(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Julie, my gf uses a sarong and now the baby is 8 mths old and cannot get to sleep when he is outside without a sarong.

For me, i was fortunate as my baby needs to be carrried to sleep but we managed to find ways to soothe him with an infant rocker and that was good enough to last him for almost a year. thereafter we pat him to sleep.

also, I am always afraid that one day the sarong will break and baby will fall.

I heard that using sarong is not good, not just for the reliance of the bb, also becos the sarong is a curvy shape, thus, might affect the development of the spine of the bb, as there is no firm (or rather straight) support for growth.

just did my oscar test this morning and i'm quite satisfied with the scan... neck thickness is 1.9mm (compared to 2.3mm for my 1st child)..and baby's crl is 7.4 cm at 13wk3days..

my 1st baby was 3.7kg but this baby seems bigger leh...hope at delivery baby won't be so big or else its going to be another hard and long labour for me....right now i'm just waiting for my blood test results and keeping my fingers crossed tat i won't have to go thru amnio again

Hey mommies,

Any recommendation on where to get maternity clothes? My clothes are starting to get tight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I hope I can convince my hubby about the sarong thingy. That's the only way to get my MIL to not impose her views. She only listens to her son. I'm sure she will come up with more ways of how to care for our baby, based on her own experience. Except she's not always right!

Hi everyone.

Just went for my scan today. Today is also the first day I am ask to use the stick to test my sugar level. My nurse was telling me we don't wan the first part of your pee.. we want the middle part of the pee.. I was like " So difficult to use ah".. But I managed that. Haha.. sugar level was fine.

Did the u/s today.. but i told gynae my bladder empty already cause I just went to test for the sugar level. So he told me next time.. do the scan first then do the test for sugar level. So today's picture on the screen was quite hazzy looking. BB was upside down... But I can just barely make out it's little hands moving.. hubby say he can see the feet moving too but I just couldn't see it.

I am now at 11 weeks.. BB is about 4.7cm.... gynae say quite good. Heartbeat is also strong. Oh.. and gynae just have to mention the stretchmark on my tummy.. say must start using stretchmark cream/oil. So concious abt it.

Arrange to do my OSCAR test next Tuesday. Actually only wanted to do just the NT scan but nurse say in future also must draw blood to test for Hep A/B or something like that cause law say must do so.. then suggest might as well do it now.. so in the end decided to go through the full OSCAR test. Hope result will be good. Gynae say since we have no family history of down syndrome and we are still young.. shouldn't worry too much. Hubby is like always optimistic and me the always pessimistic one.

One good news is I no need to take the pills and progesterone injection anymore. Yippy!!! no more bruises on my butt. Cause Gynae say the placenta is formed so the placenta will be in charge of the production of hormone now. He pointed out the placenta to me on the screen but I just can't see it.. but I just nodded my head as if I can. Hehe!! But now i got more pills to take.. iron pills.. calcium pills.. fish pills.. Ah!!

Hey Julie.

I understand what you mean. Mother in laws or our mums will always think that their way of raising kids are correct cause they raise us or our hubbies until so big also no problem.

But sometime, they just don't understand we need them to respect our views and mindset too.

Almost New PIGEON Silent Breast Pump for sale at $100.

Used less than 10 times...

Condition 10/10.

Interested, pls email [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3449979.jpg]

hello ann, good to hear that! i realised we are having the same gynae. hehe.. how come you need to take iron pills? i was told to take pre-natal, fish oil & calcium pills. btw, the pre-natal and calcium pills that Dr fong is giving can also be bot at unity pharmarcy..

hi ann,very happy for you that your result is good. what is your baby's heart rate? i read somewhere that if it's above 140, then it's a girl. does anybody know if it's true?

have you been using the clarins oil? i used it the minute i found out i was pregnant. so far ok, tummy not itchy. you might want to try that.

my #1 sleeps in sarong, but only use it in the day. and most time are my pil tat's swinging him. And its always under supervision. cos he's very active n hv now learn how to move to a sitting position in it. Quite scary rite.

if really need to use sarong, my advice is to use aft 3mths. MAYB by then, ur bb is so used to bed, can throw out the idea of sarong.

i wldnt say tat sarong will cause bad spinal problem (cos i grew up sleeping in sarong and many of my cousins too and we all dun hv any spinal problem or bad posture), but becos wen bb sleeps in it, they are being kinda wrapped up and it gives them a sense of security like they r in mummy's womb.

of cos, then there's the dependency on it. its all abt training lor. if u let bb slps day n nite or at all time in sarong, then of cos they grew dependent on it. same goes to pacifier, security blankets, comfort pillows n etc...

keep an open mind abt the issue, cos aft all the old folks are jus trying to help.

Hi Rabbit.

I also not sure why i need to take iron pills... but i have to continue to take folic acid and the new pills. My folic acid pills, I always buy from Unity. Maybe I will start buying the pills from outside pharmacy. Seems like cheaper.

Hi babycoco.

I am not sure what is the heart rate of my BB. If the gynae say it's good.. I just accept that it's good. Haha!! Moreover I was too amazed with the hand moving than concentrating on anything else. Haha!! But I never heard about finding out the heartbeat to determine the gender before. Something new to me.

Hi Jo_Lyn.

Ya.. Spotting stopped le.. So keeping my finger crossed that it will never return. But I have a spare set of Progesterone capsule in case I need the injection again for emergency case. But I am still nauseous. Gynae say will most likely take another week or 2 to get better.

Regarding sarong, i do agree with bbmermaid that most of us grew up sleeping in it and it shouldn't be bad afterall. Another benefit about sleeping on sarong which i heard is to shape the baby's head. Babies who slept in sarong will have nicer rounded head.

My niece and nephew slept in sarong during daytime only and this reduce their reliance on it. Frankly speaking, if so many babies (including ourselves) are able to get over the reliance, i don't see a point that babies today can't. It is a matter of "training" them and of coz to avoid rocking them too much.

sun_tan, i faced the same problem. All my clothing becoming tighter everyday. I bought some maternity wear from The maternity house recently. The clothing there are quite nice and trendy. You can try to go Vivo City. There are a few maternity wear shops there. Happy shopping!

Suntan you can go to OG at Bugis , good deals for maternity clothes for medium and small size mummies ...

Or if you travelling to Malaysia go Jusco, Scarlet brand got plenty of nice maternity clothes ..

I am still not sure whic Gynae to choose as the choosen one Dr Suzanna Sulaiman at KKH would not be available till Dec 2010..

I was given Dr Kelly Loi for my hospitalizaion follow up..

My miscarriage on August, Dr Shamini Nair was my gynae..

Now i am really not sure Kelly or Shamini ..

I see on 11 January 2010, the treatment Kelly gives to me..If she is good than i will stick to her till i deliver my baby ...

The due dates are changing again and again ...During ADC scan request by Dr Kelly i was told 25 July 2010.

So i guessing games can only stop during 20th week scan . That will be on March 2010 ...

Pink, siti, thanks for the suggestion. Will go over to take a look at some of the shops next week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi siti, tat's very strange. edd shld be fixed on ur 1st visit with the gynae, isnt it?

for 1st child usually gynae wld informed tat it wld b a week before or after the edd.

and at the private suite, my gynae does the scan personally at each visit.

i was only ask to go ADC for scanning twice throughout my pregnancy, the NT scan and detailed scan.

mayb u wld like to chk with the gynae y do they keep changing the edd?

hi siti,

my gynae told me that we should look at the date of our 1st scan (tat is the one tat you first saw the heartbeat)...after tat the dates will keep changing depending on how fast your baby grows...btw only 5% of babies will come out on their due dates

Hi ppl, I am still having a funny taste on my tongue and appetite is still not improving. Salivating more than usual also. I wonder how long this is going to last.

valerie, i have the funny taste as well and sometimes i feel really bland!! i wonder how to get rid of that taste. sigh... hopefully all these MS will end by 2nd tri!

valerie, minibean, me too, still very poor appetite, still feel like throwing up the whole day. was hoping ms will stop when we get into 2nd trim.

hi sugar, saw from your earlier post that you did the amnio test for your 1st baby. was it because the nuchal test was not good? i thought 2.3mm is considered low risk?

minibean, I hope all these funny taste will go off by end of my first trimester. Now I am at 11 weeks. Hmm...dun think it will go off so soon le. Wish me luck:p

hi valerie, minibean and babycoco, me too, I am at 11 weeks ++ but still very poor appetite, funny taste on tongue and keep salivating and throwing up more often these days, even eating anti-vomit pills does not help, feeling so sick physically and mentally. thought it is suppose to subside soon but mine seem to go uphill. terrible feeling. I am still losing weight.....

morning mummies!!

Happy new year to all.

I went for my oscar scan on sat and bb is now measured at 6.3cm and neck thickness at 1.7mm.

re: sarong

my first bb do sleep in sarong when she nap in the day and sleep on bed in the night and so far my bb has no prob adjusting.But when she sleep in sarong we just shake gently and after she fell asleep we will stop and she do sleep long and well in sarong.

morning all,

Just went for my NT/NB scan. CRL now is 7.64cm (13wks). NT is 2mm. Risk for Tri 21 is 1:10138 (low risk)

cant see the gender as its legs were folder and its facing side ways

ecym - seems ur bb growing well n big..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mine 6.3cm at 12wk 3days

ya lor, i oso thought so, but i see the CRL range report. It falls on the below avg leh...

ecym - is it? i went back and see e oscar report for my first child and the size is about there too..slightly bigger then 2nd bb. as long as bb is growing well tats most important.

sun_tan - i think a lot of maternity wear shop do sell bra extension or even bra shop alone sells too. i just saw this bra extension last sat at spring maternity.

Any mummies interested in getting a Capella stroller model:S226 at $120(SP)? The UP is $299. It is in good condition and hardly used coz my kid does not want to sit in stroller.

Pls PM me at [email protected].

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3455218.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3455219.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3455220.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3455221.jpg]

ok thanks! But like what astrogal say, the other maternity shop should have right? Cos i gg vivo tonight. Think can grab some there bah..

Morning all,

Am finally back.. dead tired from my "cannot do this cannot do that" trip..

Bought some maternity pants and the support pillow (the wedge type) from hk. Only bought leggings though cos e rest of the cloths are so thick now in hk.

Suntan - the bra extension most departmental stores that sells bras will have. Saw them at triumph counters before.

Haha...

1) cannot ski, cannot snow board

2) cannot go on thrilling rides

3) cannot go into hot springs

4) cannot walk too much (as advise by gynae.. sigh)

5) cannot eat road side food

The list goes on..

Noknok : I just back from taiwan trip too

Also alot of cannot... abt the same as urs lar ... but I m on the group tour so everyone in the grp treats me pretty well... like

1)not seating behind me so that i can rest the chair backwards - more comfy lar

2)get me warm water or drinks whenever eating in grps in restaurant

3)get seated most of the time be it anywhere

4)always never fails to remind my hubby to get me more yogurt n fruits during the trip

the rest ah ... haiz same as urs lor ...

1) cannot go on thrilling rides

2) cannot go into hot springs

3) cannot walk too much (as advise by gynae.. sigh)

4) cannot eat road side food

Hi mummies, anyone experience this:

I felt short of breathe this morning. SUddenly heart beating very fast and i can feel myself going to faint. Quickly sit down and rested but still break into cold sweat. End up I lied down to rest awhile and it gets better. Wonder what should I do if i am outside alone. Scary!

hey me too just back from my 16 days taiwan trip, but mine was free and easy, so we always slept till 10 plus 11am, then go out in the afternoon, shop & eat & sight seeing a bit, then will go back hotel to rest at about 8-9pm.

Haih.. but my appetite wasn't good, i could only swallow certain taiwan food, a lot of smell of the food makes me feel like vomitting. it's definitely because of the pregnancy, i used to love taiwan food a lot =(

but i did walk a lot due to shopping hahaha! will not forgive myself if i just rest in hotel. We stayed just opposite shilin night market, so my hubby always went back to play his comp games, then i shopped for a few hours on my own! so shiok!

Anyway i found 东京著衣 (mayuki) and 天蓝小铺 bags store at shilin night market. if you always do taiwan online shopping you should be familiar with the names. They have outlets!

hope you enjoy your trip too xbeanniex! i also didn't go for hot spring, i did it in the room instead, but put just warm water and also didn't soak for very long T_T

Hi Jo_Lyn,

I experienced the same thing very early in my pregnancy, in fact I didn't even know I was expecting back then. I was on my way to work in the MRT when I felt sudden cramping of the stomach. I could feel myself blacking out but luckily I was already reaching my destination so I quickly alighted and rested on the bench at the platform. Took me around 15 mins to recover. And this is one of the reasons why I take cabs to and fro workplace - cost me a bomb every month.

Shann : I also experience smelling certain food makes me very nausous... n got to get out of the scent zone ... (especially the fried chicken - my hubby's favourite n he cant have it)

Taiwan indeed is a nice place to shop n eat n relax !

I am also going to taiwan on tour package with my family on the 12 jan.

I am now worry if i can have a happy trip cos my morning sickness is getting bad.. vomit abt once to twice a day....

got to take medicine from gyane before i go..

xbeanniex,

Its a device which you can wear from week 18 onwards. It will project a sound similar to that of a heartbeat but slightly different. So the bb will hear the mommy’s heart beat with this sound concurrently. It will train the bb’s brain to differentiate the different sound and hence train the brain to develop better. Its say that bb who used this will be more alert and calm after birth. Can read the review at http://www.babysingapore.com/babyplus.html

Jo_Lyn,

I have experienced exactly the same thing as you twice when I was taking the train, only if I am standing.

I will feel breathless, start to see stars (as if not enough blood flow) and feel like fainting.

Then I start to break out in cold sweat.

During the second occasion, I alighted halfway through and rested at the MRT station for 10 minutes before I continued with my journey.

Not sure why this happened too.

I cannot stand the smell of fried onion/fried beehoon! It makes me sick…

By the way I have not started buying maternity clothes yet, I only buy flare dresses to work.

But my bust has gone up by a cup and I have been spending a lot on new bras.

Noknok: Welcome back!! Hope you enjoy your trip. Oh.. tomorrow I am going to do the OSCAR test. Dr Fong in a way manage to convince me to do it. Actually only wanted to do the NT scan then the nurse also manage to convince me to do the blood test. Hope everything will be well.

Jo_Lyn: I think I only experience once like how you feeling. But that was while I was shopping for Christmas gifts. Maybe your blood pressure is quite low that day.

So envious of those who gets to travel. I hoped to travel too... but now like still quite unstable.. maybe i will wait a little longer to go for a trip. But cannot eat roadside food like totally not fun liao cause i love to eat.

Sweetkiss : Where you buy ur flare dresses? As I m quite petite in size - especially standing next to my hubby - Maternity clothing i m not ready to buy them yet...

I m left with a few dresses able to wear to work daily le... had been repeating the same dressing... sob sob ...