(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

just got back from gynae's. my red patches on tummy turned out to be allergic reaction to cocoa butter, so gynae gave me steroid cream. hopefully the itch will be gone and the red patches too...sigh

glucose: as long as you've family history of diabetes, gynae will ask you to do the test in Wk 28.

i'm going for mine in 2 wks and nurse has scheduled me to see gynae on the same day for the regular checkup, in btwn waiting for the 2nd test. so no need to waste time lor. gynae will either call me on the test results or wait till next checkup

3hrs?? really? the way nurse told me seems like 2 hrs only woh...9am i go to clinic to take the form, go down to lab to do the test, then 10am see gynae, then back to lab again and it's done

gynae said can drink plain water, just no food after 10pm

Sweetkiss: wow! the nurse so nice, booked the room for you. i have to book it myself. but why so soon leh?

i'm delivering at Mt E, so nurse gave me the form and said i can go to register anytime

Jaclyn: think you baby is very happy today. are you in a joyful mood? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suntan: yup! the nurse asked me when i was paying my bill & she booked on the spot. i am taking 2 bedded.

jaclyn: how much is the deposit? i dunno abt mine coz my gynae's pkg + doc's delivery charges is 1.8k and i have to pay in 3 instalments.

ica: not sure also, since the nurse asked, then i just gave tell her my choice of hospital & room lor.

any idea hw much is the entire hospital costs? i have no idea how it is calculated. my neighbour who had an emer c-sec told me her total hospital bill was 6k+ but she only paid 1k+ in cash. the rest was paid by medisave. she also delivered in Mt A... I thought we can only deduct 2.1k from medisave.

sweetkiss,

You mean you need to pay the $1.8k upfront in 3 instalments? Actually just to check, it doesnt matter whether we book the room early or late right? cos its a first come first serve basis, unless we are going for c-sec which we definitely would know when is the date? Me still considering between 1 bedded vs 2 bedded leh. That time my fren gave birth in Mt A using 2 bedded, all natural (ie no epi, no assisted birth), her total bill adds up to $600+ after deducting medisave.

ica: same mood as everyday leh hahaa.. nothing special =P i think must be something i ate!

sweetkiss: my deposit is $500. This is just for the gynae fee.

Actually i am just looking at the maternity package from Mt A website. Dont really understand what they mean. Eg under Normal delivery with epi, 1 bedded, it cost $2,313, then max claim from medisave is $1,650. So meaning i only need to pay $663? Thats excluding gynae charges right? What other charges are there?

baby charges and a whole lot of supplies that you used.. you won't believe how calculative they are.. every little thing oso they charge. Thats why things like pads etc .. bring ur own better.

sun_tan

the best thing u can do is have that consultation with the hospital before your delivery. your gynae may or may not be able to advise you about the cost.

sun_tan-make sure the 2313 include the use of delivery suite for how many hours? I know some hospital charge delivery suite by hour basis...

suntan: ya lor.. that's the standard pkg for my gynae. since week 24 i started paying my 1st installment. i guess booking the bed early or late doesnt matter. perhaps is just standard procedure for my clinic.

Booking of Room: Wah.. so early book room liao ah? I will take Mt A, single bedded room. I very scared of hospital cause it keeps reminding me of death so I dun dare to stay along in it. Then hubby can stay with me too and also BB can also bunk in.

But must do payment so early ah? Never knew that.

Hi Aisha Alwi

Dont drink too much.. only 2 times is enough

once a mth in ur 8 and early 9 mths pregnancy ....

wow so fast book room .. sound like the date are getting closer and closer....

I told my hubby to go research on the powder which BB should use. Dunno why he go research on hair loss and send the link to me and ask me dun blame him if I have hair loss after Kayden is born.

Wah lao.. why need to tell me of such depressing thing?

my MIL told me i can't take coconut juice ley. don't know why [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

aisha: have you been for the hospital tour? if got availability for victoria suite on my delivery date, my husband say we can take that. really really hoping for that!!

hello cherry.sue,

did went for the tour, but we didnt get to see the one bedded n suites bcoz thr's patients in all d room.. for nw we opt for two bedded but my hubby might change his mind..

Do you know when are we suppose to pay the deposit? I forgot to ask the clinic and hospital la..

aisha: not sure. the clinic asst only asked me what room i wanted - i said one-bedder but this was before i saw the suite. hmmm, maybe next visit i ask. when's your next appt?

cherry.sue

cant take coconut drink its bcos it is too liang!!! my mum also dont let me drink only can drink for 2 times for the last 2 mth of pregnancy...

ica

ya only two times.. tat is wat my cousin told me.. she do so before giving birth to her boy..

say bb come out nice complexion...

Aisha -- liang = cooling.. cause we are pregnant, we will tend to be more heaty.. it is not advisable to have too cooling food cause it may harm our bb.. example: our bb will be weaker and easily get sick when they are out. things like liang teh, coconut, kang kong.. they are all cooling food..

pineapple = sharp = acidic.. old pple believe that the acid will cause miscarriage at the early stages of pregnancy.

Aisha: "liang" = "cooling"

Yvonne: oic thanks...thot of indulging a bit since so many kinds of food cannot eat...sigh...

hospital admission -- normally for TMC, if u check in after 11pm, it will be considered as next day's billing.. and for normal cases.. if u go for 4 beded, they will give u 2 bedded instead.. i dun plan to let them know anything cause i hope their 2 bedded will be fully booked and auto upgrade me to 1 bedded but i will be paying a 2 bedded fee... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this is what happen to most of my friends too

hospital deposit -- hospital deposits for TMC will be paid upon check in. u can call to check the amt or go online to see. when i went for my 2 bedded, my deposit was $800 but this time, i will be gg for 1 bedded.. so i will be paying $1500 because i will be using medisave to deduct my hospital bill

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/fees.htm

there is a certain cap for natural birth and c sect for medisave deductions. this, u can also ask ur gynae or call the hospital to check.

my gynae's delivery charges will be included in the total bill. for TMC, its very clear, one bill for mommy the other bill for baby.

coconut juice no need to finish the whole thing.. jus drink a bit can liao. 8th mth drink once, 9th mth drink once.

actually, u can try gg youtube to watch "in the womb" and u will understand why we have cravings. cravings are a "signal" to what ur body needs to sustain this pregnancy. there are pple who eats pineapple all the way and nothing happen.

our body will ignite our cravings to eat what is needed now in our body to maintain this pregnancy. whatever u eat, moderate is the key.

Just back from Gynae appt. Am 28 weeks now and baby is 1.3kg. He was smiling...then suddenly show us his finger! aiyo, must be daddy teaching him when I'm asleep... LOL...

sun-tan>> maybe can put a stool under your desk so can alleviate feet?

Seat Belt Clip >> saw it at NTUC AMK yesta.

ica>> I'll be delivering at Mt E also. We just told told the nurse at the clinic that we wanted a one-bedder when we signed up the gynae package. Didn't know I have to book room myself. Will go ask when I see her next.

Sun Tan

Yap serene already explain 8th mth drink once, 9th mth drink once.

Serene

yap for TMC my friend also told me the same time...

ica: I heard from my colleague Mt E food very nice. haha.

To MTBS:

I planning 1 bedded at Gleneagles. Heard for parkway hospital got package one. but i think need to ask lor.. Some package include ananatel course, teach you how to breastmilk etc. Best is to go to the hospital & check.

For parkway C-sec fix package is abt $5k+ & norm del (epid) is abt $3k+.

Also what is needed to bring when going hospital?

cherry.sue: talking about the tour, the first thing my hubby checked out was the tv! hahaha

I told him " good lah, u came to check out the tv and one mummy i knew frm the forum was checkig out the wall paper!" then we both laugh. He said 4bedded the tv so old school, 2bedded plasma tv too far from the bed. aiyoh this man is so cartoon la [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_laugh.gif]

xbeanniex -- i watched that too.. its nice but its pretty short one.. in the womb is very detailed and it even has documentary on twins and animals..

wow !! go home watch together with my HB .... get him prepared of what will happen during labouring... lolx... else he keep asking me n not my gynea actually how labouring process is all about... (i m thinking how i know the answers when this is our 1st baby)

xbeanniex: Haha!! Think positively.. at least your hubby ask. My hubby doesn't even bother. He just take it as it comes. At least when he work on a project at work, he is more prepared lo.

ann : man are so different... actually i m not used to having a "super glue" HB de... i m pretty independent gal & likes freedom - i would say loves being alone most of the times. but learn to accept my "super glue" with his others positive character... hahahaha...

my HB is quite an acadamic person... so explaining to him without theories, he seldom understands... so got video to show him can solve my answering him n he still dun understand totally...

xbeanniex -- i watched tis documentary thrice le.. my hubby also watched it.. its very helpful... and its nice to see on video how the bb look and reacts. it tells u y u have cravings, why u are rejecting some food. why got hiccups and the reflexes which ur bb is practising in ur womb to prepare for life after birth..

Pris>> the nurse asked me which room type I wanted, then whipped out the form for me, said i needed to go register but any time will do. i'm taking a 1 bedder but have not decided which one - Mt E has 3 types of 1 bedder. but the rooms look so old...

ceres>> Mt E food nice? think that's the 1st time i've heard that. i've heard TMC food is nice, especially the soup - think it's the papaya fish soup

Atomickitten: think cos my tummy not tt big yet, many ppl commented that i look only 3 months pregnant. So can still hug my bolster.

Sun_tan: Thanks for the info n great idea! I’m using it now. Haha

Cheese: did you use any new cream recently? Perhaps u r allergic to it?

Ceres_ng: dun be too worked up, must b happy for ur bb.

ica: good that you like coconut juice, i am dreading it! my mum say i must drink every week and i totally hate coconut juice! Good news that we can only drink once a month! haha must tell my mum.

I was admitted to GEH begining of this year for an ovarian cyst operation, the food is nice! you can choose your menu too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've already registered at GEH, the customer service told me that this is to facilitate express check in, coz we wont know when we are exactly due and most of the time its quite sudden so we can 'cut queue' at the reception.

Pris :congrats! you ve entered 3rd trimester!

xbeanniex : your hubby is so sweet! Wanting to get involved and more involved in yr pregnancy! that's pretty cool! My hubby asked me to opt for C-section with GA as he doesnt want to go into the OT with me leh... he said he will gladly pay for it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But asked me to die die must try breastfeed ... save on formula milk!?!?!