(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Hi Siti, please click the link on the previous post, it should direct you straight to the schedule.

Anyone started research on milk bottles??

Am thinking of using glass bottles instead since there are on and off reports of chemical existing in plastic bottles.. For plastic bottles, I only know it's better to get BPA free ones. There's one brand (I think it's avent) that there's reports of it leaking, and for Medela breast pump, there are cases of discoloration when used with sterilisers.

Any mummies did extensive research already?? time seems to be a bit short if we were to get these things at the Babyfair in march.

Noknok, yeah I read that you have to either get BPA-free plastic milk bottles or glass ones, but glass ones are heavier and more prone to breakage...i also dunno

But when are you due? March to get these stuff still all right, i guess

Hai, seems like a lot of researching to do... btw, do you mummies feels that your palms are very hot? Recently, my palms are so hot, sometimes i feel that they are on fire..really feel like putting them on ice..my hubby says i have "tie sha zhang" and sometimes when he is cold, he will ask me to put my palms on him..duhz...

Hi Ann, could you please send me the list too? [email protected]

During my last scan, my bb was also sitting now so cant tell the gender either. Doc tried to disturb the bb but bb refuse to change position. Have to wait for detailed scan too.

btw, i have been experiencing pain in my tummy area these few days, feels more like muscle pull ( short and sharp pain). any mummies experiencing this or know why this could be happening?

Jasline: Wah.. so shiok ah? 1 week no need to work. So when you starting work? 22nd Feb?

Noknok: My gal fren recommended me this brand called "Green to grow".. say the bottle is BPA free and very good. But when I search the website..Only one place selling in Singapore which is at Holland Ave there. She also say she find Nuk teats is much better than compared to other brands. So she is using Green to grow bottles with Nuk teats. Say many of her frens also uses Nuk teats.

Geri: Had send you the list. I also experience the same thing as u.. short sharp pain. Think it's due to the ligament expansion. As long as it is not persistent, it should be fine.

Need to vent out my frustration about this gal fren of mine. She is a very straight forward person but also over sensitive. She is a person whom you would say doesn't care about how others are feeling. Example: She can say you are fat but you cannot say she is fat.

Whenever I put up my nick in MSN on certain things, she will always put me down. Like recently, I just wrote in my MSN nick on whether Ameda or Medela pump is good. Immediately, she msn me and say don't need to buy so early. I ask her why everytime i put up something on my nick means i wanna buy, then she say i very KS and kanjiong.

I do agree that I am KS in view of gathering information. What's wrong with me doing research and preparing myself for the coming of BB. She has her own style of working, I have mine. If she makes provide useful information, i don't mind. But she always say things like don't waste time, don't waste money, don't bother now.. not helping me much at all.

Then she always try to hint that I make fun of her when she was preggy. I really don't think so. Last time when she was preggy, she was having a hard time, so whenever she told me her problem, I will try to soothe her by saying baby is fine, don't over stress yourself, etc. Then she always say I don't understand and throw her temper at me. Then now i am preggy, she always say now u know how i was feeling and still dare to make fun of her when she is preggy.

I mean when one is worried, of cos u try to soothe the person. I don't think anyone in the right mind will say" Ya.. i think something is wrong with your baby." or "Ya.. I don't think your baby will be healthy too". So I don't see anything wrong with the way i treated her when she was preggy.

Very piss with her everytime she talked to me.

Dear Mummies

I think we can start packing our hospital bag once we reach 6 1/2 months. Around Mid April 2010. Cause we never know if we can have premature labour. Must informed Hubby where we keep it cause he will have to bring it once we deliver the BB.

Items in the bag : 1 Breast Pump

1 set clothes for discharge

1 set Bra

1 Bra Pads (Milk Leakage)

1 Packet Disposal Panties(6pcs)

10 Heavy Flow Pads

100Ml Shampoo (If dont like Hospital)

100ML Body Washed (If dont like Hospital)

100ml Intimate Wash (Leesen the Blood Smell)

COMB

Face Wash

Towel ( If dont like Hospital)

_________________ BABY ______________________

1) Wrapper

2) Mittens

3) Booties

4) Hat

5) Romper

Siti: Wah.. we really need to pack so early.. which means next month, I must slowly start to buy BB's item for bag packing.

Hi Ann,

Ya i will be back to work on 22 Feb.. Yes indeed a long holiday but was forced to deducted leave de lei.. so haiz... Hahahah.. But anyway i take it as rest day.. dun need to wake up so early.. YEah!!..

Yoz.. cool down, Juz ignore her... dun bother to reply her.. dun make uself upset.. Smile ^-^

Look at the website of "Green to grow", seems not bad n the price affordable too.. like the pic on the bottle.. hahahaha.. if interested we can go down buy together.. hahahaha... =P

Hi Siti,

Thanks.. wow.. alot to pack.. =)

Ann : Only hospital bag . Dont need to rushed.. April only packed. Now only February . So breast pump must buy around April 2010. Still got time for BB fair .

Use Bag Pack better, dump all the ziplog bags inside there so hubby dont complaint heavy or shy to carry for us. Use Ziplog bag to store the clothes and the rest items. Easy to search and cleaner too. More Organized.

siti : Love your suggestion so much as from the web, recommendations of what to pack for the bag is so long till i cant bother to pack at all... reading ur list, I am ready to put them into my hubby's crumple bag hahaha ...

xbeanniex - This is the power fo being a super mum .. If i dont organized my stuffs, for sure i cannot balanced my life with the 3 Boys at home. (Hubby and 2 sons).

Jasline: Thanks.. Sometime i will try to block her in my MSN and dun talk to her at all. She always say she believes in karma.. what goes around comes around.. but i seriously think she doesn't understand at all.

Ya.. the pictures on the bottles look cute. Hehe!! I wonder if there's any spree on the bottles so that we can get them at even cheaper pricing.

Siti: Thanks for the advise. Will shop more during March BB fair. Hehe!!

Is looking for breast pumps now to early??? Because the warrranty is usually only for 1 year. If we will to buy now, it will "eat" into the warranty period.. Thus, I think i will only buy 1-2 months before due date.. However, if there's any good deals at the fair, then, it will be lugi not to buy.. Dilemma...

I just went for my 16wk scan yesterday. And, doctor said it's 80% boy. My man is thrilled.. For me, I'm neutral although I prefer a gal cos can doll the gal.. But, guess, boy is also ok cos in laws will be happy..

Btw, any mommies in multiply?

Hi Jellypurin - Count me in too.. I will be interested for a PS>. :p I love to take photos..

Hi Ica - The kelly photography is awesome.. Are u interested to do newborn shots with them? Is their price consider steep?

Hi Ann - Ironically when I read your post of your friend.. Somehow, it rings a bell to me as well.. I have such a friend exactly like you who always give unconstructive comments and although she may mean "well", it just doesn't sound nice and caring as a friend.. Hmmm... Wonder if we r talking about the same friend... Haha..

Everytime, you want to tell her something, she will always put you down and when she share things with you. She just love to blah blah blah and yes, she gets angry when you don't agree with her...

Anyway, it told me a long time to get over it and eventually now, I only regard her as a fair weather friend.. I try to shun most contacts with her.. Because such friendship is not value adding at all.. But, it'a all personal choice.. Hope I dun bore you with such a long post...

So, in all, not worth getting upset over such friend.. Stay cheerful with your man.. And, be a happy mommy to be.. :D

keer13: ya, i really like the kelly photography and am very keen to sign up with her. not sure whether her prices are steep though.

Ann: ya, try not to let her get on your nerves. there are all sorts of ppl out there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Ann, just ignore that friend of yours who makes you uncomfortable.

The best thing about this forum is you can say and do anything and no one gets angry with you. It is almost like we are all sisters... waaaaah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway, all of us ladies are going through a beautiful aspect of our lives as a woman and we will enjoy every bit of it.

Lets ignore negative vibes... like how I ignore my MIL who is a pain in the rear! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MIL ah hahaha think she got the idea of "no need tell me 1 story n tell my HB something next as we HB & Wife talks all out whenever needed" n my HB will be the one going out to clarify anything... n if he lies to me ... he get it from me as i always have this "power" to spill all his lies... hahaha

Keer13: Hopefully we don't have the same fren.. but the way you describe your fren does really sound like mine. Haha!! Is your fren a teacher cause mine is?

Geri, Ica, Jayamum: Thanks for your support. Hubby also ask me to ignore her. No point getting upset over what she says since she doesn't make sense at all.

Geri: Had resend the email to you.

Breast pump: Hey girls. I found this website for breast feeding support group. They can allow you to try on the different type of breast pumps and if you buy from them, the proceeds they earn will goes to the support group which is a non profit organisation. Something which can be considered.

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

keer13, as i will be gettin my pumps overseas, warranty is not an issue... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann, i understand how u feel lor. Perhaps she is just not happy that you are more well-informed & prepared compared to her when she was preggy and she is just trying to demoralize u.

I think this kind of ppl no need to explain ur reasons to her, if anyone says i am KS or what then just irritate her by saying "Ya lor, i also think i KS & kan jiong, so my bb can get the best ma."

Too many pumps to choose... how to choose the pumps?

hahaha 1st time mummy is so exciting n fun... now i stoning dont know how to choose pumps...

Ann - thanks for the info... I maybe signing up for the membership and going for the breastfeeding course. looks interesting.

Sweetkiss: Ya.. I think she is not happy that I am getting alot of support and love from my family. Cos for her, her mother dun wanna help her, her MIL also dun wanna help her. That is becos she is hard to satisfy. Once her MIL make her pineapple tart which she likes alot in the past and she say MIL trying to kill her BB and purposely make pineapple tarts since she cannot eat. When I told her how my family is supporting me through my pregnancy, she say I am trying to brag to her. Hai.. nothing can satisfy her except herself.

Noknok: Ya lo.. I also find them interesting. I like the idea that they allow us to try the pumps so that we can know which is better and suit us before making purchase. Breast pump is not cheap at all so doesn't wan to make the wrong choice and end up wasting our money. Moreover since we are first time mummies, maybe those experts there can help us out too. Hehe!!

Talking abt membership.. anyone signed up for the Mt A membership? I signed up a month or more ago.. but had not received their membership card yet. But the cheque for payment had been cleared le.

Ann, I signed up and got my m/ship card already about 2 weeks ago. I even redeemed the free cooler bag too. There's a little slip that comes along with the card for you to redeem at Mt A Reception.

Nok nok

Yes, I am using this new version Avent bottles for my no.1 now. Does not leak. But do note that Avent now has two types of BPA free bottles, this new version one which does not leak is made of PP material and the older version that leaks is made of PES material (has a yellow tint to the bottle).

ann, i find sometimes when a person is nasty (like your friend), it's because deep down she's not a happy person. when you're not happy, very rarely will you try to make others happy. so like what the other mummies say, the best is for you to ignore her. don't upset yourself over people like that.

so interesting to read about bottles & teats. have been so busy at work that i haven't had time to think about anything.

Mummies delivering at TMC, no need to bring anything for your baby. TMC will provide clothes, diapers, mittens and a receiving blanket for you to bring our baby home. Just bring your own things.

Ann: thanks for the website on the breastfeeding support group! sounds v useful for 1st time mummies...btw this line on the website is especially funny "For expectant mothers, you cannot try the pump directly on your breast but you can test it on your thigh area. Please note that any expressed breast milk will be discarded because of hygiene reasons." :p

Hi Ann & Noknok,

For the breastfeeding course, need to sign up for the membership de meh??

Very interesting too.. I also interested to join too..

Jasline, think no need.. but the cost difference for the course, I think it's more worth it to sign up for the membership. The membership costs $25 per year only.

Hee.. happy... I just confirm my confinement lady and book a slot for prenatal yoga.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann - Dun worry abt ur friend.. there're always ppl who like to pour cold water out there.

dun noe if its me or its the office aircon not working... my palms and soles are so damp...its so hot!

Vernie: I still have not gotten it. I called them up just now and they say they just mailed out yesterday. So coincidental. Ask me to wait till next week and see if I recieve it. You waited how long before you get the card?

babycoco: You are right. Actually I hardly hear happy news from her one. In school, she also not happy and not on good terms with colleagues.

Autrumn: Haha.. becos expectant mummy no milk ma.. how to pump.. try on thigh to test out the suction force.

Jasline: Agreed with Noknok that the membership is cheap. So anyone thinking of taking their courses should consider membership.

Noknok: Which prenatal yoga you booked with? Have you check with Dr Fong? I think I will check with Dr Fong before i book for my lesson. Most likely taking the class at Tanglin Mall, Mother & Child.

Hi Noknok,

Does the website show how much is the cost of the breastfeeding course??? i cannot find an cost lei..

Am I not normal, I also hear that pregnant lady should feel warm.. But for me, I'm not..

Even the office air-con on 21 degree i still have to wear jacket whole day.. before pregnant already feel cold liao..