(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Yes Miss Shann .. Worried he is growing bigger and bigger even with my special diet care.

1st son - 3.75kg , 40 weeks baby( BB face up while delivering, shoulder of bb hard to come out)

2nd son - 3.45kg , 38 weeks baby ( 3 pushed out he goes )

3rd one i hope he is smaller than 3kg .. But i think that is a fat hope ...

Thanks jellypurin and sweetkiss!

jellypurin,

What you meant by only using desitin when necessary? Isnt it for us to apply on bb after bath?

sun_tan: I remember Mrs Wong said in class b4 that we do not need to apply on bb everytime after their bath. Try only apply when bb got the diaper rash. Cos she mention if the bb no rash and we keep applying, eventually the bb skin get use to the cream and when he really got rashes, the cream will have no effect on the bb skin already..

But i see all my friends apply on their bb after their bath everyday... So wonder if we shld do that too..

sun_tan: yaya, for the nappy rash. Liquid bb powder can apply everyday. That is actually our normal body powder just that in liquid form. So is ok to apply everyday. The purpose of not using powder is cos they say the powder will go into bb nose.

Siti, yup, my bb is 1.5kg at 30+ weeks. He was 1.1kg at 27+ weeks. My gynae said that it is within the normal range. I don't think yours is too big at 28 weeks...as long as your gynae didn't say anything, don't worry! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Serene: My hubby just tried to pat baby again this morning. No respond from BB. He got abit upset and decided to rub my tummy in circular motion and said "Whirpool" to BB. I quickly stop him and say later contraction then u know. Then hubby say "who ask him to ignore me".. wah lao.. like kid like that.

Siti: I think your BB size still ok. Mine already 1.366kg at 27.5 weeks lei.

Sun_tan:

1) Bottle detergent - Pigeon

2) Clothes detergent - Pureen ABD

3) Diapers - MamyPoko

4) Pacifier - Have not bought yet so not sure.

5) Bb cream - Desitin Creamy

Coconut Juice: I just drank it today. Damn shiok ah.

Geri - yeah...same timing as urs...coz i change it frm sat to sun..bt e instructor juz told me to come on sunday at Thomson 4-6...den didnt tell me that there is no classes today... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but lucky i dnt go down if nt wasted trip..maybe Monday i will call up Parent craft to double confirm... thanks alot...

hello mummies!

wah this parent craft likes to change people scheduled classes last minute huh? coz if i sign up for it i can only do friday, n if they like to jumble up d days then i dnt think its convenient leh..

is it the same thing happening at d one in AMK Hub classes?

Sun_tan:

1) Bottle detergent - Tollyjoy & Pigeon

2) Clothes detergent - Haven't buy

3) Diapers - Haven't buy

4) Pacifier - Avent the one no design with alot hole

5) Bb cream - Desitin Creamy

sun_tan

2) Clothes detergent - komodo

Comments: Used that for a few rounds of hand washing. Not too soapy and after some handwashes, it didnt dry my skin like normal detergents. What i do is.. 1st round its with detergent, 2nd round i add a little softener and 3 round is clean water.

3) Diapers - Nepia

Comments: i share with my friend.. she has been using that for her #1 since newborn.. she told me that dun get too big thinking that bb will outgrow, otherwise, it will leak. get something that will fit bb just nice. So i am getting 2 pkts to stand by and see how bb's skin reacts to the diaper

4) Pacifier - Nuk

Comments: Nuk brand is recommended for bf-ing babies as it shapes like a mother's nipple and bb will not get confused with nipples and teats

5) Bb cream? - Desitin

Comments: get the blue box from drug store which is much cheaper. but if u cannot wait for the shipment to come in, u can try getting them at people's park

Jo_Lyn -- totally agree on the diaper cream. dun apply if not necessary. remember, proper cleaning at their genital area is more efficient than cream. change diapers frequently and not wait till its soaked.. For bb girls.. wipe from front to back. and keep their folded skin on the sides dry.

Ann -- this morning hubby played with her a bit.. and he kicked him.. after many nights of bonding with her, i think she is getting used to hubby's voice and touch.. and i think hubby feel a sense of satisfaction as i saw him smiling to himself whenever bb responded to him.. keke..

Over the weekend, my hubby and me decided to have a stock take of our baby items.. Hehee..

We found that we only have a few milk bottles, 5 booties, 5 mittens, and lots and lots of baby clothes.. *Panic* Hahah! Coz we didnt buy alot of the big items! So we headed down to the baby expo and bought some stuff!

1) Sterilizer cum Food Warmer and Milk Bottle Warmer from Pigeon at $159 (with 2 normal milk Bottles, and 4 BPA milk bottles)

2) Disposable Breast Pad x 2 at $16.90

3) Pigeon breast pump at $207

4) Baby pillow, bolster and mattress

5) Huggies NB diapers x 4 pack (I think I must be mad, each pack is 24pcs)

My gynae asked us to prepare the hospital bag and show her during our next visit.. Hahah! Gotta start pack now! Now in my 30th week! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm.. I also dunno why she need to check my bag leh.. Majiam like back to school when my teacher check my bag.. LOL!

By the way, my appetite getting smaller, but I feel that my tummy is getting tighter and tighter.. as if like going to burst anytime! Dont like the feeling at all.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Also tummy gets very itchy these days, so scared that I will see stretch mark soon!

re: hospital bag

hmm, i am not really going to pack my hospital bag leh... the last time i packed for my #1, i realised that i bring too many things...incld bb's... this time i round, all i will prepare is documents, my breastpump, 1 set of clothing for myself first and he rest will ask hubby to bring when i need.

me got lazy for #2 liao...

oops then i think i need to go buy some already haha! I only have 4 from when i bought the pigeon sterilizer. OHhh I think medela gave 2 as well when I bought breast pump.

But they are small bottles not the big ones...

Agree with Jellypurin hospital bag dont need to be tooo bulky, lucky your hubby still can help around, my hubby already tell me pack all stuff cause he will not go home find for me the items i missed out:

1 set of baby going home clothing

1 baby wrap or swaddle

Mittens and Botties

Put Set A in a ziplog bag

For Mummies

1 set of clothing

Few Breastpad

Maternity Bras

Disposal Panties

10 pieces of heavy flow pad Whisper brand ( Hospital ones got string i dont like it)

Small bottle of Vigina Wash ( Normal Delivery)

Shampoo and Bath soap, tooth brush & paste, comb( Hospital will give, but not branded ones so if like can bring own favourite ones)

Put set B in a ziplock bag

Walla Ready to go now ..

serene,

Wah, must wash so many rounds? As for pacifier, i was thinking of getting NUK too, but whether to get silicon or rubber ones, then i am not too sure. As for bb cream, "blue box" is a brand?

Jellypurin,

Haa, i just ordered my breastpump from an online spree..still need to figure out how to use it when it comes.

min,

Wow 30th weeks is really very early considering i havent even finish preparing all the stuffs for bb (home use).

Think for hospital bag, the most impt would be the documents and camera! The rest if forget to bring, can still ask hubby to go home to take.

Btw, we dun need to pack diapers for bb when gg to hospital right? The hospital will give us? Also i realised that there are a couple of items which we can get from the hospital. Being a KS mom, hehe, can i double check what else we can request:

1) formula milk

2) Glass bottles

3) nipple cream

Jaclyn depend on how the usage. If direct Latch breast feeding, you dont need any bottles.

More bottles also ok cause we can keep our expressed Breastmilk in the freezer using the bottles.

Depend on the size of the sterlizer also. We can only sterlize few bottles at one time, so buying the bottles must consider the space needed to keep them.

SUn Tan - PJ clothing, i tink hospital got borrow you while you in the hospital.

KKH got maternity cloting just for mums that deliver the baby. Side like apron than can open and breastfeed.

I not sure other hospital got or not.

so small bottles r ok right? Do babies drink more than the small bottles? Or is that like when they are few months old already.

I dont mind buying more small bottles and storing breastmilk in them!

sun_tan

u order the freestyle? me too. just ordered. am gng back to work after 12 weeks so will need a light and good pump.

jaclyn

agreed with siti if u r going to latch bb direct, then no need so many bottles. bcos i am not, i stand by many bottle already.

Siti,

Oh..i think Mt A they wont provide.

Jaclyn,

I think for the 1st 3 mths can use the smaller size bottles bah, cos each feed shouldnt be alot. But when they grow older, need bigger sizes one.

Jellypurin,

Yup! I ordered from Tan Leng Leng last week. You order from her too? What brand bottles did you get to store the breastmilk? Do you know what other brands bottles will fit the freestyle pump?

Actually is it better to use bottles to store the breastmilk or is it better to use milk bags?

minmin: best way is to put into the fridge department first for few hours, then heat it up either by milk bottle warmer, or using hot water in a bowl/pot/etc. Don't put microwave, and dont boil it :eek:

jelly,siti,sun_tan: Thanks!

Wahh our EDD getting closer n closer. Baby's movements oso getting more n more obvious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies, sorry to disturb, i wanna sell my Medela PIS Advanced (Backpack), bought last year mar09 fm Gleneagles at $750 now letting go $350.

As for whatu can request from hospital, from my experience at Gleneagles, they dontgive milk powder samples nor glass bottles. so i bought my own medela bottles and unfortunately i didnt know i should bring nipple cream and its Absolutely Necessary! it takes a while for the nipple skin to get used to the strong baby's sucking so bring 1 tube,it's a lifesaver [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and comparing both Lansinoh and Medela which i've tried, Medela is still way way better coz its thicker. Just buy the bigger 37g tube, it will last a long long time.

as for thawing frozen milkbag of breastmilk, you can soak in a plate of tap water, it will thaw in 4-5 mins, then transfer into milkbottle, warm up with normal bottle warmer or cup of hot water and serve.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3927168.jpg]

Oh.. Okie, then i can use the milk bottle warmer to heat it up. Thanks Jaclyn!

Oh yah, I heard that once we thaw the breast milk, we are not supposed to re-freeze them again right? So each time, maybe freeze breast milk in smaller bottle better.

sun_tan -- diapers hospital will provide. leftovers will be taken home.. use hospital ones.. u paid for it wor..

Desitin Blue Box - http://www.desitin.com/ its the pic on ur left that says "Rapid relief"

minmin -- from tmc webby:

4) How do I store expressed breast milk?

You can store expressed breast milk under the following conditions:

* 4 hrs at room temperature; about 25 0C

* 48 hrs in a fridge; about 4 0C

* 2 – 6 mths in a two-door freezer

* 6 mths to 1 yr in deep chest freezer; -20 0C

You should not refreeze thawed breast milk, nor microwave or boil expressed breast milk. Suggested methods of thawing include:

* Thaw in a jug of warm water –use within 1 hour; discard leftover

* Thaw in a jug of cold water- pour out the amount needed; put the remainder back into fridge which should be used within 24 hours; discard leftover

* Thaw in the fridge; should be used within 48 hrs; discard left over

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/maternity_faq.htm

Serene: Some of these BP, are you weary if they are original products? I know all the carters bb clothes that are being sold in BPs are all fakes.. clothes nvm, but products like milk bags i abit scared.

Jaclyn -- i will spree with those with pictures.. and those who have a good response and return customers. As for clothes, i dun really go for the brand, so i jus buy whatever i think its cute.. keke.. but i bought most of my bb clothes from babymall cause i bought from them before and their quality is GOOD..

normally i will monitor the response from the customers before i purchase from them... and i dun buy those pricy goods from BPs.. i rather spend a bit more and buy from stores or trusted online stores...

as for the storage bags, the seller is a returned seller in SMH after doing some "homework", then she got quite a few return customers.. so i decided to buy.. keke..

oh jaclyn, i missed out the carters part.. actually hor.. some are not fakes.. some are defect items.. maybe tag is sewn on the wrong side or some defects.. overall quality and stuff is still the same..

what i understand is that.. in SMH spree, they do not allow sales of non-authentic items, no spree on branded goods except for certain brands.

Actually cos i saw carters in USA, the price is not really cheap at all but the quality are very good. I have one baby romper frm carters USA, and a few bought from sprees here... the difference in quality, really can tell ! ! If have chance in outing i can bring to show hee. But the price difference is alot also. The sprees here really cheap !

For clothes i guess no need to be so fussy unless quality is really very bad. But other things i abit scared ha ha!

Yes i also bought stuff from babymall but i haven't received them as I sent to my friend in US whos only coming back nx month. The stuff also not very expesnive... they have alot of clearance sale =D

Jaclyn -- ya.. i love babymall.. haha.. i just bought them from a pre order spree.. i also previously bought from them when i had my #1.. my hubby also like them..

for the other things other than clothes, i try not to exceed $30 per purchase if its my first time buying from the seller..

i will normally buy stuff from overseas sprees (pre order).. so we purchase directly from the website... plus i also got friends doing such sprees.. so i know they wont cheat me.. lol..

like example.. drug store or babymall.. those overseas sprees, normally they organise is because they are looking for pple to share the shipping cost and they dun earn much from it except for the handling (per item) fee lor.. but if im spreeing with my friend, then she will normally waive the handling fee for me and we jus share the shipping..

keke... so far... (touch wood)... so good... i avoid brands that can easily be a replica.. like.. polo ralph, coach, burberry.. for such brands, i rather spend more and buy from stores or tom pang friend when they go overseas.. keke..

Hi all! I havent log on for a couple of days le! I'm in my 30th week!Since I'm opting for c-section.. so it should be abt 8 more weeks for me! Am still home alone coz hubby still not back.. and think he hasnt settle his june outstation schedule[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And we havent settle our maid issues! I'm getting more n more panicky! I really feel so much heavier n bigger juz these couple of days! walk a bit will get very very tired n breathless. No more exercise or slow walk for me le! appetite still good. Losing sleep every night.. and yes.. constipated!

Serene : I followed yr advise n bought prune juice. I drank a whole bottle at one go.. then got poo a bit. think i ve to go buy more le.

ya i'm also wondering if storage bags or bottles are better. I havent bought any.

Can anyone share what documents are needed for hosp bag? I intend to pack soon... and hopefully i'll get down to doing it soon! very lazy!

I decided to try the various maternity pads/ heavy-flow pad.. so bought one of each of the following :

- kotex maternity pad adhesive kind

- softy night comfort 41 cm

- softy night comfort 35 cm

Will try and see which is most comfortable then will ask hubby to help me get more during my confinement ba

AtomicKitten

Normally i drink 1 bottle before i sleep, next morning when i wake up, i will go poo liao... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pads: i got the sofy night comfort 41cm de.. last confinement i also use that thruout..

For Admission Purposes:

* identity card of yourself and your spouse

* hospital admission form

* letter from gynae

* your written birth plan (signed/acknowledged by your own doctor), if you have one. You will need this to remind the nurses and doctors of what you want and not want for the labour

* marriage certificate

* birth registration fee of $33

* your bank book / bank statement (so you can submit baby bonus forms during your child’s birth registration as well)

http://www.stubbornsnails.com/whattobring.htm

oh! not forgetting the bills of ur gynae check ups to claim medisave.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i get a duplicate copy from the clinic so i no need to find and find.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi serene : must bring marriage cert ah. photocopied one can? child's birth registration is done b4 discharge? omg.. dunno if we'll be able to confirm bb's name by then or not! so many things to discusss with hubby but he's alwaz not around!! sighhhhhh

Atomickitten

if I m not wrong, there is a grace period to register the name of our bb. Can't remember the number of days but definitely dun need to be within the 3 days tat we r there.

hi serene: thanx for all the info!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My marriage cert n receipts n all are filed n kept at an overhead shelf. Unless i stand on a chair else i cannot reach... so frustrating... so many things to be done but feel so inadequate!then whenever i prepare a to-do list to remind myself so that i can get things done when my hubby is back.. he not happy sighhhhh