(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

yes if possible i will be having c-sect with epi...i want HB to be there... and I hate the after effect for GA (experienced for my myomectomy)

My fibriods that time the largest at 13cm, so I already have a long cut across my bikini line liaoz and Gynae actually dun advice me to go for V birth...

I am starting to have leg cramps.. Oh no.. I think it will come and go very frequently nowadays.. Beside massage, is there any other thing that I can do? *sad*

Maternity leave

Actually, the government only give 16 weeks, not exactly 4 months, so you have to calculate your maternity leave base on week basis, not month. And some companies will consider you as taking maternity leave if you are taking a week in advance of your EDD, not counted as AL. I work in Statboard, so I know how it works at least for the government sector. I also took a week of ML in advance of my EDD for my 1st baby but my baby was overdue and I felt like I wasted my ML doing nothing. For this 2nd baby, I will only take on the week of my EDD, unless baby decides to come earlier. But whatever it is, its good to standby your hospital bag when you are about 36weeks, so that once you see red, water bag burst or starts having contraction, can just grab the bag and head to the hospital.

Some items you want to consider for your hospital bag esp for those delivering in TMC:

- Breast pad

- Sanitary pad (hospital will provide but just standby 1 or 2 pieces so that you can wear it back home. hospital will give you those loop type.

- your own clothes (tmc don't provide hospital gowns, you have to wear your own clothes during the stay).

- panties

- nursing bra

- makeup kit (haha, I brought along for my 1st delivery, put on make up first before I receive guests so that I don't look so pale)

- Toothpaste and brush

- Shower gel and shampoo if you intend to bathe (but usually, you will not be bathing cos no energy)

- small towel (use for wiping your face and body if you don't intend to bath)

- clothes to wear when you discharge

- camera (impt!!!, for hubby to snap photos when you deliver, don't miss those precious moments, once gone, you will never get it back)

- handphone charger

- breastpump (I feel this is optional, becos for the 2 to 3 days in hospital, you will tend to latch the baby instead of pumping to help stimulate milk supply. Its also good to take the opportunity to learn how to latch properly since there are nurses there who can teach you).

Don't need to bring anything for baby as TMC will provide mittens, receiving blanket, diapers, clothings etc for you to bring baby home.

Vernie: For Mumsfairy it costs $399 with the Pumpin’ Pals set at Expo fair.

Currently is $420 at their website.

The salesgirl at the booth said we can preorder the pumps during their April workshop too at the same price.. They will send us the pump after we deliver so that the warranty will start after baby is born.

But I cant make it to their workshop as I am traveling. Not sure if I can still preorder it.

Cherrysue - you going for prenatal massage tomorrow so nice. I think I should arrange for one too... have you tried it b4 already or tomorrow will be your first? I think my hubby also want the massage too...

Sweetkiss: Yes, the girl mentioned the same thing to me too. $399 for the Ameda bundle with Pumpin' Pals. But I am also not sure whether to attend their workshop or not (so dunno whether can pre-order or not). Also not sure whether need to get the Pumpin' Pal or not - since dunno how much the milk supply will be. The pump itself, i will definitely buy but the bundle sounds so tempting!

I have emailed Mumsfairy to ask if i can get the bundle at $399 if i am not attending the workshop. Will update you if they reply!

any recommendation of what brand n model of bb stroller n car seat I can get for my 10 mths old boy now? Would like to buy one more for my bb gal inside soon too. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eliss : when's your EDD? mine is on 11july.. seems like we both have to opt for c-section and prob on the same day! Which hosp are u? Last night hubby ask me if can have it on 1st july coz that's the first day of his leave.

Btw.. is it scary to have c-section with epi? My SIL told me that she was totally tramatised n advised me to go for GA. My hubby on the other hand said if he has no choice but to go into the OT... he wont want to see any blood ot cut.. like in horror movies like that.. shut his eyes! arrrrggghhh

eliss : your fibriod so big ah.. did yr doc sew it up? if yes.. was told it'll safe to ve natural. mine very small onli.. think biggest like 2-3 cm but the doc who operate on me didnt sew it up that why's my gynea suggest c-section.

hi all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just back fr a fren's wedding in Oz & trying to keepup with our thread ..

minmin

wat abt raising yr legs at night when u slp? may help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann

wat r e gd deals at Taka fair at present? for cloths or more for gadgets & toys?

eliss

wow! 6 months [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] boy doesnt time fly? v fast hor? i am also feeling excited oredi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sweetkiss - me call up e parent craft to check. yes the course hv been change to 24th April instead of 1st May [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Srumpee: make up kit..haha.. maybe i should bring some make up kit to beautify myself after e painful process..LOL

Shann Yheng: ya i do experience occasionally too. during my 1st pregnancy i experience e same thing too and more frequent during the last trimester.

scrumpee : i also want look pretty after giving birth esp when frens n relatives come visit.. but what if we too weak to get off bed to wash off makeup huh? maybe must get mineral ones..$$$$ again hehhe

yea lor i thought it will happen during last trimester when the bb engage in head down position, so our pubic bone loosen to give more passage way for the bb..

i still feel kicks ard my belly button so hopefully won't be that case!! now sleep left side, bb kicks left, sleep right then kick right.. dunno whether i am squeezing bb or not haha..

shann yheng.. last night i experienced something new leh.. baby kick left and right side when i was sleeping simultaneously leh. Think she prob kicked with leg and punched with fists?

Atomickitten -I forgot already whether got sew up or not after myomectomy. :p I think not, cuz i remembered it was a open wound. Ya man, one at 13cm, one at 5cm, three other small ones were taken out too... cant imaging I did not know all these while...My EDD same as you - 11th. Was suppose to go KKH for delivery but Dt Tham will be going to TMC in May, so I will follow him there, he said my case is common, should have no complication under C-sec.

Babycoco - Not sure abt C-sec with epi, Dr Tham is encouraging this instead of GA. He said recovery from epi is much faster than GA. It does sound scary to be able to hear how doctor cut you up to take out the BB. I think the nurses will block your view from the actual operation ba. I mentioned earlier I really hate the after effect from GA, so I may try C-sect with Epi lor

Hi Hi

I also have pelvic pain a few times and its alway happen when I am walking...

When it is too much to bear with I take a rest sit down for few mins and continue walking....

I do feel my bb movement but very light... i am now at my 22wk.. maybe still early to feel strong movement ba....

Atomickitten

You can get your hubby to damp the face towel for you to clean off makeup. But you have to get off the bed to walk abit somehow esp to pee and brush your teeth in the morning right? The nurse will make sure you pee before you are discharged.

Wah.. so much to read during lunch time... Was tired these few days when I reach home and have no energy to read at all.. decided to tabao and read in the office today..

Breastpump - I bought the pigeon one. My friend said for first child, no need to invest in a dual pump. I got the cheapo pigeon one which is a single pump. She said when we establish got milk flow then go and hunt for dual breastpump that's more expensive / better also can. Another 'cheap' breastpump that I saw in Taka is evenflo. My friend tried to sell me second hand. But I din buy it. Not very sure abt tat brand.

For Ameda, I got the membership for Mum R' us. Their original price is $388. After 10% discount is $349.20. Those who want to buy can borrow the membership card from me, but I haven't receive it though cos I got it during the expo fair. Breastfeeding org member price is $330, but must add $25 for member. If you not going for their courses then may not be worth e membership.

Scrumpee - if we bring breastpump to the hospital will the nurses there teach us how to use it?? Also, is it advisable to pump in between feeds so that the stimulation of the milk flow will be faster??

Jaclyn - for diapers I bought pampers and drypers from the expo fair. Bought different brands to try out. I have a few huggies sample too.

Maternity pads - about how many packets do we need ah?? I bought 2 packets only.. dunno if it's enough or not.

eliss : We diff hosp else can be like some mommies here.. meet in hosp sameday hehehe

Ya heard that recovery from epi is faster than GA. i'm undecided at the moment.. coz i really hope to be able to hear baby's first cry! that special moment that i ve been waiting for so long... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and then holding my bb in my arms n meeting her for the first time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

noknok: me too have the same thinking to get pigeon single electric pump to use first and if milk flow is good and can allow me to breastfeed for long then invest in a better one.

re: maternity pads

i don like to use maternity pads and during my first delivery i other then using pads given by hospital and i still prefer to use those long pads for heavy flow.

eliss : ya mine was thru GA. keyhole surgery. supposed to ve 3 holes but doc managed to do with 2 only! Did at gleneagles and in fact i had very good experience with the anaesthetist there leh. Then i had a miscarriage last year.. also GA. both times had good experience.somemore no side effects.

GA - maybe I exaggerate a bit on the after effect. I did not vomit or whatsoever, but I hate the feeling of feeling groggy after my op and through the first night. I was so thristy that I could not sleep well and I kept asking for ice to suck till the nurses said I had too much! You know that helpless feeling is unbearable!

eliss :maybe coz my op very short that's why recover very fast.. i was hoping that the GA can knock me out and let me zzzz longer after the op leh. but once i go back ward..i wide awake le. Think c-section will be another story altogether...

bliss

i bought a combi buggy for $178. v good bcos it is v light. operation is easy. car seat - am looking for a toddler booster from graco or aprica. all about $400. can sit until they are 8yo. every part detachable. my britax =, am leaving for #2.

shann : must ve a good scrub and wash hair clean clean then can tahan longer not washing hair during confinement ma:p but doubt i can tong more than a couple of days la.. coz my hair very long

noknok: actually maternity pad are long also but i think without wings and it has a string if im not wrong. i just don feel secure with maternity pads.hahaha..but its up to indiviual..

Atomic kitten: you are even more 'hiao' lor.still wana go do your hair.hahaha. i can imagine when you about to go into labour then u still wana turn into a salon n have a hairdo first.lol

nok nok, how much did you pay for the pigeon breast pump? have been looking around at breast pumps for the past few days, so undecided. my sil bought the medela breastpump, in the end, never use cos she didn't like it. such a waste of money. i also don't want to spend too much.

Ann: i choose by the designs.. some boy designs not very nice.. so i never pick lor.. haha.. next time i bring in more boy boy things ok? keke..

Astro: according to the supplier, 90 is 1 YO, 100 is 2 YO.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrslong -- thanks thanks.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DQ -- i added myself on the July MTB on FB le.. okok.. i go and check the settings on PM de.. lol.. didnt know i disabled it...

Cot:

I was thinking of renting it lei.. cause bb will be sleeping on it for a mth, then will be putting her on yao lan le... cause FIL will help to take care and its more convenient for him that way.

Pads:

Maternity pads not very necessary.. im using the normal night use ones from sofy.. i think max they sell is 40cm! haha.. but hor.. the last confinement, my lochia (aka menses after birth) last for about 1 week plus and my stitches healed after 2 weeks.

If i had to go for c-sect... :

i told my hubby to let me sleep.. i tell him.. i dun wanna feel anything.. i jus wanna sleep and then wake up with bb next to me.. haha.. i cannot imagine seeing myself being cut.. (oops)

Breast Pump:

I also getting Ameda one.. i went choon cheong to see that day.. its selling at $368 or something.. need to ask again..

atomickitten: hee... u best lor.. still wanna go wash hair @ salon b4 delivery...

i dare not color hair.. or do any chemical treatment, cuz im afraid of the chemical will affect bb & breastmilk...

delivery: i discussed w my gynae during the last visit... i wanted to do GA c-sect, but he's against it... cuz he said is no gd for bb... dunno how true?

cuz i dun wanna hear wat's gg on in tht OT.

then he told me i can brg my ipod in. when we do c-sect w epi. hahahah...

but he's still trying to convince me to do natural delivery..

but i watched those childbirth videos on youtube... n it juz scares the shit outta me!!!

babycoco: u can go taka baby fair for the pigeon breastpump. i bought mine there at $199 if i didnt rem wrongly. is a single eletric breastpump and the whole package comes with (wet wipes, disposable breast pads, water thermometer, 3 bottles to store breast milk, milk bottle teats, breast pump).quite a good buy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DQ -- u shud go for natural wor if u have an option... heard from friends that csect is more scary than natural.. u dun watch too much on videos.. u will be scaring urself nia.. actually if u practise ur breathing right, stay calm and natural.. u will have a smooth delivery.. its something u wont want to miss out in ur life lor..

its like... a moment that u will never forget de.. lol.. after i delivered hor, then i literally felt that i am really a mother liao.. lol

DQ : my frens who have natural birth told me that their hips all widen after delivery.. coz pelvic must expand to make way for bb to come out. Is it true huh? But they all recover faster than c-section lor.

for natural..I scare i faint when contractions come ! Why GA c-sect not good for bb huh?

serene: i PMed u my details liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

reminder for Friday's gathering~~

7pm @ v8 Bugis Junction.

pls confirm attendance wor~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

got theme anot ar? lol~~

Nok nok

Don't think the nurses will teach you how to use the pump cos they don't have the time. When its feeding time, they will push the baby to you for your to breast feed, teach you simple steps and will leave you and baby alone while they attend to other babies.And the baby will be pushed to you every 2 to 3 hours, no time also for you to pump in between feeds. I would rather rest and sleep in between feeds then spend the time pumping.

Maternity pads

I also don't like maternity pads, its too short for me and no wings. Just buy those extra long night safe pads will do.