(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

vivi>> the costume for your boy u need in march is it in 1-2weeks' time?

JP>> dun hv nursery rhyme costumes so far but i can email u the list of costume we have at the moment. All brand new & recently bought only. We're still sorting out some details.

Hersey>> my sis only saw one minnie mouse one but it's expensive...so not worth it.

any mummies keen to order item from partycity.com?

If so, can share freight charges.

I'm thinking of doing a jungle theme for my boy's 1st BD.

I can order through a friend who's staying in the States.

Potty training - when do you start? Is anyone practising elimination communication?

Baby-Led Weaning - anyone practising this? Any tips to share?

Thanks all for your advices.

I feel much better now. Maybe was just my emo acting up on me.

Hai.. dunno why acting like that.

I'm new to this forum & currently a SAHM looking after my 7 months old baby.

Had jus started him on semi-solids at 6 months. Can anyone share when do we intro a 3 meals/day to baby cos he's on 2 meals/day now.

Julie - potty trg u can start if Ur girl can sit up on her own unassisted. All u need to do is u just bring her to the potty at regular intervals. Whether she pees/poos or not is not critical. Since u r sahm, u can potty train Ur bb earlier ...

Bb led weaning - tried on both my kids. It works ... I weaned both my kids at e time they themselves are ready to eat solids...

Thanks to Grace, I have a Beco too! Haha ...

Bought the Cuppacino one coz sharing with hubby. Would have loved to get one of those nice printed ones otherwise. Can go YouTube and see what is the diff between an ergo/ beco/ beco butterfly 2. I found the information there very useful.

Junie >> Can check out Chilli Padi Catering...yummieeee

Jelly>> what foods did you give for Bb led weaning? Been reading about it but not quite sure how to start. B just stuffs everything into his mouth, I'm so worried he might choke.

Pris

For my #1, I tried bread, papaya, bananas. Supervision is impt n u need to know what to do in e event they get choked.

For Sydney, I gave him bananas as well. Ok, he was playing w it more than he was eating it!

Pris, Amelie is the complete opposite. Won't put anything in her mouth. I gave her some puffs today, she just plays with it, transfer from one hand to the other. But if I put in her mouth, she'll eat it.

JP, good advise on potty training. Hadn't started thinking of that.

Baby led weaning (blw)

Can borrow e book from library or read fm web. It is simply putting food that u normally eat at home and cut them into pieces of the right size. By right size I mean they do not get choke being too small.

The radical part of blw is, if u made beef stew today, u feed Ur bb beef stew. No mushy food. Just beef stew. When I started trying on my daughter when she was 8 months, my mom flipped! So w my son, I play down a little... There is an alternative to blw - u continue to feed Ur bb mushy food but let bb self feed. I think this we can do Wo all e disapprovals from e older folks. Caveat - pls learn how to relief Ur child when bb is choking or show signs of choking. This is a v impt first aid skill if u wanna try blw

Potty trg

I find this e toughest for ftwm... Cos we r not consistent... I left e trg to my daughter's cc... Will start my son earlier since I hv a helper (I hope)

irene

imo, no diff... u can choose the nice ones or buy the ones we used as kids. the effect is in the method to potty train, not so much on the gadget... i feel...

my daughter now wants to use the adult toilet as it has more privacy... her potty is now a step tool :p

my girl is potty trained, every morn after her 1st or 2nd milk feed my mum will put her on the potty and go "ermmmmmmmm" then she will poo or pee inside. so now she doesnt poo in diapers. if outside & she wanna poo, we need to carry her in a sitting position.

im using normal potty. the red color one.. those that we bought for guo da li. hahaha

morning!

Ann, glad that everything's ok now. just your hormones lah. remember in science class we learned about equilibrium and that when a foreign matter is introduced to a group that is in balance, the whole equilibrium changes and a new equilirium is achieved? well, that's what we are going thru now - it takes time

JP, the blw is interesting and radical indeed

irene, i think a cheap one will do. i tried mine on a nicer potty but she cried. maybe too hard for her bum bum. so will go look for a simple one

baby's development: Hannah went for her 6m jab + rota + pneumococal jabs yesterday. At 1 week short of 8 months, she weighed 8.7kg, measured 72.5cm - now still nursing a slight fever

JTS, i gave a list of questions to hubby and my mom to ask the PD:-

Q. H has eczema and i have childhood asthma. ok to give fish, yoghurt, cheese, chicken, egg yolk now?

A. fish, chicken - 9m

yoghurt, cheese, egg yolk - 1yo

Q. H's daily milk intake fluctuates from 600-750ml and she's having 4 tablespoons of cereal + 50ml puree + 1-2 rice crackers. is that ok?

A. ok. but give her another helping of food

Eliss, Caris, this answers your questions. now we're figuring out how to slot in another semi-solid feeding. maybe breakfast, lunch, dinner proper

Q. H makes this sound when she's drinking her milk, like phlegm/snot that's stuck in her throat. it doesn't affect her breathing though

A. she's teething. that's saliva

PD listed down the foods that H can have now:-

apple, pear, avocado, pumpkin, potato, broccoli, banana, honey dew, spinach, carrot and others which i can't recall off hand

this is the 1st time i'm hearing honey dew

PD said to make stock for soup, use pork bones instead. not even ikan bilis as it's still fish

sweetkiss

that is awesome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica

H has childhood asthma... ur PD diagnosed it? sigh... i am afraid my son is also the allergy king...

sweetkiss, thumbs up!

JP, no it's me who has childhood asthma. and i think becos of that, H has eczema but under control now. thinking back, when i was breastfeeding her, i ate peanuts so dunno whether that was the trigger. so far H is ok and keeping my fingers crossed. me, my mom, my maternal grandpa, we're asthmatic

what allergies does your baby have? need to do prick test?

Thanks ICA!!

SOLID FEEDING

So rice crackers can also consider as food?! haha i only give K rice crackers when we are dining outside. ok to give everyday?!

K really loves her vege/fruit puree compared to grains! MIL and I have to fake her by alternate spoon feed her with pure vege/fruit follow by grains cereal coated with vege/fruit puree...

Last week I bought avo and i think they are not too ripe, had difficult blending them. In the end, it is not as smooth and the tasteis so RAW! yet K finished every serving...wah! Good la at least Avo + spinach are super food so maybe I will just up her vege/fruit servings...

I bought calrose rice yesterday! Maybe i will try and see if she is keen to have white rice porridge when i on leave next week! Gotta stock up on fruits/vege before weekend so that I can make puree for her!

BABY PORRIDGE

A bit clueless on how to do it for calrose rice. I will just boil the rice with excess water right? When to put in puree / frozen stock? Calrose rice porridge should be very mushy when cooked right so there's no need to blend?

BLW

do we omit milk altogether with BLW... shouldnt be right? How should be the whole day feeding like?

ica >> H is really a very good girl. I can't believe her hat stayed on the whole afternoon! = )

Jelly >> When you give banana, does S chomp a chunk off it or does he just nibble?

ica

my son Sydney (syd) has rashes... it appears after he had taken certain foods... and he is perceptually hvg blocked nose and he snorts alot... i am quite certain he has eczema... bcos it's patchy and red... not raw but u can see it's on his tummy and bum...

my pd did not order a prick test... but syd is on long term zyrtec in a sense... to combat his sensitive airways, pd asked me to give him lung booster syrup and singulair granules...

pris

i give half the banana... i buy the small bananas... not the delmonte ones... he plays w it most of the time and nibbles off some but most of the time it's on the highchair!

Eliss, i give H rice cakes (sorry, not crackers) as a snack every day, when we're having dinner, to let her feel "involved"

To ripen an avocado, put it in a paper bag with an apple. i didn't have a paper bag so i used a plastic bag. works the same. morning put both into the bag, by evening, the avocado is all mushy

Pris, that's called vain. hahaha. that's why H is willing to let us put headbands, hats on her

eliss

if u blw ur child, milk feed continues. i think the concept of blw is that u want ur child to self feed... but it's tough lah in asian context bcos the kind of food we eat... unlike the westerners... then if u want to feed table food to ur bb, u need to modify the recipe... like use olive oil and unsalted butter/ghee... i had to force my mom to use healtier oil bcos i was doing blw for my #1... tough... it killed her hvg to use olive oil for cooking... v ex and not as tasty compared to peanut oil

SK: Awesome!

Potty training: My fren's wife is trying to potty train her 2 mth old by not letting her wear any diapers at all!!?? I think she is a bit ridiculous. She will try to predict when bb will pee/poo and bring her to toilet. Her other rationale: wearing diapers will affect bb's way of walking next time. True meh?

Eliss: I think frozen stock put in together when boiling rice and puree put in when about to serve...

Pork bones for stock: Which part of pork to buy for this purpose? I only know how to buy chicken & fish, very blur when comes to pork!

Ann: hey, hope you are better now. I think generally guys are woodblocks, hard to find those SNAG. I think I am also quite emo one, esp after giving birth.

Claudia: you totally skip DFing?

Caris: hello! me too a SAHM.

Sweetkiss: wah, your gal is so smart! That is very good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irene: hehe..agape your inspiration. I do admire her la, bet she is earning lots cos her biz is so good :p

ica: I presume you have not intro porridge to your bb yet? My bb developed rashes on his forehead yesterday, after the 3rd day of feeding fish porridge. I suspect he could be allergic to fish? Or I have to intro again next time to try again?

vernie: huh?! then your friend's wife must be v v busy watching over the bb bowel movement! so messy?!

I have seen bb gals with v pretty headbands with flowers on it. I once said too loudly to my hubby "that bb is soo pretty!!" The grandparent carrying the bb overheard and beamed very happily! haha!

ICA - what kind of rice cakes are you referring? Yup I'm aware of the ripening method. That morning I took one of three out from fridge thinking to mash it in the afternoon. By afternoon, i changed my mind and decided to puree all three instead...that;s why i did do the ripening method, thinking it shouldnt be that bad... it turn out very bad!!! Cuz I got a hard time getting the flesh out from the avo, then also too hard to blend gotta chop small pieces... more work! sigh!

Ya - i think we should put K on her high chair with us when we are having our dinner. Now we put her in playpen and she keeps watching at us! Besides banana, what other kind of real food can we give to her for her to self feed with minimal mess?

vernie >> the butcher has got these big bones for soup stock. Alternatively you can buy soft bones which comes with meat ( looks like spare ribs)

soup stock - intend to do in bulk so that I can freeze those stock! but hor for baby how much pork bone for how much water is enough for them?

charliebrown

i never df for very long liao. but i forgot to add he still wakes up once a night to drink. Depending on timing, usually between 4-5.30am.

vernie

haha.. is ur friend's wife shit and water proofing her whole house?

Rice cakes -

yes, any recommendations for no sugar healthy type of cakes / puffs? Feeding while we are eating soudns like a great idea.

Spinach -

Do we have to re-start the 4 day rule if we are planning on feeding another type of spinach? I bot the sharp spinach the other day. Now thinking of trying the Phuay Leng...

Eliss / Jaclyn -

How often do you feed spinach? I wanna feed more often to help in his bowel movement but books say to feed sparingly due to nitrate content.

storing puree in fridge

Yest i made papaya puree but as puree was still warm, left it out to cool and only placed it in the fridge fater 2 hours. (in the evening time) Is it ok? or should i just discard it?

Btw, when you guys store puree in fridge, do you put it in fridge immed? (when still hot/warm?)

Porridge - I've been using lean pork meat to make porridge. But think pork bones should have more flavor. Any mummies using chicken bones to make stock for porridge?

nitrate cotnent - i read from http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/nitratearticle.htm

that nitrate poisoning occurrence is extremely low. i feed K spinach very often. Sometimes like once a day till my stock dries up!

Papaya - i nvr steam my papaya. I just blend then store/serve

Warm fruit puree - i ever steam pear/apple. Upon steam i will throw them into ice water and retain the steamed juice. then I will steam and store into freezer

Fruit Puree - I think i'm going to stop steaming the fruits for Keila and will just blend with water.

JP

The cough is suddenly and with phlegm.. ya i did apply vick for him too.

Claudia

I brought him back to the PD yesterday , he change his medicine, now waiting to see if its work... cos there are feedback that the PD is gd..

Claudia: For papaya, I just mash with spoon and feed bb..I think I read somewhere that food for bb should not be left in the open for too long.

Do you all diligently give bb one serving of fruits and veg per day? or just one serving of fruits OR veg per day?

vernie, ya your fren's wife is quite ridiculous. can predict such things? but she can train her baby. my fren's babysitter did that - in the beginning, every day same time, she'd open the diapers, lift up baby's legs and go "ermmm ermmm". once baby get the msg, at the same hour, when babysitter open the diapers and lift up her legs, she'll poo. good right? but my fren didnn't continue the practice when she's not working during the weekends

claudia, that's very funny - shit and water proof the house. LOL

i read that it's best to store immediately. but papaya need to be cooked? i just mash it up and gave H - more like juice than puree

Rice cakes: i'm giving Organix rice cakes. no added sugar or salt or flavouring. very fragrant

CB, ya, haven't started her on porridge yet. maybe will try this weekend, so must go get pork bones. maybe you can try giving the fish porridge later? i'll give fish and chicken to my baby after 9m, like the PD recommended

that day i rem some of u saying giving bb nectarine puree? wad is nectarine? she still has hard poos sometimes esp when she eats cereal.

to ripen an avocado or any other fruit, can also put it together with bananas.

Ann:You have my sympathy. My hubby also like that. Take me for granted. Now we are staying apart but I survive anyway!! This has caused me to be more independent. I remember envying mummies who drove alone with their babies. Now I can do that. I bring my girl to Aquaducks swim class and other playdates.

I also remember my MIL saying that she was so scared I couldn't bathe baby properly when she is newborn. Well well well...so what if she has 3 kids and this is my first one???

I think we mothers will learn how to take care of our baby, if we have patience. Also, we have mother's instinct!!!!

JP : Did you train your kids to self-feed with loaded spoons? I read that on the website. I've been doing partial BLW. I will let her self-feed toast, broccoli (with stem), apple, pear. Pumpkin and Avocado is messy so I put it in a feeder I got from Mothercare. But I don't feed her what I eat, cos I want to avoid the salt/sugar.

Vernie: What your friend's wife did, I read about on website too - think it is called Elimination Communication. It's quite interesting - but I'm wondering the practical aspect of doing it. I used a $39 potty from Mothercare, it's got a backrest and removable pot. BUT my girl has fallen forward onto her face once, when I turned my head away. So now, I keep an eye on her when she is on potty. Sing songs, read books or give her toys to distract her. I'm starting by putting my girl on potty first thing in the morning, when I'm peeing too. I also put her on the potty before bathtime. Now, I'm considering letting bb wear cloth diapers at home, so I can monitor when she pee. But not sure if it is practical.

Cookies/ Teething rusks - I wanted to find an alternative to teething rusks but I realised a lot of store-bought products have sugar/salt in them. I think the Pigeon ones too. I'm thinking of baking some home-made ones. Anyone done that before?

Sweetkiss: Nectarine is something like peach. Normally I buy them from cold storage.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5172001.jpg]

papaya

actually i steam cuz i abit KS.... cuz steaming supposdly helps breakdown the food for easier digestion - My theory - Since he was having constipation, if easier to digest beter? haha

Charliebrown

My semi solids quite sukak sukak one... But i try lah, one time fruit one time veg/cereal/mix. I find I feed him not enuff greens, most non cereal stuff are fruits = sweet. So trying to intro more greens now..

ica

where can we buy organix?

Julie

ur bub can sit patiently?

I try to put mine in the potty every morning too. But when he doesn't have the urge (more often than not), he will start fussins & trying to stand up and squirm.

Put i do try to put mine in the potty whenever he shits.

julie

yes and no. i left my dd to dig her bowl w her spoon. but the whole idea of blw is to let them eat what u eat... that is why i find it such a challange. u hv to alter our recipes... otherwise, most of us are on partial. i only succeeded to blw when my dd is about 11mths... the rest of the time is partial.

Ann: orh! i always refer to these as plums.. haha! ok i try giving my girl soon! need to steam? or can puree and feed straightaway?

julie

i think u posted something about the play date changing to fri? I'm ok with the date and will try to come provided my baby's schedule allows for it. (these few days he seems to be changing routine.. can't get a good handle on his nap times)

Eliss -

Play date next week confirm?

claudia, Cold Storage sells Organix products. Agape Babies, too. Price diff no much

JTS = just to share

Julie: Thanks. We are mummies so we are strong.. not for the sake of anyone else but for our babies.

Baby Snacks: I tried quite a few snacks for Kayden already. Happy Melts, Happy Puffs, Pigeon rice crackers, Pigeon Xiao Man Tou, Wakano rice crackers, Baby One Bites. Kayden love all of them. They are the only things which I could use to entice Kayden to do things on his own while I do housework or to make him sit in the car seat when hubby is driving or allow anyone else to carry him so that I can have my meals. Organix rice cakes seems nice.. maybe I will go get some for him to try later.

Pooping: I also use the potty which I bought to Guo Da Li. My MIL also buy one cheap one to use. Personally I feel those nice ones are abit waste of money. Hehe!! Kayden is trained since young by the CL to use potty for pooping. Now when he wan to poo, he will give us that "Emm" sound and we will immediately bring him to his potty to poo. So he hardly poo on his diapers except when we are outside.

Porridge: I either use pork meat or scallop to cook my boy's porridge. Now I will add in silverfish for him to eat too. But silverfish I will still wash and soak with lots of water to reduce the salt on them before adding to the porridge. At in law house, they will use chicken or pork to cook together with porridge. Sometime I add in vege puree or mash potato toogether with porridge for my boy to eat.

Yogurt: Now I also started to give Kayden yogurt as breakfast. Mixed it with fruit puree and feed him in the morning.

Charliebrown & Ica: Yup, I am feeling better. Not so emo now. Hehe!!