(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

ceres

there is a handsfree kit u can use, otherwise, you can hold it

the cheapest free style i saw in SG (or rather SG set) is $798... if u buy it at the right isetan sale, u get the 3-5% rebate... lst week at robinsons, they offered this price with the 5% rebate....spree set w/o warranty at most is $480.

if you are keen in 2nd hand, there are some ont WTS thread. make sure you test it and view it at the seller's before you purchase. those selling on wts now owns mostly US sets, so no warranty

Fazzy,

I bought my stroller and car seat 2 weeks but there wasn't any sale for bigger items...maybe they have it now, especially as GSS sets in.

I was told that was the latest model and thus, no sale...did see same sets at OG and Robinsons...which was $400 plus. Bought mine at $378...but maybe after discount at the retail stores, could be about the same

Can go robinsons to look look as well...bought 90% of my stuff over the weekend...mostly from Avent and Pigeon. A few others from The First Years, NUK and Tolly Joy...they have quite alot of brands to choose from..

Hi Jelly: Thanks! Think buy free style seems to be a better choice. Heh. can ask u somemore qns before i email the lady to request for order.. sad to say i cannot post on her forum cuz i too new in forum. Hah.

For medela freestyle the rechargeble battery can be used locally or we need to get a new set or just buy the adapter? The adapter selling at $40 in the forum is it for local use?

ceres

the only thing we hv 2 worry about is the power cord i think... need to change to one that is suitable for SG use. the US set comes with the US power cord so not safe for SG power point... the batt can be used locally, dun think there is a prob.

i suggest u buy the pump first since it takes time to come. the accessories can source later. u ordering from Tan Leng Leng? she's v quick to respond and u can ask her any question, think she can answer most of them.

Jellypurin: Ok. trying to find her email address since i cannot post in her forum.

The power cord need to be changed? i scared later buy alrdy cannot find then will be wasted. thought only need to change the pin or the adaptor?

Aisha Alwi -- bb's number of weeks is calculated by the weight development.. it will be changing until the last few weeks before delivery..

Supergal: Thanks for the info. I think I will drop by Kaki Bukit one of these days to compare prices. Ya, this month i realised I really spend a lot on baby's stuffs and there's more to spend! But have to. Cos our babies are coming soon!

im in my 31 weeks and gynae will be seeing me again 4 weeks later (35th week).. then he will see me more frequently after that. he mentioned that if i got any issues, i can pop by anytime also..

ceres

i think e power cord is readily available at places like sim lim square and all. freestyle dunnid a lot of power to work so hor, i dun think there is a need to buy a BN adapter...not worth ur time to change the pin unless ur hubby wants... otherwise, the replacement power cord can be easily found...

Aisha: dun be upset. Sometimes things are juz not within our control. My appt has been monthly so far until 32 weeks where it should be weekly. I was looking forward to my weekly appt so so much. Then for no apparent reason, my appt has been scheduled 3 weeks later..meaning I only get to see baby again when I'm 34-35 weeks. Then I'm going for C-section prob in my 37-38th week.I feel short-changed coz I already paid for the gynae package [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but the thing is which mother wont be anxious to see her bb and to know that her baby is safe!Moreover, I took my glucose test last week n also bcoz i had a bad infection , some discharge has been sent to the lab.. till now I still dunno the outcome of both. So by the time Isee my gynae at 34-35 weeks.. I'm only left with 2-3 weeks b4 my delivery.. what can be done???

Jellypurin: Wah... really dunno what to do alrdy. i see the post like saying need buy the thing change the 2 pin thingy.

This medela freestyle need to change what leh after buy from USA?

Doing bb growth scan tomorrow as gynae said my OGTT test was good , no diabetic at all..

Now only need to monintor baby growth .

geri : quick quick start sourcing for maid le! It's not that easy finding one to your liking and yet meet your expectations! Get one early so that she can help u prepare for baby's arrival eg. wash baby's clothes and bedsheets, tidy up the house n handle household chores so that it wont be too taxing on u when u are heavily pregnant.

my gynae appointments will be once every 2 weeks from now onwards, and once every week when im in my 37 weeks.. but different gynae different style/package/price so dont worry too much! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Atomic Kitten, hey.. i also suspected i had some infection due to itchiness at vagina area, so i went to KKH on sunday, they monitored bb's heartbeat and contraction, and the doc said i had lots of discharge inside, sent for testing too now waiting for result. She suspected it is Candida infection. Only told to insert a pill at night, no antibiotic is given.. now no more itch.. i don't want to take oral medicine at this stage!

morn mommies

ceres

ya, i think the 2-pin plug they talk abt is the power cord. if u nid to buy or order from Leng Leng, pls do so soon bcos the set will take 6 weeks to come. i ordered mine just beginning of the month so when it arrives will be July!

re: gynae appointment

i agree, every gynae has got different schedule to follow, but as long as ur gynae respond to you, i think no worries whether u see her 2 or 3 weeks at this stage. typcally, by the timw you hit 36wks, u see ur gynae weekly. before that, could be every 2 or 3 weeks...

fazzy, you're welcome! i kept a checklist of the items that i've bought and didn't..and till now, already spend close to $2K on baby's items liao.

but well, the $ is happily spent because we are expecting our little bundle of joy to arrive soon!

i'm sure all mommies feel the same way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning all MTBs,

Currently im in my 32 weeks +4 days pregnancy..

Need to get a confinement maid.

Does anyone has recommendation on good CL?

Hi Supergal, I have did a similar spreadsheet like what you did to keep track of baby expenses.... And, I was so shooked to see that I had spend nearly $3K as well.. But, that includes all expenses spend for having a baby which includes gynae packages & my maternity items... hee... Hubby quickly pull the brakes after seeing my list.. Haha..

But, like you say, all the $$ spend is like so worthwhile.. Feel so happy with retail therapy for BB items.. Nowadays, I seldom buy things for myself though.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ann.. are you sure its more fragrant.. we tried it before.. yes, its a bit more fragrant.. but have a little Burnt taste if you test it.. I heard that it maybe becos its more roasted to give that aroma..

oh.. and don't be mislead by the baby brand = confinement.. hee hee...

medela freestyle: do we really need to change the power cord? i just got mine from leng leng last weekend. i used a US adapter to test it, using the existing power cord...seems ok!

Jellypurin: can't seem to get her. >.< can help me order? i will transfer the monies on Friday then give you the information to help me post on leng leng forum can?

peanut

as long as it works for u then dunnid to buy the power cord.

ceres

i can help u post ah... can u send me a pm so that i can hv ur email address?

Hi keer13 (keer13),

Yup yup, that’s so true!! I think ever since I’m preggers, the last thing that I ever bought for myself (not relating to maternity stuff) is probably my iphone back in Jan earlier this year..other than that, I think everything that I bought will have something to do with baby preps! Hehehe…

Yeah, I can understand why you’re so shocked to see the figures going up so high…I din include in gynae packages and maternity items for myself (just on buying bb’s stuff alone)..else, I think my spending would have been around the same as yours also

I think it’s good that we keep such a spreadsheet!! In future, can also pass to our frens or relatives who need it!

hihi mummies... read that you are looking for Bulk purchase for US set breast pump.. i got a friend who recently ordered a set of Avent DUO breast pump from this ebay seller in singapore.. she is selling US set... my friend ordered from from her liao and will be getting her set this friday... price is only SGD490 with free delivery...if you interested can ask her to order for you ba...

her email is [email protected]

from what i know from my friend this seller only do BP for avent DUO once a month

supergal, you're so organized to even keep a spreadsheet. i haven't bought much stuff, only the main things like babycot, cupboard etc. have been so busy with work i haven't been shopping much. luckily my mom is helping buy the rest. she said she's having the time of her life, can spend hours shopping for baby stuff. so if it makes her happy, why not, haha.

Just went for my 31 week growth check up at KKH, Master AF is 2kg now ..

No wonder even the nurse thought i got twins .. Again got to explain with them that it is a single boy..

I really dont know what i should cut down on .. I normally only have light breakfast , 3 piece of plain biscuit and cup of milo. Lunch 3 sets vegetables and 1 small portion meat or fish. Dinner normally just eat bread.

I plan for a smaller version baby got to worked super hard .. Hunger Strike maybe can work ..

ct

if you are not putting on weight but bb is, i dun think u shd cut down on ur meals. is there a medical concern on a big bb? even big bb can be delivered naturally? i had frens who are able to deliver they 4kg baby via natural delivery wor...

Does anyone of you feel the baby's heartbeat or rhythmic throbbing constantly? i've began to feel that lately and its making me squeamish though its not uncomfortable.

CT, wah you eat very little. the only thing i can suggest is change your bread to wholemeal if you're eating white bread. but then again, it's only 1 meal/day. dunno if it will make a huge difference.

Rmummy: yes its a thump thump thump at my belly there. I dont know if its bb's heartbeat or its mine but its uncomfortable especially when im sitting down and can feel it quite strongly.. so weird.

Morning mummies, ya so far I've only bought some maternity clothes n sterilizer, but have been shopping non stop for bb items... Went mothercare few times already Hee.

rmummy/babycoco

i started feeling the heartbeat at about 20wks so its been a nice feeling in a sense as i know bb is okie.

kepsis

u can start shopping in june... no hurry to buy things. after bb born also can buy. in fact, i think better cos you will know what u will need or bb needs.

babycoco, i notice that i feel it more whenever i am seated. when i am lying down, i dun feel it. And its like what Jaclyn said, its a thump thump thump kind of sensation....

rhythmic throbbing hey! i feel it too! only when i sit down, in my pelvic region. is it really baby's heartbeat? i always thought it's gas

Good morning ladies.

I am super tired this morning. Don't feel like coming to work one but then no choice. Thursday got a big event so die die must come.

So angry with my hubby's Big boss. Make my hubby work till 6am this morning then come home lei. I couldn't sleep well last night cos subconciously I am waiting for hubby to come home.. so slight noise I also will wake up. Now hubby at home sleeping. I told him he better dun go work today or else I write to MOM to sue his stupid big boss ah. I also told hubby I know why he is divorced already. If I am his wife, I also cannot stand him. Got hubby like no hubby like that. Angry with the stupid big boss.

Supergal: I had already spend close to $3k liao.. I had stopped counting. Haha!! As long happy then ok liao.

mrslim: I also not sure if the brand Ghee Hiong is good too. My mum told me that sesame oil from Malaysia is better than those sold in Singapore. Ica recommended me that brand. So decided to try it out if I can find it in JB this weekend. If really cannot find, then I just stick to what I can buy in Singapore lo. Haha.. dun worry.. never link the logo to confinement.

CT: You also always kanna ask whether u are carrying twin ah? Me too lei. Every person I met asked me due very soon is it.. i told them in July, then they looked so shocked and asked if I am carrying twin. Then got to tell them 1 nia. My gynae ask me to feed BB less but I am already not eating alot. Even gynae say I didn't gain much weight. I guess my BB is super absorbant like me lo. Absorb nutrients like sponge like that. This Saturday I am going for gynae appt again. Now I not worry abt my weight.. I am more worried abt BB's weight. I think mine might be like yours too. Or a little more than that I also not surprise.

Don't go on hunger strike la.. if really no choice then do C-sec lo.. what is impt is our health and BB's health. Must always remember.

Rmummy: Yup.. i always feel that. I always tell daddy BB is hicupping like that. Haha!! Experience that a few times a day especially when sitting.

babycoco,

you are really very fortunate to have your mom doing all the buyings for you! and it's so sweet that she finds the process very enjoying..looks like she is all ready to welcome her grand child! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jellypurin,

i did read in a magazine last nite that SOME but NOT ALL, big babies may have a medical concern relating to gestational dibetes (not only affects the mommy but also the baby!)...cos the title of the article catches my eye "Big babies doesn't mean healthy babies". so i guess, it is still good to watch what we eat...

I read an article on Sunday about keeping our kids' teeth and gum healthy. It was quoted that a mummy brought her 5yr old kid to see a pediatric dentist and was charged $1.4k. I nearly fainted. That is so ex.

Would u bring your kid to a pediatric dentist?

morning ladies,

RE: rthymic throbbing

I think I also feel it too. Esp when I sit down and only on my left pelvic area (close to my inner thigh...dunno how to describe).

I thought it's BB's fingers or toes "jabbing" me or is it heartbeat?

i only got probs with ppl asking me if my baby is a BOY. esp those aunties... 10 out of 10 strangers will ask "is a boy rite?" cos to them, sharp tummy = BOY. Even my mum also kept asking me to confirm with my gynae... haiyo.

i think we must eat wisely now, my friend put on 1kg+ compared to her last checkup and all the weight actually went to her baby. cos her baby's weight suddenly went up. At around 36 weeks she told me her bb was 3.7kg... i think when her bb comes out going to be cute and chubby!

Hi ladies, I had went for my PS with Allison last week.. All went well.. Allison is patient & nice.. The only thing is she commented that my tummy is small now for PS but since I'm also doing it as my birthday treat.. So, i think it's ok.. Worse, come to worse, I can do another session when it's bigger, if I want... I bought tonnes of clothes there.. In the end, just wore 2 sets of clothes & Allison uses her nice drag cloths to wrap me up.. I didn't went for the nude shots as my hubby is not game enuff and Allison commented that we are the first couple that dun do nude shots.. I was shocked.. Are u mummies planning to do any?

keer>> How many weeks are u at now?

I also dun intend to do nude shots which I've told Allison before when I spoke to her.

The "barest" I would go is to wear tube top & maybe undies only, hehee.

hello keer13, wad did u wear for the shoot? i dunno what clothes to bring! for me, i will be doing nude shots. Hubby doesn't have to take off his shirt rite? my hubby won't because he said he is fat~!

ann -- get a referral letter from poly clinic and head over to national dental would be cheaper.. unless ur child has a phobia of dentist, then u need to send ur child to a child dentist.. theres a good one at paragon.. my niece is scared of dentist and she will cry and cry and cry when she sees the dentist.. so i tell hubby, we must train bb girl to go dentist regularly so we wont have such issues.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

keer13 -- i will be gg for my PS when im in my 36th week.. cause thats normally the full bloom time.. i will be going nude.. but hubby say i can go ahead myself.. cause he very paiseh.. haha..but he will join in for the normal shoots... we'll see how it goes and how comfy i am with the photographer lor..