(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Xbeanniex, your scan confirm to be a girl already?? It will be hard on us. Is this yr no.1? Think we are in the same boat.

My hb is eldest son in the family so does his dad so I feel the stress too but I when i gave birth to my no.1 my mil already like that cannot imagine if my hb reveal to her abt no.2. I know my fil will not mind, as everytime he's asking abt my health.

Jaya - u can start using stretchmark cream now. I am using Galenic Elancyl stretchmark cream.

Babycoco - u may want to stop using clarins oil and see if the itch is caused by the cream. If so, u may want to consider to try other brands. My tummy also itched when I used palmer's stretchmark cream during my first pregnancy. No more itch when I stopped using the pdt.

my scan done by anothet GYN. my GYN is not a professional sonographer... i paid almost $350 for blood test. think scan not inclusive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and for one of the mommie's interest, am doing seeing my GYN at RH

bb_gen, dun worry about the gender. most importantly is baby is healthy. your first one is a girl too? How I wish I have baby girls instead but now i have a 21 mth old super active boy and another one to come. Sigh I wonder how I can take it.

My hubby wants a daughter desperately and so do i. Infact we prefer having all girls as they are closer to mummies. haha but somehow my 2nd one is boy again! So you can imagine our disappointment. It was harder for me to accept it initially when gynae scanned and confirmed the results becoz my hubby wants me to keep giving birth till I give birth to a daughter! So ridiculous right?

xbeanniex, dun bother about wat the old folks say. ultimately whether u get a boy or girl is dependent on ur hubby's sperms. So thank him for that instead.

I learn to accept that a healthy baby is more important than anything else. Whether girl or boy, it brings joy to the family, even to the grandparents!

jellypurin, are all ur scans done by another sonographer always? My scans and tests are all done by the same gynae, but it is not cheap either. Sigh thats why people always say having a baby means you have to be financially sound coz before baby is out, all those scans and gynae visits cost money. When baby is out, all the diapers and milk powder and baby stuff add on!

BB Gen : I m having my 1st child ... hmm right now should be ard 9-10 week this sat. 2nd visit to my gynea this sat.

I hope to have a gal then a boy ... hahahaha...

wah it seems like alot of you have already taken the oscar test. I'll be taking mine next Monday. A little nervous. Hopefully everything turns out fine.

you gals can try Loccitance too.

I am currently using the Almond Apple rangeBody Cream (for smoothing and firming). Quite nice[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Minibean: initially hoped to hv a boy since already got a girl but if No.2 is a girl I also wldnt mind as I believe it's a god's gift to us so long bb is well.

Xbeanniex, oh first time mother shld be very excited. Don't stress yourself too much and be happy. If u dun get what u want can always try again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb gen : actually had a small squabble with my hubby some days back - forget over what issue - he tell me he is not stopping at 1 - 2 kids ... n i was like ... -_-lll

minibean

ya, done by another doc lor... hvg a bb is expensive! i always empty my bank acct after i deliver my bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] for my #2, i started on my package early... i dun feel the pinch...

alicia

not always but u can ask ur GYN to give u

sun_tan,

i dunno why lei, the sonographer tried using the abdominal one at 8 weeks but she say cannot see clearly. i am seeing my gynae at SGH. i got medical records there as i did previous surgeries for my Endometriosis.

Can someone show me the pic of the clarins oil again as I was at the Clarins counter the other day but the sales promoter look so uninterested n try to avoid eye contact when I look at her machiam like I cannot afford to buy like tt ... so pissed off so dun bother to ask her ...

By the way, any of you experience bloatness in ur tummy everyday ... it makes me feel so uncomfortable and always feel like throwing out whenever I eat or smell something ....

btw i noticed that most of you can see the gender at week 11, how is it possible? is it 100% accurate? i been curious to know my babies' gender also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Taurus : I m vomiting like 3-4 times a day ... i smell fried chicken is the worst ... hahahaha... pity my hubby cant have fried chicken when i am always ard him ...

i have been burping alot in a day, let out gas alot too... hahaha trying my best to control thou...

hi gera, for my first scan, gynae also had to use vaginal scan, then can see the bb very clearly. but for the nt scan, she said must do abdominal scan, otherwise can't really take the measurement properly.

hi xbeanniex,

In the worst day, I can vomit up to 9 times a day and so far was given 2 anti nauseous jab by gynae to stop the vomiting... these 2 weeks is slightly better only vomit 3 to 4 times a day ...

I am super sensitive to smell now, dun even dare to put on perfume and can only use dettol shower gel , cannot stand those with fragrance and same here .... keep letting out gas especially in the morning when I wake up ...kekek

Taurus : This weekend when i visiting my Gynea, will let her know my situation... else i really no appetite to eat anything ... as eating out most of the time, smell of fried food i wan to vomit n end up nvr eat anything becos of the smell.

babycoco,

thanks. then that is a relief, and after NT scan, do they do the normal scan immediately? or NT results to gynae first then later do normal scan?

gera, when i did my nt scan, it was by my gynae so she confirmed the measurement immediately. it's like normal scan, just more detailed, can even see the blood flow in the heart etc. quite amazing.

I am in my 12wk now and EDD is 22nd July. In my visit last week around 11wk doctor also able to tell me likely a boy....i think nowadays the scan is very clear and if bb is in right position doc able to tell...i read somewhere genitals will be developed around 10-11weeks...

Have any of u booked your confinement nanny already? i thought its still early but jus now lunch with a collegue and she says have to book soon if u want to get a good one....

babycoco, oh mine done at SGH, so got seperate sonographer to do the scan...wonder how the process is going to be like.

btw how long is the scan? is it must lie very flat one? when i was week 6, i did the formal scan where u had to lie very flat with a board under my pelvic, wah very giddy for 45mins...

gera, it didn't take very long if your bb is co-operative, haha. 1st time i went for nt scan, bb was lying sideways. gynae said i can either go for a walk, and come back the same day or go back 1 week later. i chose to go back 1 week later. this time bb was co-operative. i just lie on the usual bed, quite simple.

babycoco, bb must be on which side? i forgot to mention i am carrying twins, wonder if i still can chat on this board? like that abit difficult to predict since both bb's will be in different position. but i very curious if can see gender so early. scared with twins, more complicated.

I have done both blood test and oscar yesterday at TMC... cost me $600+ in total. The blood test include test on Hep A/B, thalassemia, HIV and rubella. Price is expensive but i think it is to "buy an assurance"...

Anyway, the tests are ok. The only disappointment is my sonographer refused to reveal to me the gender. She insisted that it is her policy not to reveal to all her patients. And she is so persistent about it... so it is fated tat my baby's gender will remain a mystery for now...

Gera,

Your gynae should be able to do the normal scan via abdominal from now onwards since bb should be quite fully form and visible le. Some ppl recommend to have a full bladder for the normal scan so that it would be clearer.

Tmr morning i gg for my oscar. Pray for me that bb would be cooperative and in a good position. Cross finger on the gender too.

Back from the OSCAR test. Baby is very active. Love to show it's butt more than it's face. Keep bouncing ard and change position. Took the sonographer quite awhile to get the necessary images.

I am now in my 12 weeks. The nuchal measurement was 1.8mm which the sonographer say is within the normal range. So now got to wait for the blood test result. Hopefully everything will be well.

Oh.. it cost me $470 in total. Expensive lei.

Ann, didnt you find out the price? i actually had 2nd thought after knowing the price.. but after thinking that is a all-in-one package, then i just do it lor.. hehe..

envy those ladies that can see gender liao.. i went to scan at 12th week. cannot see gender leh.. or maybe most likely gal??

Just to check right, for the NT scan, do we get back a scan pic of the bb (like what we take when we go for our normal gynae visit), or is it just the scan results showing the data.

Rabbit: No lei. I didn't find out the price. Actually I only know the price range after hearing from the other mummies today. But like you say since it is a all in one package then quite reasonable lo. Moreover they took half an hour to scan the baby. Also quite long time la. Alot of pple say my baby is a boy.. my gut feel also boy. But the sonographer did tell me that we will not know the BB gender now.

Actually I dun really like the sonographer assigned to me lei.. not that she is rude or anything la but she just take the images and do all the measurement then tell me can go off liao. If I didn't ask her abt the nuchal measurememnt she won't even have tell me lo.

Seems like everyone going for their OSCAR test liao...

Just want to ask, any mummies here started on formula milk for pregnant ladies?? I jus had my first cup (compliment from my friend who hates it) in 20 years and I still dislike the taste.. gonna force myself to finish it.. any idea how to make it taste better? tin says to finish the full tin in 3 weeks after opening.. I wonder how am I going to achieve it.

Also, did anyone already done a comparison on the nutritional value of the different brands?

I am also going for my scan this fri...

gyane ask me to choose either NT or oscar scan , he suggest me to do NT since I am still young... any suggestion which one shd i go for..

and do i need to skip breakfast for the scan....

sun_tan, i got a series of scan pic for the NT scan...all compiled into a nice report and put in a folder by the gynae's nurse...

yvonne, no need to skip breakfast...i had my breakfast just before my NT scan...

Hai.. I just had my bleeding again. Used up my emergency progesterone capsule for injection. Very worried. I thought placenta formed then no need to take le.. how come I still have bleeding?

My hubby say might be because of my flu.. cough too hard. I also dunno real or not.

Ann, hmm i see.. i feel the service pretty good.. zero waiting time.. the sonographer assigned to me is pretty friendly. she commented my baby is pretty active.. keke..

abt bleeding ah.. i know of someone here also had bleeding, gynae told her that her placenta is low. so better check with Dr fong ok.

noknok, i taking mini analene pack now.. because much higher calcium. not taking formula milk. mayeb you can try chocolate flavour?

Wow feeling beri excited. Now I am in my wk 11 and going for NT nxt tues... wondering too if i can see my bb gender... can't wait to start shopping.

I dun experience any morning sickness except that if i am too hungry or too full i feel like puking... other than that fatigue most of the time but i think i am getting out of it. Now I dun feel pregnant at all... does anyone else have the same experience?

Did my oscar scan and blood test today at TMC. Cost me $321. scan is done by gynae. NT is 1.6mm and i'm in 12 weeks and 3 days. Baby measurement is 5.35cm... Gynae told me is quite a gd result. Above Average. blood test result will be out tml. Gynae given me 3 scan pics.. still not gain a single weight. EDD is 17 Jul 2010

Rabbit: The last gynae review was last Saturday. Dr Fong didn't mention I have low placenta. So I don't think I have that condition. He was happy that the placenta is formed and told me I can stop medication and injection le. Even today NT scan, the sonographer also never mention anything about low placenta. That's why I dun understand.

Dr Fong normally say I bleed from the cervix area. So he say maybe I walked too much today.

Hi Skyrain,

My EDD is 17 July too.. =)

Hi Mitch,

I also have the same experience as u lei.. Same as wat u said..

Sometime like eat too full or mayb too fast than i will puking...

Hi Ann,

I had bleeding few weeks ago & was told that it is caused by my low lying placenta, I was told to continue my hormone pills.. Gng for my Oscar tmr, hopefully after the Oscar test, Gynea is free to meet me.

Skyrain,who is your gynea? most ladies' oscar test done at TMS is done by sonographer. Care to share?

Hello all mummies... I'm very grateful n thankful for yr kind well wishes n care. I'm finally discharged aft stayin at KKH for scan n recruperating. Gynea has cfm I hv placenta previa but bb is alright & in good shape, size n condition. We r elated to know abt it n hope to share tis good news to all my caring mummies here....

wow lots of queries on the NT scan/Oscar thingy...

I've done on Monday at KKH.

Bloodtest + Scan cost $388 (include a prenantal test)

On scan day, no need to go empty stomach. Bladder wise,i was told to empty just before the scan. But do check with the nurses

Sonographer was a china trainee. She did not mention anything. Just fiddling with the scan and keep complain about my myomectomy scar that restricting the view. After she has done, she call a professor over apparently to go through her scans. the professor very fierce, lectured her in front of us. Later the professor did the scan for me again and explain the baby features and the parts.

After scanning done, a counselor explained to us the result. Determined by mother's age, blood test result and of course the NT range. The report and scan pics were given to us. Counselor also asked me if I want MC, said they usually give one after scan.

HTHs

Hi Alicia.

At least if gynae told me I have a low placenta and that cause my bleeding.. I can accept it and understand. Now is that I totally don't know why I bleed except that gynae keep mentioning I am over exerting myself. But seriously, I did nothing much.

I rather be back on the pills or injection cause it acts as a security for me.

I think now I abit lack of confidence in the pregnancy.. so afraid that BB might give up on me any time.

Cheuk Ling: Glad that you are well now. Do take lots of care.

Ecym: I think cos alot of us are reaching or had reached our 12th weeks. So now alot more enquires on the OSCAR / NT scan.

Not bad lei.. got professor and counselor explaining to you. After my scan, the sonographer just tell me to go home and result will be out in 1 or 2 days time.

Ann - do you need to go back to your gynae for your result? If yes, then probably they leave the explanation that day.

hi ann, sounds like a very stressful time for you. but i'm sure your bb is ok, otherwise when you did the oscar test, the sonographer would have said something right? just take it easy for the next few days. did you go back to your gynae yet?

Ecym : I don't think I need to go back to gynae for result. They would call me to inform.

Babycoco: My next visit to gynae is 30th Jan. Ya.. BB was fine during the OSCAR test.. jumping around.. heartbeat sounded good to my ears..Active.. but just that bleeding yesterday night sort of scare me.

I was just lying in bed talking to hubby about where to put the cot all this. Then decided to get up for dinner.. the moment I stand up, I can feel something warm beneath me.. As I walk.. I suddenly felt something tickling down my thigh and without even looking i know i am bleeding le. See.. like i say.. i was doing totally nothing.. and the next moment.. i am bleeding like that le.