(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

The amount of money spent by the government running the courtesy and kindness campaign seems to be money down the drain... sigh.. no wonder Sg nv want to be called 'developed' country.

When I was in Japan, most people will avoid the priority seat.. those are often seen to be taken up by old people only. They even have this ruling that you cannot talk on the phone and phone has to be on silent mode when you're on the train. It has to be OFF when you're near the priority seats so that you won't disturb the others. Surprisingly, you can hardly find people yaking away on the phone.

Such a great difference. I guess it's up to us to instill good manners into our kids.

ME 2 .. my office tuas . So imagine i take bus and train. Bus full of China & India Foreigners all pretend to talk avoid me . Trains from Bon Lay MRT to Little Indian ( my nite school ) or to Bukit Batok ( my home ) also no seat given .

My hubby told me to step on those idiots toes than when they look at you tell them i am clumsy cause i am pregnant. I never try the trick . Scared kena beat up for nothing.

please lor.. today wear more body fitting top.. confirm can see tummy clearly! STILL NO ONE GIVE SEATS..

and i feel so sian.. if want to get seats in high chance.. must move to center of the cabin.. let ppl stare.. then give eye contacts lor.. machiam beg for seats..

suntan: i get seats if im lucky....

mostly also depend on wat i wear.

sometimes my tumtum is more obvious when i wear certain type of clothing... i get seats.

but mostly i dun, cuz i still wear heels... n ppl will usually look @ my tumtum, then my heels & cont to slp.

duhz

Noknok - In Australia too. I went to Perth. Took few trains up and down . The piority seats are always vacant. it seemed people over there do not take advantage of empty piority seat. Good Manner being cultivate to them.

Even on the road Australian follow the road speed limit and seat belts rules for behind passenger is a must.

rabbit : I everyday also wear body fitting top... but again ppl think i m fat then pregnant lar... but when my bb grows bigger, no one gives me seats, i will purposely take pics n put on storm, my HB also ask me to do that ... lolx... now he is learning how to use DSLR cam, he travels ard with it and takes my pic wherever he can... hahaha ... see this time round whose face will feature in STORM...

Haaa.. DQ, think to them, heels and pregnancy doesnt come hand in hand. I have been wearing flats ever since i knew i was pregnant. But to be true, i am no fan of shoes. Just like whatever is comfortable. Actually my company's dress code is quite strict, thus when i knew i was preggy, i quickly take the opportunity to change to flats..haha they cannot say anything.

Was at Chinatown last night to do some CNY shopping..last time, when in crowd, only need to protect breast area..now...one hand on top and one hand on tummy..hands super busy..but this yr, the mood for CNY is not as great as previous years..dunno why also..

I managed to booked for Mdm Idah the massage lady.

She is charging $50 per day. I booked 5 days.Pay daiy. She will bath the baby also if we want and 2nd day massage she will wash our wound with salt or we can wash our self if we scared or shy. The wrapping clothes we pay $20 for new ones and if recycle is free but to be return on last day of massage.

She told me i might delivery early than 26 July 2010 cause these is my 3rd Baby. She will come after 3 to 4 days after i delivery the baby. So i must give her MOBILE number to my hubby so that hubby can call her once i deliver the Baby.

xbeanniex, hahaa... today i wanted to get seat badly.. because pelvic area pain.. but there is a preggy woman also nv got seat.. she is like 6-7 mths preggy liao.. so i dont dare to snatch seats.. keke..

those ppl ah.. sleeping.. very tired hor.. kns.. and it seems more guys are seated down..

Haha, sometimes I also feel like telling the person “hey, I am not feeling well, can you offer me your seat?” but I scared especially if it is a woman.

What if she tells me she is pregnant too? Like maybe 1-2 months where you cannot see yet?

Then the paiseh one is myself…

No choice la, sometimes also have to understand that after a long day’s work/shopping, people are usually happy when they managed to find a seat on the train.

Honestly when I wasn’t pregnant, I will feel a bit sian if I see a pregnant woman or elderly entering my cabin.

Cos I know I have to do the right thing to give up my seat, yet I am tired too… But I tell myself one day I will get pregnant and grow old, and I will need people to do it for me too.

It is just up to individual whether they are selfless enough to “sacrifice” their seats to others who need it more.

suntan: ya lor.. so to them im juz fat on my tummy area rather than preggers.

but i do observe that those in school uniform will tend to gif up their seats for us. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also went to chinatown last wkend. it was so crowded... i decide to wait for my ILs @ lucky chinatown mac. cuz i kno it'll be so crowded... n i went once during late aftn when it was less crowded... n there's nothing much to see/buy.

all the stalls selling the same thgs.

Siti>> I thought Mdm Ida said her Jul booking is full already that time but most of us managed to book her luckily.

My EDD is 27 Jul & I booked her for 7 days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

U stay in Bukit Batok rite? So it's near Mdm Ida's home, easier for her too.

My take is that mostly youngsters (poly/uni/young adults) and foreigners who will turn BLIND ACTORS once they see preg/old/adults carrying babies. And you r right, it happens in MRT mostly... I still got a young man giving up his seat to me on the bus when he was sitting comfortably with his GF beside him...

And sadly more females than males are more reluctant to give up seats... why ar? i will give up my seats leh in the past...

hey siti, how come u managed to get mdm idah..many of us called a few wks back & she was no longer taking in jul MTBs! u stay in the west is it? so lucky! i booked her sister, mdm mariam in the end..

that day I sat in the priority seat but then there was an old lady entering the cabin & stood next to the pole in front of me.

i gave up my seat to her cuz think old lady need the seat for than me & since no one seem to see her.

then after i got up, i stood in the middle cabin & rub my tummy, then a lady (who sat beside me originally) saw & gave up her seat to me, hehe.

And that was the only time lor.

Mrs Long & Autrumn - I stayed at Bukit BAtok , actually she say she full already but i tell her i stay Bukit Batok even 7am she can come and tie me up. i also told her i am super BIG size need longer wrapper and she say it is ok she will bring two wrapper and a binder too.

She say must discipline myself to tie my tummy up with or without her around.

i am soo relief. Mdm Timah always busy now i get Mdm Idah .

I just talk to my hubby on the phone. Hubby says if Mdm Idah service is good for the 5 days i booked her, he dont mind sponsored for me extra 10 days. Hahahhaa.. I think my hubby wants be relax and enjoy my maternity period. So i asked him can give birth one more if you sponsore for 3 months... He laugh ..

i am able to book Mdm Ida too... And I will learn from her how to TC n bath baby as she is able to help shower bb ma... as u see Malays tends to be more particular after birth as i know, if she able to guide me along i would be so happy to learn... I booked her for 7 days... hee - dont want give chance to my IL to touch my bb as most likely i will wan to BF my bb ... so i dont wan my IL ppl to come disturb me at all times...

Congrats Rabbit, she sounds so cute!

Hey gals, I'm also keen on the photo sessions. Havent had the chance to log on for the last few days...catching up with the thread!

Gong Xi Fa Chai everyone!

Noknok,

I will be visiting the gynane next wed 17 FEB, I will ask the gynane regarding to the rubbing of our bellies & update all of u...

mrslong & DQ (dqueeen),

I also same as u.. keep rubbing tummy n hope ppl will give up seat.. but sad to said, no one at all.. Haiz!!! Not like Japan N Taiwan N Australia ppl dun seat at the priority seat... I think goverment should enforce this.. Hahaha.. LOL..

Expecially in the morning trian, when it is so crowded, i was scare that ppl will knock on me..

That was once the trian door suddenly close & almost knock on my stomach!!.. Luckly move side way N avoid it..

Actually wen hubby was purposely talk loudly like my wife pregnant n no one give up seat at all.. this n that.. so tat ppl will tend to give up seat.. However, before he can open his mouth, i always cover his mouth.. I will so pai seh.. =P

Jasline : my HB do that too , thou he is very ego man n held his pride damn high type, he still purposely do something to make sure someone see or heard that i m preggy so that i can have a seat... as he knows train drivers most of the times drives like hell... n he himself cant even stand properly or even being push or squeeze badly by others.

thats y he always try his best to protect me in whatever way to prevent me from getting hurt.

i also pull his hand or cover his mouth to shut him up... i felt so pai seh too... hahahaha ...

Hehe, it is always nice to have hubbies ard cos they will protect us.

Btw anyone considering putting your bb in infant care? I came across my First Skool which is opposite my house so went to check it out.

I thought still early but have to put my name on the waiting list first.

If bb goes to infant care, do they have to start drinking formula milk? Can we bring our EBM to the sch?

Hi Sweetkiss,

I also tot of considering putting in infant care.. However i knew is ex.. So shall see how lor. First Skool u know how much is the fees ma??

I like this sch lei... =)

Hi xbeanniex,

Hahaha... great to have a hubby to protect us.. =P

Wen stomach getting bigger, if hubby do this than i won't stop him.. LOL... =P

Hi Jasline,

Yup i am considering My First Skool too as it is located in the shopping mall opp my house. The fees after working parents' subsidy is about $700. However based on my research, you can use CDA account to pay this $700. As govt will match $1 to $1 savings up to $6k, means you only pay $350 if u use CDA.

Sweetkiss/Jasline - i was checking out my First Skool last month near my place too. You can bring EBM to school and let the caregiver know.

sweetkiss & Jasline : hahaha sometimes he so protective that when i m on my own without him to go into crowded trains, i can happily wait for 3-4 trains before i got chance to squeeze into the train... hahahaha

as usually HB will have his big crumple backpack to let ppl squeeze n he let me walk within his arms to go into train...

he dun allow ppl to have any close skin contact with me de... he will show ppl his damn face u push somemore i make sure u r out of the train n wait for the next one... hahahaha

I also think sending my BB to Infant care .

But if $6K grant meaning we can use only for 2 yrs. Mine will be behind my house only . The centre is JUST KIDS LEARNING PLACE .

Website looks ok : http://www.justkids.com.sg/

But hubby prefer to have maid as i am going for nite class after birth. Still in dilemma..

oh yesssss.. MRT.... people (especially men and women dressed in office clothing) are super ignorant. Pretend to sleep, check phone, chit chat.. aiya.. I give up on all of them. At times when I am super tired I ask them to give me their seats.. they are quite obliging... but I think to myself... why you couldn't give up seat in the first place??

I live in Woodlands and my workplace is at City Hall.. so it is a super long journey. Nowadays... I simply play my PSP and in no time.. I reach home... I dont care about anybody giving me seats already... I become thick skinned.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am contemplating between nannycare and infantcare.

the infant care i have in mind is at grassroots club - under learning vision. heard that the one mummy has already chop one placement for october- which is the month i plan to place my baby in.

sweetkiss: just to confirm, the cda account is only applicable for second child onwards right? that's what my sis is telling me. she doesnt have cda for her first child- only for her second.

oh nvm just checked!!

from babybonus website

You will get a cash gift of up to $4,000 each for your 1st and 2nd child and $6,000 each for your 3rd and 4th child. All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will also enjoy Government contributions in the form of a dollar-for-dollar matching for the amount of savings you contribute to your child’s Children Development Account (CDA). If your child is born before 17 August 2008, he or she will enjoy the Government matching contributions in the CDA if he or she is your second to fourth child.

my nephew didn't get cos he was born in 2007. but yeay! this means our babies can also enjoy the CDA account since ours OBVSLY will be born after 17.09.08!

btw, any MTBs swimming? i've been swimming cos i heard that it's good for bb. but i've been doing backstroke since my breaststroke isn't so good.

is the backstroke ok? read conflicting reviews.

Hi Ladies, before I forgot... wishing all of you and your little darling Tiger Cubs a Wonderful and Prosperous New Year. May we be blessed with a smooth delivery Yea!

cherry - I wanna go swimming too.. but have yet to get a proper swimming costume.. I used to wear two pieces one.. but now seems a bit odd with my little but not prominent bulging tummy..

Why cannot do back stroke?? ur weight is supported by the water I guess.. How about asking your doctor.. think doc will give you a most assuring answer.

Oh.. btw, where to get maternity swimming costumes ah?? or are those needed??? what do you wear now?? one piece??

wanna check with those mummies who hve gone through confinement before. Is it true that fans cannot be used during confinement? My parents' place has no aircon. I am worried both bb and I will be super hot n how to sleep at night?

Can I use those air coolers? May contemplate getting the air coolers if i can use it during confinement

wah... lucky U, bbbliss!!

i cant leave yet.... full day n im still coughing & sneezing away~

but thk god everyone's on holiday mood here~

LOL!!

munchies, from what I understand, the wind cannot be blowing directly at you. I guess air coolers are fine ba. If you worry, why not give a call to ur confinement lady or your mum if she's doing e confinement for you.

bbbliss super lucky.. hee.. one more hour for me cos I took time off..

DQ.. I hv no mood to work at all.. refreshing this page super frequently.. haha

Noknok..

I also.. Nth to do much today.. nth to suft too.. So keep refreshing see have any update..

I'm working full until 6pm.. BORING!!!

noknok: samesame here!!! woohoooo~~

i wanna go home toooooo.....

im also refreshing the pg to find more updates. kekekek...

munchies: my mum totally dont allow me to on air con but she says fan can face another side. Meaning no wind blow at me. So i guess no diff. Got to tahan the heat!!!

Wishing everyong Happy Chinese New Year. Enjoy!!

noknok, thanks for the idea. Silly me.. didnt think of calling up my confinement lady.

BTW, are there any MTBs who are contemplating delivering w/o epdiural? Are there any side effects for epdiural?

I am concerned abt the pain of labour yet at the same time worried if the epidural will lead to backaches and numbness in the legs esp if it was not administered properly.

Jo_lyn,

I cannot imagine how uncomfortable it will be in july (when the weather is hotter).

Guess we really hve no choice but to tahan.

haha.. seems like we're all using this forum to kill time..

Jo_lyn - think next pregnancy must time properly le.. My collegue time hers, she say CNY period cannot give birth cos CL very expensive, after tat must wait until end oct / nov then can give birth cos between Feb and October very warm.. She gave birth on 27th Oct last year.. haha

Munchies - I planning to deliver without epidural. I read article about Lamaze way of giving birth where they have a Doula and dunno how some mum claims that they dun feel any pain one. One alternative for you.

munchies: in fact i'll welcome the hot weather w open arms..... not to air my armpits literally... :p

cuz we can 'sauna' @ home!!!

hopefully we can lose the excess water faster~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]