(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Thanks Ann. I suppose that means need to get another cot for my parents' place... Feel like getting a cheaper one. about 100+. but then i feel like i'm shortchanging my baby :p

hello mummies, feel like taking leave/mc to rest at home today too.

but not very nice cos last mth already took lots of leave.

have about 7 hrs of sleep daily but still so tired!!!

regarding leg cramps, i had them quite often during my 6-7th mth but later on my fren taught me to flex my feet before sleep.

u dun point ur toes to the front, u flex ur feet with the toes pointing towards ur body.

do the same when u experience cramps...

now i dun get the cramps le! *touch wood*

sweetkiss,

for cramps, i get them on and off even when i wasnt preggy. But i find that by putting a pillow on my feet (cos i my feet swells quite easily) helped on the cramps too. Nowadays i seldom get cramp at my leg area anymore.

Bt whats bothering me now is my swollen hands. I get water retention on my palm and fingers. Last time its just a bit swollen, but now its painful and felt very tight, especially in the morning. Any mommies having this problem too? Any idea how to ease the swell?

morning mummies...

thx for minmins, pris, jellypurin, kepsis & all...

im back at wk.

it sucks.

but ive loads to clear... sadly...

im feelin much better now. cld b the case where i was too exhausted cuz ive been walking too much w my heavy bag & thick file for mktg visits..

im trying to call my gynae to arrange for an urgent appt to make me more assured of my current situation.

yesterday i slpt thruout when i reached home. n i felt so much better... altho still crampy, but at least it wasnt as painful as when im walking, stdg or sitting up.

but the prob comes back when my body is in an upright position. will try to arrange for gynae appt asap & keep u all updated on my situation..

yvonne>> my fren, chloe will only b due in mid june.. will share her gd news once bb is out! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

another bz day for me... gg back to wk...

catchin up on posts lata in the evenin... tata~~

suntan>> take care~~

sun_tan: i’ll prop my legs on a pillow when i am watching tv in my bed.

but when sleeping, end up the pillow will drop on the floor one cos i kick…

water retention is due to not enough water intake and also a salty diet, rite?

I haven’t experienced it yet but my wedding band very tight on my finger now… dunno is it a sign or not. Or maybe I juz grew fat…

good morning MTB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm doing my glucose test now. Juz had the drink..dun like it very much. Made me feel like puking now. Btw.. for those who had done the test, do u get the results on the same day? or do u get the results during your next gynae vist huh?

AtomicKitten will only get results later. gynae will call you. you can still drink plain water - to keep yourself hydrated and also to wash away that super sweet taste in your mouth, if you want to

Valerie it's not a must. taken at Wk 28, upon gynae's advice. take only if you fail the usual urine test (where the nurse gives you a stick to pee on at every checkup) or when you've family history of diabetes

Any of your lil' ones are still in the breech position till date? Mine still is and would appreciate any suggestions and ideas on how to make her turn.

Sun_tan,

Try getting more active. I feel walking is a good way to rid water retention.

AtomicKitten,

Good luck for your test. When I did mine, I waited around 2 days before my gynae called me regarding the results.

Valerie,

I did my glucse test around week 29-30.

AtomicKitten,

You will get the results only later, when either nurse or gynae gives you a call. Usually, if there's no problem, they might not call u up so soon. I did mine in week 28.

Sun_tan, my wedding ring is also very tight now, so I have stopped using all the rings. My best fren related a story to me whereby a fren of hers could not take off her rings at all and had to go down to the jewellers to do somethign about it. So I figured I'd save myself that trouble.

springleaf,

I tried walking. It did help me to get rid of the water retention in my feet, but after that, my feet becomes very red and painful from the walking. As for making bb turn, Jaclyn did mention that by doing pelvi exercise (on all fours), it would help to "direct" the bb to turn. A pic was posted some weeks back. Maybe you can look thru the past threads to have a look.

fazzy,

Ya, i heard abt those stories too..haa there is 1 mommy who needs to go to the jewellers there to cut off her wedding ring..so sad..i stopped wearing mine long time ago.

Good morning ladies.

I am at home today. Didn't get a good night rest last night. I realise I cannot take coconut lei. Last time round I took one whole coconut and I bleed. Last night, I took a sip only and I also bleed but only a little bit. So I deduce that I cannot take coconut at all.

Glucose test: I only get my result a few days later. I was not allowed any drop of water or any bits of food till the whole test is over.

Wedding band: I think I stop wearing my wedding band when I was abt 4mths preggy. I scared later on cannot take out. Haha!!

Getting baby into position: I remember there are some positions in yoga that could help to do so. I think one is squating. I forget about the rest of the positions liao.

springleaf n ica : Thanx! Doubt I will do well for the test! haha. Went to my doc yesterday coz got infection. This time round my yeast infection is pretty bad. Doc suspect might be due to diabetes then realized that she forgot to ask me do the test during my 28th week lor. My mother diabetic.. so i know from start doc sure ask me do the test one. Juz took 2nd blood sample oni... the syrup like got stuck in the chest and feel like puking.. eeekksss

just something to share. did this chart to show my hubby that actual delivery date will most likely be earlier than EDD - to convince him to cancel his London trip end of June. data was from May 2010 MTB thread

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3969843.jpg]

AtomicKitten: Don't worry so much. Who knows.. maybe will passed lei.

Ica: You really hardworking lei. I am so lazy to do the chart.

Now hoh.. i find that I dun even remember when is my gynae appt. Like just now my hubby told me gynae appt is next Sat.. I was like so fast ah? I dun remember le. Haha!!

Ann : Drinking coconut and bled sounds bad. Think you better dun drink anymore. For mtb who experienced spotting or bleeding, must really rest more n dun exert too much coz there's alwaz a fear that bb might come out earlier and since not full term yet.. better to hold inside longer "P

Wedding band : I also took mine out when I was abt 3-4 months preg... too tight.. very uncomfortable.

AtomicKitten: Ya lo... I think I won't drink any coconut juice anymore. Maybe just not suitable for me. Well if BB come out not that clean also nevermind la.. the nurse can wash him then. Haha!! Ya lo.. wan to try to hold BB inside me till as close to full term as possible.

actually its scary that we can give birth like 19-20 days earlier! Seems like really no time to waste already.. I only plan to start my leave 2 weeks earlier from my EDD. If junior comes out 20 days earlier..omg, i would still be working..hmm...

good morning mummies, came back from my mini babymoon last night. haven't had time to read all the posts that i've missed since i left for my trip.

went for gynae appt, i lost 1kg (from the low sugar diet), bb is at 1955gr at 31wks4days.

ica, ya, i also took a quick look at the may 2010 mtb. was quite horrified to see some gave birth so much earlier than their edd. is your hubby convinced now?

ann, are you bleeding because coconut is too "liang"? are you ok now?

looks like qutite a no. of MC. I was on MC yest too but only went home from office @ 2.30pm (so wasted). Am down with flu (blocked nose for days liao).

doc wanted to give me 2 days MC but tdy hv a meeting to attend, else I wld rather rest @ home.

fazzy, sweetkiss, sun_tan, atomic kitten

i stopped wearing wedding band with number 1 when 4-5 mths preg. in fact i upgraded both in ring terms (this time got some tiny diamonds) and also in size! lol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] since then. but for #2, i took it off recently bec maybe water retention issue, sometimes it leaves red ring mark - more comfy without for the time being [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann

perhaps get more rest would help. i get spotting if i am on my feet for long periods of time. now we are all on our last legs so shld try to keep baby as long as poss in our tumtum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco: Yup. I am ok le. I think the amt of bleeding is in proportion to how much coconut i take. If I take one whole coconut then quite a bit. But yesterday I took one a sip so this morning also came out very very light and little.

tek_koh: I didn't stand on my feet too long. I always sit down one. So my spotting is definitely not due to my standing.

1. On that big day when our water breaks,what are the essentials that we need to pack beforehand;

grab ur hospital pack which u pack beforehand and contact ur gynae and go hospital

2. For thos ladies who have already had their 1st or 2nd babies -

(a) please advise as to whether you created a "Birthplan" that you handed over to the nurses/hospital?

no birth plan for me.. jus deliver..

(b) what happened after the baby was born? Like was the baby taken away to the nursery or they let you BF the baby straightafter? - Provided this was a natural delivery.

they will let u carry the bb so that u recognise bb face.. then they will clean bb up and bring to nursery. please remind all the nurses that u see that u are having total bf (TBF) so that they will let u latch bb within the first 30mins - 1 hour.

(c) What if you have booked the A1 ward - could the baby sleep in the same room as you, instead of being separated?

bb will be sleeping with u if no complications. or, bb will be pushed to u whenever bb needs to be fed if bb needs to be taken care in the nursery

ica : wow you very hardworking leh! Still got chart to show your hubby! BTw when is your hubby leaving and coming back from his london trip? Dunno if anyone remember, I was complaining abt my hubby having to travel to germany n shanghai b4 my EDD and I was so emo that I cried n cried. He juz told me couple of days ago that his company had changed it to London. He sounded pretty sour abt it. But to me, London or germany, doesnt really make a difference coz when waterbag burst, still impossible to make it back what. The only consolation is that he will be back like 2-3 days earlier lor. So I kept quiet. I decided that if my hubby should miss his baby's arrival...I shouldnt be more upset if he doesnt feel anything.

coconut -- its really not advisable to drink the whole coconut and too many times.. it shud be one - two sips per dosage and only once a mth (8th and 9th mth).. too much can induce birth and too liang for our bodies to support the baby.

full term -- full term baby is at 37 week.. we can actually give birth anytime liao.. to prevent pre mature or early delivery, try to rest more on bed. Complete bed rest means u lie flat on the bed, and walking arnd when u need to pee or eat. As walking will induce birth, and we shud try to prevent that from now till 37 weeks.. so try to have MORE bed rest rather than staying active and walking arnd.

Ann not hardworking - just have to do it for hubby to see. i mentioned a few times to him but he doesn't seem to register in his mind, so have to use this method lor. guys are visual creatures

wah! your hubby can still remind you of your gyane appts. i have to remind my hubby

ya, better stop taking all the "liang" food. maybe your body is already "liang" to begin with. rest well

babycoco wow! can still lose weight. me on no sugar diet - see whether it works on me or not. hahaha..not sure whether he's 100% convinced but should be la. maybe i should start whispering into his ears when he sleeps at night - let it register in his subconscious mind. haha

ya. there was one mommy who delivered 48 days before EDD. must be an emergency. also quite a no. delivered 15 days or more earlier than their EDDs. i really hope mine is full term

mrslong rest well. drink more water. also weather these days playing havoc with our health

babycoco: You're back! Wow you lost weight even when u re in 3rd trimester n while holidaying! But your bb very good size leh! Did your doc say if your bb is on the bigger side?

atomickitten hubby's trip is 24-25 June, i think. some more, he told his client that he may have to cancel and this client, some old aunty la, said "aiya, dun worry la, usually baby will come out later than EDD" and he believed her. aiyo! so i've to searched and show him the evidence. what if something like the ash cloud thingy hits Europe again?

if really you popped and hubby still not back, at least have your mom with you to give you the support. dun cry, ya

ica : You also on no-sugar diet ah! haha.. me trying very hard but now n then still cant resist. Juz now when I drank the glucose syrup.. I was thinking in my head.. The amt of sugar inside that drink is probably more than my one week intake of sugar! So wasted. Fast for so long then now suddenly gota drink at one go! If only can add some pearl and flavour and ice.. that would be my fave bubble tea le! I miss my bubble tea

Hi mommies!

I took a half day today, and heading to work in a while. Yesterday night, didnt sleep well at all. at 5am, had a bad stomachache and leg cramp. Was awake throughout till 6am when my hubby's alarm rang. Now I can still feel stiff muscles at my right calf. Have been massaging it so that it is less painful.

AtomicKitten: Dun be upset abt your hubby le la. If he is not interested, then being upset also no use. Just try to be happy. We are all here for you to support you though we cannot go into the operating theatre or delivery suite with u la.

ica: Ya.. last time I will keep reminding him.. now in 3rd tri, he is the one who will remind me. He will note it down in his hp when we make the appt but I dun do so. Haha!!

Early delivery: I have a colleague who deliver when she is only 8 mths preggy. I asked her then BB is pre matured lo. She say no .. cos BB is about 3.5kg when born even at 8mths. So no need to stay NICU or anything. I was like.. 3.5kg at 8mths.. that is huge lei.

my friend deliver early too...

her EDD was in Jun but she deliver end mar...

her bb got to stay in hopsital for 1 mth stay...

Ann & suntan

take care!!!

wedding band i am still wearing it till now but recently i realise it is getting tie.... i am onlu taking off it until now..

ica : when yr EDD? mine is 11Jul and hubby should be back 21 or 23rd.. cant rem. his shanghai trip is like 28-30th june. You say sound scary or not! Anyway.. I kan kai le. I no longer want to feel upset le.You are right.. I still have my family. And as long as baby is safe and healthy.. I'll be [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jaya Mum -

On that big day when our water breaks,what are the essentials that we need to pack beforehand;

** 1) Admission Card or Booklet, 2)NRIC, 3)Medisave forms dully signed, 4)Marriage Cert, 5)Money for deposit (just Incase), 6) Baby clothing one set, 7)baby wrap, 8)your go home clothing,9)Hospital Clothing ( KKH provide not sure other hospital) 10)maternity bra and panties, 11)Toiletaries (if hospital never supply),12) maternity pad ( if you dont like hospital loop on pad) - This is our Hospital BAG : ) Put individual items in a ZIPLOCK bag than dump in a haversack bag hubby can carry with LOVE..

2. For thos ladies who have already had their 1st or 2nd babies -

(a) please advise as to whether you created a "Birthplan" that you handed over to the nurses/hospital?

** During emergency time all birthplan will be dump aside.. We have to follow hospital rules .. Unless we do a plan birth or C section plan ones than the birth plan are well used..

(b) what happened after the baby was born? Like was the baby taken away to the nursery or they let you BF the baby straightafter? - Provided this was a natural delivery.

** Baby will be clean than pass to us for a while cause we will be too tired and we need to rest before transfer to ward...

(c) What if you have booked the A1 ward - could the baby sleep in the same room as you, instead of being separated?

All wards in KKH, baby are allowed to stay with mummy provided Baby no Jaundice or need special treatment.

Would appreciate all your feedback... Thank you ladies.

yvonne : your fren delivered very early leh!!! my fren's bb also premature and she said it cost a bomb.. even her confinement lady got to stay another month when bb returned home after spending one month in hosp..

Atomic kitten

Yap really early I was so shocked too when I heard tat ...

I juz contact her thru sms and heard tat she fainted... maybe causes her waterbag to burst...

Got to be very careful at this stage.. walk carefully and slow...

ica >> tks ica, ya...drinking plenty of water liao. But seem the nausea effect is cmg back...cough/sneeze until can want to vomit type. Shucks.

Somemore HB's away on biz trip since yest to Fri. But b4 he left for the airport, he talked to BB (at my tummy) and says "papa will miss BB and dear", heehe.

ya at 8 mths, ie 32 weeks at 3.5kg?! My boy at 28 weeks only 1.17kg..another 4 weeks, i dun think can even hit 2kg wor..

atomickitten,

Hai, i always have craving for durians, especially chilled ones..but i dare not eat..scare wait over weight..

AtomicKitten: No lei.. she didn't. She also dunno why. It's her 3rd baby. Her 1st and 2nd BBs all about 3kg plus when carry to full term. But this one dunno why quite big.

If my BB is 3.5kg at 8mths.. i would not know what to do. If let BB grow to full term, i also dun think my womb can carry.. cos BB would be about close to 5kg or more than that.

the "healthy" weight range is about 2.5kg.. meaning, it shud be able to "escape" NICU.. but it case to case basis ya... some bb still need to stay in NICU for some time even thou bb is 2.5kg for issues like maturity of lungs and stuff...

the SOP is to let u see the bb when u deliver so u can recognize ur bb and wont get mixed up (jus in case the nurses got bbs mixed up).. keke.. in the olden days, bbs tend to get mixed up.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually hor.. dr will case base on birth weight, room for bb's growth and the ability of the mommy to carry the baby..

there are cases where bb has no more room to grow in mommy's tummy and dr will advice for induction to deliver the bb out to prevent complications..

there are also cases that bb do not gain enuff weight so dr will advice bb to be delivered early but injections will be given to strengthen bb lungs...

or.. the bb is too heavy and mommy is have probs coping with the pregnancy.. example, bb is too heavy hence causing mommy to have stress and cannot get to sleep.. UTI probs, mommy's legs cannot withstand the weight causing distress to the baby and the mommy..

stuff like that, dr will view accordingly and advice the best method...

like i mentioned earlier, the best for this stage is to have plenty of COMPLETE bed rest. lie on the bed flat, and dun walk arnd unless u gotta go toilet or have ur meals. this way, u wont be stressing the bb too much and have plenty of rest...

serene,

But i tot they will tag your bb in the presence of the father in the delivery suite so that we can confirm that the bb is ours and not mixed up with another bb.