(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

jelly -- ya it's very bzi at work..see wat i can do bah..

cherry -- they aready put mi at a so call adminstrative duties position. jus tt they didn't notice there's hidden physical stress for preggy tt's all..

will try bah...if really can't take it then i will start my ML earlier plus hospital leave bah..

aisha, better go see doc for yeast infection..will clear off in 1 week..very fast de..

after tt try taking yogurt n as it's helps to fight the bacteria..

kepsis

Yap I also confuse on who I shd listen to...

very funny last night my hubby dont know heard fr who saying tat its not gd to go back my parent's hse for confinement.. wat old grandmum's tales!!!

I almost faint.. and told him tat is my mum tat wan me to go back and tat is the best for me too... he replied me back if ur mum is ok then juz go ahead..

Then my SIL ask me not to use too much strength when i poo and ask my hubby if he know wat are the sign of labour pain... (in a very KPO tone) i think she wan to tell us she expert already...

not saying she is bad.. but very auntie like tat... mind too much... dont know is she really care or she juz jealous...

My cousin who gave birth b4 told me not to drink too much coconut juice only twice a mths in the last 10 week and its gd for bb skin but some of the mummies who went for the ms mong's prenatal classes were sharing its doesnt help and can drink alternative days.. haiz..

i begin to worry if i can handle my bb when he is born...

lasery2k - pls make it apparent to them if you're under stress - sometimes superiors can be so dense when it comes to understanding our plight.

aisha - good morning. i've decided to sign up for the antenatal class afterall.

yvonne,

my mum did the confinement for my sis. then the san gu liu po said that its not lucky for my mum to do the confinement for the daugher. still ask y mum to do it la and bla bla bla.

cant stand them!

aisha: i'm going for the one at parkway east. btw, i emailed cathryn on the list of items to prepare for labour and she has replied to me. PM me your email address if you want the list.

:D

yvonne

dun worry. u can do it. can log on and we chit chat and encourage each other after bb born. i know that we will be overwhelmed but the experience will make you stronger. also when u need help, pls shout for help. dun take up all the responsibility. slp when bb slp... u need rest as much as possible. oso, keep ur options open. if you need to hire CL, hire. if u need help fm hubby, tell him u need him. dun b like me, take all the responsibility to look after e kid and do all the things urself.

vivi, if my mum wanna do for mi..i duno how happy ar..don't care abt the san gu liu po lah..yr mum knws wat is the best for her daughters n health..

cherry -- mentally stress still copeable coz i m use to it liao..easy task to handle..is the physical part..after wk daily i m so body strain..but then wateva..i will take full 16wks ML plus 1 mth no pay leave stay at hm rest until i hapi then go bk..govt job, can't sack me..

lasery2k

good one! hee... this case they need u more than u need them in a sense. a fren of mind took 4mth ML and 8 mths NPL to b hm w her ger and she still got her job back at CPFB!

lasery- true. this time round my mum is doing the confinement for me. just feel bad that she will need to spend some of her $ as she dun wanna claim 100% of the $ from us.

I can only say, lets use logic to deduce whats good for ourselves and our babies and not wat ppl say. Different ppl say different things, like this our heads will explode with all the information given, so much so that we don't know who to listen to!

As for coconut juice, it is not even proven (medically), that it really helps baby to be clean etc etc. Everything just take in moderation. Taking 1 coconut in alternate days is not really alot in my opinion. On the other hand, I doubt taking anything twice a month will have any effect at all.. everything will just be flushed out haha.

But.. it is really up to you...most impt is that we are given brains to think for ourselves and we shouldn't stress ourselves over these. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jelly, vivi -- can take long term NPL, but will affect promotion..but who cares lah..need to recharge back myself.

vivi -- if she don't wanna claim back 100%, you can always get gift for her instead or pao bigger ang bao during mother's day or festival loh..like tt won't feel so bad le.

lasery2k - good manz. i cant take NPL if not i sure take NPL till child is 2 yrs old.

ya will buy her a nice bag [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi

I juz dont understand... if not my mum do then will be my MIL. so she will need to wash my bedsheet and clothes??? later there will be another topic to talk abt me by my SIL.. this few day i can see tat my MIL is abit not feeling well... recently went to see doc and refer her to SGH for further test... dont know wat happen but nv hospitalize..

Last time my SIL also go back let her mum do.. maybe i shd shoot back this to my hubby...

Jellypurin

Finally decision confinement will be done by my mum cos she already took leave for me...

my mum will help me as and when she can for the 1st 2 week of the confinement the last 2 week she told me she can guide me slowly and later part be on my own to learn how to take care

hubby help??? haiz.. he know nothing ... i dont know when bb is out his fatherly love will come out anot... and automatic help.. now my job is choose and buy wat i think gd for bb and his job is help carrying here and there..

he dont know wat type of mattress is gd for bb...

and dont even go and find out until his friend told him and he came to ask me ... y we choose foam mattress... i was ^%#$%&

he didnt even listen and pay attention tat i did mention to him before latex is gd...

ya lor .. pregnancy not easy and i learn alot here too..

aisha: i also think that it is better to see your gynae to get the medication to ensure that you clear out the infection. don't worry, the medication is not painful and infection should clear up in a few days. while you are home, try to bath more frequently and keep the vaginal area clean.

yvonne,

my mil engage a helper when she helped me with the confinement so everything is done by the helper.

she cooks n care for the bb.

but she complains abit la saying that our bb cannot be care by the helper.

i was duh!

so no matter who do for us sure got either party kena 1.

like my sis, my mum kena alot from her keke.

so what mattress is good huh? i must have missed the ball on this topic.

so latex or foam?

jaclyn

yeah, there's no good or bad to what pple say... just do what u think is best for u n bb... keke

yvonne

when a bb is born, there will be moments when parents hv a strained relationships. i know that bcos i am still going thru it but it is impt to let ur hubby know that it is time to take up the responsibility as dad. even if it means he do v little, but must try and help abit lah... dun just dun do anything... v bad...

Aisha: before pregnancy, when I have yeast infection, you can get candestan over the pharmacy counters for it. Its a tablet to insert into your vagina to clear the yeast. However, you would need to check with your gynae or your pharmacist to see if it safe to use during pregnancy.

Try eating lots of yogurt as yogurt contains live bacteria cultures that will kill the yeast (however for this to work, you really need to consume alot).

good morning mummies! Hope you all have a well rested May Day weekend!

Talking abt hospital bags - i was so kiasu with my first one. I packed a lot of clothes for myself and baby, toiletries, books, ipod, photos to look at, hand held fan, tidbits, breast pump, baby bottles etc. In the end, just end up wearing the hospital gown thru out and during labour, i cld only bear to grip my hubby's hand and cld not even listen to music!

Then when i was discharged, we ended up having so many things to bring home - baby, hospital bag, gifts from frens as well as the stuff from the hospital.

Now i am hoping to pack as light as possible....

currently at 28th week and going for gynae visit this friday. looking forward to seeing baby! wonder how much he has grown? baby was 600g at 24th week and hubby keeps nagging that baby too small and keep asking me to eat more especially durian. sometimes i think it's my hubby who wants to eat durian but use me as excuse to buy haha.

full month celebration: i'm thinking of having neogarden buffet at my house and only inviting closer relatives and friends. will be giving out sweetest moments cakes to relatives and bengawan cake voucher to colleagues/friends who never come for the celebration. but this is just what i am planning...... asked hubby many times but he keep saying it's too early. ask him to ask his parents whether they got any "opinion" also nvr ask.

actually i m a bit worried about the full month party. very scare that my grand-mother-in-law will make last min "special request", like what she did during our wedding. haiz... who ask my baby to be the first great-grandson. not forgetting that my husband is the first grandson and my father-in-law is the eldest son...

Aisha: yahh i also don't really like yogurt haha.. to me tastes like vomit :p

But but I like yami yogurt (although not really considered since i think the amount of live bacteria in frozen yogurt is very little hehe)

take care.. yeast infection can get very irritating. Itchy!

Good morning ladies.

Wah.. alot of postings this morning lei. Hehe!! Was not sleeping well last night. Backache keep bugging me, making it hard to fall asleep. Now I feel tired, nauseous and back still aching. Luckily Mdm Ida say she will come and help me massage on Saturday cos I told her my back is aching very badly le.

Sometimes I do lose count on how many weeks pregnant I am. When pple asked, I could not answer so I told them 7mths into the 8mths. Haha!! Then I will take out my calendar and count from my last appt with gynae to see how many wks preggy I am.

Irene: Same as you on full month party. But my hubby's grandparents passed away liao so not too bad. But still this child is the first grandson in the family and my hubby is the eldest and so is his dad. It's the same for my side too. My grandparents still alive so it is the first great grandson and I am the eldest and so is my dad. I am scared that my BB will be spoilt rotten.

When I told hubby we should prepare for full month party, he also say too early. I told him I would not have time to do full month party during confinement. So we have to do the planning now and so that he only need to do the excution part during confinement month. I also told him if you ask your parents to help u do, they will sure end up paying for it. Is that what you wan? Then it sort of make him wake up and say quite true hoh. So now we are starting to plan on the first draft of guest list.

Jaclyn

I get what u want to say but ppl ard u juz fill in so many infor...

eg: when i try to drink coconut juice...

MIL will stop me totally fr drinking...

My mother abit...

to me since ms wong say its doesnt matter to drink in 3rd trim I will go ahead...

they will juz try to stop me fr drinking and wif all the nagging u see not only fr 1 ppl u shd this and u shd tat... i say ms wong say its ok then will fill me in wif those old grandmum's tales again or the experience they had...

3rd trim more worst i cant think clearly as before.. so dreamy..

anyway thks for all advice..

the most i will secretly drink when they are away... hehehe... now i hack care juz do wat i think its oks (secretly) shhhhh.... hahaha

vivi

latex is gd...

Jellypurin

My hubby did help abit.. juz tat he not so attentive when i talk to him... see how when bb come out ba.. maybe bb in my tummy i more excited than him.. when bb come out he might show his love more... haha. cos he like kid one.. i shall see...

Jacelyn >> If u dun like yoghurt, can try drinking Yakult or Vitagen.

Last time when I had thrush/yeast infection, GP did recommend can eat yoghurt or drink Yakult or Vitagen.

Yvonne: I understand what you mean. The elderly will always come back with opinions and their own experience to make u do something or stop you from doing something.

Luckily for me, my MIL dunno much one. So she never restrict me on anything. She quite modernised in alot of ways la. My mum is different cause my grandparents still around. So whatever my grandparents say she will tell me and make sure i follow. But then when she not around, I follow or not she also dunno. Haha!!

ann : *raise hands n legs* to tt dilema..i m the eldest grandchild at my dad side n first grandson plus my dad is the eldest (even though grandparents n my dad no longer around)..those aunty n uncles..duh.

my hubby side, he is the most dote on grandchild n only son for his dad, his dad is the eldest and this is the first grandson too..

i also scared he will be spoilt. esp at my hubby side...

Hihi mummies.. how's ur day?

went for my checkup ytd and did swab test & blood test. Think my gynae poked too deep till it hurts, when i read that it was supposed to be painless.

My bb is about 1.8kg at 31 weeks. doc said i was doing well but i asked him why my bb so small. coz the other day, my uncle was mocking at my tummy size again.

i was showing them my 4D scan pix, then told them that "Oh, cant see bb full face now coz she has grown bigger" and my uncle was like "GROWN BIGGER?! Ur tummy so small! How big can your baby be?!!"

Well my gynae told me not to be greedy, he said always aim for small babies.. and in 2 mths' time my bb will grow to about 3kg, which is just nice for delivery. i hope bb will come out healthy, that's all.

Regarding the prenatal class, almost wanna give up attending ever since the bad experience.. but hubby is very enthu abt it so we will go for 1st lesson this week.

Sometimes i really feel bad towards my hubby. my mood swings getting worse & even though not his fault, i keep throwing temper at him and he always give in. but i cant control leh...

vivi: go for latex mattress..softer..cooler

ann: my mum will nag n stop this n tt, but after awhile she also give up liao..coz my hands n legs faster then her mouth...

lucky MIL is modern lady..she also didn't stop mi from eating anything except if she see i keep eating to liang, she will remind abit loh..

ended up is my hubby who is nagging n nagging like a old hag daily on my food n intakes.faint

full month - my MIL was suggesting that we have it over at her place which is something i do not want. i want my parents to be a part of it as much as them. if i have it over at their place, chances are she will have more say (urgh!). i plan to whine about having it over at my place.

post maternity leave - i have booked a place for my child at Learning vision infantcare.

coconut -- i will be taking after 32nd week and only sips (not the whole coconut).. once at 8th mth and once at 9th mth. Too liang is no good... Whatever we eat, jus take it moderately...

full mth -- Neogarden buffet, choz cakes, bengawan solo vouchers. I have also planned out some deco, door gifts etc.. i will be booking a chalet with cdans which is located right opposite my house so its more convenient for me to carry bb arnd..

Hospital Bags -- i already took out the bag.. but i keep asking myself if im too early.. hahaha.. but i think i will get it done by this week to stand by since i will be into my 30th week this sat. and like what mommies say here, we never know when our precious decides to pop

engagement -- dun worry about engagement althou sometimes gynae will prep us for the worst scenerio.. maybe some read ups on these 2 articles can help understand more about engagement.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.bellybelly.com.au/articles/birth/baby-engaged

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/whenheadengage

Baby Items & Claases -- slowly buy and dun walk too much.. nowadays, i dun really bother about how much the item is liao.. cause my stamina is no good now.. so i rather buy the items at one place than to go everywhere to get all the items.. lol..

As for the classes, i didnt attend too.. i think the crucial part is showering the baby and swaddling which you can find them easily on youtube with real babies demo.. of coz, its for reference and we will get used to it as we practice.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dun panic ah... let relax and enjoy the last trimester of our pregnancy... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

an interesting qns.... -- if ur gynae tell u that u are alr dilated and u can prep for delivery in the next 2 days....

1. what would you hope to eat most before u go into the confinement?

2. where would u go? (to settle some errands or some last min stuff)

3. What would u do? (anything special?)

For me, i told my hubby yesterday that... if gynae tells me that, i will rush to go and eat char kuay teow... then i will plan a romantic night with my hubby at some restaurant to eat some beef steak... and enjoy some "couple hood".. then off to buy some tidbits to hide inside my room jus in case i really need to eat in the middle of the night cause bf-ing will make us hungry and we need some biscuits to bite sometimes..

How about u??

lasery2k: Haha.. same concern. My hubby's nephew from his mother's side on was spoilt rotten lei. Eat dinner need 2 grandaunts to feed him. Carry him around the house, chase after him. Watever he wan, then give him. I told my hubby is my son is spoilt rotten like that, I will immediately withdraw my son from your parents'place (cos in law helping to take care of the kid) and put the child in infant care. My hubby looked wide eyed at me when I said that. I told him dun tell me u wan a son who is spoilt rotten. Then he also agreed with me. Haha!!

My hubby was contemplating to shift to more mature estate or not in future so that next time our kid go to school also easier. I asked him why need to shift becos of the kid? He say would i wan my kid to take 3 hrs travelling to and from home to school in future. I ask him why not. Mummy pregnant also travel like that, why need to make it easier for him. Need to let him know that life is not easy then when grow up and work then will understand the reality of life. Hubby just keep quiet. Haha!!

oh!!! btw, need to ask

what happens when we start feeling contractions? who do we call? gynae or hospital?

i know it's a stupid question but when my husband asked me this yesterday, i was stumped.

Serene.. nice!

1. what would you hope to eat most before u go into the confinement?

-> Chilli crab, sashimi... think i will go have Jap buffet at one of the hotel.

I think i wouldnt dare to go anywhere or do anything else. Dun even dare to sleep... coz so nervous & dunno when will everything happen.

Cherrysue: Me still taking the classes under TMC.

Thanks, Serene, Jasmine.

I haven't prepared the hospital bag. Just last week, I went to the bb fair last week and bought the diapers.

Doc told me my tummy looked small and my mum bought cordyceps powder for me to take. Praying for bb to grow well. Somemore must watch what i eat.

SweetKiss: U are lucky. I also wan to keep my BB's weight at 3kg at most. But hubby say maybe will hit 3.5kg. So worried now. My gynae say BB abit big and ask me to feed him less. But I wonder how to do that. But the thing is I didn't gain alot of weight too. Haha!!

We all have our temper now. Just try to treat him better when we are more calm lo. Hehe!!

Serene: Your question very interesting lei. I have never thought abt it before.

The only thing that come to my mind now is go saloon and trim my hair and wash them. Then go for manicure and pedicure to get my nails nice and clean. haha!!

cherry.sue: If you have contractions now, it is most likely braxton hicks. If it doesnt disappear after awhile and it persists, then give your gynae a call. Your gynae will advise you and tell you wat to do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann: lucky still gt no life example yet..but i m preparing for the worst incase..coz i knw my mum sure spoilt him coz her first grandson after all..she always say won't or will kick him out..but at the rate she buy things for him, i can confirm chop all she say is fake 1..steel mouth toufu heart..

as for MIL place, they prefer the child to be indenpendenly grow up. so i nt so scared but scared his grandpa will buy alot of toys for him only..headache..

my son sch aready prefix at st. andrew junior til sec liao..maybe the kindergarden also can attend their in house kindergarden. coz his dad, grandpa, n great grandpa all from st. andrew..

found out tt bb like mi more then hubby..today morn did a test by placing both our palm on my tummy then both do the pat pat pat motion. after tt wait for bb to choose the hand. ended up 3 tries bb locate my hand instead of hubby 1..hubby give tt grumpy face to him n poke him..super farnie.