(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

AtomicKitten: think cannot have mani/pedi-ed nails when staying in hospital...last time when i was admitted to hospital due to MC, the nurse gave me alcohol to clean my painted nails...not sure whether this is just Mt A policy or across all hospitals though...perhaps you can check first, otherwise pedi/mani wasted....

Atomic kitten: i think u will be the prettiest mummy on the day of your delivery to look nicely from head to toe..hehe

i actually do rebonding when i am 4 mths pregnant. just have to let your hair stylist know you are pregannt and they will be careful. Gynae gave me the green light to do it

Atomickitten - if you want to nurse your BB minutes after birth, i dun think you can do it with GA wor.

AtomicKitten -- wah sei.. actually ya lor.. i also got think of putting on make up before i go deliver lei.. wahahaha.. but i dunno if dr ang will give me de.. "r u ok?" loook.. hahaha..

Hey mommies..

will u all feel.. numb (ma bi) feeling at ur lower spine area (tail bone)? i start to feel numb when i sit for more than 30 mins.. i think the bb's weight is doubling this mth..

and this morning, i feel bb.. i realise that.. she has "promoted" and slowing moving above my belly button..

maternity photography -- anyone gg? i will be gg when i full bloom.. i think about 36 weeks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vernie : when i did my D&C.. nurses also insist i clean my nail n toe polish leh. But i already got permission from my gynea to keep the colours on.. every nurses was like frowning at my nails from ward to OT.. I had bright yellow colour with bling bling on. Coz that time I cried n cried after miscarriage n my sweet hubby want to cheer me up so brought me go taka to do up nails b4 gg for D&C lor.. when the nurse ask me cleaned up.. he literally scream..."what??!!!"

serene: im those 'no guts' kind... hence i wanted VERY MUCH to do GA c-sect.

cuz i juz want everythg to b over, then bb cleanclean when i wake up.

atomickitten: i also scat my butt will grow wider aft natural...

but my gynae like pro natural one leh... keep telling me it's gonna heal much faster than c-sect.

n if really needa do c-sect, do c-sect w epi. but he dun recommend GA c-sect.

he juz told me it'll not b good for BB.

i hear liao i scat.. i also nva really ask him y no good wor...

other mummies, any idea y GA c-sect is no good for BB?

atomickitten -- ur body is alr releasing relaxin to loosen ur joints at this pt of time liao.. thats also part of the reason for back aches and pelvic bone pains.. cause of the loosening of joints, hence bone will not give a full support like before. after we deliver, our body/bones will not "contract" back to normal.. it will jus "contract" back a little.. thats why some preggy say their figure out of shape after delivery...

Scrumpee -- a lactation consultant will be there to guide u and check on ur nipples and to see how u latch on the bb.. TMC and Mt A provides such services after delivery.

astro gal : my hip already very wide leh.. cant imagine after giving birth..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Atomickitten: my hips are those widen type too so after delivery one fine day when i saw all the stretch marks on my butt then i realise my hips expanding so much!!!

DQ -- lol.. then u must do ur confinement properly cause csect wont heal as fast as natural.. and there are some food that u cannot eat.. esp ginger and sheng yu...

atomickitten: your gynae so nice to let u keep the colours on...last time i dunno, already so miserable, go hospital and nurse told me to remove the colours...

DQ, ya me too, i watched natural birth vidoes on youtube & i almost fainted. looks really really painful right? i'm also thinking of doing c-section. of course when i talk to friends, relatives, they're all against c-section. but i learnt something from my yoga instr. it's our body, we decide. who cares what other people think. hahaha

DQ : I also like u.. very timid one hehee

I got asked doc which one she rec.. GA or epi..but coz she knows i very timid kind.. she said she cant decide for me coz c-section and instruments in OT are very normal to her...nothing tramatising one but if i get scared at every cling and clank sound..then maybe GA better for me. Somemore my husband told her he might faint in OT..

Serene : Is it true that hips wont widen as much for C-section when compared to natural huh?

I got asked Dr if can put light makeup in OT or not leh.. she said in OT they will also monitor our face colour.. if we put makeup on ..they cant tell!!! hahaa

AtomicKitten -- not true la.. lol.. like i said, ur body is alr widening liao.. because natural birth is the only method that our body understands when it comes to delivery. so naturally, our body will prep for natural birth.

ur body wont know what is csect and then prep ur body for csect right? lol...

even before 2nd tri hits, our body is alr releasing the relaxin liao le..

http://www.womenshealthcaretopics.com/preg_hip_pain.htm >> if mommies have pelvic pain, can also read this to understand.

i gotta know about this cause my good friend was preg and had this pelvic pain.. she cannot lie, sit, stand nor walk. its common but not normal.. so i did a lot of research for her and i gotta learn about the effects of relaxin.. u can also google it and know more too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I heard for Mt.A deliveries, unless it's "forced by circumstances", mummies have to go thru natural birth instead of C-sect.

Not sure if it's still applicable.

DQ >> My friend's sis-in-law went thru C-sect with epi...she said cannot feel a thing & have a green cloth that covers from your neck down, so u won't see the gory parts. And with epi, at least u can hear your BB's 1st cry and carry the BB.

DQ: do go for natural if you can. my aunty had c-section for both births, thinking that giving birth naturally will distort her body (which in a way is true but that's only natural). so now she's in her 50s and have lots of pains and aches, always sick. my mom also says GA not good for babies and our bodies. think must be the chemicals

c-section with epi: they'll have a cloth to shield you from the process but if your're gung ho enuf, they'll let you see

Woah.. many postings to read.

Method of Birth: I think I will still do natural. It does heal faster. Though painful but I am more scared of being cut open. Haha!! Thar's why now doing more exercise to see if it helps me to cut down on my labour hour.

Visiting the salon before birth: I think for ladies who is going through natural birth, we will be sweating liao cos of the pain.. i dun think our hair will still be nice after that. haha!!

Talking abt GA...I quite like the "knocked out" process like having a deep sleep. Only part is the grogginess when you just woke up but luckily it's only for a while.

Best is natural birth without epidural but I doubt I'll go for that...I definitely need epidural.

Side effect of epidural that happens to some of my friends is very severe back pain occasionally.

mthd of birth: im trying to convince myself to go for natural... but ive heard abt those cases where they tried so hard for natural, then ended up still haf to do emergency c-sect.

then muz pay for 2 procedures... heartpain leh...

@ least if i decide on c-sect rite fr the start i can ctrl my costs! lol!!!

Shann -- ya, thats pelvic pain..

my advice is.. those its common, still, let ur gynae know at ur next visit.. cause if pain gets severe, it will affect ur delivery process.. this is what my friend's gynae told her.. thats why she took epi right away.. and she delivered bb naturally.

my take is that anything foreign/not natural that's introduced to our bodies is not good eg. epi, GA. unless absolutely

what about episiotomy? i also dun like being cut up. one mommy fren described it as painful, like a piece of paper (stretched) ripped in 2. but another fren said you won't feel a thing

DQ -- talking to bb works.. haha.. must tell bb to come out smoothly, dun let mommy suffer so much pain..

dun listen to the negative ones.. seriously.. our bodies are made to deliver naturally.. so definitely have a way to do so.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stay positive and think of good things..

I'd still go for natural birth as 1st option.

But sometimes also scare that down there will tear "badly". My sis described to me when she had her natural birth for her 2 kids, were that she can feel the tear & like the organs shifting...aiyo!

DQ: Ya.. that is one down side of going natural.. if need to do emergency C-sec, then have to pay more money. Unfair right?

cherry.sue: I am thinking of doing without epi.. but wondering can I opt to do it with epi first then if I dun need it during my delivery process, will they deduct the cost accordingly?

mrslong: I think at that time, we will just be concentrating on getting BB out. I really wonder how mummies with twin or more can tahan. They have to go through another wave of pain after the first one.

Mrslong -- u will be too pain to feel all these liao.. after the delivery, missy will give u a jab near ur thigh to let ur uterus contract. that is the part where u will feel "movements" but only after the entire process when u are resting. which is a good sign!

Ann -- u can opt for epi as first option so u can get the paper work done and the missy will take note of it. but if u dun feel that pain, u can still opt out of it later.. the charges will be totalled up when u check out based on what u used.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

most of the people i know say for first child, with epi also useless because there will still be pain.

but a friend told me better go since i'm small-sized surely cannot take it.

*shrugs*

mrslong: the way u say the organs moving sounds so scary!! hahaha... Me also thinking opt for natural without epidural. I keep tell my hubby to tell me $$$! $$$! so i will endure and save the epi $. Hahahha!! CHeapskate..

Haaa jo_lyn,

I told that to my sis as well and she say that by the time we are in so much pain, we will hack care about that $400 already..lol

cherry.sue,

Dun think pain management can be determine from size bah. I got a fren who is very small size also manage to do it without epi. Actually i believe that alot would depends on our mental preparation. If you are a patient of Dr Lawrence Ang, i am sure he would ask u to imagine the pain everyday in preparation of the labour pain, so that when that day comes, you will "expect" a certain level of pain and deal with it..thats what my fren did..lol..not sure how true, but she did pull thru without epi.

Serene: Oh.. ok.. then maybe I will opt for that option.

mrslong: My gal fren went thru natural and C-sec for her twin. She was so proud that she gone through both. haha!!

cherry.sue: ooohhh, so she's generalising la? not true lor, depends on individual. one fren described it as period pain. if you can tahan the cramps, without painkiller, then you can tahan labour pains. all depends on your pain threshold

like breast milk - small breasts do not mean no or little milk

Hey girls.

Last time round some of you were suggesting places for a short holiday. Me lazy to go back to check the threads again. I am intending to go on a short trip on 2nd Apr to 4th Apr. Where can I go?

oh yes. another fren did natural with epi but in the end, no strength to push. her hubby said 3 nurses and the gynae had to push and try to manipulate her tummy to get baby out - like the tummy was some kind of tube to squeeze baby out...she also read Supernatural Childbirth which i loaned to her but was so excited, she forgot all about it! coz 1st baby, so kan chiong lor

cherrysue>> I think it depends on mental strength more than physical strength.

My sis is the same petite size as me and she went through 10hrs of labour for her 1st born without epi for natural birth.

Not that she had a choice, but she still manage to go thru it, heehe.