(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

springleaf: regarding breech position, try this exercise daily. it works for me, my baby was breach during my 28 week checkup, i did the exercise everyday and 2 days ago my 31weeks checkup , gynae says bb head down already and unlikely to change.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3970219.gif]

Wow today the thread move very fast! Its so coincidence cos yesterday I was also reading the MAY2010 MTB thread and saw that soooo many mommies gave birth so much earlier than their EDD. This really make me panic abit and last night i had a talk with my hubby cos i felt so unprepared and my hubby had to calm me down. My cot havent even arrive (only coming middle june) so baby must guai guai and stay inside till end june at least.

Wedding ring:

I took it out few days ago as I felt it becoming tighter n tighter. Im now wearing it on my necklace.

Hospital bag:

I still havent pack the hospital bag cos I havent wash my baby's clothes yet. How many sets of bb's clothes do we need to bring? Just 1 to bring him home thts all right? Swaddle blanket provided by hosp? Else I will bring 1.

Rooming in:

For TMC, any mommies know if baby can stay with us permanently if we choose A-ward? Im just asking.. not cfm if i want to, cos maybe baby will be better off in the nursery for first 2 nights.. the nurses more experienced to take care of him.

Baby weight:

For those worried about their baby weight.. don worry too much, my baby gain 500g in just 3 weeks and gynae says that the weight will keep increasing dramatically over last few weeks. Also, everything about our babies r already fully developed.. just need to gain weight now only.

sun_tan -- this is like a SOP for them.. sometimes, they will ask u to say ur name out to make sure that u are aware of whats gg on also... then they will hand u the baby...

Jaclyn >> For TMC if you're staying in 1-bedded ward, you can request to hv your BB sleep with u in the room throughout. That's what the lady told us during the hospital tour.

I've also recently stopped wearing my wedding ring. Getting tight that taking it out seems like a chore, heehe.

Jaclyn - Baby will only be allowed to sleep with us when we are in single bedded rooms to prevent disturbance to other mommies.. bb will be pushed to us for bf-ing if we are in other wards...

1 set of bb clothes will be sufficient as hospital will be giving us a set of clothes for bb to wear home...

bb is now fully developed except for the lungs.. the lungs is still developing and its the last organ to develop as bb would not have to use that in our wombs.. which is also a impt reason why injections need to be taken when we have to deliver the bb early... right now, bb is gaining body fats to keep bb warm and have shape when they are out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, i will be staying in TMC, so im not quite sure other hospitals will have what other "house rules" but so far, i know TMC let bb sleep with us when we are in single bedded rooms..

sun_tan: no problem, if u're worried just bring a jacket and cover hahaa. I recently went for S.H.E concert then I was also soo worried that the booming sound too loud for baby.. but in the end i realize im just being paranoid [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Serene,mrslong: thanks for the info!!

Jaclyn,

Wah concert? I wont dare go cos i scare too many ppl, wait kenna pushed. But i heard that their concert is good! hee ok, then i will go ahead with my plan :p

atomickitten my 1st gynae gave me an EDD of 11July but with my current gynae, it's 21July. So I'm guessing could be any date in btwn

wedding ring I've not been wearing my wedding ring since I got married. Hehe... and neither is hubby

ica: You about the same as me.. my first few scans show EDD as 22nd July.. then now scan always show 15 July.. but gynae still say 22nd July. So I guess could be in between too.

My hubby till now still wear his wedding ring cos he always make sure i wear mine. But since i got preggy, i find it uncomfortable to wear on my finger so he never insist le. Maybe after giving birth, he will make sure i put it back again. Think it is a way to show that we are married and hands off my wife. Haha!!!

hearing you all talk about bb's weight, i'm also excited to know mine this Sat!

btw, for mommies having heavier babies now, try to watch your diet. cos if bb too big, really very hard to deliver naturally, unless you don't mind C-section. i got a fren who gave birth 2 months ago and her bb's weight is 3.8kg..full term but she said she tried for natural till really jia lat and can't take it..so ended up have to go for C..then stay in hospital for 4-5 days!!

also, on pre-mature bbs, my nephew was also born early in his 32nd week and he weigh on 1.3kg back then..so he was kept in the hospital till he gained weight till 2kg..then allowed to leave. took a month to reach that weight and in the process, saw so many needles attached to him...really quite poor thing.

so we mommies must really take good care of ourselves! pray that our baby can be born healthily [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

supergal wow! 3.8kg - that's big.

ya, let's pray for smooth delivery and that our muscles and body parts that are involved in the delivery will loosen and be elastic enough to accomodate our babies when they come out

autrum

was at robinsons sale. i think it's the same old. most of the bb items on 20% off... i got many leapfrog stuff for my toddler though cos after discount and CC rebate, its a v good buy!

sweetkiss

dun worry about ur bb in breech now. worry only when u hit 36-38w when bb is still in breech. there are ways to "turn" ur bb...

http://www.babycenter.com/0_breech-birth_158.bc

re: edd

ultrasound scans that indicate ur edd will change as ur bb's measurement is taken. if no issues, shd stick to your edd when u first saw gynae.

ica..yeah, can't imagine how big the head will be for a 3.8kg baby. but glad that both her boy and my fren made it through safely [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah, i will definitely go for the robinsons sale!! will be getting the remaining feeding products this weekend...cos certain items if allowed staff discount (hubby works there), then i can get 25%+20% off the original price!

btw, can check if any mommies here bought the Pigeon 3 in 1 steam steriliser + food warmer + milk bottle warmer? cos i wanted to get a milk bottle warmer but i think if get separately, this alone will cost $75 already..if get the 3-in-1 one, i think it's only around $125

and btwn Avent & Pigeon, which brand would you all prefer ah?

BTW mummies, anyone know where I can buy or order those window shades/sccreen for car (i.e. can use suction to stick on windows, then can pull up, pull down the screen to block sunlight coming thru the window)?

I briefly remembered I saw one in the BP thread but can't seem to find it already.

btw, any mommies need a baby preps checklist? i got a copy from baby kingdom when i was there last week to buy my stroller and car seat.

let me know if anyone of you need it ok?

really regret not taking the 2days' MC. Now so drowsy @ work & nose still blocked making it so difficult to breath.

June Motherhood BB Expo is in another 3 weeks' time. Last fair to go b4 the final mth stretch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello mummies... how's lunch?? i had laksa & avocado juice & i totally regret it, cos i feel like puking now. eew..

so sleepy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Just saw on the tv.. it's durian season again in desaru. How I wish I can go and eat all the durian i wan. But I know I can't. Hai!!!

Hubby just commented that we should get another bed cos He find our current bed too small for the both of us. Haha!! Cause I am growing bigger and need more space to turn so I take up quite abit of space.

Ann>> Ask your HB to sleep on the floor with a mattress. I told my HB he has to bear with it, else sleep on the mattress (floor) cuz the bed size also becoming limited.

I need to put one pillow on my left & bolster on my right to allow me to lie 45 degree to the side when am lying sideways. heehe.

Junie: Ya lo... need a lot of bolster and pillow for support now. Haha!! Actually I dun mind buying a king size mattress but then quite wasted on my queen size mattress now since it's still quite ok to sleep on.

sweetkiss oh dear! spice, santan + milk at one go...take care. hope you'll feel better soon. maybe drink a cup of hot tea to digest a bit

ica: hee! no worries.. i am just greedy.. always have cravings for spicy food, and the place i had my lunch at sells really nice avocado milkshake. i think i ate too much. tummy is so stretched out.

hee! me too! my hus say i am occupying 3/4 of the bed now. moreover i have a bad habit, unknowingly i will be squeezing my head on the same pillow as him, leaving half of the bed empty.. otherwise i will be sleeping diagonally with my legs on top of his. he is always very irritated by me one. but i cant control when i am sleeping..! that's why i dun dare to sleep with my baby next time.. very dangerous!

supergal, we bought the Pigeon 3 in 1. yup only $125. alternatively i think we would have gotten the Avent one coz that looks good too. but only steriliser and no bottle/food warmer so we thought the Pigeon was a better deal and saves space ;)

Sweetkiss: haha.. u so funny when u sleep. For me I dun have that habit. In the past, I can just twist and turn in a small space. But now cannot. Moreover hubby scared he will crush me when he sleep cos when he turn, his movement also very big one.

But dunno worth to spend on another bed or a bigger bed or not.

my colleagues (the aunties) just commented that how come since I got preggie, I got sick so often. They said pregnant women body/immunity shld be stronger cuz prepare for birth.

I told them no leh (cuz even my other colleagues, the young mummies) also say preggie women immunity is weaker but the aunties said otherwise.

So which is true? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrslong -- when we are preg, our immune system falls weaker cause our body and brain is working hard to support another life in our body.. hence, its natural to fall sick easily too..

from articles:

Is It Ok To Have A Fever During Pregnancy?

Many women find they catch more colds and coughs during pregnancy. During each of my pregnancies I found my nose stuffier than normal on most days. This is natural as our body's immune systems lower slightly during pregnancy to help our bodies more willingly accept and nurture the growing fetus within.

mrslong -- aunties ma.. they think we are more "bu" liao.. but true fact is not.. our body tend to get more heaty during pregnancy due to the increase in temperature to keep the bb warm... plus the tonics and the poor digestion that we have.. us being "bu" is not that fantastic anyway.. but we gotta keep it that way to support the bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yest, my HB told me that one of his colleagues & his wife went to do the OSCAR test for their BB, and result was 1:300.

Asked me what shld they do. Me not expert le...but I told my HB, maybe if they want can go for the amnio test (if am correct).

I understand some of the mummies went & came back with good results. May I know if your initial ratio is less than 1:300?

hi peanut,

thanks for reconfirming my choice for steriliser! will be getting the 3 in 1 most probably then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but the milk bottles that i got are all from Avent..will need to check whether they can fit..but most likely, shouldn't be a problem i guess. will check with the salesperson!

hmm, i was relatively healthy and strong when i was carrying my #1. i had not colds or flu and my sinus problem seemed to had gone away, but #2, i had numerous sinus attacks and my eczema was at all time hi-itch level!

so what they say is quite true... after ur #1, do take care of urself and "yang" ur body. make sure ur body gets some well deserve rest before u try for #2 and beyond.

jellypurin >> I think ideally shld be 1.5-2yrs but cuz of my age, think i may hv to try for #2 when my #1 is 1yr old...cuz sometimes try doesn't nec. means will hit "jackpot", heehe.

junie

ya lor. cos of my age as well. i had #1 when i was 30 and then now at 32, i am w #2... if i want #3, i must hv it before 35, otherwise, i hv to go thru amnio and all... sian...

junie

not i want, my ah lao want... i tired liao le... esp when my ah lao not that hands on... firs 1 year of bb's life - me = mom + dad... xiong lor!

gd evening mummies..going to end work le hor...hee hee

erm..sleeping pattern no 1 can be as bad as me bah...last last nite i just gave hubby a blueblack on his eye..n i didn't even know it until morn he wake up with a red eye..=X

sometimes i will kick him or swing my hand into his face or chest but i still con't sleep ..hubby was super shock for the first few times until nw kinda immune liao..opps

as for illness, until nw only got once which is thanks to hubby loh..pass mi flu bug when i was at my first tri...cannot eat antibiotics somemore..took 1 pill which the doc prescribe..vomit thru out the nite..

jellypurin >> hehee...that's why it's easier for your ah lao to want more kids cuz he doesn't handle them much mah & he's not the one going thru the pregnancy... :p

i dun dare to think of #2 leh.. cos dunno can cope with 1 or not. if yes i will only try for #2 after the first kid turns 3 and above. & if i nv hit jackpot after i turn 30, i suppose i wont try le. then i can 100% focus on 1 kid and also try to build up my career which i should have done at this stage, but now my baby more impt..

sweetkiss : totally agree with you...

1 only i aready scared scared liao...hubby also tell me he want 2 or more..i only tell him u wait long long long long...

plus carrying a big big balloon going to work is nt farnie..very very taxing on physical strength n mental strength..

jellypurin thanks. i'm thinking of trying for #2 next yr, when #1 is about 6-7 mths old? haha! quite ambitious hor, but it's becoz i'll be 37 next year, so have to do it quick lor. anyway #2 is in the freezer, so hope she/he will survive the thawing and my womb is strong enough for it to stick [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] then close shop