(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

D Queen, same here.. ever since i preggy, i cut down my activities.. i scare bb born how.. cannot imagine myself lack of sleep leh and unable to hangout often.. losing freedom..

ann: hmm.. i wonder how many will be keen to hangout?

rabbit: is this your 1st bb too?

hee.. my husby always say... now u no activities then start to look for my company... lol~

There's so many mummies here who are bored.. always can organise dinner and come out talk cock sing song one ma.

D Queen, yaya 1st bb also.. cant help to have this 'sense of loss'.. hehe... i do read around that 1st time mummies have such 'losses'.. keke.. i even had crazy thinking lor.. next time still hangout but short one.. then bring bb out at the same time.. kekeke..

rabbit: hee... i agree w u on this loss of freedom feel.

but look on the brite side, we'll haf a lil one to keep our hands so bz in the future until we dun haf time for ourselves! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

finally i got time to log in. busy preparing payment.

had been a bad mummy. hahaha

when i had my 1st child, i didn't know i was pregnant, at the same time, i was having my wedding going on. so i did drink. hahaha...

when i find out, i still going clubbing with my friend, well, they only go for red wine. and we just sit there n chat. so i did drink wine, but only 1 glass. ha ha ha... but when i'm in my 3rd tri, i did stop la.

Ann: I love watching horror! I know not good for bb but movies are my only source of entertainment. I also heard cannot go zoo see animals or else baby looks like them… Like that really not much activity left.

Before I found out I was preg I suddenly wanted to watch Disney cartoons! I finished watching Little Mermaid, Beauty and The Beast etc.. I dunno why also. When I told my friend she asked am I preg and I still said no. Haha.

Queen: cfm can understand lar... the kind of freedom n relax with ur drinks n chatting with frds or for me the bar tender... hahahaha...

of cos u see i enjoy ice cold beer... hahahaha think right now can let me have a sip of it, must be very very the shiok ...

Sweetkiss : i also find excuse to go back my mum there slp thou mattress not spring bed... i m happy!

sweetkiss : My IL side de kids is like tat de ... u ask the kid to keep the toys on the floor else step on it will fall, the kid reply "not i play, y should i keep?" But the picture infront of u is, the kid is touching n assembling the toys alone... who else playing ?

maybe next time i should say bb in my womb playing the toys lor...

Else better still... u ask the kid to put away the pillow n not on the floor as dirty ma - Floor dun know got clean in how many days, i nvr home early so i dun know lar - the kid tell me "NO!" then carry on rubbing thr pillow on the floor...

thanks vernie for the baby bonus info! yea baby will be Singaporean =D

Right now still holding on to PR, with very stupid reason, cuz i don't want to fill in immigration card when i enter malaysia haha!

Mum just called me and said, "eh don't go and watch Avatar ah!!"

I said, " ah? why? u scared baby later come out in blue? haha!"

She said, "JUST DON'T WATCH LA! you meant you already watched it?"

"aaaahhhhhhhhh.. no lar! Never watch!" (actually already watched long time ago! This kind of show how to miss?! totally love it!)

But i did skip paranormal activity and all the ghost scene on tv.. normally i do like to watch..

Gonna have a son! Juz had a scan yesta, I'm 17 wks n baby is 17cm.

I'm having these panic attacks, wake up in the middle of the night and feeling very breathless, like I can't breathe...anybody experience this? It's scary.

Congrats pris! Seems like many mummies already know the gender of their baby! Can't wait to know mine as well but gotta wait 3 more weeks. Will be 17 weeks by then. Must remember to psycho the little one to open wide!

A few people told me not to eat too much bird's nest as the baby may get asthma later on. I have a history of childhood asthma so I'm quite worried too... My mum and MIL would cook chicken essence for me so I have that once a week. It's really pure essence, no water added, very sweet and tasty!

Shann Yheng, as long as your hubby & bb is Sporean, you get all the baby benefits...so maybe holding on to PR is not a bad idea...as for me, both hubby & I are PR...nothing for us, since BB gonna be PR too...unless either hubby or myself quickly take up citizenship now...

But PR got 2 months maternity leaved for the mummies rite ..

My hubby is PR , his company does not event give him childcare leaved 6 days ...

Some companies are just too cruel ...

Siti, yes...PRs get the minimum 2 months which is required by law...the additional 2 months which is subsidized by govt (govt will reimburse the company), baby bonus, infant care subsidy all dun have...

Kat your appointment when ? I also going to know bb gender on 24 Feb 2010 at KKH.. Gynae gave 8am detailed scan appoinment at ADC level 2..

But at 9am need to for DS test at AMC level 1... Than 10am meet gynae for full scan report explaination..

Most of time scans baby is facing down and hopping up and down ... I hope he or she behave on 24 Feb..

Thanks ecym for the update!

Autrumn - my TCM din mention abt hashima leh but just talk about the BME. She suggusted some ways to cook it. E.g. boil BME with xue3 li2 (with its skin peeled off) & rock sugar over 2 hours. If having constipation also, can boil with papaya instead of xue li. Both ways are very nourish for mum & bb. i love having them cold just like a dessert!:p

Rmummy - Actually, Dr Lui was recommended by my TCM physician. I am very comfortable with him - very fatherly & assuring. Most imptly, I like the fact that he's a perfectionist & handles patients' affair/ treatment very personally. E.g. injections & drawing of blood for tests. I'm super afraid of injections... also feel very dizzy after injection but Dr lui very assuring & skillful. He's the 1st doc whom i don;t feel anything doing injection =) But bcoz of his perfectionist character, he could be very tempermental. Luckily, he doesn't show it to his patients but i pity his assistants. they have to meet very high expectation.

Rabbit - u may retrieve the medical bill for Mt A from the following link: http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/MaternityPack.asp

Hi mummies, anyone getting the Babyplus system? It's a prenatal education system for BB... very tempted coz it seems to have lots of positive feedback, saying BBs who have gone through it are very alert, cheerful & smart. I'm thinking of getting one... but probly a secondhand one ^_^

Pris, I experience breatheless twice already. Both are when I am standing and I almost fainted. I checked with my gynae and he mentioned that pregnancy women are prone to this. So you must make sure when u lie on ur bed or waking up, do it slowly. He also ask me to lie down straight and best with ur legs up to let the blood flow better. Of course if you are outside, take a seat and rest till you are better. For my case, my blood test shows I got low blood pressure. So currently my gynae ask me to take iron pills. You try taking too to see if it helps! Take care!

Hi all Mummies,

Have anyone been to Mt A or TMC hospital/maternity tour??? Which one is better lei??

Ytd juz called in to Mt A, the tour was so hot.. Fully Book for wkend till aft CNY.. My goodness...

I have to schedule aft CNY..

Hi everyone.

Just went for my scan this morning. BB is now 16 weeks and measured 10.3cm. BB was in a crouching position facing down. I can see BB's spine.. so clearly.. but I was more of looking for BB's heartbeat. Heartbeat is good too. Dr Fong say that BB is doing better than he expected although I didn't know what was he expecting.

Tried to scan for gender but BB legs quite close to each other though can see some white patch between the legs. Then Dr Fong ask me whether I feel it's a boy or girl. I told him sure boy cos I getting uglier and uglier. He laughed out loudly. He then say he also think most likely boy as he saw the white patch but cannot be sure since BB dun wanna open legs.

So have to wait till detailed scan at end of Feb to be sure. Hopefully BB is more cooperative then. The detailed scan will be done at TMC and then after that I had to go back to the gynae immediately after that with the result.

Oh.. I also ask Dr Fong if I can travel.. he say try to keep the flight travelling no longer than 5 to 6 hrs. I can travel up till May.. but if longer flight hours, then I can only travel up to Apr to be safe. Dr Fong also ask me to remember to buy insurance in case anything happen.

Now I can finally plan for a trip with the green light from him. Hehe!!

Siti, i'm going for appt on 18 feb, but detailed scan only on 11 mar when i'm 20 weeks. hopefully baby is cooperative if not i got to endure the suspense till mar...

I have also planned a trip to Bali around 21 weeks, will be taking it slow and easy, just relax relax and relax!

ann, sorry didn't clarify earlier about the left breast bigger. just came back from Jakarta. left breast bigger means girl. so if your right breast bigger, it's boy. that's what a few people told me.

glad to hear your baby doing well.

btw, my gynae said if flight is more than 4 hours, it's better to wear travel socks to prevent swollen feet.

Jasline - With the numberous positive feedback, I think no harm trying. A brand new one cost about $288 or more & since can only use it for a few months till bb is out (from 18 weeks onwards), i feel that the price is too steep. A secondhand one usually range within a hundred plus which i comfortable with. Some people actually try to sell them in the forum & I have been trying to keep a close tab on it but still no luck... heard can also get from the ebay too...

Ann - Wow! so good to be able to know how well bb is growing! I have to wait till 8 feb b4 knowing how my little darling is doing... can't wait. So far still can't feel bb's movement & my bump is still very small... hope he/she doing very well... =)

babycoco: Thanks for the clarification. See.. more signs indicating it is a boy.. I think I am definitely getting a boy. haha!! Wow.. just back from Jakarta? Is it fun? Oh.. wear travel socks? Any difference from those socks we have already??

lilmum: Don't worry. I am sure your little one is doing very well too. I also can't feel BB movement or I don't really know if that is BB's movement. Haha!! Your bump will soon grow so big that you had to wad like a penguin. So don't worry. Hehe!!

ann, went for work. didn't do anything much but work, work, work. i think those travel socks are very very tight. you can get from guardian. i didn't bother buying cos flight to jakarta only 1.5hrs. but gynae said anything more than 4hrs it's advisable to wear travel socks.

ya, i think at this stage we can't tell the difference bb movement or gas, hahahah.

Today I felt the bb moved it's like a sudden big lump moving from centre to the left of my tummy.... Anyone experienced that?

Baby coco : actually is fine to eat any thing but in moderation. Of the food to avoid is the raw stuff that's Abt it. I dun really have food restriction .. Just in small quatity [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasline, lilmum,

Yup, i heard lots of positive feedback too and i find their method of training the developing brain of the bb very reasonable, thus got my own set. I just got it from the forum. Its 2nd hand, but its in very good condition. Got it for only $100 bucks. Actually if you cant get it 2nd hand, you might wanna try buying a new set, then selling it after you gave birth and $100 plus, thus its cheaper too.. i did create a thread asking about bb plus. Its from helpful mummies who kept me posted on who is selling the set. Thats how i got my set [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you might wanna try to post there too.

Mitch: I feel baby movement for the first time yesterday too! Mine is like a butterfly fluttering from one side to another side then i touch to feel again and the feeling is gone!! So excited :D Hope to feel it again!! Hahaha!!

I went to my hubby hometown gaynae today ..

Baby is 15 weeks plus .. Baby was not in good position but gynae say he suspect it is a boy .. My God i almost wanted to faint .. BOY again i told him ... I want gerl ..

He says he will arrange for another scan on 28 Feb 2010 just to double confirmed .. I paid RM50 today for the scanning & consultation.

I feel like telling him actually i got a detailed scan at KKH on 24.Feb.2010 but my hubby told me not to tell the gynae that i got see other gynae..

I am too tired for this game .. If it is a boy i no need to shop much .. Factory still got to open till got gerl ...

Hi Ann, babycoco, those travel socks are called flight socks and they're not cheap. I got them from Guardian but it's Scholl brand. Had to coz I was travelling to Paris when I was 7 weeks preggers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gynae also advised me to walk more often in the plane - to prevent DVT / blood clot, something like that. Oh ya, to keep yourself hydrated.

Kat: I've asthma since childhood but it got better as I grow older. My mum didn't take bird's nest when she had me, so I don't think it has to do with bird's nest. In fact, when I was young, my mum used to make bird's nest for me coz I was coughing and wheezing like there was no tomorrow and the bird's nest actually helped me as in it strengthened my lungs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jo-Lyn - Thanks! Will try the iron pills. Cannot sleep with legs elevated coz gynae says better to sleep on our sides. Reason being there is a major blood vessel in our back and with our bellies getting heavier, it'll restrict the blood flow. This might sometimes cause dizziness.

Hey ladies.

Do you all feel pressure in your womb area? Sometime I feel like it's heavy. Not pain but just heavy. Wonder is it because the uterus is growing bigger now and BB growing bigger, I get the heaviness feeling in my womb.

yeap! I do! Feels heavy at times and i feel like sitting down or just lie down.. then i will walk very slowly =)

Anyway had dinner with my in laws just now, first time they saw me after breaking the news to them last week.. MIL wanted to know our plan when the baby is born.. i let my hubby do all the talking and said a little here and there..

It's impossible for them to move near my place by july, and we also cannot purchase condo cuz we are 1st time buyers of HDB flat, have to wait for 5 years too! I have always thought that my MIL wanted to take care of our kids, after the dinner i realized NO! They will only help us to take care if we hire a maid, so my MIL's job is just to supervise the maid, meaning she will move to our house T_T

Since they are not moving nearby, we will look for a nanny, then FIL said then might as well get a maid can cook and do housework! Hubby disagreed, said die die won't hire maid, not because of he can't afford, but he doesn't want outsider to stay in our house and also the influece of having a maid.

Hubby is sailing quite often recently esp in march, almost 3 weeks.. then MIL offered to come and stay with me so that she can accompany me..

I was like,"errrrrrr................ (for quite long) it's ok la, i am very used to it and i can take care of myself"

"But now you are pregnant, maybe you need somebody to be at your side if anything happen?"

luckily my hubby helped me.. he said, " so far so good lar, she has been taking good care of herself. if you want to come, can come during the weekend.."

I think she could definitely feel that i don;t want her to come and stay with me right........ feel bit bad about it but i really don't want but how to put it in a nice way? i just said i can take care of myself ok right?

when they got off from the car, hubby asked "hahaha! got scared just now?" of cuz la!!

if she comes, my daily life will change!! now my schedule is like wake up at 730am, drink warm milk, go back to sleep till 1030am, eat breakfast, 12pm cook lunch and eat ard 130pm, after lunch must take a nap till about 3/330pm depends on my working schedule.. usually classes start in the late afternoon till about 7/8pm.. basically is a lifestyle of a pig during day time. I have to make sure that i don't feel tired when i start teaching, that's why all the sleep.. else sure feel fatigue. Oh dear if MIL comes, i dare not to sleep!!! will appear to be sooooooooo lazy then she will think that i don't know how to take care of my family in the future....... T_T scared!!

I am new to this thread. Do update my details:

Nick: piggy_77

EDD: 21 July

Gynae: Dr KH Chan

Hospital: GEH

Child No: 2

re: prenatal education system

during my first pregnancy ante natal class at TMC by Mrs Wong Boi Boi,she advised us to be cautious on such purchases. she has seen cases of babies born deaf and it was linked to the exposure of the 'loud' sounds of such systems.

but she didn't elaborate on the system, or the brand.

ann & shan: heaviness wise... i feel that my boobies are heavy.. whereas my womb i do feel that it's quite 'hard' at a particular area @ times...

shan, u muz be really stressed when your mil suggested she come over to stay!

pillow: then did mrs wong mentioned anythg abt loud music on mummy's earphones?

cuz i listen to my ipod to & fro for wk daily.

i usually haf it quite loud...

now im juz kinda afraid it'll affect my bb's hearing in the future...

Shann: Haha! That must be quite a scare for you. My MIL & FIL still ok cause BB will be send to them to take care during the daytime. But I think my mum is the naggy one. Keep telling me my grandma not happy that I have dogs at home and going to have BB. Say what if the dogs bark and scared the BB, how? Say they had bring up children before so they understand how hard it is and we don't understand.

But my dogs are my companions and my babies too. They don't understand my emotional attachment to them. Without them, i dunno how I could handle the times without my hubby around when he is outstation. Frankly, they are the ones who are there when I am in pain, when I cry and when I need a hug. Not my hubby, not my mum. Without them, I would have long gone into depression. They always bring me smiles when I go home.

I mean I know it is not going to be easy. But does it means it's hard then we just give up like that? Then if I find it hard to bring up my kid cos the kid naughty and scream alot, does it means I have to find someone else to adopt my kid cause I cannot stand him/her?

Why can't they just let us work things out on our own?? Even my hubby also cannot stand my mum. Anyway, I am quite stubborn, if i dun see your point, I will normally stick to my own opinion.

Pillow: Maybe can you try to help ask Mrs Wong to elaborate on what she means by loud sounds. Does it means we use our headphones or earphones to listen to music or we on the TV loudly or going to movie theatre to watch movie?

Good Morning Ladies,

Wanted to find out if any of you heard about which is the best position to sleep. I heard from some of my friends that I should not lie flat that baby wont get oxygen. Is this true? I should sleep on my side. Im quite on the heavy side and sleeping on my side gives my arms/shoulders cramps. Any suggestions?

Also last night I pee-ed alot... like every one hour. I was quite worried... Untill I felt BB flutter in my tummy this morning. Aiyo.. all these anxieties.

I have gynae's appt this Wednesday... Im so very looking forward to it. I love to see my baby during ultrasound. It is such a sense of relief.

Jayamum: Ya.. we shouldn't lie on our back when we sleep now. We should lie on our sides. Preferable on the left side as it can help to improve oxygen supply to the BB. I know it is tough to sleep on the sides.. I started training during my first trimester with my support pillow. So now can easily sleep on my sides. If I lie on my back, I will feel rather uncomfortable.

Don't worry about the peeing part. It's normal. I also pee about 4 to 5 times at night. But not every night la. Hehe!!

Ann, which support pillow did u get? Is it the full length one? I know this topic was discussed a few pages back but too lazy to scroll back. Thanks!

I also feel uncomfortable lying on my back...but when i lie on my back, i feel the baby movement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ann, i know what you mean about our dogs being our babies. i'm also very sad that when bb is born, i might neglect them. do you carry your dogs? i love to carry the maltese as she's very manja. always kena scolding by my dad. but how will my maltese understand why i can't carry her when i've been doing so for the past 14 years? so difficult.

Hi all, i'm new here.

Nick: Ceres Ng

EDD: 28 July 2010

Gynae: Dr Irene Chua Sze Yuen

Hospital: KK Women's & Children's Hospital

Child No: 1

Hope to learn more from you all.

Regarding birdnest, my family members say birdnest is good for babies. Most of my aunties eat it and babies come out to be quite fair. (I'm quite fair too) I think all things we need to eat in moderate... too much is not gd.

I also like spicy food during my pregnancy period.. quite scared it might affect my baby.. but i heard myth that spicy food usually means it's a baby boy.. true?

Hi Ann,

Good to hear that. I guess Im just being very paranoid. Im overcautious coz I had a miscarriage last year and am very nervous [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But I pray everyday and night that my BB will be safe and sound.

I too have a darling pet "Jack Russell". His name is Sparky. I love him so much. Sparky is now 3 years old and very adorable and timid - very unlike a Jack Russell. My MIL has been complaining (non-stop)that I should give up Sparky coz not good for BB. She is so cold and unreasonable and tries as best to dictate rules with me. Unfortunately, I ain't the sort who would take anything sitting down.

My HB and I put our foot down about Sparky. Sparky is like a son to me and also by best pal. My HB travels alot due to work and Sparky is the only person who keeps me company.

The amazing part is lately, he will come to me slowly and stare at my tummy. I think he knows that there is a baby swimming inside of me. Hahahaha.

I would go crazy without Sparky or even become depressive. Thank God i have Sparky.