(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Dear Mum-To-Bes, I'm a Jan 09 mum. Like to share an upcoming event on Breastfeeding. It's free admission as it is organised on volunteery basis. You can PM me for more queries or arrange to meet this Sat.

Calling all expecting mothers and young parents!

The Parent-Support-Parent (PSP), a parenting network initiated by a few CHC mothers, is organizing a Breastfeeding Talk this weekend. This meeting is not limited to CHC members but open to all.

Details of this event are as follows:

Topic: Best Feed Forward

Speaker: Dr Lena Goh (Vice President, Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group)

Date: March 13, 2010 (Saturday)

Time: 3 p.m.

Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 1, Conference Room 4

* What is most natural and perfect for both baby and mother?

* What is the most economical & environment-friendly milk for baby?

* What lays the foundation for deep and secure bonding between mother and child that will last a lifetime?

This session is conducted free-of-charge and serves to educate parents on how to achieve the best nutritional source and emotional bonding for their precious child that will give him/her a headstart in life. The whats, whys and hows of breastfeeding will be addressed and there will also be trained BMSG counselors available after the talk for consultation.

Kidz@Play will be opened for those who are bringing children aged 3 – 9 years old.

Please register via http://www.chc.org.sg/psp/

For more information, you may email your enquires to [email protected]

Looking forward to seeing you there!

Yours sincerely,

The Parent-Support-Parent (PSP) Network

Wah.. thread is moving so fast today. Only away for the morning meeting and took me awhile to catch up on the thread.

Babyplus: I bought it yesterday and use it yesterday night. I lie on the sofa watching tv while using it. Kayden was quiet and then suddenly very active. At times, I think he tap once on every 3 counts of the beat. So funny. When hubby hear the sound coming from the babyplus.. he exclaimed "You mean that's the only thing it does? Giving out the tok tok sound?" Haha!!

mrslong: Why need to perform circumcision? Due to belief? Dun think me and hubby will be doing it at all.

Noknok: The talk this Saturday, i thought once u registered, the confirmation slip will be send to your email immediately. I received mine the moment I sign up for the event. Now that you reminded me, I have to go print the slip out. Using company resources. Haha!!

Ann>> cuz we believe it's more hygienic & less prone to infection. And it's better to have it done when they're newborn than when they r older cuz it's pretty painful, i heard.

DQ : how was your shopping at taka? managed to grab anything? My hubby went down today to find out more abt babyplus..he juz called n told me it's very crowded today compared to yesterday. Wondering if he will buy anything today or not. keep complaining spent a lot of $$ then he himself still go shop shop leh...heehee

DQ, sun_tan, how come cannot go on cruise if we're more than 24wks? i'm planning to go macau, is it ok to take ferry to hong kong? or also cannot?

went back to the taka baby fair, yes, it's definitely more crowded than yesterday. still can't decide what to buy. so end up didn't buy anything again.

mrslong: I see.. I don't think my hubby can stomach such thing so I dun think he will do it on his kid too. Hehe!!

Noknok: Then you better call the organizer to request for the email confirmation again. Maybe bounced mail or something.

BBcoco - think ferry should be ok.. cruise cannot get off as and when needed ba.. that's what I think.. din check abt their requirements.

Ann - emailed them and they replied w e confirmation slip le.. think they do manually.. that's why.

atomickitten: im backie from taka fair!

wah.. was so crowded!!! i went w my elder sis.

i bot nothing! was there to c c looklook only... cuz i when i was there.. i totally dunno where to start.

cuz all these ppl buy thgs like no need to tink one. juz GRAB n PAY!

my sis also same pattern.... cuz its lunchtime, i guess everyone was rushing...

i shd b gg down again w husby since the fair is till 28th mar.

i plan to go expo fair to c 1t b4 gg back to taka fair.

saw the bb plus.

the angmo was giving me a demo... TOKTOKTOK.... so funny!!

DQ, i was at the fair during lunch too. my hb even said, maybe one of these preg mummies is from your july message board, hee. i also didn't get anything. walk around a few times and gave up.

babycoco: hee... ya lor... mayb u all saw me.. i was so facinated by the VIDEO bb monitor lor... same booth as baby plus one!

damn cool... but super exp! 500+!!

husby sure kill me if i buy. -.-|||||

anyways, u joinin us for the gathering on 26th?

I think cos taka website put today as the first day of fair so alot of pple go down today instead of yesterday.

I also dunno what to grab. So I just start out with the clothings cos they so cute. Wanted to buy more sleeper suit but can't find lei.

Hi Jasline,

You dont accept private message, so I have replied my mobile number through my yahoo mail. Anything that I need to do now?

i'm also considering getting the video baby monitor, at least we can let bb sleep in room by herself, and we can go about doing other things in the house. i saw another brand at tangs, i think $300+. dunno if it's still on sale though.

will love to join you guys for the gathering, but must see what time it is. i have to leave for airport around 11pm. so actually can still make it.

ann, usually taka fairs at atrium start on thursdays, that's why i was also surprised when i saw the bb fair already open yesterday. my office just opposite from taka, so i pass by taka everyday during lunch.

babycoco: im v amazed tat we can record the videos on dvd recorder!

n the display set was beautifully decorated w crystals~~

oh ya, im so scatter brained.. 4got u flying to SH for holi~

lately really cannot make it... this morning i 4got to apply shampoo while i was showering..

n tat day worse.... (hope no mtbs are eating when they read this..)

i was poopoo-ing in my office toilet. then i cant rem if i flushed.

i only recalled when i was washing my hands @ the basin.. then another lady rushed into the only empty cubicle which i juz stepped out.

too late... i cant go in to c if i rem to flush...

jialat rite??

but i tink i did flush lah.. cuz she nva flush rite aft she closed the door... so i assumed the toilet's clear.

but i still v paiseh.. quikly went out aft i washed my hands!

mrslong, i know jurong or sk got this malay doc who does it.. his like quite good.. u can google it.. normally done about 4-6mths

ecym - e one I saw at isetan that's only steriliser cost $126 after discount.

Anybody also looking for a freezer?? my fridge one not big enough... dunno whether to get chest freezer or uprite one or change fridge altogether.

DQ: I am eating lunch when reading your message but then not to disgusting la. Haha!!

Sometime i forget too.

DQ -- i jus now go out ma... went to AIA... suppose to go lavender book tix for genting trip next week. but hubby say tmr he will accompany me go... -.-'''

Gathering? When Where?

noknok -- i plan to get it at a later time. cause since i will be at home for maternity, i will latch bb on most of the time. so maybe getting it when bb is about 2-3m old.. jus a bar freezer will do le

Serene>> ok, tks. I'll also ask my gynae (if i remember) how to go abt doing it..cuz we want to get it done asap when the BB is born.

less "tramautizing", hehe.

noknok: im not getting a freezer.. cuz i stay w ILs. no space, n i dun wanna buy so many thgs to hog the kitchen. lol~

serene: our 1st gathering's on 26th March @ abt 7 V8 Bugis J!

toilet incident: really leh.. cant take it myself... for being so blur~ sigh

mrslong: is tat necessary to do?

actually do already got wat effects? means kukubird haf 1 layer less skin?

Serene - those bar one I saw are all bar fridge leh.. freezer component damn small.. like not enough like that.

Want to get it earlier so I can buy meat in bulk too.. hee.. then buy lock lock containers for BM

DQ -- oh.. wah.. must be a very big group! 26th shud be alright but i need to let u guys know again. Btw, no side effects, in fact, its better to do it now then when bb grows up. And because of lesser movement at the lower body, its easier to recover at ease. It helps to prevent germs from collecting at the foreskin and it will be more "clean"

DQ, wah the video monitor you saw at taka is definitely better than the 1 i saw at taka. are you getting it? not on sale right? maybe wait for the taka credit card discount. 10% also quite worth it.

DQ>> it's up to personal preferences. some parents chose to do it, while some dun (wanna let son grows up & decide for himself), etc.

yes, the xiaodidi will have one less excess skin. So if dun circumcise, hv to make sure it's clean well to prevent infection.

Serene>> tks for the link...wah, i didn't know circumcision is Medisave deductible too and for 1-3mths it's fully deductible.

DQ - think u search online for pic at home then you'll see the difference..dun search in office.. wait ppl think u watching porn... but whether is effective as in will prevent infection and stuff depends on ur belief as well.. cos I read articles that says as long as proper hygiene, no circumsized also won't get infections one. I know muslims do it for religious purpose.

noknok -- got the bar fridge size but whole thing is freezer de...

DQ -- haha.. when i had my boy, i planned to let him do liao. thats how i gotta know of that clinic.. now im having a girl, i alr check with my indian neighbour liao.. bb 6 mths old can pierce ear liao! haha... so i will do that when celeste is 6 mths old.

hee.. okok.. tonite i go home chk out lil boys' dicks!

lol~~~

i tink i chk w my husby on his view abt the procedure... sounds cleaner hor

noknok -- my hubby is supportive of that.. cause hor, we got a common friend.. and his foreskin is a bit more, so it starts to collect germs.. so the dr ask him to do it..

his like 30+ when he did it.. and he walk with his leg wide open in a sarong. watch tv also open leg.. and its like.. for 2 weeks!

since then, we decided to do it for our kids. but hor.. we have to explain to our boys that we had done this to them.. if not they go army and bathe together, they see, why so weird de... lol

Serene>> haha...but actually a lot of guys I know are circumcised, so dun think will feel weird in the army when bathing. hehee.

vivi>> thanks for the link. how much was it that time u did for your boy?

Noknok: Ya lo.. i no appetite lei.. dun feel like eating.. tummy bloated. So had a late lunch lo.

Bar fridge: Intending to get one too cos my frigde freezer no space liao. Quite small and pack. Hehe!!

serene - where where?? I go harvey norman, best, etc.. all bar fridge leh.. no bar freezer... then upright one is like $800+. The cheapest chest freezer I found is $288, 100 litres.

Want a big one then can store meat too.. cheaper to buy frozen one in bulk since my dogs also eat meat...

i spent abt 3k.

did it last yr.

got the $ back from insurance on the admission part.

As for the dr $, the insurance is still processing it.

In order to claim fully, has to stay in the hospital for 8 hrs. if not able to claim certain amt of $ via medisave.

you can check with the nurses. she will be able to advise u.