(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

ya its minibean, she know it at 11.5 weeks through a normal scan i suppose. think bb is very eager to show his mummy his gender.

Minibean, did you go for OSCAR or only triple test?

Sun_tan, I had hoped so too during my Oscar scan but the sonographer said too early. A little disappointed because I'm a sort of person who cannot stand suspense.

Cheuk Ling, the links are abt bfg info and bfg places and oso on bb's weaning food n other stuff, i find it quite useful, so tot jus wanna share.

i did request to b added on the list, but i think i was skipped, its ok. my edd is 31jul...

jasmine, i dun hv any help currently cos im a SAHM. din hv help during my confinement with #1 too.

Dun think will engaged any help aft #2...but still early, so will see how then...if really cant managed then see lor..but my hb insist we engaged my sil's CL.

my boy will wiggle alot wen he's not in the stroller now. so nowadays, i dun carry him much wen we are out. but in another 3-4mths, wen he start to walk then i think my head will be 3times the size liao...lol...

hi phy, congrats ya...hope the prediction for both of us is true man...

i still wish to hv a #3, cos then it can be a surpise with the gender...

ya, i am hoping that i can see mine next week too so that i can start sourcing for baby's stuff. I am going to TMC for the scan.

Hi Pink, do you fix appt at TMC for the scan? If yours is walk in to q, be prepared to wait for a long time. I waited for around 2 hrs for my turn. Good luck!

springleaf: my baby was in the right position so we could confirm his gender at such early weeks! In fact, my 1st one is a boy too and we confirmed his gender at week 12 as well. I think we are lucky to get a good gynae and also the babies re co-operative enough! Haha

bbmermaid: how i wish that link you provided for gender prediction is true! It failed me twice on my first child and now as well, LOL so i learn to take that with a pinch of salt.

geri: i will be gg for the triple test next appointment in Jan with gynae.

ecym: pls update my gynae to Dr KH Chan, GlenE.

Just wondering for all, is this pregnancy planned or by accident? I wonder who uses the different methods to try to get a baby girl or baby boy and if it worked?

minibean, huh...really...ya, if only the prediction is true hor...

if mine is a girl, then she's booked by my cousin to be her god-daughter...cos she had 3boys n no girls...

how old is ur #1?

bbmermaid: 1st one is 21 months now. so 2nd baby and 1st baby age gap would be about 2 years 3-4 mths diff. Now my 1st one so clingy, keep wanting me to carry! sigh

ya to add on, male sperm swim faster but they have shorter life span ( ~2-3days) so if you concieve when you just ovulate, male sperm have advantage and you most likely have a boy. The pH of the path to fertilization also matters, female sperm prefers acidic environment. It is said that the food you eat can affect the pH to a certain extend.

Actually wanna ask you mommies, recently i notice there is a smell to my pee..not the usual smell..not sure how to describe. Any mommies have this problem too?

Hi all July Mummies

I would like to join in the thread and my pregnancy details are below:

1st BB @ 12 weeks and measuring 5.7mm

EDD: 13 July 2010

Delivering @ KKH

Gynae: Dr K T Tan

Did my OSCAR scan today, was told by the counsellor (Doc who interpreted blood test and scan results) that results was slightly not satisfactory as Nuchal Translucency is 2.4 mm (slightly higher than norm) and was advised to go for BB's cardiac scan (heartbeat scan) in 3 weeks time.

Am quite confused as sonographer did a thorough check on bb's blood flow and heartbeat after getting 2.4 mm for Nuchal translucency, BB's nasal bone is very obvious and was told that risk is low. Will still go for the cardiac scan just to be very sure lor which means need to spend more $$$.

Jo_lyn, my appt has been fixed so i hope the waiting time won't be that long. I hate to waste time waiting...

sun_tan, i read from somewhere that it is normal that some women will encounter pee with weird smell during pregnancy. So need not have to worry too much.

For myself, i encountered some changes too like my skin and hair becoming more oily and more prone to acne. Most worrying is my chest become quite hairy. Heard that it is due to hormones change and partly also due to the supplements we took. Hope it will get away after delivery.

Pink,

Icic, ok that makes me a bit more relieve [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but will continue to drink lots of water. My oscar is at NUH on the 6th. Hopefully no need to wait for too long too. Heard that we need to have a full bladder before the scan. Just hope that i can hold my pee! :p

Pink, gd luck to u! Hope u dont have to wait very long. Remember to tell ur baby to face up ok? heehee...

I got back my Oscar result and was told it was low risk. So happy!!!

Springleaf,

Huh, halfway through? You mean scan halfway then was asked to empty then come back again to continue the scan? Tot suppose to have a full bladder so that its easier to scan. Btw, how much did u pay for the oscar test? Forgot to ask Dr Yam the other day.

Sun_tan,

Yes, halfway through scan, the sonographer could see that my bladder was full so asked me to go and empty first, then come back to continue. I paid $214.00 in all.

Jo_Lyn, see.. Good results! Happy for u. I'm now in KKH scaning my bb's heart... Haiz, still crossing fingers. I hope I could embark yr 2010 w happy news.

hi ladies, for the oscar test.. i asked the nurse if i need to have full bladder, she said no need.. i didnt went in with full bladder.

Hi MTBs,

BN NUK Microwave Steam Steriliser for sale at $50.

Interested, email me at [email protected].

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3443695.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3443696.jpg]

Oh, so i guess no need to hold pee afterall [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] goody.

Yup, Happy New Year to all mummies. Hope that the next year would be a better year and smooth pregnancy with healthy bb for all!

Happy New Year and have a wonderful year ahead!

There is really a lot of mummies giving birth in this thread.. Good Luck to all!

hi rommie, congrats....and welcome to the thread.

i'm with kkh too. are u with the private suite?

wen i was expecting #1, i was oso considered at the slightly high risk side, wen they had my blood test results, cos they compared my age and the risk level.

i went thru the NT test and it was normal. but because of the blood test, they called me back again to do the bb's heartbeat scan the very next day. it was FOC. and my bb was normal.

so, i'm sure ur bb will be fine too ya...dun wori too much....

pinky, i koe wat u mean abt the hormones changes...everything will b back to normal aft delivery, but it will take awhile lor. i started to SHED alot of hair frm the 4th mth aft delivery! wen i mean SHED, its really alot lor. i think i had recending hairline man....but abt 3mths later, it start to grow back liao. wat a relief...

I think I am going to be down with flu.. keeping my fingers cross.

But still I would like to wish all mummies.. Happy New Year and may all your wishes come true for the new year.

bbmermaid, thanks for the assurance. Really hope all those "side effects" will be minimal.

Happy new year to all MTBs... May it be a great year for all of us here... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy New Year to all mummies!

May the year 2010 bring all of us more joy, prosperity and good health for us and our babies!

Enjoy the holidays!

Happy New Year to all mummies

May all babies and mummies be blessed with good health[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbmermaid: Thanks for sharing and yup I am with the Private suite... will be going for bb's heartbeat scan on 21st Jan and I hope my bb is fine.

I bought the BabyPlus set in May 2009 and would like to sell it away as my BB is due soon...

bought it from supplier at $288 and willing to sell it away at $200 as it is still within warranty and comes with the full original box..

Pls email me at [email protected] if interested.

Happie New Year to all MTBs!

I've a question re: sarongs for sleeping and baby cots. My MIL "suggested" a sarong for baby sleeping but my mum says that would cause the baby to develop an over-reliance on the bouncy movement of the sarong to fall asleep. Next time, can't fall asleep unless got sarong.

What are your views on this? I personally don't like the idea of a sarong.

I don't like sarong too. I don't want my baby to need to rely on the bouncy movement to sleep. I thought that is not right.

I had nearly given in to sarong when my #1 was a baby as she needed me to carry her to sleep all the time. It was very tiring for me. I have pressure from my mil, mom, aunt and hubby to use sarong then. But I was stubborn.

Me too!

I try very hard not to use sarong for my ger, but end up i give in cos when she was bb, she having fever, she want to be carry, this cause her fever keep on went up, end up i let my parent to install the sarong. After she recover, I try not to let her sleep in the sarong too often. So till now occassionally, she still sleep in sarong specially when she is super cranky, 想睡又不舍得睡.

I think as long as we don shake too hard, it wouldn't be a problem, I always use little strength to shake.