(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Jojo,

Then what u do with ur FBM?

Actually bb start solid won't skip a feed until maybe 8 mths or so.

Or u can give FBM on Monday so weekend u can joy full latching n pump once without having the need to stress on the amt.

Tue give the one u pump on mon.

Is also a way to decrease ur ss. But not so much.

I'm using the ear thermometer too.

I asked the doc before why there is difference in reading and he said it depend on the thickness inside their ear or something.

Ask pd if 37.5 consider fever for bb since ear thermometer not as accurate as armpit.

He said depends whether am I fussy or nt. Haha

For bb if 37.5 I'll take again after 30 mins - 1 hr.

If got increase I'll give medicine. If temp continue to increase above 38.5 I'll bring to pd the next day of not I'll continue to monitor.

Everytime #1 have fever, I'll give medicine and rotate with ibufen if over 38.5.

Often his fever will continue to shoot up unless I give ibufen n will come down for 3 hrs.

If continue for abt 3 days with cough n flu I'll go to the doc.

Sometimes cough will come first n running nose after I few days so if I go the doc I make sure I hot all the medicine I need.

If no cough or running nose I'll wait for 5 days. If still high fever I'll go pd n get antibiotics Liao.

For kids, fever is standard panadol and ibufen for 6 mos n above. Polyclinic, GP, PD all give the same medicine. So I go guardian n standby my own med. N I standby suppository for super high fever. Sponge him every hr is very important.

Normally his fever is viral fever. Only once is bronchitis which he is coughing badly. So with cough n running nose I'll go to doc earlier.

Can I still join in the Xmas celebration? Hope I'm not too late to sign up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'll be coming with my bb and hubby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re ear thermometer

I heard also arm pit is e best! But I have two forehead scans one.. Thermoscan.. That time used for SaRs period then now I use these two to dbl check for readings.. Still quite ok.. I Thot Braun ear thermometers not bad too!

Jenn/ sparkle

Will our bm b nt enuff to last till 9 mths huh? I've been using my frozen stash to keep up w his increased intake.. Used to have maybe abt 60++ packs, nw less than 10!

Dot

$16 Transferred! Thanks!

Hope

My guess is you're not pumping/ producing enough milk. I hardly freeze my milk cos I pump > 1 litre a day so I have enough for baby. Actually got extra for #1 as well. I only freeze when baby is sick and doesn't wanna drink.

Jenn I think not producing enuff bah.. Cos it's quite a direct proportion game for me lei.. If 3 hr interval 150ml, then 6 hr interval abt 300ml.. So being lazy.. I jus 6 hrly lo...

Bizzymum

Or if can, Mayb u call me n I give e details u need nw over ph.. Sry I dun haf ur no to cal u

I dun hv your mobile no. Anyway, hv booked for u, will pm u when I reach home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bliss, my fbm as std-by.. if never use, aft awhile i give away.. got 2 mummies collecting fr me regularly.. weekend i still latching fully.. oh wun skip feed till 8 mths? then mayb i cont wat im doing for another 2-3 mths then decrease ss ba.. wana give bb fresh ebm as much as possible if i can provide..

when u take bb temp, u take 1 reading onli? or take afew? i always take at least twice each ear.. haha.. bt all readings diff! lol..temp 37.5 u monitor again bt do u give fever med immediately? i giving him dhamol when 37.5 and above.. smetimes even at 37,5, his whole head, palm and soles all feel quite warm, so i'll get worried..

mummies,when bb drool, the saliva will cause rashes? my bb getting rashes ard his mouth.. bt aft a few hrs they're gone..

Bliss, I manual pump this morning n get my usual 190ml in less than 10mins. Avent manual is really power. But when I use electric pump, I have one free hand to surf iPhone. Heehee...

Jojo, ya single electric bundle is $235. Cheap hor. But now i dare not use the new electric pump cos I scared I'll spoil it again.

Thermometer

which brand of armpit thermometer is good to get? I only have an oto ear thermometer which I got as a freebie.

My boy has been so naughty. Always refuse to sit in stroller, car seat. N his most hated is the changing tray. We wonder if there are any pricks or needles! I want to smack his backside!

bliss, on weekdays i cant match any of her feeding times leh. so i couldnt latch her at all. a bit sad.

lucky she dun reject latching on on weekends.

Jojo,

Giving a solid can't replace a milk feed. Is better for bb to drink more milk for the first year. After the first year their milk intake will drop.

Yes I take a few times too.

If bb 37.5 I'll take again 30-1hr. If got increase I'll give medicine.

Mothers always got maternal instinct. U will know it when u need to give it. But fever dun have to be so worry unless is very high fever above 38.5 and bb looks tired and sleepy etc.

Mild fever like 37.5 can be just body temp increase due to teething etc..

U need to wipe the saliva with hankie. Try to wipe his faxe with wet hankie every few hrs. My mom say such rashes will spread if we dun keep bb clean.

Xiaoxin,

Yes manual pump very good! But why need 2 hands? But then is only 5-10 mins mah... Unless u are pumping 20 mins surely need iPhone. Haha!

Any brand like pigeon kind of armpit thermometer is good enough.

Sparkle,

Weekdays u don't have to match any of her feeding. Bfing is not abt feeding only. Anytime after dinner just bring baby somewhere quiet and nurse bb. Be it comfort latch or real sucking, is a bonding time between both of you. Routine shouldn't get in way with latching. Bb nowadays very funny, out Of a sudden they can reject breast for no reasons. So maybe before u realise your bb decided to self wean since there is a bottle as alternative. So continue to latch on everyday even is for comfort latch.

morning mummies.. so many post to catch up. will update the xmas list later..

dot, need my help to make a note on those who paid, in the list?

sparkle, jenn, jia you.. both of you made it to 6 mths! i still got 2 more weeks to go.. my friend was encouraging me.. she want to BF for 1 yr. she say just tell herself, another mth and another mth gone.. very fast will reach 1 yr.. hehehe..

abt soilds,

i want to ask how long does bb learn to take soilds successfully? we started my bb on soilds for 1 week liao. i only add 2 spoons of cereal and fed my bb 1 hr after milk feed. she just takes a few mouth then will fuss liao. at my mil's house also the same thing. she only prepare 1 spoon for bb. does this means bb is not ready yet?

Thanks Rabbit for including me.

Will TT the money to the OCBC account. Please add 2 adults + 1 baby to the list, I would like to bring my mum there. Do I need to pay additional or remain as $16/family?

Regret that I am not able to contribute as I do not have toys for the little rascal except teethers. However, if I can assist in any other way, please let me know. Still trying to browse thru the archives to keep abreast of the discussion...

Rabbit: Yes please!

Amoroux: $16 per family, but we welcome any donations to help offset some of the other costs! (especially if more mummies pull out) :p But 2A 1BB still ok lah.

My post getting longer and long.. hehe..

**** Xmas Party Attendants as on 29th Nov, 9.30am ***

1) Jenn with #1, #2 & maid (Transferred)

2) Rabbit & bb

3) Agnes & bb

4) Jolene with #1, #2 & hubby or mum

5) Natelie & bb

6) Raleigh & bb

7) Jolynn Teo with bb & hubby

8) Zoie & bb

9) Sheryl with #1, #2 & hubby or maid

10) Julie with #1, #2 & hubby

11) Jocelyn with bb & mum

12) Chiou Fong with #1, #2, #3 & hubby

13) Cindy Guo & bb

14) Irene ong & bb

15) Cath Lim with #1, #2 & hubby

16) Lisa Logam Tan with hubby & bb

17) Jeannie Ng & bb

18) Barbara Lok with #1, #2, #3, #4

19) Bliss with #1, #2 & Mom

20) Doo Lee & bb

21) Elise Chow with bb & hubby

22) Grace Thio with bb & hubby

23) Amy with bb & hubby

24) Kathleen Lee with #1 & #2

25) Ang hui jia & bb

26) Mei Keen & bb

27) Vanessa Wong with bb & hubby or maid

28) Joelle with bb & hubby

29) Heng Shi Ling with #1, #2 & hubby

30) Kerry Leow with bb & hubby

31) Neo pei pei with #1, #2 & hubby

32) Cynthia Lee with #1, #2 & maid

33) Cheralyn Chew with bb & hubby (TBC)

Please inform, if you are bring spouse, maid or additional kids.

we are limiting to 35 mummies.

Let me know if i am missing out any information thanks.

Please transfer the $16 (Per Family) to:

OCBC 508-822012-001

The first three numbers (508) is the branch number(fyi).

jojo,

my bb fever come suddenly & went away last thurs. after that had fake measles, something like little flat red dots all over his body, hands, feet & face. on sat full blown, now slowly disppearing liao.

when i had #1, i was so panicky when he has fever. so afraid that he will be affected from the fever. now not so scared but still worried lah. anyway, your bb better liao ma?

so far, my bb drool dun hv rashes leh. maybe when your bb drool, didn't clean up properly after that? that's why rashes?

xiao xiin bb/genice,

speedy recovery!

xiao xiin,

avent manual ok leh, i still can play iphone with my other free hand. i can also pump while playing laptop, haha. of cuz my angle will be funny lah.

wah now you hand express shifu! 120ml in 15mins!

Jojo,

the saliva will cause rashes if didnt wipe clean. that time my boy got rashes and it spreads. thus, need to clean the mouth aread loh.

Thermometer

i hv barun ear thermometer. usually i will take a few readings to chk coz i find it's not so accurate from ear. i find hard to take temperature from armpits as my boy will struggle and hv to wait a bit longer time to hear the 'beep' sound.

Thanks bliss! Will go get the armpit thermometer. The avent manual suction is so powerful that I only press halfway down. Pain sia. I use two hands bcos I need to compress n hold the pump as well. I also keep switching hands bcos hand sng sng. If using electric, I only C compress every now n then. I open the new pump this morning. After pumping I tried to use my old pumphead. N hey! It's working quite normally! Just that the suction is a bit weaker. Siao ding dong one. The care centre staff was so sure that my pumphead is spoilt somemore. How often do we need to replace the diaphragm n the valve? I find the suction so much more powerful after I replace the parts.

Missbluey, not shifu la. Handexpress is only easy when my nn r very full. The sa sa sa sound is really shiok. But avent

manual is still more efficient for me.

Genice n hopecg, my bb got more n more spots everyday since last thur, although overall quantity still consider little. Going to bring him to pd tonight. Hopefully pd's eyes r more powerful than GP's eyes.

Sparkle

I used to think I got a lot of Ss.. But nw nt so lei! Sian keep dipping into reserves!! Those fenugreek will increase ss but is e milk e same huh? As in like got additional stuff w fenugreek?

Cherish

Braun ear thermometer also got diff types right? Heard only one model is gd.. Fren use it for her 3 kids

Xiaoxiin

Oh no.. Then hw?? I think Pd more powerful cos specialized! Dun worry k!! Xiao bb will turn out healthier aft this! That's wad my frenz told me when Jojo fell ill.. Heh! But he has since started his monthly regime of gg for Chinese massage.. For health sake lo

bliss, i tink i ganchiong spider, haha.. everytime bb temp 37.5 nia i panick le.. worry he'll get worse.. so i give fever med.. haha..

my bb keeps drooling/biting his hands and rubbing his cheeks.. so even if i clean, awhile later got saliva again.. so i din clean.. >.< haha ok will try to clean every hr nw..

bluey, my bb so far so good.. last wed fever was once off.. keeping my fingers crossed he'll be fine then perhaps this wkend can bring him for his 4th mth jab, which has been delayed for more than a mth already..

xiao xiin, hope everything's fine fr ur bb..

Jojo,

Must clean every now and then. Once got saliva I'll clean.. Very troublesome but better then his shirt wet an got to chain and change.

First baby tends to be more kan chiong. 37.5 also can give but I prefer to let bb body fight a little while. I heard when we have fever means body is fighting certain things and giving fever medicine wil make our body lose. Since is 37.5 I'll wait awhile to see if it increase further..

bliss, baby will suddenly lose interest in breast huh? thats something worrying for me then. my girl usually sleep before 8 and i dun wanna disturb her sleeping time so i didnt want to latch her at night.

rabbit, my ger only 5+ months old. just that i quite confident i can cross the 6 months target thats why i wanna 'announce' my next target to keep me going.

hope, u wanna try pumping more frequently to up supply? i am not sure abt the effect of funugreek on the milk we pumped leh.

hope no bad effects cos many mummies are taking it

sparkle, same here.. hehe.. at least i feel more relax now lor.. sometime SS drop i also dont care much... just dip into the reserve. i also thinking to drop 1 pump session after reaches 6th mth.

actually fenugreek as alot of health benefits. i was amazed while reading through that time.

Rabbit

There's a mommy Juliiana Lee who wants to join the party. She posted yesterday at 728p.

Like sparkle, I have not cross the 6 months mark yet but I think can do it lah. But I really wanna bf for 9 months cos I did that for #1 and wanna be fair to #2. But sometimes really wish to stop esp when I am having maid problems now. So sian....

hopecg, i cant remember the braun model i hv now..dont know if it's 4520 or not but know is the common one that can buy from offshelves. that time when brought bb to KKH, doc there commented that ear thermometer is not that accurate but can still use. i use it as a gauge as easier to get bb temperature =)

jojo,

ya agree with bliss on that fighting against certain things when we have fever.

don't worry too much ok. your bb will be fine.

jenn,

your maid giving what probs?

Zinc, no discount for combi. Yesterday I also went mothercare to check out, combi strollers all nett price. So well, at least I got three packets of wet wipes n a combi mug from the fair. Hahaha! Cheapo me.

hello mummies, been a while since i log in...

Sean Lau photography - Yup yup, i also signed up at the expo fair. Kiasu me also signed up for the Studio Play. Intending to bring bb for first photoshoot when she's 9 months and second photoshoot when she's 18months. Have to start buying more clothes to prepare for photoshoot, keke...

Xmas party - I'm not sure if hubby will drive me there, so cannot promise to bring exersaucer. But i can bring 1 or 2 small toys. I'm on leave on Dec 6 but wanna start baby solid that week. Not sure if i can make it in time (after baby's feed) to help carry the goodie bag stuff at noon. Can anyone pm me their hp number and i will confirm that morning?

Jenn, what's going on with your maid?

Sparkle, Rabbit and Jenn, same here. I'm almost reaching my first BF target of 6 mth. Will extend another 3months. Didn't expect to reach this far.. Let's jiayou together bah.

Bumpermat - i recall someone said she's thinking of selling off her bumpermat. Can contact me? I need to buy another bumpermat to put at nanny's place..

bliss, yalo yalo, his shirt always wet nowadays.. but nt everytime wet i'll change it.. >.< feel like a bad mummy.. ok will take note of this in future..

okok bliss and bluey, next time i shld monitor and not be super ganchiong spider and faster give fever med.. but of course i hope dun have to monitor at all coz no fever anymore!!! hahaaa..

tersher, need to bring own clothes for photoshoot ar? i tot they'll provide? my bb 1 side double-eyelid not coming out lei.. so like 1 side big 1 side small.. abit sad.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hopefully will b able to take nice pictures at the photoshoot..

Sparkle

Yupyup will try to up pumping! Tks!

Rabbit

Really ar?? Got wad benefits?? Hehe

Tersher

I would've done e same!! But I din go expo.. So nv.. Bur lucky for Bizzymum whu managed to book for me that first package

Playdates

Any mummies keen for playdates?? Heh.. Nw that it's hol.. I've e time to bring Jojo ard.. Think no such luxury when sch reopens again .. Boo..

What is Fenugreek?

Fenugreek (also known as Greek Hay and Fenigreek), is an herb that is commonly found growing in the Mediterranean region of the world. While the seeds and leaves are primarily used as a culinary spice, it is also used to treat a variety of health problems in Egypt, Greece, Italy, and South Asia.

Fenugreek seeds have been found to contain protein, vitamin C, niacin, potassium, and diosgenin (which is a compound that has properties similar to estrogen). Other active constituents in fenugreek are alkaloids, lysine and L-tryptophan, as well as steroidal saponins (diosgenin, yamogenin, tigogenin, and neotigogenin).

What are the Benefits of Fenugreek?

Due to its estrogen-like properties, fenugreek has been found to help increase libido and lessen the effect of hot flashes and mood fluctuations that are common symptoms of menopause and PMS. In India and China it has also been used to treat arthritis, asthma, bronchitis, improve digestion, maintain a healthy metabolism, increase libido and male potency, cure skin problems (wounds, rashes and boils), treat sore throat, and cure acid reflux. Fenugreek also has a long history of use for the treatment of reproductive disorders, to induce labor, to treat hormonal disorders, to help with breast enlargement, and to reduce menstrual pain. Recent studies have shown that Fenugreek helps lower blood glucose and cholestrol levels, and may be an effective treatment for both type 1 and 2 diabetes. Fenugreek is also being studied for its cardiovascular benefits.

Uses of Fenugreek

Home Remedy for Balancing Cholesterol

Studies have found people who took 2 ounces (56g) of fenugreek seed each day had significantly (around 14 percent) lower cholesterol levels after 24 weeks, and had lowered their risk of heart attack by more than 25 percent. Therefore, a recommended remedy for lowering cholesterol is to take 2 ounces of Fenugreek seeds throughout the day. The seeds can be sprinkled onto prepared food, or they can be consumed with water if they are in capsule form.

Treating Diabetes and Lowering Blood Sugar Levels

Studies have shown that participants with type 2 diabetes had significantly lower blood sugar levels after eating fenugreek. Therefore, a recommended home remedy for treating Type 2 diabetes is to consume 500mg of fenugreek twice daily.

Herbal Cure for Skin Inflammation

Research has shown that Fenugreek is an effective topical treatment for skin problems such as abscesses, boils, burns, eczema, and gout. Therefore, a simple skin inflammation remedy is the following:

* Take a spoonful of fenugreek and grind it into a powder.

* Mix the ground fenugreek with warm water.

* Take a simple piece of clean cloth and soak it into the mixture.

* Apply the soaked cloth directly onto the affected skin as a poultice.

Natural Cure for Heartburn and Acid Reflux

Fenugreek seeds contain a lot of mucilage, which helps sooth gastrointestinal inflammation by coating the lining of the stomach and intestine. Therefore, for an effective remedy against heartburn or Acid Reflux, simply sprinkle 1 teaspoon of fenugreek seeds onto your food. Another option is to take one teaspoon of Fenugreek seeds and swallow them with water or juice before any meal.

Home Remedy for Fever

The Fenugreek herb has been known to help reduce fever when taken with lemon and honey, since it nourishes the body during an illness. Therefore, to treat a fever, simply consume one to two teaspoons of Fenugreek seeds three times a day along with an herbal tea (such as green tea) with a teaspoon of honey and lemon juice. Some health food stores also sell herbal Fenugreek teas, which can be used instead of the green tea.

Breast Enlargement

Fenugreek is often used in many teas and other products that help balance women's hormones and/or enlarge the breasts. Therefore, a simple home remedy for breast enlargement is to make Fenugreek a part of your regular diet. A common suggestion is to consume up to 3g of Fenugreek per day.

Remedy to Ease Child Birth for Pregnant Women

Fenugreek stimulates uterine contractions and can be helpful to induce childbirth. However, pregnant women should only use Fenugreek for inducing labor after consulting with their doctor.

Remedy to Aid Milk Production in Lactating Women

Fenugreek has been known to increase milk production in lactating women. Research has even shown that milk production can increase by over 500 percent within 24 to 72 hours after consuming fenugreek. Although it is not known why this happens, researchers speculate that the oil contained in fenugreek seeds plays a role. Therefore, a recommended remedy to increase milk flow is to consume one capsule of fenugreek seed (at least 500mg) three times a day.

What are the Side Effects of Fenugreek?

While Fenugreek is generally considered to be safe when used moderately, there have been reports of a few minor side-effects. Nausea is one common side effect, while other people have reported gastrointestinal discomfort (diarrhea and/or gas). Also, when using fenugreek topically on the skin, it is important to watch out for skin irritations and rashes.

Fenugreek use during pregnancy is not recommended, since it has the potential to induce labor. If you are pregnant and wish to take it, you should do so only after consultation with your doctor.

If you are currently taking any oral medications, you should always use Fenugreek at least 2 hours before or after these drugs. This is important since Fenugreek fiber has the potential to interfere with the absorption of oral medications due to its mucilaginous fiber (which gives it a moist and sticky texture).

Bliss

Ur iPhone auto spelling is real funny. Got faxe n chain n change somemore. I nearly laugh off my chair when I saw the sentence- must chain n change bb clothes when wet. Imagine u chain up E to change his clothes. Oh no!

Rabbit

Thanks for the post on fenugreek. Yah my supply has dropped to only 450ml per day but still trying hard to maintain 450ml if possible.

Jenn

Wat happened to ur maid?

Cath,

Hahaha!! I do feel like chaining him up when I change him! Keep flipping non stop.. Now he can move ard the whole cot..

In the midst of fighting to dress him up my two wrist is injured...

Hello DOT,

I wanted to transfer the money. but what's the payee bank code??? and also your real name?

Payee Bank Code

(4 digits)

Elise

OCBC's Bank Code is 7339.

You can lookup Dot's Name in FB. She posted her bank details in the Events page.

Maid

My maid, after months of asking her if she wants to renew her contract, decided that she want to go home after I have booked and paid for my flights to Oz next Apr. Damn sian....

Mummies who bought Sophie on the BP here a few months ago: We should stop giving it to our baby immediately because I have a real solid reason to believe it's not original. Don't want to say too much here. I can only say I compared my Sophie with a real Sophie sold at the expo yesterday and a Sophie that my French colleague owns and mine is really not right.

I bought the philips steamer stand up iron yesterday at the fair also and it's good! Good for those fragile cloth of women clothes.

I saw that rice cookers now comes with very sophisticated functions. For e.g rice cooker can bake cakes, make baby congee, boil soup, steam fish, boil eggs etc etc. Anyone tried using such rice cookers to cook baby congee? I am thinking of buying the Tefal brand.

Jenn, you not taking kids to au? Maids all come and go, only a matter of when and how many times. But you have to start yr search for a new maid right now if u want a Filipino.

Jenn: thanks for the info! why your maid suddenly play u out? alamak, can persuade her or not..... u must be damn boring lor

Dot: just finally transferred the amount of 16 bucks! From POSB Bank - Transaction Reference 5321103391