(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

jellypurin: The delivery of milk powder should be this weekend. They say will call me tomorrow to confirm again. I will keep you updated.

Hi ladies... Juz to share that I had a great appt with the feeding teamat novena medical centre! I learnt so much things that my hubby and I felt that all mothers should attend something like this rather then ante-natal class! :p And to our surprise.. the dietician said I can mix frisco comfort with my usual enfalac coz bb vera has been having diarrhoea eversince she started on frsico comfort on teh advise of the gastro specialist. I was basically feeding bb and they filmed it down and also there are 3 specialists evaluating how i feed, what i fed and most imptly bb's response. Then end of the session.. I was given a recommended feeding schedule. The required milk intake is only 600ml leh! but hor I wanna feed 500ml in a day is already a big challenge liao! Like today.. even if I included the feed which bb regurgitated.. it is only abt 400ml! big sigh... I must work harder! I cant wait to try yoghurt like you ladies did! The dietician also said I can give some cheese le but of coz they have to be melted first n mix with something else like cereal or potato. But they said my bb not ready for the happy melts coz she vomited everything in her stomach when she choked on it. And also not ready for bread. I am asked to give more teething rusk to encourage jaw exercise n chewing action and to use finger with cloth to clean bb gums for stimulation. They feel that becoz of reflux and I didnt dare to try anything other than milk,cereal n porridge... I am hindering bb's development. The speech and feeding specialist also discourgae sippy cup and showed me how i can encourage bb to drink from a cup le! and she really can manage a little! When they asked me to try.. I basically poured all the water onto my bb leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]then I said sheepishly that mummy will go home practise more ...

to join in the discussion... my baby sleep in the cot in her room. And I sleep in the same room coz she usually will stir several times at night andI gota wake up to pat pat her back to sleep. My hubby will sleep in the master room. Even when he is in town.. he is juz like a shadow lor. Never help me with baby. And my hands are totally tied with bb day in day out. When I need go toilet i will ask him to help me carry baby. And yesterday when I asked him to help me carry bb while i make milk.. he bumped bb's head on the overhead cardboard and she cried n cried! psssss I no longer have maid and I gota do EVERYTHING myself.. housework, laundry, ironing, sweeping,mopping.. the only time i can read forum or go fb is when i am feeding baby:p Since I usually try to carry for an hour after i feed her before i put her in the cot. So thats my ME-time! so pathetic! I hope bb will get more independent as she grows older! at the moment she is very needy. cannot play on her own..I must sit beside her one. Walk away for 30 seconds she will cry liao. Otherwise my bb is a happy bb.. very playful n smiley. hee hee

AK: Hi Ak, you are a great mom!! Stay strong for cutie Vera! Really if you ask me, she looks like such a happy and healthy baby. Can't tell from her face so you're doing a super job [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, my G loves to drink straight from cup. I have no idea why .. i didn't know it was "advance". 1 day I just got so lazy with spoon feeding him water after his cereal that I poured the water into an avent VIA cup and cup-fed him. He slurped and gulped the water down. Can even hear him swallowing. But of cos cannot tooo fast cos he will choke if too much. So slowly slowly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My baby really don't take much milk too so not to worry I think you're doing just fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes AK! *pat on shoulder & thumbs up* u r so great!

The course sounds interesting, how much isit?

My hb doesn't help out much either, doesn't take initiative at all... Hais guys...

ica: thanks!! I think I will cut them into smaller pieces, cos those I saw seem rather fat n juicy, scared bb choke.

AK: the course sounds v useful and practical! you r right..the ante-natal class which I went to was useless to me..like I totally forgot how to breathe when in labour ward. haha. thanks for sharing, I will also give my bb the teething rusks to chew, I hesitated cos of the salt content.

my hubby also seldom helps out..so haiz..they r the same. you r a great mum! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jaclyn: I will try cup feeding after trying out the straw! hehe!

AK - Thanks for sharing! Baby Vera is a happy and cute baby indeed. With the gastro team suggestion, you must continue to jia you!!!

was on leave from last monday to yesterday but no time for myself! hubby is still recuperating at home from a minor surgery that takes ages to be better... So the whole week i was busying with household chores, bb K and hubby. HB dont want me to overwork so suggested to stay over at PIL place thinking PIL can help to look after bb K. He forgets that when bb K poos or feeding time, MIL will bring her to me!! Besides its always not comfortable staying in PIL place, I much prefer to stay at my own house.

Baby sleeps alone at night - Such coincidence...I was discussing with my hubby on when we should let bb K sleeps alone in the other room before I saw these being discussed in forum on the same day. Hubby said see first. MIL said better to start before she turns one year old. I would hope to start now.

Currently bb K sleeps in our room. Usually she will fall asleep in our bed before we trf her to her playpen. Yes she will still whimper and at times cry in the night. Usually I will stick the dummy to her mouth and she will gone back to zzz land. If she cries out with eyes open and is sitting/standing up, i will then put her to co-sleep between us.

drinking water - bb K loves drinking water be it from soft spout/cup feeding. Have not try straw yet, shall try soon.

Soft spout - she can hold it and direct it to her mouth but she cant lift her arms yet...

Cup feeding - fed her a few times from my water bottle and while we are dining outside when i forgot to bring along her water!

feeding - phew - her feeding on milk now slightly better than last few weeks...

0630 - ebm 160-180ml

1030 - ebm 150-180ml

1400 - HB cereal 3 tbsp + 5/6 tbsp puree

1500 - ebm 50-80ml

1800 - HB creal/yolk 3tbsp + 5/6 puree

1900 - ebm 50-80ml

2230 - ebm 160-180ml

as you can see, she hearts on puree more than cereal so usually I have 3/4 variety of puree in my freezer cuz each day she needs at least two diff types of purees...

puree - she has regular features of yolk/spinach/broccoli/asparagus/pumpkin/s.potatos/pear/apple/papaya/prune/peach/peas

tasted on - durian/mango/persimmon/banana

cooking porridge in slow cooker - found an unused small slow cooker in my storeroom. Brought it out to try on cooking porridge in it... start cooking at 2pm, by the time i reach home at 9pm, almost charr le... how long will you leave in slow cooking... my slow cooker only has stew and warm options.... i left it under stew option...!!!

junie - yup Friday confirm can go! I master driving with the stick le!!! *yeah*

BTW will there shower facility for the little one? If not, I will probably just wipe her down before we go home for shower again! If it rains, then it will just be a normal play date lo!

AK, thanks for sharing! and i'm sure Vera will be fine soon. keep up the good work.

Jaclyn, yeah, maybe i should skip straw and go straight to cup. ok will try this weekend see how H handles it

Charliebrown, ya, cutting into smaller bits for the 1st time is a good idea. i googled again for blueberry recipies. one webby says if you're making a puree, after pureeing, to sieve to remove the skin and seeds. hope this helps

Carol, if you're reading this - the avent steamer-blender is made in Turkey. i was using it last night, so lifted it up and had a look.

broccoli puree - made some yesterday. the taste is not bad. hehehe. dunno my baby will pass more gas today. hahaha. oh, it seems the stems are the gas-producing culprit. i was thinking of dicing it up to puree but didn't

AK: Thanks for sharing. You are a great mummy! Having to go through all this and yet still looking at the positive side of things. My bb had reflux issues too but have since recovered at about 4/5 mths old, so I can totally understand the feeling when bb merlions everything out. Hang in there and continue to jiayou!

eliss: Bb K tasted durian? Wow! And how to prepare yolk puree?

Was told that for egg yolk - just need to hard-boil the egg, use fork to mash up yolk will do, then can add to cereal/porridge. But have not tried it myself yet tho. Erm - anyone tried to freeze egg yolk after cooking? Quite troublesome to cook fresh each time lei...

AK, jia you ok?

mummies.. why my girl is like total opposite. she simply hates the HB Melts! I gave her 1, she frowned, then refuse to have another one. when i managed to pop a 2nd one in her mouth, she simply gag like she gonna vomit everything out (not choke) but cant coz it was melting in progress inside her mouth!

i also bought the yoplait yoghurt, she too hates it and i was the one who ate everything up. sigh! she dunno hw to enjoy good food.

but she loves the yoghurt we eat. i also gave her a few sips of yakult, end up she grabbed the empty bottle and happily suck on it. -.-

Eliss, i've used a very small slow cooker to cook porridge before, during my college days lah. it has auto or high only. i'd put it on high to cook for more than 6 hours. how much water did you put? i added almost to the brim, leaving about 1cm. the porridge wd be really smooth

AK,

Jia you! Vera is such a smiley and cute bb. I always see you post pics of her in FB. You have been doing a great job! Pat on back*

You should mayb try to get yr hubb more involved so that you can breath a little. Be strong!

Update - 2nd night of sleep training.

Feed him at midnight again, this time he woke at 3.45am, got angry that have to drink water but went back to bed in 10mins. And the next time i picked him up is when i am ready to leave home for work at 7.30am! So it means he is actually not that hungry!! Let's see how many nights before he gets the hint that if he wakes, its water... so looking forward to the day!

My little one has stated to have a mind of his own! Nowadays have to 'consult' him first before we give him milk! Cannot just lie him down and feed, but need to pass him his bottle, wait for him to stretch out and he will slowly put the teat into his mouth if he wants milk, then can gently lower him to feeding position... quite troublesome wor... any mummies got similar experience?

And he no longer likes to be in tummy position. Keeps wanting to stand up (with us supporting him)... aiyoh, like that not sure if he will learn how to crawl...

Good morning mummies,

Kayden slept real late last night. Almost close to 11pm. Dunno what's wrong with him. I thought with him sleeping so late, he will actually sleep till at least 7am in the morning but I was wrong. He slept till 4.30am and make noise.. gave him his pacifier and he slept till 6am and make noise. Carried him to my bed and let him lie there and he started talking. I am very tired (cause hubby was snoring rather loudly thruout the night) so I poked hubby up to make milk for Kayden. He came back into the room and passed me the milk bottle. I was so tired that I decided to give kayden the milk bottle and ask him to feed himself. Bad mummy, right? He really feed himself, finish, pull out the bottle and give to me. Then he grab his pillow and fell asleep next to me. I was so glad that he does all that himself. Proud of him.

AK: take care... I am sure things will get better and bb Vera will be fine soon! Glad to know that she is a happy baby! Jia you!

Mommies who ordered ON/GAp from me. I placed your orders already. Now i am awaiting for for GAP/ON to send me a confirmation letter to say that all items are shipped and no further OOS items.

Payment wise, will email all of you soon. As promised, since this is a private spree, will collect payment base on CC rate. No mark ups [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Quick check - anyone has the advertisement for the Babycare fair that starts today? I searched today's newspaper back and forth but cant find the advert.

well, my hubb refuse to bring me to the babycare fair, so unless i see the advert and if there is something interesting, i can PITCH my case...hahahaahh

help ah..

AK: Thanks for sharing what you have learn. You jia you ok??

Eliss: I only cook pooridge in my slow cooker for at most 3hrs.

Imitating dog bark: I was just reciting ABC to my boy last night. He was totally ignoring me but I just recite. "A for apple, B for Boy, C for Cat, D for Dog" and then I produce the sound "Woof woof"... He wasn't looking at me and I wasn't looking at him when I did that. But when I say Woof Woof.. He chuckles very loudly.. i immediately look at him and he was looking at me. I decided to try again.. "Woof Woof".. he chuckles loudly again. Weird boy right? Haha!!

Ann, not weird lah. babies like to hear animal sounds. haha. i do that to H all the time. Her fave is 'woof'

there's this book by Sandra Boynton, for babies, it's about dogs. it goes like this:-

* 1 dog, then you make a "woof", "arff", whichever bark that you like

* 2 dogs, you make one woof (depends on whichever bark you started with), then 2 arffs (i.e. arff arff)

and it goes on till nine dogs.

H laughs and squels non-stop every time i read her this story. another story that H likes is "Silly Sally"

Eliss>> There's a separate shower facility for men & female.

So BBs will shower in the female facility I guess.

But then, I also dunno how to shower my baby on my own w/o a bathtub le. Guess I'll just do a wipe down then go home & shower?

yolk - like what bd said just boil the egg till hard then peel and take out the yolk. Mash with water/milk, if not too dry, BB will get gag!

slow cooler - i add water till left about 8 cm above the rice with one yomeishu cupful of calrose rice. Think I boil too long le... but its pretty mushy compared to use thermal cooker...

Gymobree on 19 Mar - besides Jace/irene/Yvonne - who else going thi sat?

Kindermusik - anyone wants know when is the next trial class?

Grace - the BB fair ad is shown on Wed's Today's centerspread.

see if can view

http://imcmsimages.mediacorp.sg/CMSFileserver/documents/006/PDF/20110316/1603WNP038.pdf

Some updates on diapers at the fair:

Huggies : regardless of size it's 14 for one packet, 26 for 2 pkt, regardless of size

2 pkt give wet wipes

4 pkt give a tent

6 packet give tent plus the tunnel for them to crawl

mummies, some qn to ask on slow cookers..

1) wad type of slow cooker to buy? i saw a few range, some is made of glass, some is stainless steel (Akira brand). the most ex one is the glass.

2) Do we have to cook the rice for like 10mins, then transfer into slow cooker to cook? or can directly cook in slow cooker?

3) wadz the diff between using slow cooker compared to cooking on the stove?

4) if i'm using a pot to cook porridge, i can monitor if too much water and can pour out excess. but slow cooker, coz of its function, wad if i put too much water? will my porridge become too watery?

5) how long does it take to cook a small portion of rice for baby's feed? (eg, usually i cook 1 handful)

thanks!!!

Ann, Kayden so cute n independent, no wonder u r proud of him!

When he feeds himself, does he lies flat on the bed? Will not choke and can drink when lying flat?

They only hv huggies ultra here, n swim supers n pull up pants, pampers only hv cruisers n new born n s size, dun have active

SK, if you're only making very little porridge for baby (how much can a baby eat, right?), you're better off using the stove. as the name suggests, it's for slow cooking - for food that requires longer cooking hours eg. bird's nest, stew, soup. will try to answer your Qs:-

2) Do we have to cook the rice for like 10mins, then transfer into slow cooker to cook? or can directly cook in slow cooker? can cook directly but it will take longer as the cooker needs to heat up to boiling point. if you cook the rice first or add boiling water to the slow cooker, it will speed up the process

3) wadz the diff between using slow cooker compared to cooking on the stove? the main diff, in my opinion, is texture of the food

4) if i'm using a pot to cook porridge, i can monitor if too much water and can pour out excess. but slow cooker, coz of its function, wad if i put too much water? will my porridge become too watery? from my experience, no. just stir into the porridge. it will still be like cantonese-style

Eliss: If you want to use slow cooker to cook for many hours, you need to add alot of water/stock. Then the porridge will turn out nice n smooth. Dont be afraid to add more water than what u're comfortable with because it just becomes more watery which is oso acceptable for our babies. It is a trial and error thing, u will know what is the right amount after awhile.

Sweetkiss:

1. I use 1 called Lucky Brand from Toyomi. It costs me only $40

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5232126.jpg]

2. Nope I put the rice straight into the slow cooker, add stock, add chicken or watever and then let it boil on Auto overnight. Btw it consumes very little power only

3) They say when u cook with a slow cooker, it is cooked over time and at a long period of time, thus the ingredients that u're giving will have more taste .. like more time to get "infused" with the good stuff.

4) The most you need 1-2 tries to get the right amount of water u like. When I put too much water, my rice is cooked to its "maximum capacity" and the remaining water is still inside. So I can just drain the water away when scooping porridge out for bb

5) erm I never measure leh. I just dump all the ingredients inside before I sleep (about 1+ am) then morning time just look at it and if soft enough, shut it off. If not just leave it on for awhile more.

ica/jaclyn: thanks... ya i saw the toyomi one. wanted to get it too coz its the only one with glass lid so easier to check. maybe i'll use it to make stock or soup. so after work got soup to drink for dinner. thanks for sharing, i'll get one soon! if cook overnight, can cook on "low" mode?

Sweetkiss: mine is the smaller one from the pic.. dont have LOW. Only have AUTO and HIGH. If put Auto it will start on high then ownself switch to low.

Jaclyn, may I know what is the size (in litres) of the slow cooker you r using? Each time you cook, sufficient for how many meals for bb?

I am thinking of getting 1 too... thanks!

SK, i always cook on "high". and when it's all cooked, and i want to keep it warm for a period of time, i'll switch to "auto". never tried "low" before. hahaha! happy experimenting!

if you cook the soup in the day, will there be any one at home when you're at work? remember hor, it runs on electricity, so still need some one to be home, as a precaution. otherwise, invest in a thermal pot

bdmummy: Errrm how do I check? I threw the box away!! Anyway its exactly like the pic, and the smallest size. Price range is 40. You can find it at anymore appliance stores like harvey norman, best denki etc!

ica: nope, no one at home! my intention is to prepare all ingredients on the nite b4, then next day before work just throw everything and pour water in to slow cook! cannot ah? thermal pots are very exp rite? like the tiger magic jar, small one already $80+..

Huggies: Is Ultra better or Dry comfort better ah?

bdmummy: Normally I will carry him or lie him on his playmat with a pillow to elevate his head abit to drink milk. But apparently, he can also drink milk lying down flat and drink without choking. I think Enzo (Lynn's baby) also drink milk lying down flat, if I am not wrong.

slow cooker: For me, I will dump everything I wanna cook in the slow cooker, put in 1 small rice bowl of hot water and cook. After 2hrs, I will stir the porridge and then let it continue to cook for another half an hour more before offing it.

SK - for soup/stew - thermal pot better...save electricity too! Just as easy to cook!

for slow cooker - if you put too much ingredient too little water, will get dry out very very soon... cant last your working hours even on low mode

SK, not cannot lah, but just in case mah. oh, what i did last time when i was pregnant - i put it to cook before i went to sleep and when i woke up, it wd be all done. i didn't disturb the soup (no stirring whatsoever), just let it sat in the pot. when i got home from work, i'd re-heat. if you stir it, then put the lid back, the soup may spoil

ya, thermal pot is ex but can save gas, save electricity, and i don't have to worry about it when i go out. actually can cook a lot of food with thermal pot but ppl usually use it to make soup

Just managed to take some photos to share ! Easier to see with photos

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5232423.jpg]

My Slow cooker.. I put the plate there for comparison of its size

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5232424.jpg]

The texture of porridge I cook for my son... take note, its alot because its for me too hahaaa. About 1/2 cup of rice there. I put 7 scoops of chicken stock (using that scoop as shown in the pic) for 1/4 cup. So for 1/2 cup I put 14 scoops

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5232425.jpg]

I add in 1 teaspoon of each ikan bilis powder and white bait powder.. and his puree

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5232426.jpg]

My son now alot of action when he sees his food. Looks yucky right?! HAhaa. But he can finish!

Jessica - i got two thermals at home! 1 big 1 small! Actually not very ex if you buy during promo! Mine not branded but work as good! Sometimes OG has promo $49.90 for the 5L one - that's a good buy! I bought the 2.5L one from cold storage at $19.90... also work well!!

Not that i cook a lot cuz i had daily dinner at PIL's! However I always recommend thermal pots to my working friends!!

i used it for stews - simply love the texture!

that time my CL lagi best! Use it to cook rice, best texture that I ever use on rice cooker! (cuz Gb and I hardly have rice so no rice cooker) So I ask CL to teach me how to cook rice using thermal pot! Splendid!

Wah - bb G eat a lot leh!!! My gal is not even having half his serving! how long he takes to finish?

Eliss: Ya lor he can finish im oso surprised. If plain porridge he donwan, must put in a puree he likes, like sweet potato or this one (bok choy). He can normally finish in about 10-20 mins depending on who feeds =D