my niece is also same like our bb last time..

But now she is 3 yrs old ady, haha, extremely friendly!!see stranger in shopping mall also dare to hold ppl hand, can play with ppl around..

so i think most of the gals are like this..eventually they ll learn to mix around..no worry..=)

tell ur so called best fren dun simply comment if know nothing =p (sorry, a bit harsh)

JP, yup, saw one cupcake stand at Spotlight, made of cardboard, about $11 and it's not very nice looking. better off making our own - once party's over, dismantle and store, take it out again for the next party [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah, cakepops are easy but I'm doing cookie pops. hey, since you're doing an Elmo party, you can check out Elmo cakepops on bakerella.com - nice?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5333798.jpg]

I am from the June 2010 thread.

I am now doing my 3rd batch spree for Sophie & other brands, the products can be seen on www.sophie.sg. The discount is 20% off price listed on the site.

To order, please send me a PM directly (I will not be referring to the thread postings). I will close orders on 10 April at 3pm. On 11 April, I will contact all mummies to confirm the orders and ask for payment to be transferred before 12 April 11am. Stocks will be available for collection from 13 April onwards at Pinnacle@Duxton or Tanjong Pagar MRT.

Re-send (error on dates above):

I am from the June 2010 thread.

I am now doing my 3rd batch spree for Sophie & other brands, the products can be seen on www.sophie.sg. The discount is 20% off price listed on the site.

To order, please send me a PM directly (I will not be referring to the thread postings). I will close orders on 17 April at 3pm. On 18 April, I will contact all mummies to confirm the orders and ask for payment to be transferred before 19 April 11am. Stocks will be available for collection from 20 April onwards at Pinnacle@Duxton or Tanjong Pagar MRT.

ica

v nice the sesame street pops! i doubt i hv time to make them. am already v happy with the sesame street theme cupcake [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jp, I am Also doing sesame street theme! Too bad yan is alr full for my date.

Ica,

How so u make the lollipop cookies?

Sun_tan, see pics. I'm attempting #2, maybe have 3 colours. Just use a basic sugar cookie recipe. but if you're doing cakepops, go to www.bakerella.com

Cookie pop is made from cookie dough

Cakepop (like that sesame street pic above) is made from cake, shaped into balls

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5335210.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5335211.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5335212.jpg]

Ica: The Sesame Street Theme Cake pops are insanely cute! I love baking so maybe i'll try!! But wah looks like ALOT of work. Somemore must "try" first hahaa. I am just totally devouring bakerella's website. Devouring AND drooling because all her stuff looks so delish! Gonna try her maple pancake muffins this sunday!

I haven't thought of a theme for G yet.. at first I thought Elmo too but i think I will change and do something else instead. Just need to think of an idea =P

ica>> I absolutely love the sesame street cake pops! Do you have the recipe for it? Maybe we should organise a mommies' baking day, it'll be so fun for us..haha

Jac, Pris, Sun_tan: ya man! bakerella's cakepops really pop! hahaha. the basic cakepop is very simple to make. only the decorating needs a lot of work if u wanna make bakerella's cutesy cakepops...we can only drool...

Jac, you try the sesame pops and show us ya! maybe you'll be the next bakerella. kekeke

Hello!! Tot I Pop in again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nice meetin u mummies!

Jac,pris: bakin class sounds yummy and fun oredi!! Me novice baker so wud love to learn some tips!!

Hi mummies.. those who ever brought ur babies on a plane, do they get cranky?

I’m afraid they cannot take the plane pressure.

Im gg Malaysia end of this mth, but taking a 9pm flight. By the time I reach KL, I guess bb sleep schedule already go haywire due to not sleeping well.

Also, wad do u all feed bb? As my gal doesn’t take cereals anymore..

SK,

if u got give pacifier, juz let bb bite on that during the takeoff n landing....if not give milk or water oso can

hi SK, bought baby K on flight when she's 6 mo.

Suika's suggestion is one way. If baby Kayleigh not into dummy, take bring on board a bottle of water/milk for her to drink when ascending and descending. Periodically also let her drink throughout the flight....it will ease the pressure build up...

bring along her fav toy to distract her during the flight... but your flight relatively short...so should be fine.

eliss & suika: thx for ur suggestions! i hope all goes well! hw about food? if u're staying in hotel, how to cook porridge?? or wad kinda food can they eat?

SK,

if u going oni a few days then can give milk or cereal....hotel not easy to cook porridge wor or u get pigeon porridge? but like abit ex

mrspung/suika.. i tot of the pigeon porridge too but read that most babies doesnt like it. will get a pack or two to standby.

eliss: my gal is weird. sometimes, she will reject the cereals she loved to eat & only wants porridge. sometimes is the other way round. as of now she only eats porridge. her preference for food changes all the time! like she will make the vomit sound whenever i gave her the melts, but last nite (after 1 month), i tried again & she seemed to be enjoying them. lol

vivi: hmm gotta see if i can pack one into my luggage.. hee