(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Yup I only heard before cannot eat dark soya sauce after operation if not the scar will not heal nicely.. For crabs, is that the child may also have "many hands" - everything also want to touch. My colleague told me that eating mutton will cause bb to have a lot of hair, but really i dont belive. I eat anything and everything, even sashimi I also eat a bit..

I hear but not listen.. haha... after exiting the house just tell my hubby not to impose any of those on me..

Sweetkiss.. my gynae also allow me to eat sashimi, but everything in moderation.

Heard from my collegue that she even eat pineapple during her pregnancy cos that's the only thing that she wants to it due to MS. Her gynae is ok with it. Moderation is the key

hi Noknok,

Is there are particular reason why ur gynae ask u to eat mutton. actually i been craving for mutton stay but dun dare to eat ...kekek ... actually the myth I heard is not the "sao" is the "yang dian"

As for crabs hor, it is still better to cut down not becoz of the myth but i read somewhere tt alot of parasite or bacteria will reside on the shell of the crabs n if not clean properly, we will eat it into our stomach which is no good for our bb so better dun take unless really crave for it.

ya true moderate is the key word... my gynea told my hubby in his face not to stop me from eating anything ... on hot weathers, ice cold water - plain water - no problem at all... but dont do it infront of the folks lor...

Hi Sweetkiss and Noknok,

Wow ...sashimi ... I been craving for it but curbing my craving though my gyane say its ok to eat from reputable restaurant to make sure it is fresh ... but I still dare not take chance as cant tell fresh or not ... but I cannot resist the california sushi that has got fish roe on it ...not sure if tt is consider raw or not...

I also eat alot of pineapple during my early pregnancy coz just crave for it ... pineapple with black sauce n chilli...yummy

Btw do you ladies experience craving for something but once take a bite ...wan to throw out liao ...tt always happen to me n its so frustrating ....

Noknok: I also finish up the pineapple bits on my hawaiian pizza! I also agree tp take everything in moderation... My colleague always like to go "u can eat this meh" whenever I eat certain food/fruits which she thinks i shouldn't. She kept saying i'll grow fat due to my sudden huge appetite.. but she has nv been preg before and i really dun like her know-it-all attitude...

Taurus: I love eating soft shell crabs & the crab nuggets from old chang kee! Haven't had real crabs since i was preg, now i'm drooling at the tot of my mum's chilli crabs!

I hate those "u can eat this meh" ppl... one of my cousin-sister is like that lor ... just becos her engagement was called off & I got married.

She shows me all kind of attitude as if she can't have what I having , I cant have it at all. Feels like slapping if she is not my cousin-sister.

Taurus: the only thing that makes me want to throw up after eating is only soya bean milk. But i still like to drink sometimes, i take small sips at a time. Normal milk is ok though...

By the way mummies, go sign up for an account at the Dumex website if u haven't! I received their gift pack consisting of Palmer's samples, Mamil Mama milk powder samples, a baby changing mat and a booklet of vouchers!

speaking about "u can eat this meh" ppl, i like playing the "be-jeweled" game on facebook....i even get "u can play be-jeweled meh"...reason the person gave: the game very "kan chiong"...??

jo_lyn, thanks , please let me know

Taurus,I did my OSCAR at NUH too, Nt result is instant. as for the blood test, the clinic called me the next day.

For the Ms, you are not alone, I am in my 13th week but still having bad MS, have to be on medication else I will vomit big time, still no appetite and losing wt..

Shann yheng, I have those white discharge from time to time too, but i guess not much to worry about.

btw, any MTB experiencing pain/ache near the tail bone region?

xbeanniex: Haha! Next time she is married and get pregnant, remember to ask her the same thing if she eats!

Vernie: that is like very ridiculous lo.. I even went to watch those thriller movies although many ppl say cannot.

Geri: Yes I have the tailbone ache when I sit down. I also have aching somewhere below my left ribcage whenever I slouch.

Really hate it because I cannot sleep comfortably on the bus when I go work!

oh ya, i have that aching too whenever i slouch. I get so sleepy in the afternoon that I always wanted to lie on desk to take a power nap but cant due to the ache..OMG, what other symptoms are awaiting us....

Wow.. This thread move very fast.. I had been busy with work for the past 2 weeks and didn't have time to log in.. Since like a lot of mummies had already know the gender of the baby.. I'm anxious too cos then can start buying clothes.. Haha.. But, have to wait for another month..

Springleaf: Haha.. So,I'm not the only one who is skeptical.. Been telling my hubby that I cannot feel the baby eversince my MS is over 3 weeks ago.. Was anxious till the next scan and was also thinking, why don't have the portable scan.. Haha.. Just came back from gynae this morning, and was relieved to hear that all is well.. Went for OCSAR testing, results will only be out next week.. Pray all is good too..

Jolyn - I'm also keen in doing yoga.. Been having back ache since preggy.. Guess a little stretching does help.. If anyone has any good yoga centre, please let me know.. Or, is anyone keen to go together?

Hi all - The bra extension is indeed very useful as it's too early for maternity bras as our bra sizes may increases.. For those whose already buying, please take note to buy bras without underwired..

Went to COTTON ON last week and bought 2 slacks.. Wow, they are really comfortable.. Heard from my friend that she wore till the last semester.. Think it's a good buy..

Oh by the way, does anyone know if MC given by gynae for the monthly check up is acceptable by companies? And, for childcare leave, our babies will be due in July, is the childcare leave proprated or full 6 days? Does any one know?

Ann - Aqua aerobics seems fun too.. Do you know if there's any classes who will take us, preggies? I'm also interested.

hello ladies.. went for gynae appt this afternoon.. now 15 weeks already.. happy to hear that baby is growing well, was facing down.. keke.. still unable to know the gender yet.. my gynae say will let us know before cny.. haha.. he also say my placenta is medium low and told me not to worry too much, it will move up as time goes...

next appt, i am off for detail scan at TMC.

i hope i have the energy to wake up eariler this weekend and start brisk walking.

keer13, my company accept MC given by gynae and yes the leaves are prorated.

keer13, as long as it's a MC given by a registered medical practitioner, companies have to accept it.

childcare leave will not be pro-rated, at least for my company, so best is you check with your own HR.

Me just came back from my gynae apptm too. Now at 12w 4d, bb measuring at 6.63cm. Bb was in a sitting position and was very active during the scan and kept moving its arms around..hee.. he/she wasnt this active when doing the oscar scan..maybe its a night bb..lol..

Got my oscar result from the Dr too and luckily the result is good. Risk at 1:14115 My gynae gave me iron tablets and fish oil pills..so got to start taking them le i guess.

hahaha! I just realized the hair above my belly button is longer now!!! all the way up to the stomach area.. so farni....... when did i become so hairy!

Taurus, mutton is a red meat which is high in iron I think.. I hv got Thalasseamia trait and had been known to have low blood count, so he ask me to eat at least one red meat or liver portion a day, which includes mutton. There are no scientific proof abt the yang dian feng thingy.. hee.. imagine if they translate the name to another animal from english then cannot eat that as well. A bit weird.

For the Crab thingy... the parasite and bacteria will be killed if it's cook thoroughly.. I dun see the problem esp when we dun eat raw crabs here in sg.

Sweetkiss - haha.. ask your collegue, ' you've been preggy before ah.. how come u know so much tat even my gynae also dun comment??' hee.. that should shut her up. :p I think cooked pineapple are ok leh.. at least my mum din stop me from eating..

Vernie - haha. yours is the ultimate..

Oh.. I went Marina Sq yesterday to shop for dresses.. they're so expensive... In the end I bought a loose dress from Mango (they're having sale) and one from John Little (also hving sale). Total costs abt $70 only. The sales at the maternity house made me worry, told her I'm 3 mths preggy and she was commenting that I dun look like I'm pregnant at all.. then my hubby started nagging at me say I eat too little.. sigh..

Shann Yheng, Congratulations, you may be expecting a boy! Testosterone in the body is said to make a pregnant lady grow more hair. Let me know if my guess is correct?

sweetkiss- actually i ate uncooked pineapple too.. had the craving to eat tat (dun eat very xinku too.. but never eat much.. i ate coconut, crabs, prawns & etc too.. i believe you could eat anything but in moderate..

Hee hee.. we're a bunch of anti old wife tale mtb..

Sometimes I wonder, if really cannot eat raw food, then Japanese pregnant lady how to survive... they eat so much raw food.

Shann Yeng, me too!! The hair above my belly button area is longer now - so funny!! And I am expecting a boy...so let us know once u know the gender... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sun_tan, sweetkiss, noknok, my fren ultimate hor? *faintz*

Nok : We are anti old tales lr .. but to many old folks we are stubborn n rebellious lor ... then HB kena sandwich and we are the cause of it ... (i hate those ppl saying that with their own selfish no logic brains)

for my last pregnancy i also had alot of hair on my belly and had a boy...this time not much hair growth...so we shall see if its a gal for me this time

mutton:

when ppl told me cannot eat mutton, wait in further bb will have 'yang dian feng'. then i will ask them back, then all malay n indian have it lor, since they eating all these.

My friend's hb also very funny, told his wife no eating of 'dou hua' cos got chemcial inside

Jasmine - haha.. good one on the mutton...

for the dou hua - I read something abt bean curd too.. can't really remember exact. The advise given is not to eat too much bean curd (dou hua included) because of the chemical that they add to the soya milk to make it harden into bean curd.. I try and see if I can still find the article.

Noknok - I think there are other companies who provide pre natal yoga too.. slowly look ard lo.

Anyone had started booking any pre natal massage. Can share your information?

Yah, i think so long as we take everything in moderation it should be ok. Just like my gynae said, with the bad MS, we already no appetite and if still have to curb our craving and listen to the old wives tales, then there is really nothing left for us to eat liao.

When I had my boy, I also noticed hair growing ard my belly button area and recently I also notice the hair ard tt area getting longer, so does it mean I am expecting another boy? 8)

Noknok - Maybe you check with them if they will start another class soon. Then maybe you can consider. You intending to book for pre natal and post natal massage? I very KS.. just called this lady, Madam Ida, to book for them. She is highly recommended in the forum.. luckily she still have availabiltiy for north area. Think most of her clients from east and west area.

Alamak.. later I go check if my belly button got hair or not. never really notice it.. only keep seeing my stretchmark. Hehe!!

Hi Ann, I also planning to start my pre-natal massage. Got a contact fr my friend, not sure if its good. But just wondering can we start massaging now already? I am currently 14weeks going into 15.

hhahahaha really?!?!?! aiyo made me sooooooo happy i wish for a boy~~

but that day during OSCAR scan couldn't see lei... my next appointment on 9th Feb.. sooo looooong..

ann

i started prenatal massage oredi - just tried out the trial prenatal massage at Bella Luna for $28 1 hour earlier this wk. they tried to sell me a package for $1998 unlimited number of prenatal/post natal massages & facials but i told them i'll think abt it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mdm Ida doesnt do prenatal massages till 6mths right? will you be engaging her then?

On topic of hairgrowth

I dont notice hair growth but I do notice lotsa hair fall! daily when i run my fingers thru my head e hairs fall out. seems more than #1 times. only fortunate thing is i dont think i look as if i have lesser hair *phew*

Shann Yheng,

My next apptm also on 9th feb..hee i just check, no long hair at belly area..think mine is a girl ? :p

By the way, I got long hairs growing at my belly too. My next appt is 28th Jan. WIll update to see if its a bb boy! Haha.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my next appt will on 13 feb ... (CNY Eve) by then will be in my 16 weeks 3 days. wonder can catch a at sight of bb's gender not

Haha.. my friend also asked me not to take soya bean curd. She says it is very cooling. So far, my family only told me not to eat bananas, grass jelly and green bean. That's all i avoid...

I have grown hairs below my belly button. I look so manly.. But i got a feeling it's a girl cos all the calculation, gender prediction quizzes i took, all predicted girl... Anyone has done all these but the result came out opposite?

jo lyn

yes the consultant whom spoke with me - Jolene, said $1998 is for as many sessions ie unlimited facials, prenatal & postnatal for 12 mths. (GST not included) its like gym membership she said, just pay then u go as & when u can make it, as many times up till u give birth & then they suspend membership for you until u finish confinement then continue to count down to the end of 12mths. (but they dont do house visits for postnatal. the promo has to have all treatments done in Spa)

they are at Cuppage Plaza by the way

the link above is for the voucher for the $28 for 1 hour prenatal promo i went for [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] in case u r keen

i asked that question xbeanniex bec most spas are infamous for that but she said can prebook ie Mon, Tues, Wed, Fri or watever to confirm then can set as regular timing unless u change otherwise. but i feel best to commit them to slots if you know your timing so no drama afterwards