sweet peas

I tasted all n I dun like the sweet peas not sweet at all haha

Next on;

apples

carrots

banana

prune

spinach

suntan: u not alone , MIL have been asking me to start porridge but i keep procastinating too

Vege puree - i usually steam throw into cool water then and puree. Only carrot i boil instead of steam.

Pear - i use the green skin pear sweeter! Yellow skin pear i think cooling!

Geri: Not sure what's the chinese name for parsnip. Definition from wikipedia: "Parsnip is a root vegetable related to the carrot. Parsnips resemble carrots, but are paler than most carrots and have a sweeter flavor, especially when cooked."

I've made parsnip puree for bb and i find the taste similar to sweet potato. For some funny reason, he likes sweet potato very much but not parsnip. Can buy parship from Cold Storage.

I'm also a July mummy & have been reading your postings during my free time ;o)

Do u mind sharing how you store your puree in the fridge (freezer or normal compartment using the baby cubes) & for maximum how long do you consider not fresh for baby to consume?

Chinese have chinese style good, western has its good as well. So take the best of both sides .

My bb had constipation once. The PD (non CHINESE even) advocates porridge , stop the cereal when constipated coz of the high iron content.

Which is why I do chinese porridge at night.

We use chicken stock, add rice, carrot/pumpkin,etc to cook. Blend before serve.

by the way, contrary to most beliefs, banana cause constipation. so go low on that if bb constipated incase mummies are jamming their bb with bananas when constipated :p

yvonne, wow your bb is 9kg already? he's quite big size eh.

huggies cutting is indeed small (high cut on the thighs), i guess thats what your BIL is driving at.... not base on kg, but rather the "shape" of your bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pillow: I like your idea of western for lunch, chinese for dinner. Best of both worlds. Gonna adopt it! =) Can I ask how u make chicken stock?

I've been procrastinating on porridge too. Only started to let bb take porridge last week (at 7.5 mths old) at the nanny coz she is very keen to make porridge for him. When he is home during the weekend, it is back to cereal & puree. Me lazy!

Vernie, our chinese porridge does have its "nutrition" packed in , particularly when our bb is older (with all the fish, vegs, etc that you can "throw" in to boil. need not be for prolonged period since the base is chicken stock already). to "keep" nutrients, i don't boil the porridge for long long hrs.

Chicken stock : we make a big pot of it. Buy 1-2 chicken (ask market seller to DE-SKIN), cut away any residual fats that you see, and just boil 1-2 hours. You can add in corn if you like to make it sweeter. You are done. Put in fridge or freeze if you want to use over few days. So everyday, just take 1 pack out to boil with the rice.

Morning mummies.

My menses came today. Yeah!! Can save the $10 surcharge and consultation fee to Dr Fong Yang. Hubby was a little disappointed when I told him. But then he say "Nvrmind... can always try again".. Haha!!

Baby K cough a few times at night and on the way to my in law house.. dunno really cough or just choke on saliva.. half way to in law house, I told hubby maybe we should bring him to see doctor about his cough.. upon hearing see doctor, miraculously, baby K stopped coughing. Not a single cough on the rest of the way to my in law house. Haha!!

My poor bb J not been drinking much these few days.

He had his jab on Saturday but he is still drinking normal on tat day.

Then sunday decrease , monday 7hours never drink..

yesterday in infant care also left 40-50ml of milk.. teacher see he drink so little.. in the end feed him 2 times semi,

morning porridge and evening potato & carrot puree..

I dun noe what's wrong with him ... i change to stage 2 on 25 Jan. Couldnt be that right?

As after that he drink quite normal...

Either he is on milk strike again? Teething? Sian of milk??

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pillow

ya he is now 9kg and 68cm tall...

he is drinking 140ml every 3 hrs interval then

Noon feed: replace of 1 milk feed to cereal

Evening feed: replace of 1 milk feed to porridge.

huggies diaper

i see but so far i think my bb still can fit in.. maybe that it how it meant to be..

Jonas: Maybe he is just on milk strike. He should be fine soon. As long as he is eating ok and no significant weight loss, it should be fine. Don't worry.

Huggies Diaper: Ya.. I think huggies seems to have a small cutting. I bought 1 pack of Huggies Dry Comfort for my boy to try. I bought the M size one but it seems so small like that. The thigh cutting seem so small lei. BB wear liao got line imprint on the thigh.

For combi puree, do u mommies put in together n puree or separately then after tat mixed it together?

For vege puree , eg spinach, how do we steam it? if steam too long the leaves will turn yellow?

Annie, he seems to have slim down... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] even my mom mention that... that worries me...

Huggies diaper -I have L size but still quite loose for BB J, he dun have big thighs..

But for Mammy, Fitti premium he is wearing L

Ann

I had been using L size since bb is 8kg..

L size = 8-13kg

so far I find it ok..

where M size is up to 10kg.. or how heavy is bb k now..

u wan to try a sample of L size??

Seeing the list of food bbs have tried, inspire me to let bb try pears! Green ones as Eliss has suggested bah, but I myself prefer the yellow skin ones, haha!

I am far behind in introducing solids to bb as he is sick, and hubby said to stop introducing new food for awhile.

I have not replaced any milk feeds with solids yet, and I am still feeding bb milk b4 solids, am I doing right?

For porridge I have not intro yet but soon. I intend to do the simple method- cook rice till v mashy, then steam/blend wadever I wanna put inside (i.e. veg, fish) then add tog when feeding bb..I lazy la.

Claudia: for the little gym, 26 Feb at the Forum outlet, any mummies going mah? If not, then I join the 5 March one at Forum. How can I send you my details, you don't accept pm..

suntan - combi puree

I freeze separately and when wanna use i will thaw together. so far okay.

spinach - steam/boil then blend also can. If boil dun boil for too long. slight yellowish is fine cuz a lot of other fruits/vege will oxidise too...

tigger - i think its own preference and comfort level. I am comfortable to let BB eat puree in "chiller" compartment up to 4 days. For frozen puree, i try not to go beyond 1 month.

You will still need to consider how was the preparation been done and the state the vege is in when you cook/blend.

For eg -

I use the frozen chopped spinach (pre-cooked). when I blend for Keila. I dun freeze those anymore. Keila finished those in 4 days (chiller) and she loves spinach. If you use fresh spinach, cook and blend, I will freeze the extra...

Cheese84

maybe it is bcos of the jab u wan to monitor for a few more days since u say this only happen after his injection.. which shd be normal

cos my bb also like tat...

Jonas: Hmm.. maybe it is the jab ba. Sometime Kayden also like that. If he is playing well and reacting ok, then shouldn't be a problem.

Can I exchange some pcs of Huggies L size with you with the M size? Wan to see if L size is too big or not. Mine is Huggies Dry Comfort.

Yvonne: My bb is hitting 9kg. But the rest of the diapers, he is wearing M size. Seems ok.

Yogurt: Any mummy does home made yogurt? Thinking of feeding Kayden yogurt and wanna home made them. Dunno easy or not.

Ann

I see then maybe compare to other brand huggies cutting is abit small...

cos i letting bb wear L size shdnt be a problem as wat my BIL say ba... too small for him that abit kua zhang liao...

I dont think I wan to exchange with you cos my bb hardly can fit in M size le.. tat y buy L size ... mine also dry comfort

I will just pass some for you to try out.. let me know how is it.. when and where you free to meet??

Party city

I have some items to buy from http://www.partycity.com, anyone wants to share shipping cost with me? I already have US21.95 worth of order. It has free domestic shipping if order is US$49. I'm using vpost, shipping cost will be split among the no. of items ordered. Let me know if any of you is keen.

Cost of items will be based on my credit card charged amount.

Eliss : Thanks for sharing...hmm read that we can only store puree in normal compartment for 24 hrs, so I dun dare to puree too much. Only started apple puree now & my friend told me better to give fresh puree as the vitamins will be lost if puree & put in fridge.

Seeing the varieties of puree that most mummies has intro to their babies, makes me drool. Gonna be more hardworking & intro new puree for my son liao ;o)

tigger_mum: I think most of us puree then store into freezer... if really need to puree fresh everytime, too much work for this lazy momma !! =\

Eliss: so fun!! I PM u ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, what is happening with our july bash? Anything we need to discuss ah?

Birthday Ballons

http://www.bargainballoons.com/

anyone ordering items from bargain baloons website? The baloon there is super duper cheappppppppp...

saw this from Overseas Spree..but too bad the organiser already closed the thread...cannot order from her liao...

Pls let me know if anyone ordering baloon from this website, i oso want to order.....:D

porridge

okz gonna stay off porridge for awhile more...

Gosh i think i should not be lazy mummy and try to puree more stuff for bb! so far have only been feeding him the jarred stuff which have quite limited variety

Cereal mix

When u gals mix fruit with cereal, do you make the cereal first then mix the puree in with a blender? Or juz by hand?

Babybee

schedule is their regular class schedule but open for anyone who want to enrol their baby for a trial session. If u keen, PM me your name, your mobile, your baby's name and the date... So far no other July mummies are going for the 5 Mar session tho

Hi Claudia,

Tried to pm you but you did not activate your pm.. Any other date that july mummy is going at least i can meet some of you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hubby can join in right?

claudia when you cereal are you refering to the instant porridge like happy bellies and such? If yes, then I blend the fruit first, cereal add little water to mix as per normal then will put in fruit puree and mix and check consistency.

vivi - oats, you use rolled oats?

I'm so headache now..

fretting over the party decoration... Coz i will be celebrating My boy (1st July) and My gal (14 July) birthdays on the same day... Omg~~

What should i do..??

♣ Wanna to do a nice birthday party for my gal, since all her classmates had fun party, expect hers a simple 1 at sch... hai~~ and somemore, this is her last year in CC, b4 going to primary 1...

♣ than my boy is 1st year party.. also have to do 1 big and nice one too.. GOSH~~

eliss : i went to see the webby u post... Have some in mind though... But than?? Gal & Boy themes, so many worz.. headache... >_<|||

Mommies !

anyone knows who or where got sell Gerber Puffs in bulk etc. my BB gal love it so much that she cry so badly ystd when i pick her from infant care. Because 1 mommy got a bottle for her bb to share with all bb... (youngest bb is mine & another 4mths old)

when going home time, my bb gal wanted that bottle to bring home too so cry and cry in car ... end up got her a bottle of the puff and she happily hugging while on the way home. -.-lll

I need votes from you gals urgently!

Back to the nanny issue, previously i decided not to assign nanny as i think no nanny can take care my bb better than my parents..

but then last week i saw my gal looked at at nephew throwing newspaper, shouting etc, i so worried she ll learn all the bad things from my nephew..

some more as my nephew is super stubborn n naughty, thus my dad used to shout at him which i think is very unhealthy for my gal to grow in such environment..

then another thing is my nephew is spoiled by my mom, i oso worried she ll spoiled by my mom in future..

but if i bring her over, i think nanny wont cook nutrient food like my mom used to to, wont spend so much time to simulate her like my family too..

some more it ll be very pressure for me to rush back home on time as i used to ot very often..

what ll u gals choose if you were me??

eliss : tat is my 1st thought.. But, i actually thinking of being bias abit, to buy princess themese for my gal.. hahahahah~~ wanna to give her unforgettable party..

Than again... i alway tell her.. I will be fair & square toward her and galen... >_<|||

SIANZ~~~

Carol : I faced that at my ILs place too...(i stay with them for time being)

So I put my bb at infant care...

there's not perfection when comes to caring for our bb. but we got to weigh the importance of what our bb should have.

I cant tolerate what you mentioned (as it happens on daily basis at my ILs place) my mum needs to work, nanny - kind of worried about how they can very unprofessional at times - , so infant care - so far so good, my bb loves music and gym class in the school. my bb also learns some basic words like she knows how to give me her little hand when I ask for, or when I ask her to find 'nose' hahaha she can get it right most of the time. and now my bb even can say 'papa' so clear and loud when my bb see her daddy.

but come to think of it, all 3 care givers cost about the same. but i prefer the school as there is no trash words/actions expose to her.

hershey: I read from a blog which i happen to googling around...

the mummy mentioned about decorations or party themes something like that, and the mummy said the reason she kept her bb 1st bday using classic cartoons character is because it's everlasting ! even after 20 years, flip out the pictures, it will be the same popular cartoon character.

i think it meant that way...

xbeanniex : thanks thanks for ur info... i think i get what u mean and the mummy meaning... C:

Mayb i should stick to what eliss is trying to tell me.. neutral themes... :) MAybe a mickey & minnie themes or Pooh bears themes... rite... C:

carol: Frankly speaking, there's no best of the both world in reality. So in order to gain some, you sure will lose some.

For me, I will choose for my baby to be nearer to me than somewhere far. Having a nanny is the same as having a maid or a CL. It is by luck. If you are lucky, you get a good one. Actually sometime our parents also won't give nutritious food to our babies. They like to feed them all kinds of food when we insisted that babies are too young for those kind of food. Sometime nanny listen to you more than our own parents cause we are their pay master ma. For our parents.. they are doing us a favor even if we give them allowance. So if they do anything we don't like, we still have to swallow everything into our stomach at times.

With regards to OT, for me & hubby, we have laptops from company. So if we need to do work, we will bring home and when kayden sleep at 9.30pm like that, we will start working lo. For me & hubby, nothing is more impt to us than bonding time with kayden. So even if we have to sacrifice our sleep, we also do so. Maybe you can find a nanny who can allow bb to sleep over 1 or 2 days a week then on those days, you work OT lo. Not sure if it is feasible for you.

hi Hershey,

ya a neutral theme is good. IMO I will focus more on the #1 cos at this age, # 1 will remember her birthday party .honestly, a birthday for the 1 year old is more for us adults and relatives and frens.. babies won't remember anything except from photos but its diff for your # 1.. think she is of a good age to remember what mummy did for her birthday..but of course we always wanted to be fair to both.. just my humble opinion la